206527 User submitted reviews online!!
Apostle Islands Area Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (715) 779-5524
CGID6256

Apostle Islands Area Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   7   9   9   7   3   5   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
This is a small campground, but well maintained. Most sites are tent trailer sites with 30 amp and water. It could be a challenge for large RVs over 38 feet since all sites are back-in sites. Roads are dirt and gravel, rough and narrow. A few sites have cable, 50 amp, water and sewer. We had one of these back-in sites. The bathrooms (toilet only) are outside and showers are inside. Showers are metered charging $1.50 for 5 minutes. Even though we didn’t use them, they were very clean. There’s no laundry on premises. Store has a limited selection of RV supplies, ice, and wood only. Office hours are 9:00 am to 6:00 pm. Their Wi-Fi is fast and had excellent cable reception. Our Verizon cell phone worked fine. The park is close to downtown Bayfield. While here, we visited downtown Bayfield; took a boat cruise to Madeline Island and took the Grand Tour of the Apostle Islands. We also went blueberry and raspberry picking in Bayfield. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$43
Main campground is difficult to navigate with a large motorhome. Roads need maintenance and trees need trimming. Campground rules are many and posted throughout the park. Owners are angry and unwelcoming, even yelling at guests at the front office. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$44
This is a nice park., Our space looked out at Madeline Island and Lake Superior. Well maintained, but a little tight for some rigs. We have a 40 foot motor home and had a big space, but they have limited big rig spaces. The showers need money to access them. Didn't use any of the services except the utilities. Had to settle for 30amp to get the view. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$37
A very nice campground with lots of trees. Very quiet and peaceful. Close to town and everything you want to do. There are a lot of rules posted, but we found the owners to be very friendly and helpful. We hope to come back here again - it was wonderful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
We found this to be a lovely park, and would certainly stay again. It's close to the pretty town of Bayfield, and a short drive to Red Cliff or Ashland. You can catch the ferry to Madeline Island, take a boat cruise around the islands, or a glass bottom boat tour: all from Bayfield. The campground was clean, well maintained, spacious, and quiet. Very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
We enjoyed camping here, even though the owner could have been more friendly. We did everything we could to be nice to him, and followed all his well posted rules, but he still acted like we were intruders, instead of guests. I guess being one of the very few full service campgrounds near Bayfield, he can act that way and still have people come. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
If you are looking for a park were all you can do is sit in your lawn chair with a book in one hand and fly swatter in the other, this is for you. If you hate water or even views of the water, this is for you . I found the fact of being nickle and dime for such basics as a shower very irritating. This was the most expensive of all the campgrounds and then having to pay extra was too much (1.50). We had reserved for 3 nights but after only 2 we had had it and left. One more thing I personally found somewhat distasteful were the "cutesy" by underlying sarcastic signs put up around the park, i.e. "do you run all stop signs, or just this one", there were others. This was just such a put off. I would never stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
Some sites have a sewer hookup -- ours didn't. Campground is on a hillside, some roads are paved, most are narrow but easily navigated. Our site was pretty private, shaded (not all are), and reasonably level. Lots of "Don't" signs all over the campground, makes one feel like you are not really welcome. The owner, while personable enough to us, seems like he has owned the campground too long and feels most campers are not the brightest people in the world. The campground is well located for sightseeing in the area. I thought the charge was a bit high for what was offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$37
This is our third time staying at this Campground. Again we found the place to be an excellent place to stay as we visited the surrounding sites. Each visit has been for a week or more and we plan on returning again next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$32
We almost did not stay here based on previous reviews, but we are glad that we did. We thoroughly enjoyed the week we spent in site #41 on a hill under a large oak tree. The park is quiet and rustic as the roads are dirt and uneven. The showers are $1.50 for 5 min, kind of steep. No laundry but excellent cable and Wi-Fi. We loved Bayfield and exploring the area. We would definitely return. There are other campgrounds in the area with no amenities so this one isn't that bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
As others have said, big rig friendly is limited to certain sites. Very few true level sites at all. The weirdest thing is the toilets in a pseudo outside situation. The sites are well maintained and the view from a few sites on top is great but over all the charge is high for what you get. With limited campgrounds in the area they can charge what they want. We'll stay here again for a short time, but only up on the hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
