206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Porcupine Mountain Wilderness State Park / Union Bay Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (906) 885-5275
CGID6254

Porcupine Mountain Wilderness State Park / Union Bay Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   6   8   8   8   8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Right on Lake Superior at Union Bay. There is lots of hiking, canoeing, kayaking and motor touring to be done in the area. Sites are grass, somewhat level and open. Make sure to take the time to go over to the Black River National Forest Scenic Byway. A bit of a drive; however, well worth the trip. The "Porkies" as they are known would qualify as a National Park. Michigan decided it couldn't wait for that status so created the state wilderness park instead. The park does have the essence and quality level of a National Park. Well worth the trip. Would come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Quiet, remote area. Each site has 30-amp service. There is fresh water at the dump/sani-station (which is easily accessed and easy for big rigs). Campground has potential, but needs works. Huge sinkholes in almost every site, and quite unlevel. If you don't know the area, go past the Visitor's Center to the Union Bay Ski Area (sign does not say "campground") and get set-up there, then go back to the Visitor's Center for area information. If coming from the east, get all supplies (including gas) in Ontonagon - nothing past that point. Surprisingly, with a booster, we get Verizon 3G. Yes, would stay here again, but not if weather calls for big rains - think we'd get stuck with all the mud. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
Sites are tight as are most Michigan state campgrounds. Lakeside sites are extremely small and very windy. We moved from a lake front site when the winds approached 40 mph with no storm present. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again but would rather stay at one of the smaller rustic campgrounds if they are available. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
This was a nice campground. Nothing fancy but a good place to stay while exploring the mountains. The sites on the water were nice but far from the restroom. A good place to eat in Ontonagon is Syls Cafe/Bakery: homemade pastries. My only complaint would be the set up of the fire pits, all were on the back of the sites, not much privacy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
We enjoyed our 3-day stay here. That said, I was not pleased with our site. Those in the row of site 36 to 57 are basically in a flat mowed lawn that slopes away from the road unevenly with electric posts about 70' back from the road where the land slopes considerably. We setup closer to the road and used a 50' 20a extension cord to bring power to the coach. Even so, I had to have several 2" thick boards under the front wheels. So recommendation #1: avoid sites 36-57 if you're in a motorhome. A popup or other trailer would be fine. No trees in this section of sites either. Sites 9 through 29 are just lovely and give you a great view of the lake. Sites 10 - 26 are also good if you can see the lake through those camping right next to it! All the other sites are generally adequate. Facilities are clean, modern, and have seperate shower rooms. Onsite laundry available too. Quite a few families and many dogs while we were there: but noise was never a problem. Recommenation #2: you'll miss a lot if you don't have a car with you. Once the MH is setup, we normally walk everywhere; but the distances are too vast at this park for all but a few good hikes. On the 3rd day, we packed up the MH and drove the 35-ish miles to the Presque Isle campground: to hike and see the falls. We would have loved to camp at Presque Isle (next trip this is where we will go!) but they were full. No electricity at Presque Isle - but generators are permitted in the eastern loop. Recommendation #3: Go hiking - some wonderful views and the trails are generally good. However, the West River Trail just South of the Manido Falls, has a horrible path up the side of a steep hill with nothing but tree roots to hold onto. We decided not to go up it (as did the family after us too). This decision prevented us from seeing the Nawadaha Falls. Recommendation #4: There are a LOT of steps on the West River Trail. Don't take it unless you're comfortable climbing 120 steps each: up and down! (Lots of benches provided). Recommendation #5: Cross the foot bridge at the North end of the West River Trail and, on the far side, turn North (rather than the recommended South). There is a trail through tall pines that takes you to a wonderful beach on Superior with Lots of Flat Rocks just the right size to hold in your hand. And finally, Recommendation #6: Spend time in the Visitor Center. Well done exhibits and a great 12 minute movie. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Many sites are small and cramped, but the spectacular views and clean showers made up for the site space. With the rocky shoreline and waves crashing, it made for a delightful experience. About a third of the sites had lake views. Shade is scarce, but it is cooler with the lake close by. Porcupine is a huge State Park with trails, skiing, waterfalls, and fishing. A camp store with mainly trinkets and a few supplies is nearby. Wonderful place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
The campground could use some updating, but the location is great, right on Lake Superior and in one of the best State Parks in the country. We had site 29 right on the lake and very pretty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$15
Really nice campground on the shores of Lake Superior in Porcupine Mountains State Park in Michigan's upper peninsula. This is by far the most scenic spot in Michigan. The views down the rocky shoreline are outstanding, the restrooms clean, and the sites are spacious. A true wilderness experience in the Midwest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$26
This is the Union Bay Campground on North East side of the Porcupine Mountains State Wilderness Area. A nice campground with some waterfront sites and others with good views of the lake. Fresh water was available to fill tanks at dump station. Sites are level and grassy. Camping fees don't include park entrance fees that must be paid daily as well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Park was very clean and felt safe. Hosts had information as well as the ranges. Walking the beach involved climbing flat rocks which was very nice. There is much to do in the park regarding sightseeing and hiking. Will return here if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
