223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Carter Caves State Resort Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (606) 286-4411
CGID6248

Carter Caves State Resort Park

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   8   6   8   9   9   9   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
This was our first trip, and as novices, we were not sure what to expect. The campground was very small and the sites were on top of each other. Our site was horrible to get into (we stayed at #15). I don’t know how anyone could ever pull into the next site #13 to us. Narrow roads, trees and a poorly situated dip in the road made it very difficult for us to maneuver into the spot. Also, our fire pit was so close to the camper pad we couldn’t open our awing. We had to haul the (heavy) picnic table back over to our site, because there were two at the next site over. Some of the other sites, which were recommended to us, were booked, but we found upon our arrival that #23, 36 and 37 looked very nice. We were near the bathhouse, which was old and dated, but found it to be clean and well-heated. I showered there, and had plenty of hot water. Showers areas were roomy enough, and again well heated. It was still very chilly on this Easter Weekend, so I was happy to go to a heated bathroom. As recommended, we bought firewood locally (at the campground) but found it to be fresh wood, which did not burn at all. We loved the campground activities. They just opened a “gold mine” area but we didn’t do that with the kids. We did go on the cave tour (highly recommended). There were many closed tours due to the unfortunate outbreak of “white-nose syndrome” (killing bats) but we had a delightful tour. The kids and I attended a haunted ghost story at the Lodge one evening. The hiking was great, and we did the moderate (few rough climbs) 3.5 mile trail around the campground (recommended). Overall, the camping sites were much less desirable than the overall camping experience. I would love to go back but will definitely avoid the sites in the middle of the grounds and find another place to buy firewood. No alcohol on the allowed property and if you want a cocktail, prepare to drive 30 minutes into Moorhead because Carter County is dry! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$23
The rate we got was with discount added. We would have gave the campground a 10, but the sites were a little close for our liking. Other than that we loved the park. The caves were OK, but the trails were outstanding. People were friendly and it was a really family friendly campground. We will be staying here again when we get a chance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
(These are comments for a one-night stay) The campground was an 8 or 9 for us, but the getting-there was a little more difficult. Although the roads into the campground were newly paved, it took us 18 minutes to get the 6.5 curvy miles from the Interstate to the campground. That was a little more than the map-shown 4 miles, and for a one-night stay, a little far. The host was very pleasant and helpful. We wouldn't probably do an over nighter again, but would for an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Located about six miles north of I-64 and marked well from the interstate and local roads. The state park itself is simply beautiful and worth the visit. The campground, well, was a campground with some level and some not-so-level sites. Some spaces were pretty close to one another, while others were spacious. A number of sites had a steep drop off next to the camper pad. 30 Amp extension cord and extension hoses are mandatory at most sites. Some sites are paved, most are graveled. Only selected sites have sewer. There is no wi-fi in the campground. Some roadway areas had asphalt missing and were course graveled. Bathrooms were overused and not cleaned with adequate frequency. There was only one male shower stall in the outer loop, and it was grimy. Check-in procedures were friendly and efficient. Excellent AT&T phone coverage. Neighbor to my camper attempted to preach the Book of Revelation to me, starting off by asking me if I would wear a white robe one day. Strange. Next morning, a child almost ran over me on a bicycle. Perhaps it was because I was not wearing the white robe. The parent hardly said a word to the child. Nevertheless, we would come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
We camped here with our dogs the week before Halloween. Great caves and sights, friendly people in area, campground had only 30 camping units this week. Old mini golf was fun/easy. Lake was not much, did not take canoe out at all. Out of state fishing license was $35.00 / did not go. Hiking trails are good and scenic. Deer are easy to spot and enjoy. Park well taken care of except lake area, unused and run down for several years. For boating go to Cave run. Sites are very close and most in open. A couple which back up to woods and pool road are best. Overall one of the best campgrounds we have used. As with most state parks money is tight to keep them updated and in top shape. Take extra water line and electric cord / hook ups are as much as 50 feet away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
A very nice park set up on a “mountain” top in a beautiful forest. Our packed gravel back-in site was mostly level and was a full hook-up. The utility hook-ups are strangely located and everyone should bring extra water hose, extra sewer hose and a power cord extension. Pre-registration online is advisable because the web site includes a good description of each site and helps in picking out a level site with utilities that are reasonably close-by. There is a nice slate of planned activities every day at this park. Most are either free or very low cost. The cave tours are definitely worth doing. There was no CATV and WiFi is available only by driving to the lodge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Beautiful park. We were only able to spend one night, so want to return for a longer visit. Good site, but water and electricity were a long way from the pad. The site was listed as level, but was not. The rate reflects a reservation fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We spent a weekend here and found the park to be pleasing with lots of shade. We did have a little difficulty finding our site as we came in after dark, but luckily a ranger was out and guided us. Sites were spaced so it did not seem crowded and campers were thoughtful. We used our own shower, but the bathrooms were clean, however, needed some routine maintenance. We walked to the resort restaurant and enjoyed the delicious buffet (no toad vehicle). We had a short stay so did not have time to go to the caves. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