Great location but not a Big Rig friendly site. The main area (sites 1 - 27) is tight to turn and back-in with trucks and cars parked almost in the road so there is little room to swing the front end. Fortunately the owners of these vehicles were around and volunteered to move the vehicles so we could get in but if they had been away or asleep it would have been an issue. The sites are unlevel (mostly due to the terrain) so you may have a pinched mud flap or a front tire off the ground a little to get your rig level. The campground is on a hill so the overall terrain makes it tight, sloped and not ideal for a campground but workable. The owner said our spot was great but I think that is mostly pride of ownership. Our site should have been more level so the jacks and leveling did not pinch the mud flap. The 30 AMP was too weak midday when many others were running AC. Extra charge to use the 50 AMP. The upper area (sites 28 - 41) are not big rig friendly. There is a steep and curved road to get through this area and you have to gun it to get up with a 40 foot rig. The owner should not put big rigs in this area. The pads are about 25 feet long. The campground was full but there was only a few 40 foot or bigger rigs. If you must camp here the rest of our experience was fine but proceed carefully and have someone watch your rig from behind so you don’t miss something. Drive slow and only enter and exit with your rig in full daylight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
Park is in a great location and the owners are friendly. Older park built into the side of the bluff so the roads are narrow but you can get around if you go slow. We have a 36' Fifth Wheel. It had just rained so when we backed in we went on the grass since the roads were narrow. The pads are also narrow but the site is not too close to your neighbors. Since on a bluff overlooking the lake the sites are a little less than level but our Big Foot handled that just fine. There are a few sites where our satellite dish on the roof would work and we got one of them. Wi-Fi was weak at our spot. Bayfield is a great little town with restaurants that would be good anywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$45
This park is is in a good location for Bayfield and Apostle Islands visits but the park is rather overpriced for what you get. All of the utilities are in good working order but the Wi-Fi a bit weak. We enjoyed being here but will go south to Washburn to stay in a city park for half the price here. The park owner is very friendly and helpful. Our 38 foot motorhome fit well in our site. The lake view from our more expensive site was rather good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We stayed here but I am so glad that we have a camper with a restroom. The restrooms are the strangest that I have ever seen. There is no outside door on the restrooms. The showers and the sinks are in a separate room, odd? The showers were pay showers, which is OK but I would like to be able to control the temperature and maybe turn the water off if I finish my shower before the time is up. All in all I really didn't care for the bathrooms or showers. I will not return to this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
We were in site 16 in this park. Had nice shade trees but since it was quite rainy, we stepped out into a large pool of water. There is a steep hill going down into the park but we had no problem with it. There is a nice grassy area where children can play. The park is in an excellent location to visit the Apostle Islands Golf Course and downtown Bayfield and to take the ferry to Madeline Island. We had no Wi-Fi at our site even though the owner advertises it. My biggest complaint was the restrooms. The toilets were in an outdoor covered area. The showers were pay showers and took $1.50 for 5 minutes. At $32.00 per night, I would expect to get a free shower. We might stay in this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
It is rare that we give a campground a poor grade, this is an exception. It is an older campground that is setup for the camper of 30 years ago. My number one complaint was that we stopped here because they had Wi-Fi and questioned them before staying. They basically lied about it. The service was very poor and no reception was at the site. I have a Radio Wave Omni directional antenna and was able to hook on marginally. I suspect they have a home system with a small router on their own TV. He wanted us this time and didn’t care about what we thought. After all we were just passing through. Now we have RP Park Reviews. The entrance has a hairpin turn that is extremely steep. It jostled loose my bedroom light fixture it was so steep and the coach was jostling around so much. Class A’s (33 foot) will have a hard time. The sites are very short and I broke the plastic out of one of my upper running lights on a tree as I parked. The shower house is metal and not cleanable. We have stayed in at least 200 campgrounds since I have seen the quarter showers, I refuse to strand there and feed quarters into a shower. Seems like this is the owner telling his customers you are just a source of money. There are other ways to stop people from leaving them on. The water pressure from the hookup was very low. Two sites share a faucet and I had to use two 25 foot hoses to connect up to water. Rather than using money to upgrade the park, the owner has a brand new $10,000 quad 4 wheeler. He woke us up driving it around about 7 PM. Nice toy. The dump station is right on an uphill slope on the only way out of the park which blocks anybody else from leaving. There was no laundry. Trees need to be trimmed. The area itself is very nice and we had a great time. Quaint little fishing village and great restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Nice