214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Summer Breeze Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (906) 774-7701
CGID6257

Summer Breeze Campground

Camp Information
Sites
74
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   10   8   10   10   7   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
10% discount given with Good Sam. Nice park with friendly staff. No problems with any of the utilities, including the Wi-Fi, which worked well in our site. Small, clean, and reasonably priced laundry room. Pool and playground. Short hiking trail. Sites and roads are gravel with lots of grass and trees! Would recommend a visit to the WWII Glider Museum, along with the Cornish Pump & Mining Museum in town. Also, a pasty at Jean Kays in town (take out only). The town of Iron Mountain has every service you could need. We would recommend this campground and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
I don't know if previous reviews mentioned the high power lines bordering the property, but I don't think so. The before unmentioned train track only had one or two trains over the six days we were there. Lots of families having a good time. The pull-through site was very level, but the water and electrical was at the very back of the site. We were able to miss the trees and connect to the utilities. The laundry room was small (two washers and two dryers) and not air conditioned. If you're heading to the U.P., Summer Breeze is worth a look. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
Can't really go wrong here. Escorted to your site, nice grass in most sites, pretty much everything said by others here is true. Additionally, they have a nice walking path loop through the woods, and this used to be a KOA years ago so the facilities are top-notch. We will likely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Super clean. Spacious bathroom. The staff/owners onsite were gracious and caring. This is a model campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
This was a very nice campground. The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. Our site was a large pull through with shade trees, and we were still able to get a signal on our rooftop satellite dish. The park is north of town and on a quiet side road. There was a train that went through, but that only added to the ambiance. Everything was clean and neat. We are just 2, without children, so we can't speak about the pool or other amenities. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Owners could not have been more friendly. Upon check in, they escorted us to our site, even assisted with providing an extra long water hose to reach our rig. Very large grassy sites. Pool was refreshing. No complaints whatsoever. They even delivered the wood to our site. Again, wonderful, friendly owners. The price couldn't be beat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Park was beautiful, well maintained and the owner/operators were very friendly and helpful. Loved our site, it was very easy to get in and out of, and very level. The sites are spacious, and there are nice trees (not so many that we couldn't get the antenna to work - we were able to get some TV stations.) The campground's Wi-Fi worked great. We didn't use the laundry, but it was nice, and was open till 10pm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
Rate is for 30 amp electric and water pull through site with combination of CC/USA and GS discounts. Our site was technically a pull through, but there were so many large tree roots above the ground in front of our RV we elected to back out of the site. Roads gravel, pads are grass, grass between sites which have table and fire ring. Sites are fairly level, but ground is uneven. Large trees provide some shade but are open enough to allow satellite reception at many of the sites. Dump station inside of park was situated such that if more than one person was using it, the exit from the park was blocked. Excellent Verizon cell and 3G reception. Located just north of Iron Mountain, but near train tracks. We were there for six nights and heard only one train go by during that time. We would stay here again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$27
This is an excellent park that is owned by two great owners that are hands on. The park is very quiet and has great resources for the kids including a small playground and a good swimming that is always busy. Saturday evening there is an ice cream social to bring out the great people that season here and the transients like us. This is a great campground I look forward to visiting each year we come to the area for the U.P. Hogwild BBQ contest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$13
We found this to be a pleasant park, with grass and mature trees. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our rate reflects a Camp Club USA discount, and an electric/water only site. We had trouble leveling our trailer, and they had no problem moving us when we asked. We still had a little difficulty leveling in the second site, but it was better. As mentioned in a previous review, there is a railroad track adjoining the campground, but it is not used that frequently and appeared to be used for short log trains. They didn't bother us although one did take us by surprise entering the campground one day; no flashing lights/arms extending across the small road, just the loud horn! Last but not least,don't leave Iron Mountain without having some terrific pasties!! We bought some half-baked ones to stick in the freezer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$29
Campgrounds are excellent with the pool and extremely friendly owners. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$23
