218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Caballo Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (505) 743-3942
CGID6290

Caballo Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
310
Date of Stay
April 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   9   8   5   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
Site close to home. Opened up the season with a quick weekend stay. A few other rigs there and place was quiet and clean. No nonsense site with few other amenities. Area was well kept by park staff. A bit more dust and wind than we cared for, but that's the Desert Southwest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$14
The time of year and the campground selected can make a big difference in the perception of this State Park. This rating is for the main campground, which is situated above the lake and has three separate loops. Two of the loops are entirely reservation sites and none of the sites have 50 Amp. They are 30 Amp and there are no shade trees. Each has a solid ramada with a concrete pad and grill. Interior roads and sites are dusty gravel. Most of the sites are pull-through. Those in the Stallion Loop are the most spacious and not parallel to the interior road. Access to the lake is via the boat ramp road and the lake level is very low. The boating and weekend crowd on a Friday in August is missing in action. Perhaps because of the low water levels. Verizon has a strong signal here and so does the 3G aspect. We will likely return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
This review is for the Lakeside campground. This campground is just below the Caballo Dam on the Rio Grande River. This park is not as nice as our last park, South Monticello campground at Elephant Butte State Park. It is an older park and is not well maintained. The interior roads and individual sites need a new layer of gravel. Most sites are pull throughs. Each site has a grill/fire pit, water, 30 & 20 amp power, and a concrete pad that contains a picnic table covered with a shelter. The nearest civilization is Truth or Consequences. Cows are allowed to graze in the campground. There were about a dozen or more when we were here. This isn’t necessarily a bad idea except there are cow patties everywhere, even in the children’s playground. And these things attract a lot of flies. And I wonder if a cow would attack a curious child. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
Nice, quiet park. It has pull throughs and some back ins. A few FHU's. One would never know the place was there; just a few hundred yards from I-25 We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
For us this is a quiet and convenient overnight stop, close to I25, but no road noise. Seemed, this year that a lot of the campers were NM residents, most likely using the annual pass and paying $4.00 night. Even at $14 for electric and water it is a bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
Without reservations we were directed to the Appaloosa Loop with our 40' motorhome which is all non-reservations. We had 30Amp and water hookups. All sites in this loop are pull-throughs with a picnic table shelter and grill. There is a dump station. There are water view sites but you cannot go down to the lake from the campground. There is a boat launch nearby. When it's windy, there is no protection from this and the other two camping loops on the lake. There is another camping area about one mile away called the Riverside Loop. There the pull-throughs are very good for large RVs and there are large trees and wind protection. There are reservable sites at Riverside. The bath houses were very clean in all loops. There are many dry camping sites and a huge group area and playground at the Riverside area. There are 54 electric sites overall. The loops and sites are gravel. There are no hiking trails and there is nothing to do in the immediate area if you don't boat or fish. For that reason we would try nearby Elephant Butte when in the area again where one would be closer to groceries and restaurants and a Wal-Mart in Truth or Consequences. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
Nice stopover on I-25. Water and electric only at the overnight sites. The full hookup sites had signs saying "reserved" but nobody was using them. Next time we'll probably stay at the RV Park just past the state park. Water pressure was very low so we just used our pump in the rig. Sign says this is a good "Birding" park. We did see a hummingbird and some quail. Lots of doves, of course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$14
This is a well-kept campground in a desert area, hence it is well-used by the locals. There are actually two campgrounds; one above the dam, the other below the dam on the river. We stayed at the one below the dam, which has much more shade. Pull thru's were long and level. Easy access to the river. This was spring break for the schools, so all sites were full, but the sites are far enough apart so the noise level wasn't bad. Camp host was helpful, as were the park rangers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$18
A very nice RV park. We stayed in the full hook up and had a nice view of the lake or river. The landscape was desert but plants arranged nicely. No WiFi but low signal on Sprint air card let me on line. Would stay here anytime I am traveling through. At this time of the year no reservation was required and only 4 or 5 campers in the full hook up area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Park was very crowded during the weekend. Through the week, the park was about 50% occupied. Camp Host was on site, but appeared as though there was only one. This is a large campground which could use more hosts. The rate was for full hookups. Our site was a bit unlevel. Restrooms/Shower facilities were well maintained. Lots of trees which helped during the 100+ degree days. We will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
This park appears to be “self policing”. If there are camp hosts, we did not see them. The park officials seemed to be bored with their jobs. They seemed “put out” if you ask questions beyond their normal collection of money. No one kept track of how filled each of the campground was. Unfortunately campers were forced to circle around the campgrounds looking for a site that was not available. Riverside Campground appeared to be the noisiest of the 4 campground areas. This campground had sites for RV and for folks with tents. It also had a playground. We stayed in the Appaloosa campground. There was plenty of room for a large motor home and a boat. The utilities were placed in a logical area. Verizon air card worked well and the bathrooms were clean. We would only stay here again if it was off season and not on a weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$14
