223426 User submitted reviews online!!
Wekiwa Springs State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (407) 884-2008
CGID631

Wekiwa Springs State Park

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   6   8   9   9   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$13
Another nice state park. Nice hilly bike riding. Never went for a bike ride without seeing deer, turkeys, and gopher tortoises. Site was large and shaded. A lot of cigarette butts and trash left by previous occupants in our site. Spent half hour picking it up. Not campground's fault. Spring area is nice. We were here during the week. Imagine the Spring area gets very crowded on weekends. First time camping here, but will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$24
Absolutely loved this park as the sites are well spaced, well kept and ease of entry for all rigs that we saw there. Bathrooms and showers were immaculate. Swimming in Wekiwa Springs is an experience as the water is quite cool and refreshing. Stayed three nights and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
This park is one of the best public campgrounds that we have been to, at this time. The campground is well maintained and has tons of things to do. There is a swimming area, hiking trails, bicycling, fishing, and even a cabin area that can be rented for weddings, family reunions, etc., that includes a lodge, dining hall, gazebo, and chapel/meeting room. The wildlife is abundant. We will definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2014
$32
This is a lovely park and the campsites are roomy and well spaced. The only reason I didn't rate it higher is that it is very busy and the supposed first come first serve sites listed on the ReserveAmerica site are not as advertised. We were there first to get them for an additional nights stay, they were empty, but park staff told us they were being saved for extra camp hosts. So don't count on being able to use the walk up sites, even during the week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$27
Beautiful park. Large spacious sites once you are in the park. Large immaculate bath house. Plus it had heat in January which is a rarity we discovered while traveling through Florida in the winter. The park is in a very crowded residential area and is difficult to find. I talked with other campers who had the same experience getting into the park. Just be aware prior to visiting the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
A very nice campground in this state park. Most of the sites are angled (as opposed to 90 degree) to the campground road making backing in very easy. Sites 1 - 30 have new sewer hookups available. Bathrooms were very clean. Lots of hiking trails available. Park is very busy on weekends so come during the week to avoid the crowds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This is one of our favorite campgrounds. This was our third visit to the park. This time we stayed at site 49. As usual the wildlife was plentiful and fun to watch. We enjoyed visiting the spring and spent time swimming. The bathroom/showers were clean. The park was patroled constantly by both law enforcement and the park rangers. While out looking for wildlife, one park ranger stopped us to give us information on other wildlife and where it could be found in the park. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
Great park in suburban Orlando that is loved to death. Facilities are good considering location so close to Disney, Kennedy Space Center, and other attractions. CG is a mile from the spring so no day use people around. Shady sites with good distance between neighbors though not much screening vegetation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
Great one night campground we enjoyed our stay, but not what we was looking for in a campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$24
Site #2 close to clean RR was a shaded site but narrow. Two slides out, awning 1/2 out, touching trees. 30 amp, no 50 amp available. 1/2 mile or so bike ride up and down hills to swimming area. Beautiful large springs, no gators, was lovely and refreshing. No playground in campground which was a drawback for us. Turkeys and deer abound. "7" because it's too far to the swimming pool to make it a quick bike ride in the heat; the narrowish site and no playground. Wish they would move the Campground further in, away from suburbia. Can see houses from campground. They had nice pools. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$13
Rate shown is Florida senior resident. Our second visit here-no bears this time although the rangers said they were active. Great park, good hiking, plenty to do at the spring-canoe, kayak, swim, picnic, visit the museum. There are volleyball courts and horseshoe pits nearby-we did not check these out. There is a very limited grocery and snack shop attached to the museum. The grounds, roads, and trails were well kept and clean. The spring and areas around the trails were beautiful. We stumbled upon a crew filming a "Trailer" for a book being published about a medieval wizard-all were in period costume with at least one sword. Interesting! All sites are good, just some better than others. Next time we will try to get one on the outside of the circles, preferably 46 to 53. Sites 31 to 60 offer slightly more privacy between campsites due to trees and brush, but there are no bad sites here-most are large. TV and cell phone reception was very good. We got 40+ channels with a standard rooftop antenna. If you go, definitely take the time to walk the "Wet to dry" boardwalk trail {1/4 mile} just over the bridge. We had no trouble with a standard wheelchair. There are 26 miles of trails for hikers, bikers and horses with restrictions on some trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$24
