223495 User submitted reviews online!!
Snow Canyon State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (435) 628-2255
CGID6301

Snow Canyon State Park

Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   7   9   7   10   10   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
Not sure how to rate the park as we got one of the 'non-reservable' sites (number one), and it is an absolutely beautiful site with no one outside your door but gorgeous canyon views. Yes, the electric/water sites are tight but everyone gets a covered area with a lovely picnic table and a roof and an overhead light as well as a charcoal grill. Most sites share the peninsula with the covered areas (kind of like at a gas station?) but each site has it's own grill and covered area. Sites are very narrow because of these covered picnic sites and slideouts can be an issue. Our former 40' MH with a 12' height would not have fit because of the covered picnic area but our 30' was able to fit in Site 1. Not sure of any other site . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
If you're in a site with electricity one word describes this place. TIGHT!!. We had enough room to open our slides but just. If you have slides on both sides you'll have to figure out what side you want open because there's not enough room for both sides. You are also right on top of the the other sites. That said they have the nicest picnic tables I have ever scene. Good lighting under the shelter you are right next to and have outdoor power. The showers we clean and they had good hot water but you have to pull the chain down and hold it down to get water. This place fills up fast this time of year and we got the last 1st come site. The non power sites are much nicer and have more room. The generator hours are kind of screwy 12 noon till 4 pm. Probably the worst time of the day to run them if you want to hike or cook dinner. Verizon MiFi and phone works pretty well, the views are great, the roads and sites are paved,and the sites aren't all that level. We would stay here again if we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Snow Canyon SP north of St. George, Utah. Water and electric sites are $20, paved, and are lined up side-by-side with just enough room to put the slides out. Dry camping sites are $16, well-spaced, level, and have privacy due to trees and shrubs. Beautiful views of the gorgeous state park from both types of sites, however. Cell phone reception basically non-existent at the campground, but a weak and useable signal for both AT&T and Verizon was available at various points towards the northern end of the park. As others have mentioned, the NON-hookup sites are much prettier and have nice spacing between sites. I would have foregone the hookup (and saved $4!) if one on those had been available, but unfortunately they were all taken when I got there. I'd probably give a Rating of 8 for the non-hookup sites. But regardless of which type of site you stay in, the park itself is gorgeous, with terrific hiking trails and also nice paved bike paths. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
The serviced sites were very close but the unserviced sites were private and roomy. We wished we'd sucked it up and gone without water and electricity because this would have been a wonderful spot for dry camping. Overall this was a very pretty park with glorious scenery. The only complaint we had was that there were only 2 showers each for men and women which caused lineups in the morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Hard trade-offs: beautiful and protected, red rock surroundings, lots of hiking and walking trails (natural and paved), fun to climb on petrified sand dunes, little traffic and noise; but really just 12 sites available with electric and water. This area is paved with a dump station on-site. Bathrooms and showers are functional and clean, but worn. Sites are a hard 11' wide, you are back-to-back with your neighbor. With careful positioning you might get one slide-out open a couple feet on your hook-ups side. In February there were just two sites taken, in late March all were reserved and in use. I doubt I will return, just too snug. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Wonderful place. Dedicated government employees and volunteers. Spectacular scenery. You'll want to second-guess a decision to go electric. The hookup sites are crowded. If you're like us, you'll be much happier dry camping, away from others. Make your reservations early. This is an Eden that too many have discovered already. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
This place is a real gem. Surrounded by red rock and easily accessible trail for hiking. Cell service was spotty, but texting was adequate. Very friendly folks at the welcoming center. Only two sites for RV's available, but the remaining 12 or so were for reservations. I love this place and will return again when the occasion arises. Truly the most beautiful I've seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Would give this CG a 10 except for the closeness of the sites. These are side by sides with little or no room for slide outs. The CG is old, built before all of our slide outs. We kept ours out partially. Given that, the setting is GORGEOUS and worth of the inconvenience. Reservations are highly recommended. The camp hosts were very helpful and friendly. We would stay here again. For sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