The Riverside Campground at Cabello State Park is one of my favorites. I have camped here 3 times. There are several sites with sewer. There are some great pull through sites with water and electric. If you want to be on the river you have to settle for dry camping. Unlike the campsites available on the lake, the river sites have trees, grass, lots of birds, peace and quiet. My most recent visit occurred over spring break: bad planning on my part as the campground was full. The host opened up the group area for latecomers like us. It was very peaceful. Finding the river campground can be tricky since it is not well marked. The main campground is easy to find. After you drive around and decide that you want something more rustic than sun and gravel, return to the main road and go south (turn left as you exit the park) then take the second left you come to. It is very poorly marked. If you cross over I-25 you missed the turn. If you are on tract, you will soon see both a sign and the barriers across the dam. Don't panic, there is a right turn right before the dam that leads into the campground. If you are arriving on summer weekends or spring break and want hookups: you should make reservations. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$14
We stayed in a KOA in Albuquerque the night before for $54 and it was not nearly as nice as this State Park facility for only $14!!!! The grounds were clean, lots of grass, shade trees, and we were right on the Rio Grande River. I highly recommend this park to anyone travelling along I-25 and looking for an "escape". No wi-fi and no cable TV but we picked up quite a few stations on the antennae. Little store about 3 miles up the road in Caballo sells everything you'd need to fish. We fished and did not catch anything but had fun watching the bats fly all over the place feeding and getting drinks of water from the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$8
We stayed 11 days in the Palomino campground with full hookups. Caballo is excellent for boating, fishing, bird watching and scenery. The campgrounds were clean and the hosts available now. Quite busy but not crazy on the weekends but quiet during the week. The park is stark with lots of gravel, close neighbors, small trees and very hot in the summer. No fires were allowed even though there is NOTHING to burn anywhere near the campsites. (One rule fits all.) We would stay here again if we wanted to be on the water, otherwise no. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$4
Nice campground with all of the trees. Unfortunately when we arrived it was the day after the Easter weekend. Our site was a pig sty! Bones and dog waste everywhere. We stayed for 2 weeks, and I only saw the camp host once. The weekends are very busy, and all of the elec/water sites were full by Friday night. The day before we left the new camp host (the other host was heading home) came over and handed us a trash bag, and we were told it was our turn to clean up!! Sorry bubba, but we already cleaned up the dog waste and all of the bones before we put our mats out on the disgusting littered ground. Why do they bother to have a host when they don't really do diddley squat?? We've been to at least 2/3 of New Mexico's State Parks and this one was the dirtiest!! Would we go back? Yes, just a shame that such a nice park is being neglected. Cell, aircard and satellite came in fine (Verizon). No problems with the electric and water. Plenty of room for our car and MH. Lots of room for our slides, and plenty of room to spread out. We have an annual camping pass otherwise an elec/water site is $14.00 or $18.00 with sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
I agree with the previous reviewer about the unkempt condition of the Riverside campground. We never saw the camp hosts at all during our 3 days. We enjoyed the size of sites and all the trees. Upon leaving we dumped at the upper campground, our hosts were working up there in the office. I mentioned to the ranger about the condition of the sites and restrooms. He expressed his appreciation for telling him. We love NM state parks and will mostly likely come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
We camped in the Riverside Campground which was on the other side of the dam and was on the Rio Grande River with some nice trees and vegetation. (There are 3 or 4 other campgrounds in this state park but they are more open and have little vegetation.) Riverside Campground is conveniently located off the interstate yet far enough away so that you don't hear the traffic noise. We had a spacious full-hook up pull-through site. I gave the campground a lower score as I was disappointed at the condition of this campground. Our site had a lot of trash (which I picked up), a couple of piles of the contents of left-over cooking fires just thrown on the ground, and newly sprouted weeds which were knee-high throughout the area. It gave the campground an unkempt, shaggy appearance. I know that with the campsites cleaned after each use and trimming the weeds, the campground would look a 100% better. I really don't know what role the campground hosts played as I did not see them greet campers or do any campsite maintenance. Customarily at other NM state parks, they are the ones that make sure each site is neat and tidy after campers have left. I am sure the weed removal is done by a crew of groundskeepers. I hope that a better job of cleaning the grounds is done as it is a nice campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$14
This is a nice park. It’s located very conveniently off Interstate 25 exit 59 20 miles south of Truth or Consequences. We stayed here January 24, 2007. We had a site with electric and water for $14. Full hook-ups cost $18. Very reasonable. GREAT views of the mountains and Caballo Lake. No heat in the bathhouse but showers are hot. Facilities clean. No Wi-Fi or cable. No state entry fee. We had arrived after driving through lots of snow and salt. The state attendant suggested we wash our vehicle and rinse down our trailer at our site. We appreciated that. You cannot go wrong at this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com