215234 User submitted reviews online!!
St. Bernard State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (504) 682-2101
CGID6277

St. Bernard State Park

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   8   10   7   6   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Beautiful park with well-spaced pitches. Staff were polite at the office, and our online reservation had worked. RV parking is on narrow (but adequate) tarmac strips set amongst well-kept grass and woodland. To our great surprise, there was good free Wi-Fi! The antenna is on the bathhouse, so sites 1-8 are best for reception. All in all, a perfect base for visiting the Big Easy. :) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
We liked this park, stayed 3 nights. It was tidy, quiet and fairly close to French Quarter, had a coded security gate for night, nice park people and reasonable price ($24 first night, $18 each night thereafter). Sites had trash, picnic table, grill and fire ring. Down side would be closeness of some of the spots and closeness to marshy water. But seeing as how it was LA, swampy is to be expected. Since we stayed here in January there was no bug problem, but I can see from the terrain (marshy) that bugs could be an issue in the summer. We saw cottontails and an armadillo. We were assigned space 32 but it was small, pad was more of a hill and it was surrounded by marshy water. So we picked space #20 which was much dryer and flatter. We did however have to use the 30 amp as the 50 didn't seem to work. We thought it was our prob at first, but the prior park and in the next park our 50 amp worked fine. The paved pad was pretty level but just wide enough for our MH and barely enough room to park our car in the front. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
We stayed here 2 nights. We were the only RV in the entire park. I could not believe it. The park is nice and I was able to pick whatever site I wanted. No problem getting my Trac Vision Satellite to pick up signal for Direc TV. Only thing that would make this a perfect 10 would be if they had sewage hookups on the sites. They have a pool and small playground that would be nice if you have kids. We saw a lot a rabbits and we even saw a deer one morning when we were driving out the park. Very relaxing weekend since we had the whole place to ourselves. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
Stayed here because it was convenient to New Orleans but had state park pricing. Paved roads and sites. Well maintained park with clean bathhouse . Sites are close together and open. Don’t know about summertime as camping area is surrounded by water, making mosquitoes probable. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This was a nice quiet campground very conveniently located (30 minutes) to many sights in New Orleans - French Quarter, Zoo, Aquarium. Campground sites and facilities were very well maintained. Pool was open 10-5 and there was a nice playground for kids. Very hot and humid in August! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
I like this campground but only when it is below 70 degrees, We stayed here in 1990 and liked it other than the mosquitos, but it was in early May. This time we used it as are Mardi Gras hub and it worked out great. Very clean, wifi is usualy through out the campground but this time only at the ranger station, restrooms clean we stayed here nine days in Febuary in a motorhome. But get out before it gets warm, the bugs will eat you alive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2008
$8
Rate paid reflects Golden Age discount (50%). Pretty nice as a state park. Level, paved sites. Clean showers and restrooms. Would stay here again if necessary. Several negatives though. Mosquitoes. Voltage was a little low, about 104, on a muggy night in April. Think what it could be in the summer! Check-in process is slow and there is a single line for RVs, meaning that if you go out and come back in your RV, you have to wait in line behind a camper who is checking in. We must have waited 10 minutes to get in after dinner although we were already registered. Sites may be short for some rigs, about 50' at most. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
The park was under 12 to 18 feet of water during Katrina and has been restored with new electrical hookups, grills, fire rings, and tables. It is on a bayou and we shared a site with a 6 foot alligator. There were no problems with campers leaving unattended pets outside. New Orleans is only 18 miles away down a pretty state highway that parallels the river, goes through pasture land, oak canopies, refineries, and the lower ninth ward. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$16
Newly reopened after Katrina. Quiet and clean park with great restrooms and showers. Sites are blacktop and level. Very nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com