park with friendly neighbors. The place is well run and maintained. The only reason I gave it an 8 was the lack of a swimming pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This is an older CG that sits back in the hills off of State Hwy 13 just south of Bayfield. There are a lot of trees everywhere making the majority of spaces very shady, giving the feeling that you are really camping. The access roads are a combination of blacktop and dirt/gravel, the pads are dirt/gravel and some require extra effort to level. The owners run the park and have a full page of their rules to be followed or you will be asked to leave. There is an over abundance of signs posted to what you can’t do while in the park. The park has very steep hills throughout making navigation to and into spaces more difficult than normal, but still possible. There is only one location for the whole park to deposit your trash and the WI-FI signal was very low at our space. We found the owners to be friendly and helpful, they even delivered firewood to our site. Some spots have a nice view of the lake, we did not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
This CG is older but well-maintained and the owner is congenial. We had a great FHU, 50A site on top of the hill with a view of the lake and islands over the tree tops. WOW. It was a bit challenging to get into and out off, but that's just part of the RVing adventure. :-) The electric was stable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Yes, it has hills, but so does the whole area around Bayfield. It was clean, quiet, shaded. WiFi didn't work so well from our site. Owners were very nice, friendly. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
First let me say that after we got parked and leveled, this park was fine. There is a big field of grass on a rolling hill around which the sites are spaced. The field, along with the playground in it, got a lot of attention from the kids. Our site (#2) was just level enough for our jacks to compensate for. Utilities were fine and the park’s location was very convenient. My mistake was taking the word of the manager that we would have no problem putting our 45” motorhome on the site and not walking to it first. I seriously scratched the side of our rig trying to thread our way between two trees on a sharp turn that was on a steep hill. A unit our size and height simply would not fit without rubbing both sides. I wish that the people who are so blasé about saying “You’ll have no problem” would actually try driving a big-rig in their parks sometime. In short, if you have a smaller RV, you will probably like the park. If you have a big one, don't drive to your site without walking the road (preferably with a tree-trimmer) first! Credit cards are not accepted. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$39
We didn't find the staff as friendly as the previous reviewer, however they were not unpleasant. Roads are very narrow for larger motorhomes, especially that first right turn down the hill when entering the campground. We camped up on the hill facing the lake, which was a great view. Coin operated showers were a negative. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
There are wonderful hosts. This is a great campground, close to everything in Bayfield including the Apostle Islands, Madeline Island, and the orchards for berry picking. I was only going to stay a night but liked this campground and the hosts so much I decided to stay a few extra nights. The WiFi internet is great, got it with my laptop in my trailer and the electric and water worked great. The showers and bathrooms are nice and clean and the campground is very quiet and safe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Several nice spots with views of the lake. Very well maintained. Seems a little pricy considering there is no pool or hot tub or extra amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
We enjoyed our visit immensely, and will return at first opportunity. We found Sam to be very friendly, extremely accommodating, and we enjoyed his humor. The campground is clean and well maintained and the sites are also very clean and maintained. We had a lovely, shady site. The campground is also convenient to all local attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$29
Spacious sites. Full hook-up available with cable. No laundry or internet. They don't take credit cards, so they are kind of picky about taking reservations. We were coming through for one night and called to see about availability. She said they had a spot and how soon could we come. Well - we were still in Minnesota at the time and weren't expecting to arrive until late afternoon. She made me promise that I was really coming before she would take my reservation. She was friendly about it, but I would say this seemed strange to me. We would stay there again, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
This is a nice park within a mile or so of downtown Bayfield. There's a swimming beach a few miles down the road to the south, and a nice city park beach a ferry ride away on Madeline Island. This is a great base camp for exploring the apostle islands, kayaking to see the caves, and relax around a campfire. The park host makes rounds every afternoon selling firewood bundles, kept the bathrooms clean, and was friendly. We didn't have any trouble getting our 42' through the park and there seemed to be plenty of spaces that would accommodate us. I like the spots on the upper level with the view of lake superior, but the lower sites tucked into the woods were nice too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