Extremely friendly owners, but needs continuing upgrades. Verizon air card worked fine, even though they had Wi-Fi. Very infrequent trains - we had 3 in four days, in spite of close track. We would definitely return if we are in the area again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Campground was clean with lots of amenities and friendly, helpful owners. We stayed 2 nights, and even though there was no lake or river to entertain us, we walked and just enjoyed the relaxation. The park was quiet, very clean and well organized with level pull-through sights. We would be happy to stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$22
How big is your rig? We are a 45' bus. There were 2 sites that would work well for us. At 40' maybe 4 or 5 sites. Good parks are hard to find in this area. It is friendly, clean, and a rural setting. Train is a stones throw away but maybe one train a night. Lots of trees but well trimmed. Appears to be an older park that these young friendly owners are working very hard to upgrade. Watch your length and you should be fine. Fire rings and wood delivered to site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
The campground staff are excellent; friendly and helpful. We were escorted to our site, good thing, the layout-hookups are oddly placed. Our site was a large pull thru, our hookups were easily reached, but I noticed some sites required very long hoses to connect. We did not use any of the facilities, but did notice the pool was clean and being enjoyed by others. We did have a Verizon signal, but no TV- either w/sat dish or bat wing. Overall, a nice campground if you are in the area, but I would not go out of my way to stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Very tidy small campground. Well maintained. Lots of grass to walk dog. Good pull thru. Friendly office staff. Lots of amenities for kids, including pool. Downside, no TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
We are Escapee members traveling through the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. SKP parks are hard to find,but this is a nice park, close to town, friendly staff. Sites were accommodating for our 40' 5th wheel. We couldn't use my Verizon air card and wifi was iffy at the park so couldn't get online here. That's not a problem for us though. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
The park is in itself nice, definitely quiet with easy access to the town of Iron Mountain and surrounding cities. The WiFi is FREE, however while we were here it tended to go up and down with extreme regularity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
We stayed here for 2 nights. We made reservations about a week in advance. The owners are wonderful! Very friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the swimming pool, which was warmer than we had expected! The playground was very nice! They had an ice cream social on Sat PM, $1 for a bowl of ice cream. The campground is very family friendly. We had a site with electric and water hook-ups although we did not use the water hook-up. The park is nice and quiet and very clean! The only issue we had was that other campers were constantly walking/cutting through our site to get to the pool, office or playground. It was very bothersome. Young kids would zoom through our site on their bikes as fast as they could go, a couple times almost hitting our 1 year old son or our dog. We had to park our vehicles in the wide open space by the road to cut down on traffic through our site but there were still people that would walk around the vehicles and walk right through our site!! This happened all weekend. It IS stated on the paperwork you get when you arrive that all campers need to be considerate and not walk through other campsites but it seems the other campers did not read this or did not care. You would think people would be embarrassed to walk through a campsite with people sitting at the table eating or sitting around the campfire but they just walk right by you and act like you are not there. We started stopping people and asking them to go around instead of cutting through our site and this seemed to upset them and boggle their minds as to why we did not want them to walk through our campsite. If you can get past unwelcome campers walking through your site this is an excellent place to spend a relaxing weekend camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$23
Pleasant campground with friendly owners and grassy sites (some may not be level). Most sites have at least some shade and a few have deep shade. The facilities were clean. This is obviously a former KOA and has the standard building layout of one, but the bathrooms have been somewhat upgraded. Wi-Fi worked well in the laundry room but not in our camper, despite a direct view of the antenna. The nature trail is mowed and attractive. For those folks who chafe at lots of little rules, this campground's rules seemed very reasonable. Note for those using a GPS: the campground entrance comes up much sooner than the GPS indicates, so watch for it! Nice for an overnight or a longer stay. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Summer Breeze is nothing fancy, but if you are looking for a clean, quiet and friendly place to stay in the UP...this is it. The new owners are great. They came around to check and chat. Brought chew bones for the dog. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
