206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Western Horizon Resorts - Indian Waters was rated 7 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (760) 870-1607
CGID6295

Western Horizon Resorts - Indian Waters

Camp Information
Sites
265
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   7   1   10   7   9   7   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
This is a gated resort, with the gates closed about 5 PM. Interior roads are in excellent condition, asphalt and wide to accommodate big rigs. Easy access about 2 miles south of I-10. All staff are super friendly. Once checked in the host leads you to the site and assists directing you onto the pad. They have an area with gravel and an area with grass, we selected the later. Each site has a 40'+ level concrete pad for the RV and a separate concrete pad for the tow or towed vehicle. Services are good, but no cable or phone. TVs and free phones, including free long distance to US/Canada, are available in the clubhouse. Sites are very spacious with our site about 50' x 35'. Garbage is picked up daily from the front of your site. The clubhouse and pool area is spotless. They also arrange activities which include complimentary breakfasts, BBQ lunches, sports, arts/crafts, visits to local attractions and about weekly evening entertainment. We'll be back. Just make sure you arrive before 5 PM or the gate is closed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$10
Stayed as coast to coast member, site had no sewer hook up. Excellent facilities on site. Had two separate concrete pads, one for motor home and other for a towed vehicle. Site has shade trees and some grass, and gravel, no picnic bench. Has one free modem hook up near check-in office, wireless is Tengo Internet, which costs money. Has free long distance phone for the park, great feature. No full time restaurant on site, but lots of them in town. Staff is very friendly. Did not give it a 10 cause of no sewer for non-owners, and no free Wi-Fi,otherwise a great park to visit. There are sewers hook-ups available but not for us non-owner members. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$10
We stayed here as Coast to Coast members. It is a very good location for the area and very well maintained. Our back-in site was easy to get into. If you are not a Western Horizon member like us you will always be put into one of the sites with 30 amps and no sewer. You will also find that in this part of the resort which has approximately 125 sites, the bathroom facilities only has one shower for men and two for women. That can be a problem for this many sites and should have more shower accommodations. The resort has a nice pool and spa and many activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2009
$17
If you are not a Western Horizon member do not waste your time. My wife and I stopped in at the desk to inquire about staying 4 nights in November. We were rudely asked if we were Western Horizon members. We were not but are Camp Club USA members. She said fine you can stay only two nights via their agreement with Camp Club USA but, we would not have a full hook up sight and would have to leave after the 2 nights. We asked if we could just pay a higher rate to stay the full 4 nights we be in Indio. She said no. We could not help but notice all the empty sites as we left. We stayed at Indian Waters 2 blocks over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Indian Waters is one of the nicest RV parks we have stayed in. It is very clean with green grass and beautiful shrubbery and trees. The people who work here are very friendly and helpful. There are many activities or you can just enjoy the pond and pool. Everything you need is just a short drive away. We love it here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$2
Had made reservations through the central Western Horizons System as members, and were still sent to the separate area that has no sewer dumps!! People were thinking that this area was only for non-members - Not so! A honeywagon comes by certain days of the week only to pump out your rig. So you have to watch your use of water. Nice location with good facilities and activities. Outside street noise levels can be quite high at the perimeters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$2
This is our home park as a member of Western Horizon Resorts. This is a great park with lots of activities, friendly staff and members, and a great location for winter visits to the Palm Desert and Palm Springs areas. My wife and I especially enjoyed the outdoor activities which included hiking in the nearby hills and kayaking at the Salton Sea. Great weather, lots of cinemas, theaters, and sports events to keep one busy. Since we don't have a tow vehicle and carry bikes on the back of our rig, we went on the outdoor hikes with fellow campers, and used the local bus system ($0.50 a ride) to get around the entire valley when not biking or walking. Convenient to shopping centers and lots of shopping. As to previous comments about different sites. All members receive a different site when they enter the park. In my experience, all sites are large and inviting. This is a great park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2008
$12
Indian Waters RV Park is a Western Horizons park and part of the RPI network. There are two different sections - one for Western Horizon's members, and one for RPI/AOR members. The $12 rate includes $2 for electric (not 50amp). All the sites are large with a concrete pad to park your rig, the area for members is grassy with full hook-ups and the area for non-members is gravel with only electric and water. There is no cable throughout the park, and wifi is free, although it is terrible. Western Horizons knows their wifi is bad because they even give you a disclaimer when you check-in of the reasons they think it's bad. However they just need to spend a bit more money and get some more bandwidth. The positives of Indian Waters - it is clean, has a pool and hot tub, horseshoes, shuffleboard, a dining area and lot of activities. There is a social room with a small book exchange. Quite honestly, we probably would not come back to this park - the segregation just gives the place a negative vibe. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2008
$1
We stayed here to learn more about Western Horizons campground memberships on their 3 day free pass program. The salesman was rude and nearly hostile when we told him we were not ready to buy at this time. We will not return to this park and probably not to any other Western Horizon facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$2
We used Resorts Of Distinction for our reservation. We got to Indian Waters on the day they were opening for the season. They were planting the winter grass so things were a little out of the ordinary. The only issue was that the sprinklers were set to go off several times leaving things a little wet most of the time. That should be over by the middle of October. We had site 141 that was in the member area so it is possible to get a site with sewer hookups even if not a member. It had a large carob tree that provided lots of afternoon shade. It was very close to the pool, restrooms, shower, laundry, and activity room. Everything was very well maintained even though it was opening day. We had stayed in the area without sewer hookups previously and it was very nice; new and well designed, plenty of room. It is an RV park in an urban setting so you need to expect things that you would experience in such a setting. On the plus side shopping was nearby and plentiful as were places to eat. Three casinos are within a 10 minute drive. There is some noise but not too noticeable. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2008
$3
The section of this Western Horizon park for regular members was very nice, with concrete pads fully surrounded by green grass, and lots of shade trees and full hookups. However, if you are visiting on an affiliate membership or something like CampClubUSA you are relegated to what appears like an overflow area with water & electricity only. It also has concrete pads but just gravel all around. The trees were not mature enough to provide any real shade. Plus, that area is near the streets, so its noisy. Unless you really like the "thump-thump" of car boom boxes, do not take a site near Jackson Ave. It continued until past midnight and started again in AM. The WIFI is painfully slow with speeds of 1-2 Mbps, which the WIFI "expert" told me was the normal top speed there. However, I must add I was about as far away from their WIFI equipment as was possible and still be in the park. The staff we had contact with was friendly, and the amenities looked good, although we did not make use of them. We won't be going back there. We had a "limited" membership so the fee was $2 for electricity and $1 for WIFI. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$50
Spotless, upscale resort. All the usual resort-type activities. Landscaping alert: nothing on the ground unless it's on your concrete pad. Nice, friendly staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$2
We own a membership in this campground so it only costs us $2. a night. We love going here. I wish they had a fenced dog park. The only problem is that it is hard to get a full hook up spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2006
$6
This is a Western Horizon membership park. Poorly maintained. Large patches of dead lawns. Our big rig wouldn't fit onto their lawn pads (sprinklers) so we had to move to to a gravel pad. Gravel and poorly paved roads (paved but gravelly). Facilities clean but dated. Mediocre experience at best. Pads did have cement patio area and plenty of parking for tow car. Staff were unapologetic when told of deficiencies and exhibited take it or leave it attitude. If considering a Western Horizons membership, just be certain this is the level of "quality" you are expecting. If not -- move on. Also, park is located in a marginal area of Indio and not a comfortable area if you wanted to leave the resort of a bike ride or walk. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com