223474 User submitted reviews online!!
River Road RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (906) 884-4600
CGID6316

River Road RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
42
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   7   8   9   7   6   7   6   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
We had a nice, grassy site with 2 open sites next to us so it was roomy. Most of the campground had sites very close to each other. The owners were very nice and the campground was well taken care of. It was a great location to tour Porcupine Mountains State Park. Be sure to eat at Henry's Inn located about 10 miles away. They have some great nightly specials at a great rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
This park is a nice alternative to the ones in the Porcupine Mt. State Park or the Ontonogan City Park. It is conveniently located close to the parks and town. Very nice IGA grocery store in town. The bathroom and shower facilities are a little dated and were not cleaned every day. They could use a good scrubbing. Cable TV was provided, but no Wi-Fi. Verizon cell coverage was very good. Some of the sites are quite close together, so if the park is full you would be up close and personal with your neighbor. Good gravel access roads. Sites are mostly grass, but firm and only a few wet areas after a heavy rain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Nice quiet place as a base for sightseeing. Not a destination site. Great Wi-Fi and Cable. Close to town and easy drive to Porcupine Mts, Victoria and other interesting places. Staff friendly. OK Sprint service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
A great campground to base your activities in the area from. Level, grassy, spacious sites. Friendly, helpful management. Pick your own site if they're not crowded. Convenient to a marina, shopping, and exploring the area/region. Nicely away from the major roads. Quiet. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
This is our kind of RV park - very quiet, far from the highway and railroad tracks. Gravel roads, grassy sites which are fairly level. Site 13 is great - it looks out over a nice lawn to the distant trees. Good WiFi, good Verizon data coverage, no T-Mobile. Lots of channels on the TV cable. Fire rings, with fire wood for sale. IGA supermarket is a couple of miles away, a nice store (though our dopey GPS didn't know about it). Roxy's in town is a great little tavern, serving simple and well prepared food. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
There was some trepidation approaching this park but the faded sign near the marina sends you down the proper road, there is plenty of clearance under the unmarked overpass and you don’t need to travel to the end of the ‘no-outlet’ road. The park is quiet, has good utilities, lots of cable channels and strong WiFi. Roads are gravel; sites are easy to maneuver, consist of level grass and gravel and have some shade. Restrooms are worn but large, well-lit and clean. AT&T phone in the area is through a partner company and does not provide a data signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Stayed here several nights, hook ups vary. Thought we were in a 50amp site and it was a 30. No rhyme or reason which is where. Got $5 back for each night since 50amp is $35. Cable cut out for several hours on the most desired digital channels. Complained to office but they thought it was OK as the channel they were watching 1960's re-runs on was still on. Location is excellent for exploring the areas. Got to go to several 150 year old abandoned copper mines, etc., after getting advice from the locals, as to where to find the overgrown entrances. Neat. Don't expect too much in the way of groceries, etc., as the one store is really limited. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Agree with previous reviews. Shade is scarce but it was cool when we were here. Bathhouse was ok but could use updating. Laundry could use cleaning and updating too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Rate reflects weekly rate. Sites long and narrow, very close together, but typically rigs assigned to every other site, giving fair space. Staff helpful friendly and knowledgeable. Sites fairly level. Laundry and bathrooms clean but in need of updating. Agree with prior review: a good old fashioned cleaning and trimming is needed, also agree sewer connection too high. Playground no longer exists. Cable good w/ 60+ channels, HD cuts in and out. Good 3G Verizon voice and data. Very convenient to Porkcupine Mountains, and copper mines. I doubt that we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Very open campground. Wide, long, level sites. Good cable and Wi-Fi. Managers very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Very quiet. Did not do laundry here, so cannot comment on the facilities. An ideal location to visit the Porcupine Mountains and the Kewaunaw Penisula. The campground looks rustic but is a great place for an extended visit to visit local sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This park is OK overall. It needs a good old fashioned cleaning and trimming. Electric, water, cable TV all were good, however, the sewer connection was higher than the the outlet on my MH. This is inexcusable in my opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is our third stay here in the past 10 years and the park is on their third set of owners in that time span. The current owners were not on site but the folks managing the park were quite friendly. We stayed here twice in a week for a total of 3 days. Each time we were in a FHU, pull-thru with 70+ channel cable TV and adequate, but sometimes slow Wi-Fi, site. Most sites fit this description, are satellite friendly, and appear the be fairly level but there are some that don't have cable. The park was surprisingly empty all 3 nights - even on Friday. Everything worked fine but there is little else in the park. This is a fairly nice place that should be doing better business. The local public camping facilities (Porcupine Mtns and the city park) do not have full utilities so I don't know why more folks aren't staying here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