Park is not very nice. Very old and rustic. Sites are cut out of a field and not level. Many set up for very small units and tents. Many sites are hard to back in. Most sites do have lots of shade tree. Cash and checks only. Some cell phone reception. Overpriced for what we got. Nice owners. Sewer could not be hooked up at it was at the rear of the rig. Water and electrical is also in the rear and 10 ft away from the rig. Had to use extension on water and electrical. Simply not laid out properly. We looked at other parks and there isn't anything any nicer in this area: sad. We won't stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$34
Nice park. We arrived without reservations, and although the park was almost full, we were assigned a site with a view of Lake Superior. Our schedule allowed us to stay only 1 night. Wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
We spent one night here and were rather disappointed. We had checked the reviews on this place so thought we would get more for our money! Well, that did not happen. We paid for the full hook ups (they are the only park in the area with full hookups). Their so called 'lake view sites' are an additional $8 per night! Maybe 3-4 sites. And there isn't much of a view at that. The spaces are ok, level and offer some privacy in some. The office does not open until after 9 am and closed promptly at 6 pm. We told that very sternly up on our arrival (we arrived a little before 9 am) You are not allowed to put out a mat of any sort and should you have visitors, they have to pay $3 each!!!! The restroom were very cool! The toilet areas are exposed to the wind and cold with only a metal roof. The showers do have outside doors and were very clean, but cost $1 for 5 min. & .25 per each additional minute. The owner was less than friendly and stern about the rules ("Make sure your Read and obey all the rules"). I really think this place is over priced. It is over a mile from Bayfield and there is nothing much to do here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
I agree with the comment below, that they need to work on their reservation process. However, overall we were happy with our visit here. The staff was friendly when we checked in, the campground was in good condition and the electricity and cable worked well. Overall the campground was quiet and wooded. Bathrooms needed some modernanization, but at least were clean. I will stay here again on our next trip up to Bayfield. Thank you for a nice visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Cute, privately owned campground up near the Apostle Islands. Center area with playground and bathhouse. Bathrooms are basic, and from the playground you can see the feet in the woman’s stalls. Town has lots to do, shopping, restaurants, a lot of orchards and berry farms where you pick your own blueberries and other goodies, a ferry to Madeline Island and boat trips around the Apostle Islands. Their reservation system needs improvement. You call and they mail you a reservation form which you fill out and mail back with a check. They do not send back confirmation letters or call to let you know you got a spot, and ask that you not to call to find out. After an 8 + hour drive we got there and found they had our reservations down for the wrong dates and were full. The owner did fix things by re-arranging a few tenting sites that had no shows and found a spot for us, but it made for a tense few moments. We would stay here again but would call to confirm before leaving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
The park was easy to find. The site assigned to us was too small for our rig. The next site had no water unless you had very long hose as the neighboring site had two faucets. When we asked the owner about it he said that everyone should have a 75 foot water hose and an electric extension cord. The bathrooms were mediocre. The owner had lots of petty rules, such as no mats on ground, even on gravel. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$22
What a great stay we had in Bayfield at AIA Campground!! Our first impression of the campground was very positive, as the grounds are very well kept. The hosts were most accommodating and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. Our firewood was delivered to us, and this place has the best ice ever! The bathrooms had flush toilets and were very nice. The showers were hot and squeaky clean and well worth the few quarters it took to wash up! The campground was very quiet and we had the best sleep that we have had in a long time while out on the road. Bayfield itself is a quaint non-commercialized city with lots of things to do, there are many fun shops and really good food. A great time was had by the whole family. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$23
This is a very nice campground however the sites are a little tight. Restrooms were clean but very cool in October due to open air construction. Some sites in upper part of the campground had a view of the Apostle Islands. This was a great place to stay while touring in the Apostle Island area. We would stay here again. It is a beautiful area with much to see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2003
$20
Great campground, some sites have view of lake superior. Owners were also great, they came around with firewood about dark. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$15
This is an excellent park. The owners are very friendly and helpful and take very good care of things. It is one of the best parks I have stayed in. I highly recommend it for tenters and RV's. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
1999
$20
Nice park right in the middle of Apostle Islands area. Some sites have view of the water. Owners are very nice and accommodating. Bayfield is a beautiful little town with good shopping, restaurants and boat tours of the islands. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com