218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Jefferson County Fairgrounds was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (303) 961-9705
CGID6299

Jefferson County Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   5   7   5   3   7   6   8   3   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
Not a Destination Park, but it is good for a few nights. Clean park and friendly staff. Overpriced for the minimal facilities available. 50 amp sites are back-in only. Pull-thrus are 30 amp. Back-in sites are asphalt and very narrow. Dump station is available, but a little tight for a big rig. It's doable, though. Nice kiddy playground on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Way overpriced for what they have to offer. Sites aren't long enough to stay hooked up for early departure , nor are they level enough to remain hooked up. (Had to raise the tongue over eight inches more than normal.) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Prices have increased quite a bit ($20 last time) since we last visited. Some changes, no more long-term residents and the RV area has been graded and oiled. Still no sewage service. WiFi is fairly reliable. Friendly management. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
I stayed in the gravel portion of the campground. This year they turned off the water on October 1, but still charge the same fee for camping without water. There is a stainless steel foundry right across the street which emits pollution. It smells like burning clutch or brakes. Definitely not a place I'd like to stay long-term. There are several long-term campers in various states of disrepair. The sites are very, very close together. Last night a woman was screaming and banging on something at about 11:00, maybe a domestic or alcohol situation. They also won't allow vehicle access to the sites this weekend due to an event at the facility. I might stay here again for a one-nighter on my way somewhere else, but I wouldn't stay for any extended period of time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
All of the positives and negatives from the 2013 Reviews are true. We enjoyed the location for exploring and the bathrooms were spotless. But, that was about it. I have to say the camp hosts were more than friendly and helpful when I had to complain about a newly arrived neighbor who shoved our picnic table up against our rig so that he could have more room for his. One trailer I noticed had expired tags and a lot had temporary tags. I got the impression most were just “existing” in this RV park and not workers with a place to stay while in the area. This is the first RV park in 7 years of RVing I did not feel completely safe. All this was in the pull-through area. With all that said, I would consider staying in the paved back-in area if in the area again. It’s away from the questionable trailers and next to a nice grass park area. We have stayed in a lot of fairgrounds and county RV parks, but have never experienced a place like this. It’s ashame because Jefferson Fairgrounds as a whole is very nice. The county authorities should realize this is a very poor reflection of Golden that these conditions exist, not to mention losing repeat customers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
Positives: Good location as a base to see Denver and the foothills. It is at the fairgrounds, so we did not expect much, but were pleasantly surprised. Considering it was late June and almost 100 degrees, the horse smell was much much less than we expected. The camp hosts were very nice and was it was very easy to get in and out of. Negatives: There were many motor homes that looked like they were there forever and may not be able to drive if they had to. Restrooms are public since at the fairgrounds but the showers have codes on them. Spots were too narrow to put out awning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
Park has very narrow asphalt sites with water and electric. A picnic table and nice grassy area for dogs. It was fine for an overnight, but nothing more for us. I took the dogs out late and there was a young family with a baby coming from the restroom area. Also, stables are nearby, so the smell of horses is definitely in the air. We would stay again -- but only overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$20
I called ahead since it was Memorial Day weekend and I had already been turned away at a state park near Rifle, CO. They saved me a spot and were very helpful about checking me in and showing me to my space. You have to check in at the fairgrounds office, which is nowhere near the rv sites, so follow the signs for the office, not the rv park, when you first get there. The have the water and electric at each site and the dump locked up, but they unlock at your site when they show you in, are very quick to come when you call the posted phone number for the dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
There are 40 sites. Over 30 are very long time permanent residents in mostly rundown old RVs or tents. Campers in the tent area have no water so they come to your RV site to wash their dishes at your water faucet. No picnic table at our site # 37 because the site is too tight to accommodate one. Can't park your car or tow vehicle at site. It needs to be put in parking area nearby. The campground feels like it is full of homeless people living in old trailers and RVs. Stay here is cheap, but all you get is water & electric, highway noise, and a feeling that you are on tobacco road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
We stayed here for a rodeo event and the price reflects a special event rate of $50 for a three day stay. Park was very clean, including restrooms and showers. Staff was friendly. There's a nice playground for kids and a huge grassy area for pets. Sites are a bit on the small side and closely packed together, but nice and level. Only a few longer term residents apparent. There are some trees, but they are confined to the edge of the park where the tent camping is. Easy access to Route 6 and only a few blocks off I-70. The Wi-Fi was the worst thing, even though the speed was good, with a long log in process that requires a cellphone email and lots of getting dropped and having to re-log in. This was a minor annoyance and all in all, I would stay here again. Highly recommend it if you're going to events at the fairgrounds! We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
In interest of fairness, park rate for pull through site was only $20 per night, but no sewer. Wi-Fi completely inaccessible from the west pull through row and had a cumbersome login. Pull through sites are packed in. No cable tV. The positives: easy access to the Denver area, clean restrooms/showers, helpful host, huge grassy play area, nice walk path, covered pavilion. Stayed 5 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