July at 105 degrees, very little shade, air conditioner ran most of the night. Site-14 was level and private, has patio. We do not have a slide-out, but I guess these sites are too tight for them to be extended. Showers were a short walk but clean and no limits on water. Beautiful red rocks, lots of birds, few people. We stayed two days while attending Tuachan Musicals. Easy dump when leaving. Will stay again next year. Park employees were wonderful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$20
We camped here in late November with two young children. It was our first camping trip and it couldn't have been a more perfect spot. The kids were able to ride their bikes and scooters around the campsite and campground and play football and frisbee in the grassy field just across the small road from where we parked. There are fantastic hikes, simple enough for young children with cave-like finds and fantastic natural formations. Also, there are sand dunes where my kids had a blast making "sand angels." Although the campground is small, it is really spacious. Our spot had an adjacent covered patio with picnic table and barbeque. There aren't any fire rings, but they allow you to bring one, so we brought our own fire ring and wood. The weather was very much on the verge of going from chilly to downright cold. I would not hesitate to camp at Snow Canyon again in November but I'd expect any later to bring weather too cold for enjoying the outdoor activities with young children. We only used the bathroom facilities once or twice. They were stinky but appeared to be quite clean. We did not use the showers. The only reason I'm not giving this park 10 stars is because it doesn't have sewer hook-ups and that would be really useful with our small trailer and it's small gray water tank. That would have made it perfect. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
It is tough to give a low score to such a beautiful location but, as mentioned before, the hook-up sites, #'s 1-14 are incredibly tight and the middle ones are also very uneven. Try to get sites 1-3 or 12-14 as the ones on the ends seemed to be more level. If you are willing to dry camp, there are outstanding non-hook-up sites in this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
The campground hosts were very helpful last year, so we are going back for 3 months in Sept.-Nov. 2009. Spaces are small for slideouts and awning, but the area is beautiful clay mountains. There are lots of hiking and biking trails, St. George minutes away. Don't miss the hike to the Volcano top. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
This is a park with great southwestern views, good trails for hiking and bike riding. However, the RV elect sites are closer together than the worst of any KOA sites. Picture side by sides on the hookup side and about 8-feet on the other. These are the worst hookup sites in the Utah State Park system. On the other hand many of the non-hookup sites are really nice and big and spacious. This is a 10 for none hookups and a 1 for hookup sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$12
Beautiful park, not great for bigger rigs. We dry camped in a 30' Class C and although a tight fit, had spectacular views in all directions. Electric sites (only a couple dollars more) are few and were all taken except for our last night. Campers may stay only 5 days in a 30 day period. Great hiking and biking. Stunning photo opportunities. Bathrooms/showers so-so. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$18
Good vibe, but not for big rigs. There's not much info on this campground anywhere, so we called and asked if our 40-footer would fit. They said it would but we probably wouldn't be able to use our slides, and technically they were right. But because of the configuration of the sites, the width is at least as important as length (although length would be an issue in turning to get into some of the sites). Sites are side-by-side with utilities in the middle and a brick shade structure/picnic table on either side, which means there's a slot for each RV. We squeezed in there in a way that allowed our small bedroom curbside slide to be opened, but the roofline of the RV was within inches of the roof of the structure, and from the looks of the edge of the roof, we weren't the first to attempt some precision work. If there had been an RV in the site next to us, we would have been maybe two feet from each other. There are a couple of no-hookup sites that are roomier in an outer loop (meant for tenters, but they said we could have one if we wanted). But the campground is several miles into the state park and would require a pretty lengthy reconnaissance mission, and even in October, it was going to be full over the weekend. If you're in a small rig, you'll be fine. If not, think hard. The campground is in the canyon, with a paved hike/bike trail right by there, with lots of hiking trails that branch off the main trail. Really pretty area that would be a huge draw if it weren't a close neighbor of Zion and Utah's other natural wonders. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com