For a state park campground, this place was wonderful. Sites were large and well spaced. There were some trees, enough to provide shade yet allow satellite reception. Streets were paved and sites were gravel. Only reason not rated 10 is the w/e hook up is not very close to the pad. You may need an extension. Other than that, it was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Beautiful park, sites are spacious. Lots of activities, we were here during Pioneer life week. The road leading to the park is very winding with sharp, blind curves, the only drawback. WiFi available and very strong in the Lodge. Cave tours were average. Enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
We stayed here for a week at this beautiful campground. We had a large site with shade. The state park was clean and dry even with all the rain they have been getting. We would definitely recommend this campground to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
Great park. We were just passing through in the off-season but I can imagine it would be a lot of fun in the summer. It was clean and well-maintained. There is a restaurant at the lodge and while the food was excellent, the menu was a little thin. We toured one of the caves as well and it was worth the 9 bucks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$22
I would not try this park in anything bigger than a 40ft. MH. We did it in our 38 ft and toad but it is tight and narrow getting to campground and the last turn is very tight. The site was long but very un-level. We were in the old section and the newer sites are much more level. It is pretty and if we here with a smaller rig and children I would probably have liked it a lot more. I probably would not return or use it as an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$99
While I'm sure this is a great park, surroundings look nice, HOWEVER if your driving anything over a class C. Stop and get in your toad and make sure you can get in this park. Roads are steep and narrow. We driving a 40' MCI and couldn't negotiate the roads. That's a bad thing after you've made the long thirty minute climb into the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
Carter Caves State Park is very nice. There are plenty of activities for the whole family. There is hiking, horseback riding, bicycling, mini golf, evening activities at the campgrounds, and don’t forget the caves! This is why you go; not solely for the camp ground experience. Many sites are small with the table and fire ring at the back of the site versus the side where your camper faces. I put off purchasing a 30 amp extension cord until it was too late. The electrical box didn’t have the typical duplex outlet either so I couldn’t plug an adapter in for the night. We had to drive to Boyd County (1.5+ hour round trip) to find a Walmart. The bath house facility is average for a state park. I took two showers with lukewarm water. All in all, not terrible. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
We just returned from this park. Many activities--caving, horseback riding, trails, mini-golf. Be prepared with extra hose and electric extensions because the water/electric is strange at best! And they do not sell these things at the camp store. We reserved a full hook up site, only to be very disappointed that the sewer hole was at the street-well my tank is at the back of my camper (like most). So we just dumped when we left. I complained to the store employee and her response was that it was new and that trees and roots dictated where the sewer holes were. Another thing that kept happening was we kept tripping the electric box, at least 7 times for no reason. Then one night the transformer above the mini-golf blew and out went the power! To my total surprise, the park workers had it fixed in 90 minutes! I was expecting no power for at least 24 hours. Go to Grayson for groceries, only 10 miles away. The park itself is gorgeous with many wonderful trails. The folks at the campground were all nice and polite. Make sure to pick up the weekly schedule on Sundays, many things to do for free. Very nice experience and we will go back. We ate a very good buffet at the lodge. Be aware of the sharp left turn uphill to get into the park. We were very surprised that there is NO signage warning you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
We actually visited in July 2008, but option not given above. Many of the things listed by others is correct with regard to the campground. It is tricky navigating the roads, especially the tight turn at the bottom, but nothing to make you avoid this place. Many of the sites are right on top of each other, but it appeared that most were the inside/interior ones. We had site #8 and it was great. Most along that side and up into the 30s are pretty nice. I also agree that the utilities seems to be placed strangely. We had to run our electric under the motor home and across the middle of the site. There is nothing spectacular about the rest rooms, but heck, we're used to state parks, etc. The park itself is very large. I would suggest that you have a means of transportation. At a minimum I would suggest good bikes and be in shape! One of the better caves is Cascade Cave and it is far from the campground. You will need to drive to it. Even with the negative aspects, overall the park is nice. The cave tours are