This is a really nice campground. It's well maintained. The owners are on site and taking good care of the place. They made sure we got a site that we could access satellite TV. There is Wi-Fi, although not really strong. The sites are fairly level and easy to get in and out of. We didn't get around to using the pool, but it looked clean. There is a train that runs right next to the campground, but it only runs once or twice a day, at most. It seems to be a local line that transports mainly lumber. There's a walking trail that is well-maintained, like everything else in the park. We would definitely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
Nice Family Camping park with sites that were grassy for tents and large level pull throughs. Activities planned, on-going updating is evident. Garden areas well maintained, a sign that owners care. Friendly staff, helpful with knowledge of local attractions. Only drawback is that it is located near a RR crossing. We stayed 2 nights, though and only one train (around 10PM)after dark. In Upper Peninsula, MI, this is a really nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
This is a nice park in a rustic setting. Large sites. Very helpful owners. Gravel roads, grass sites, some have trees. Need to ask for an open site if using satellite TV. They offer Escapees RV Club discount. There is a local train track next to the park that had one train per day in the evening so was not a problem sleeping, etc. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
Stayed here two nights, Saturday and Sunday, and the campground was very relaxing/quiet. There was an ice cream social on Saturday evening for 75 cents. The campground staff were very friendly. The local area had some nice sights to see and tours of various attractions. There is also whitewater rafting on the Menominee river on the Wisconsin side about 15 minutes from the campground. The site we had was a full hookup pull through that was level. The only negative item I have is that the electrical and water hookups are by the road and the sewer hookup is near the middle, so you either need an extension cord and long water hose or a long sewer hose. We really enjoyed our stay here and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$27
Charming, rustic RV park. Nice spacing between sites. Very friendly owners. Wi-Fi is available in the laundry room only, which is no big deal. Very serene and relaxing place to stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$26
Great little campground with accommodating owners and meticulously maintained. Beautiful climate when we were there. Planned on a one night stop over and stayed for two. Stayed because of RV Park Reviews comments and they were right on as always. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
We recommend this campground for several reasons. The area is beautiful with both historical and nature-type activities available. Besides that, the owners of this campground are the most friendly and personable people you could meet. They were very helpful to our group of 11 rigs. One person has a medical emergency and another a mechanical emergency. The owners stepped up both times, immediately to assist. They also set up a tent for our group to enjoy shade for pot-lucks, without our even asking them to do so. We will return for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
Really nice people run this place, very accommodating and friendly. We wanted to be sure to have WiFi access,(which isn't available in all spots), so they put us close to the office, where we had marginal luck. The site was unlevel, got close with blocks. They offered additional hose to reach the water, which was in an odd location. Lots of shade from tall trees, nice setting, only one train on the tracks which are immediately across the road. We only stayed one night, but would stop again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Summer Breeze Campground, Iron Mountain, MI. What a delightful place to stay! Having spent 27 years in the military, I notice details. Stayed for three nights 2-4 July 2007. This campground is one of the nicest husband/wife run places I’ve ever seen. It is very clean, very nicely laid out, and the hosts are probably the nicest people you would ever want to meet. What is best about this campground is that 60 of 69 sites are pull-through. There is lots of maneuvering area for larger rigs. The campground and individual sites are full of large, mature trees for shade, plus the sites are not on top of one another. Great large play area for youngsters that is also away from most of the campsites, including a very nice pool, play sets, swings, et al. Nice laundry room, two washers/dryers, WiFi capable, with an outside phone line for making calling card calls if you don’t have cell coverage in that area. Nice camp store. For Good Sam members this is one of their affiliates. For a full hook up we paid $78 for three nights. Ice cream social on weekends. A very nice hiking trail rings the camp that makes for great strolls with the dogs or without. Guests seem to be very conscientious about cleaning up after dogs. Each site has a fire ring, and the hosts charge $6.00 for a wheelbarrow load of wood – not bad as cut wood prices go. We really enjoyed ourselves at this site and it is a definite “do again” when we’re in the upper peninsula of MI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$26
The couple just bought it and were very nice. They went out of their way to be helpful for any issues that came up. I would go back if I return to the area. Grade A campground We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$23
We only stayed one night passing through on a long trip but it was nice. Didn’t visit the restrooms or showers but the camp store was extremely clean. Too cold to swim that night but the pool looked very clean as well. Owners were very friendly. Sites were good size and there is a playground for the kids. Got 10% off with our Good Sam card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com