Wekiwa Springs State Park (pronounced Wekiva), is a nice park. We camped in a 35 foot RV trailer at site #21. Our serious issue with this park is the LOUD road noise from the busy road next to the camping area. Yes, the camp sites are within view of a very busy road. Homes and large powerlines are also part of the scenery. The noise from the road is easy heard in our trailer. If you do decide to camp here, attempt to get a camp site from #31-59. It is a little farther away, but the traffic can still be heard. Now that being said, the hiking trails here are rated a 10. There are many miles of hiking, mountain biking or horse back riding. The trails are narrow mostly with overhead cover from the trees. The trails are well maintained and well marked. There is Sand lake if you would like to fish. The campsites for the most part are deep. Our site was a bit narrow and wish Reserve America had listed the width of each site. Our Trailer has 2 slide-outs did fit, but it was tight. The sites are close together with little foliage between the sites. Bathrooms are very clean and well maintained. There is a very nice swimming area that is a natural spring with a water temperature of 72 degrees year round. You can rent canoes and kayaks from the concession stand. NOTE: 1 June 2010 this park starts a large construction project. Reservations will not be taken for camping. It will be on a first come, first serve basis. The construction in the camping area will probably be loud. The reason for the construction is this campground will be providing septic hookup at each site. The construction is expected to last 18 months. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$24
This is a very busy park. The springs and river are very nice. However make sure to go on the river when the kids are in school as they rent canoes to anyone and they do not give them instructions which means as a kayak-er you play dodge the canoes. The rangers make you very aware the bears are active, we saw none. We did see an alligator in the river and some birds and many turtles. The higher # sites 31-60 seem to be larger and have more trees. There are many hiking trails and such, there are many things to do in this park. The rest rooms were clean and there was plenty of hot water in the showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
We have stayed in this park several times with a 38-footer and have had no problems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
This was our second trip to this park. As before, the site was spacious, clean and close to the restrooms. The staff was friendly and courteous. There was an abundance of wildlife in the park which everyone enjoyed. The park had its fall festival going on the weekend we were there. There was plenty to see and do. This is one of our favorite parks and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
Very nice campground. Large, shady sites with a hard packed fine sand-shell type underneath. 30 amp service, and the traditional Florida State Park dump station. There are 2 campground loops to choose from, the higher numbered side had larger sites. Restrooms were fairly new and very clean, and the Springs were spacious, with a very large swimming area, 5 and 1/2 feet deep to about 3 feet deep at walk over. Canoe and Kayak rentals, as well as a small snack bar was available, as well. We saw many deer, and last time we came, we saw a bear! My one and only complaint was the dump station tilted the camper the wrong way! Otherwise, great park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
Our site was a level gravel back in site with water and electric and was wide enough for 3 slide outs. The campground is wooded and very clean. There are 2 camping loops, each with a bath house. The park has several miles of walking trails. The main attraction at this state park is the beautiful Wekiwa Springs where many people come to swim. There is a canoe and kayak rental in the park. There are pleny of grocery stores and restaurants located a few miles from the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
The park staff are very nice. The RV pads are hard packed shell and clean. The bath house is being up dated at this time and the showers are closed on loop 30-60 but can go a 2/10 mile walk to the other side of the circle to shower. The park over all is kept clean and rangers patrol often. There are many hiking trails but it is not to good for off road biking as it is dry and loose sand on most trails as it is very dry there. The spring is nice with lots of picnic tables in the area. Stores are less than five miles for any thing you might need. We will go back to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