The rate reflects an eight day stay. We agree with the previous reviews. We were able to pick a nice pull through site in the side by side section. Luckily we didn’t have a close neighbor so pulling out of the 90 degree angle site wasn’t a problem. Not all sites have all the services. Our welcome packet included maps and plenty of information on the area. GPS may direct you to the downtown; we used the owner’s verbal instructions and found the campground right away. It is on “north” River Road. Unfortunately, our last night there, one group of campers stayed up until around 5am. The talking, laughing, and vehicle door banging was quite obvious even though we used a fan for “white noise”. We were disappointed that quiet time was not enforced. There is plenty to do in the area and we would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This campground is now called River Road RV Park and Campground. We stayed here as we wanted full hooks ups to be able to do our laundry in the coach, have Wi-Fi, and cable TV so we could see an upcoming sporting event. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The roads and sites are gravel with quite a bit of grass growing between the rocks. Each site was level, had 50 amp, cable TV, sewer, fire ring and picnic table. When we first came, the grass was very high and needed to be cut. After 3 days the grass was mowed which made it much better. The Verizon cell service was excellent. The Wi-Fi in the park was very good and the cable TV channels were extensive. This park could be much better if more regular maintenance was given, ie: keep grass mowed and use of weed eater around structures. If you are looking for all the amenities, but the park is in need of some tlc, this would be the park for you. If we were here again, I would probably try to find another park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is now called River Road RV Park. Owners are on site and helpful. The paved access road leads to a bike path into town where you can get propane at the True Value Hardware. Our open, gravel site was long, mostly level, and easy for our big rig. 50 amp was fine. Cable is not available at all sites but was very good, as were the Wi-Fi and Verizon signals. The restrooms were very clean, and two washers and dryers are available at a reasonable price. There is a truck stop for diesel a short distance west on 64 and grocery east on 38. This is not a destination park, but it is good, full hook-up spot to base and do many tours--Keweenaw, Porcupines, falls, etc. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
We stayed at this park while visiting Porcupine Mountains State Park and visiting Copper Harbor. This is the only park we could find in this part of Michigan that offered full hook-up RV sites. This is a well-maintained park with wide access roads and easily accessible sites. Hookups were logically arranged and close to the sites. The staff at the park were friendly and helpful. The Wi-Fi worked well and the cable service provided offered a large number of channels. The park has a very large, well kept and clean bathhouse and nice laundry facilities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
Your basic RV park: it has gravel roads and sites. There are sites with shades trees and sites without. The Wi-Fi worked well. There is a small playground that is in decent shape. Office staff were friendly. Park is right across the road from Ontonagon river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
We were very pleased with the campground. Sites were level and the hookups were in the right places. Staff was helpful and recommended a great place to eat that we would never have found. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
About half the sites are in trees, the rest are open and satellite friendly. Sites are not overly wide and some hookups are side by side. The staff was friendly and we were told that they have good food but we didn't get to sample it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
We liked this campground, it met all our basic needs. Sites were long and level. The ones in the open were side-by-side, which meant that we were close to our neighbors in the back, but we had a large "front yard" that did not have the neighbors sewer in it. Sites vary in size. Some are in a setting that resembles a pine forest. Others are in the open and therefore are roof-top Internet satellite dish friendly. There are a few small sites, but most will accommodate the largest of rigs. Sites are level packed dirt. Water pressure was very good and the electricity was stable. All sites had fire-rings and picnic tables. Roads in the park were gravel. Staff was friendly and had excellent pastries and pasties for sale. The park was clean, quiet and a pleasant place to stay. We are full-time RVers and lived here for a week. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
I have been to this older park several times in the past when it was run by some older folks who were letting things slide. Back then I would have given this park a 3. New owners have made some improvements (60+ channel Cable TV and working, on site WIFI) and have done a better job of park maintenence. Most of the full hookup, pull-thrus are in the open, but there are some sites in the pines. The sites and roads are mostly gravel/dirt with what passes for grass up here. The river is across the road and Lake Superior and the town are about a mile. Not much in the park or town but beautiful Porcupine Mountain State Park is only a 20 minute drive. Not a great park, but the best full facility park in the western Upper Penninsula. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com