We stayed in the Union Bay campground in Porcupine Mountains State Park. We stayed in spot 45 which is in the back row of spots. This back row was spacious and level - good for big coaches. We had only an occasional peek of the lake, but we could feel its cool breezes. The lakefront spots are literally right on the lake - beautiful! I would say that these lakefront spots are more limited in size and big coaches might have problems getting into these spots. (Although we did see some people parking at angles or sideways to take advantage of the view. This parking approach might be helpful to the bigger coaches.) The showers were great - individual shower rooms, plenty of hot water, clean. The potty house section of the building was clean also. There is a laundry room available in the potty house which was a pleasant surprise. $1.25 per load, wash & dry. There is a wonderful sandy beach as you enter the park - not exactly near the campground in terms of walking, however. There were plenty of educational programs for the kids - archery, animals, crafts, etc. You should be advised that in addition to your camping fee, you are required to pay a vehicle fee. $29/year or $8/day. We would go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Nice lake side campground, although most sites are not on the lake. The sites will accommodate big rigs, but all sites are grass. It rained a lot during our visit and caused lots of ruts. The lake side sites are small and close together, but worth it for the view. The park has many activities and loads of trails for hikers. It got really warm during our visit and the flys were a tremedous pest and got in everywhere. We were told this is not uncommon in the summer. We will go back anyway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We were lucky to get a lake front site, with no reservations, in this beautiful park. Our site had electricity, no water/no sewer, and was large enough for a big rig. This park would get a higher rating; however, during this time, there were thousands of flies that made the camping experience disgusting. Hundreds of flies swarmed inside the motorhome for two days. We paid for three nights, but decided to leave a day earlier because of the flies. The park ranger refunded our money on the spot. I would call the park to check on the fly population before staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
We had a reservation here for one night. We arrived in the afternoon and did a quick drive through the park to see what it looked like. We were disappointed. It was wide open. No shade trees, privacy, or seclusion of any kind. There were some sites right on Lake Superior, but they didn't even look that nice. The camping sites are right on top of each other. Not the type of camping we prefer. You will get to know your neighbors real well at this type of campground. We actually left and did not stay the night. We wouldn't return to this campground for another visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2006
$20
We took a fall camping trip to this park. After a long drive we arrived mid to late afternoon only to find that the ranger station was closed and it was posted that we had been assigned a site inside the campground loop. I normally wouldn't want an inside site, but it was ok because no one else was in the inside loop. Overall, we were disappointed with the campground. We were expecting a more wooded campground with secluded sites. You would expect more after driving through miles & miles of forest. The campground is like a city park. There are some tall shade trees, but that's it. My wife was also frightened to see a dead bear hanging from a tree about 50 yards away when we woke up in the morning (we didn't realize our neighbors were bear hunters). The park is beautiful and I would visit it again. However, I would probably find another campground to stay at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$25
Part of the MI DNR Porcupine Mountains Wilderness State Park, right on Lake Superior. Some sites right on the lake, but had a rocky shore, not something you could easily wade in. Boat access/launch as well as canoe & bike rentals right at campground. The state park is HUGE and has tons of hiking, waterfalls and small lakes. You can backpack in to the 'backcountry' where there are primitive sites with fire rings and bear poles. At main campground the sites were good size, had fire rings, and they have a small playground and a volleyball area. Neighboring sites share the electric towers, so depending on how you are parked you may need up to a 50 foot cord. Campground had clean restrooms and free individual shower rooms; the rest of the park has pit toilets. Camp hosts did free coffee & hot cocoa every morning. Would have rated it much higher if it weren't for the terrible flys. They were everywhere and were biting. Other than the flys everything was outstanding. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
Expensive even without including the required motor vehicle permits ($58 total for MH and car yearly passes otherwise it's $8 per day for the MH and $6 per park for the toad) and they don't have water at the sites and the laundry room was filthy and not functioning but once you get over that the park is fair. We had site #100 in the Union Bay CG which was grass, very sloped and very close to neighbors on one side but there was no one on the other side and you could hear the waves on Lake Superior crashing on the shore after some windy days, it was just like being on the ocean (minus the salty air smell). Even mid-week the campground was cramped and crowded when we were there but the bathrooms and showers were kept clean. The showers are private, individual rooms. The roads were narrow but one way and in good condition; we have a 30 ft class A. Nice hiking opportunities in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2006
$27
Some of the sites are in a wide open field and some are more private. Sites 31,32,33 seem to be the most private. It is rare for a state park to have laundry facilities but this is nice for we were on a long vacation. The playground is only a set of swings and the swimming is difficult to get to with children because of the high cliffs. Lots of sites to see in the area and this made up for the lack of things for the children at the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$19
The only thing keeping this campground from being a 10 is the lack of full hook-ups. If you're quick enough, you can secure a spot right on Lake Superior. But you have to reserve 6 months to the date of arrival, the moment reservations become available for the day...and hope someone hasn't extended their stay through your arrival date. Lots of hiking trails in the "porkies"; some bear but they are scarce. Overall, there is actually not much wildlife to be viewed. Awesome visitor's center and many programs offered throughout the day. Oddly placed sites, and electric hookups double up with the neighbor's. You will be camping on grass. Heed the website's site limits. This place is very popular and nearly impossible to get into without reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com