214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Hartwick Pines State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (989) 348-7068
CGID6279

Hartwick Pines State Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   5   10   8   8   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Excellent place to stay. Quiet. Beautiful. Superbly maintained. Very clean restrooms and showers. Camp host on site to help with any questions. Nearby to excellent fishing and hunting. Cool logging museum within the state park. Fire pits and picnic tables everywhere. Can't say enough good things about this place. So much so, that I posted a YouTube video of it as well. I love this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
Get your reservation early. We booked 4 months in advance and still could not get a full hook-up. If all sites had 50 amp I could give it a 10. Nice large, level sites with new fire rings & picnic table. Lots of families. New playground equipment and basketball hoop. You must have a Michigan Recreation Pass which is $30 for out-of-state. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
What all campground should be. Sites are well spaced. There clean clean showers & restrooms. Virgin Pines are beautiful. Bike Trail to City of Grayling. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Very nice campground. Well maintained. Clean. Courteous staff. A quiet and peaceful setting. Good size campsites with paved pads and fairly private (many sites are completely enclosed by trees). Lots of trails and biking areas. We've camped here several times and will certainly go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Beautiful campground fairly close to Grayling. There is a very nice Visitor's Center just full of displays and information on the area. They also have a very nice little gift shop. AT&T phone service was non-existent in the campground, but a signal can be had in the Visitor's Center parking lot! Many nice hiking trails in the park. We would return here if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
Very nice state park with level paved sites that are well laid out. Real quiet park despite being rather full, great for biking and hiking. Restrooms very well maintained. Check in process very smooth and workers were friendly and knowledgeable. No TV channels and no wi-fi only drawbacks We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
One of our favorite parks. Many miles of hiking trails. Restrooms are clean. Many sites are secluded with vegetation separating you from your neighbors. Make reservations early in the summer as the park fills up fast. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
We arrived after hours so had a bit of a time finding a spot (our fault). We were unable to get full hook ups since we arrived without reservations. The campground is beautiful and there are wonderful nature trails through out the park. The sites aren’t that big so you are pretty cozy with the people next door to you. This is the 2nd Michigan state park we have stayed in and feel that the rates are a bit high when you have to include a permit for your motor home AND your tow vehicle. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Very nice park with paved sites. Hot when we were here. Equipped for big rigs. We didn't have a reservation, but stayed here mid-week, & no problem getting a site. Not a lot to do here, but it is quiet, peaceful, & pretty. The mosquitoes were terrible, so bring bug spray. Took a hike, the Mertz Grade trail, later in the day & we had no insect repellent. We were terribly harassed by mosquitoes. Nice park, though. Good for bicycling, hiking, & have several museums. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
This is not the first Michigan State park we have stayed in, but thought we would give it a try. The park is nice, but as with all the Michigan State parks we have visited, the sites are small. You can hear the guy next door snoring. The pine trees are beautiful and made us anxious to reach our final destination of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. There are some very nice nature trails and it is close enough to town if you need supplies. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
Very nice state campground. Restrooms and showers were very nice and clean. Paved sites, pull-throughs with full hookups or back-ins with electric only. Some open sites and some with trees. Campground host camped on site #1. Very quiet and well maintained. Lots for the kids to do. Since the park is 7 miles from I-75, I was out of range of cell service in the campground, but only had to go about half mile inside park to get a signal if needed. Eight mile paved bike trail to Grayling. Fishing lakes, lots of hiking trails. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$33
This is the newer Hartwick Pines State Park. They shut down the old park and opened this one. Paved roads- and sites. They also are connected to miles of paved bike trails. We saw flocks of wild turkey walking through the camp. Also deer and in the evening you can hear the Coyotes howling in the distance. Very clean and nice campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com