This is our second visit to this park which was chosen as it is close to Orlando, so that we can go to Walt Disney World. The park is large, with an extensive hiking trail system, equestrian camping, primitive camping sites and about 60 modern camping sites in 2 loops with electric and water at each site. The sites are smaller than those we found in some other parks, but are adequate and well maintained. The higher number loop seemed to have larger sites and more privacy as the folieage was more dense with good shade. The lower number sites were near an area that was recently burned so it was not nearly as attractive, was dirtier and more open. They are near the highway so traffic noise is sometimes intrusive especially early in the morning. Facilities were clean, no laundry available. Park store, concession is about 1 mile from campground near the springs. It and the river are crystal clear and we could see large fish clearly while we were kayaking. The river is beautiful and easy for an out and back paddle. Some pluses and minuses, but we will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
This park has very deep spaces and lots of trees. We had site 52, which was right near the bathhouse. I think the higher site numbers have more trees. There is a spring here that is a constant 72 degrees. The swimming 'hole' is huge and doesn't seem to get crowded because it so large. We rented kayaks and paddled the crystal clear river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$23
This campground is another nice Florida State Park. There are two loops and about 60 sites. The majority of the sites are shaded. We had site 44 and it definitely was shaded. This loop had more shade than the other one. It cost $22.50 for the night for electricity and water. Reservations were necessary on the weekend and now that school is out in most Florida counties. They have some primitive hike in sites and canoe sites but because of the drought they are not easy to get to. We arrived around noon and had to wait until almost 2:00 PM to get to our site since Florida has a 1:00 PM checkout time and a 3:00 PM check-in time. The people in our site forgot to check out when they left so we had to wait until the rangers could check the campground around 1:30. Others came in and went to their sites right away. This is a busy campground and day area on weekends being so close to Orlando and we arrived on a Saturday for one night. Peaceful campground and we could bike over to the springs to go swimming or boating. The day area was full on Saturday and many cars were turned away – they only have 300 slots for cars and you can not get in for the day until another car leaves and there is no place to park to wait. If you are a camper they have a parking area for you to wait near the ranger station and you can walk around the park and springs while you are waiting. This park is similar to Blue Springs State Park in that on a weekend it is like a foreign country. If you speak English you are in the minority. Oh, well! When we were there some kids had used all the toilet paper and stuffed the toilets with them. We did not see the rangers ride around as much as other Florida State Parks but they seem to be shorthanded and had to control the day visitors in the Spring area. There were also a number of sites with more than 8 people on them. This spring is a constant 72 degrees year round where you can swim or snorkel. Forty-two million gallons of crystal clear water flow each day from the springs into Wekiwa Springs Run. In the river there are over 32 different kinds of fish and the park has an abundance of birds of all types. There are alligators and some bald eagles but also turkeys, turtles, and deer. The park has over 7,600 acres and some walks which show Florida as it used to be. There is a 15 mile trail to canoe on the Wekiva River lined with sabal palms, purple astors and orchids. This is bear country and the snakes were active the first weekend in June that we were there. There is a nature center with some live animal displays and a park concession stand. The park stays open until 8 for swimming. Nice springs but like the springs at Blue Spring State Park better but liked the campground here more! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2008
$21
We really enjoyed this park. The sites were large and well situated. Sites 1-30 were a little larger but with less shade than the second loop. Nice hiking and biking trails. The staff were friendly and were able to help us with things to see and do in the area. We will put this on our list for our annual Florida getaway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$23
Site #30 nice large site next to bathhouse. More wide spaces in loop #1. Sites have fire ring/grill combo, and a small picnic table. Sites are sand with brush between them for privacy. Trash cans at beginning of loop only. Bathhouses were older but clean. Park has a natural spring of 72 degrees year round. There is a museum, store and nature center.We rented canoes to go down the river. There are cabin rentals and a horse trail camp. We were able to see deer while walking the trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$10
This park is beautiful and the spaces are large and well groomed. We stayed here one week. The springs are absolutely beautiful and must be seen. There is so much to do here, hike, bike ,walk and swim, and kayak. I never wanted to leave, The landscape is hilly with pine trees and palm trees. Beware of the bears. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