We decided to stay here from the previous reviews. We got one of the sites that require a parallel park. That wouldn’t be bad for a shorter fifth wheel but at 38 feet it isn’t easy getting in. There is no sewer so when the tanks need dumped it is move or use a Blue Boy tank to get the tanks dumped and to the dump station. The site was way off level and the WiFi is a real pain when it even works - which isn’t too regularly. There is a cumbersome procedure to log in and the router keeps dropping me out. The hosts are real friendly and the office staff is nice. Showers are really nice and the baths are clean. The gravel sites are pull through and seem fairly level. There are a lot of events that go on here and some can be entertaining. I would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
We've stayed here about 4-6 weeks (sometimes for 1 week sometimes for 4 weeks at a time) a year for the past three years. The camp hosts and office staff are extremely friendly. The dump station is kept locked to keep people from Denver from driving though the campground. If you tell the camp host that you'd like to use the dump in advance, it is always opened for you. The showers are the cleanest we've even seen. One of the camp hosts cleans them every morning. We've never had a problem with the WI-FI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Not bad for price but has some problems. WiFi simply will not work except very near shelter house or toward east of park. The dump station is always locked and when you call it takes quite a while for anyone to arrive, then its relocked and everyone else has to beg also to get open. When the camp host are present they are really good at opening it. And they hardly ever open the water so you can't rinse you dump hose. They are really paranoid about that dump station. They also make you move around a lot due to contracted events, really nerve rattling to not know if you have a site. Office and personel are mostly friendly, however ground super (guy who opens dump) is not very friendly. I won't stay long term again, too much aggravation for a hopefully peaceful vacation. Maybe good for a day or two if there is no special event that they hassel you to move. Ask first about special events and IF you can stay in a site for xx days you need. OPEN that dump station and post an armed guard if it's that valuable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This park has the nicest, cleanest bathroom and showers I've ever seen in a park. Spaces are nice but a little tight. We happen to love the location in the western area of Denver. Easy access to anything you might want to do in the area. They have a number of different prices based on the site you choose and how long you are going to stay. $25 is for their best site for a weeks stay ($30 for less than a week). The only problem is that they don't have dumps at the sites, but there is a dump. We will return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Dirt, open parking lot without amenities. The pull through sites are short. Has water and electric only. We would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
We arrived to find a crowded, cramped gravel parking lot. My slide outs practically touched the neighbors rig. There is construction underway on the nearby facilities, so there was heavy equipment moving around all day. Navigating the park was tough because the sites are so tight, and there are posts strategically placed to prevent you from turning too tightly. The attendants were nice, and the area is convenient. The sites along the curbs are not too bad, but if you get stuck in the dirt parking lot, watch out. On the other hand, the television reception was very good, and the voltage and water pressure were good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Good economical place to stay in Denver area. Typical fairground--all gravel & somewhat narrow pull throughs except some long termers on blacktop and a few small back-ins by the bathrooms. They were not busy so we parked the truck in the site next to us. Near expressway and manufacturing plant that stops about 5 PM. We had some nice organized horse activity to watch. Camp hosts are very friendly & helpful. They are needed to unlock site water & electricity & dump station. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We full time RV but are not retired so both of us need computer/phone capability and this park provided us the ability to work during the day for a great price. The showers were impeccably clean and the park host was very friendly and obviously very attentive thus creating a nice, quiet and well maintained campground. The walk to the office to pay is quite long though and the sewer dump station is not convenient, especially when towing (end of a tight turnaround). For the price and cleanliness though, this campground should be high on anyone's list. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
Very nice campground. Easy access from I-70. Restrooms and showers supper clean. Camp host friendly and very helpful. Had fast Wi-Fi in the 50amp spot. Originally planned to move to another campground in a few days, but extended to two weeks. Will stay here when in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Restrooms & Showers were very clean and very nice. Site was fairly level. We parked parallel to the side walk and had 30 amp. The road was paved but slightly slanted toward the curb. The sites have no sewer so you have to go dump. Staff was friendly. Park well maintained. Can't beat the price. We stayed for 3 nights until we found a campground with sewer. Parks around Golden stay full in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
Very nice area and campground. The receptionist and workers at the fairgrounds bent over backward to be helpful. The receptionist was out for lunch when we arrived so another worker brought us into the office and had us taken to a campsite. Later we came back in to pay. There are many great things to visit very near here. We enjoyed the Mother Cabrini Shrine, Buffalo Bill's Grave and Museum and the Coors Brewery. Lots of nice stores just across the freeway. This is a clean, nice campground and we would love to come back. They do take reservations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$15
RV sites on fairgrounds property. Six dirt back-in sites have 50 amp service. Eight 30 amp sites are asphalt, parallel along parking lot curb. The rest are fairly tight dirt 30 amp pull throughs. Big rigs would be tight but do able in pull throughs, and okay elsewhere. Bathrooms were clean even though open to the public, and RVers get a code for the private shower rooms. Had to call the office to get dump station unlocked but they responded immediately. This was during off season, and water had been turned off at dump station and in pull through sites. Also, electric and water hookups at sites are locked until campers register. Might be an issue for late arrivals. No amenities/activities except fairgrounds property, although there is a huge field and a playground that locals seem to use. Campground has 7 day limit. We paid $15/night but the rate went up to $20/night effective January 2007. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com