great. Each is different. One evening they had ghost stories inside the entrance to Cascade cave. The kids loved it. The area with of the Natural Bridge is beautiful. We didn't get to see everything and would stay again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This campground is in the middle of nowhere. There is marginal cell phone service and we had to use a antenna and booster to use our air card. It is an older campground and the bath houses show that. They recently put in some sewer hookups for some of the sites. Pull through sites were extremely unlevel. Hook ups arre in wierd locations. They were on the opposite side for us so bring extra hoses and cords and we had vewry little water pressure. Campground is located in a "dry" county and stores of any size are a minimum of 1o miles. The road into the campground is a shocker for people who have never been there before. You must make a sharp left hand turn and then go up a very steep hill. Better have a good tow vehicle if you have a big rig to get up this hill. It is actually easier to get out than in. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
I was disappointed in Carter Caves campground. The area around the campground is very pretty but the campground is older and very crowded. There are several sites that practically share the same firepit area. It appears to me that they crammed as many sites into the campground as they could and didn't take site size or privacy into consideration. We visited on a very busy summer weekend and the pool was so crowded that it was unbearable. It seemed like everywhere you went in the park, you felt claustrophobic. I'm crossing this park off of my list - way too many other nicer parks around to visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We were disappointed with our stay here but, on reflection, perhaps the rave reviews made us expect too much. We camped here on a busy September weekend and had a lovely site. However, we felt crowded - almost claustrophobic - in a way that we had never experienced in other busy campgrounds. The park certainly is very beautiful with lots of trails easily accessed from the campground. The trail we enjoyed best was Box Canyon Trail which starts at the Cascade Cave parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
Loved, loved, loved this campground! There is so much to do and see just in the park. We stayed on site 55a, which was the only undeveloped site in the park , but we would stay at it again just because it is more private. We toured the caves, hiked, swam in their beautiful pool, 3 in total, played tennis, and did some horseback riding. We had a wonderful time here and would highly recommend it. The area is beautiful too! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Carefully select your site, and try to avoid the un-shaded "infield". The sites around the edges were much nicer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$22
This was our first time in the state of Kentucky. I would recommended this State Park campground. It was very family oriented. Pool available (extra charge) with diving board within walking distance of the campground, 18-hole golf course as well as a mini golf near the campground, horseback riding, tennis, lake - boating, cave tours and more. We only over nighted here so it was hard to do everything. After the pool we walked to the park lodge on a surpassing path with a natural bridge, one of the highlights for my husband and son. There was even a nice restaurant in the lodge. Spacious and shaded sites. I would definitely go back to just relax a few days and there is plenty to do if you like to stay active. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
This is a nice and quiet shaded campground that is good for children and adults. It is peaceful and not overly crowded. Several pull throughs available. The restrooms were relatively clean. There are activities there such as a playground, mini golf, cave exploring, and canoeing. Nice place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$24
Carter Caves is our favorite of the campgrounds in our local area. We stayed there during the annual Halloween Weekend. Though the weather was bad, the festivities were not spoiled! The staff are wonderful there and they went all out to make everyone's weekend packed with fun. The restrooms are clean despite the large volume of use. The park is absolutely beautiful! Everything is within walking distance of the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
What a beautiful campground in the Eastern part of Kentucky, just off of 64, near Grayson. Most of the sites were spacious and shaded and the campground layout was accommodating to even the largest RVs. Since it was the last weekend of the year, it was rather crowded. The back loops are a little tight, but worth the effort because they back up to the woods, which was very pretty. There are several things to do in the area. Top of the list are the caves themselves. Get an early start and your tour won't be hurried, noisy or crowded. We had an awesome guide. He was very knowledgeable and even showed us two different species of bats that were hibernating in the caves!! Cool beyond belief for a teenager. Note: The smaller bat cave across from the gift shop and ticket area is closed during the winter, but not to be missed is the trail behind the gift shop leading to a huge natural bridge. WOW!! In fact, if you love to hike there are several challenging, beautiful trails at this park. The resort was slammed that weekend, but they do have a golf course and a nice sized pool. The only blot on an otherwise beautiful locale was the Haunted Trail, which is run by the park every Halloween and which ran all weekend, from 7pm to 11pm. This Haunted Trail was RIGHT across from the campground. Blaring music and spooky noises could be heard for most of the night. After a while it became downright funny, but I would definitely come back to this lovely campground on any other weekend than All Hallows. The foliage was absolutely gorgeous. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com