Loved our site (#45) large and well shaded. Across road from bath house, NO lights in my windows! We canoed the river. Swam/snorkled in the springs. Hiked the many trails. We saw deer and squirrels. I love this campground. We have been here twice and can't wait to go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$20
This park had the ambience I remember from our years of family camping in a pop-up--heavily wooded, lots of families, wide variety of rigs. We had our best campfires here and enjoyed walking from the campground to the springs. We didn't swim, but we saw others doing so, and the spring looked like fun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2006
$22
Our site #44 was level, wide and quite spacious for our 30 ft class A. We had trees and greenery on three sides for some privacy. The road into the park and to the campgrounds had a few overhanging branches that brushed the top of the RV but the antennas survived. The bathrooms and showers were not heated but clean; the showers had plenty of hot water and places to put your stuff. The campground was full on the weekend but thankfully not noisy at all. The springs were very nice and quite warm, they were crowded on the weekend; this is a nice, busy day use area for locals. Occasional road noise from Wekiwa Springs Rd is the only thing that reminds you that you are in a densely populated area. Dump station is easy in and out. We really liked this park and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2005
$20
Beautiful park. Horrible attitudes. There might as well be a sign posted out front "Children NOT welcome." I have a group of friends and family that all work together at the county hospital. Every so often this time of the year we go on several camping trips with our kids. This was the worst time. We had a group of 27 in all on 4 sites. We had tents, 1 pop up and my parents have a 2003 Fleetwood Bounder Coach. The Park rangers treated us like prisoners, watching our every move, even going so far as to tell us how to work as a team and discipline our kids. Our kids were not being unruly, they were being kids. But then they were told they can't make noise, they can't ride the trails, they can't ride bikes, they can't ride scooters (foot power, not motorized). So what is it that they CAN do? We were harassed all weekend long by the ranger, from anything to vehicles to too many people. At one point my husband and I left to Wal-Mart for some odds and ends, and when we came back in, we were chased down by a ranger wanting to know where we were going?! We told him what site we were at, but he must not have believed us because he followed us all the way there until we got out of our truck, then stared at us and drove off. The showers were full of dirt all weekend, and no hand soap in the bathrooms. We were all stressed out everytime the ranger truck would turn the corner, which was about every 15 minutes, wondering what they were going to say to us next. The park itself is very beautiful and the Springs were great fun for the kids to swim in. Even though it was a very cold weekend in Florida, we could'nt resist letting them experience swimming in the warm spring, with lots of towels ready to bundle them up in. I cannot whole heartedly recommend this park to those that have a group of people with kids. As you will feel as though you are under watch all the time, and not be able to experience the fun that goes along with friends and family camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2005
$15
I loved this place! It is so pleasant and pretty. The huge trees and the wildlife is incredible. The raccoons are very smart though - they are good at getting into whatever they want, so be prepared for that! The campsites circle the bathroom/showers, so everyone is the about the same distance away. The facilities were clean and nice. If this campground is more watched by the rangers, which is something I didn't notice, they are doing an outstanding job of keeping this campground first rate. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2005
$20
Beautiful park with large, private, level sites. Lots of trails to ride bikes or hike. Springs were nice although too cold to swim in November. Saw deer every evening around dusk. Close to stores and shopping if need to pick up some things. Canoe rentals at the concession stand. Strange driving here though. Went through lots of neighborhoods, thought we'd missed the sign for the park and then all of a sudden we were here! This is definitely a park we want to return to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2004
$22
Nice large and level sites in a very large state park. We have stayed at this park before and would do so again. Sites and access roads are large enough for any size RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Outstanding state park. Large level sites, very wooded and private and a "cool" spring to swim in. We will be back to this one We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Nice shaded sites w/ LOTS of room and trees between. Not really a pool. Better: a spring fed swimming hole. Quiet at night, busy during day. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com