224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Running Bear was rated 6 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (208) 653-2494
CGID6318

Fort Running Bear

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   9   2   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
If you really want to take your big rig out of town, this is the place. It’s on a small hill overlooking a beautiful a valley surrounded by mountains with the only sounds coming from the wildlife around the park but to get there you must be willing to drive 2.5 miles down a very dusty dirt road. The road is hard packed and fairly smooth so the drive will be easy but you should unhook your toad or it will be totally covered in a thick layer of fine dirt. Once there you can either blow off the dirt or use a California duster that they will loan you. We took our 40ft there and settled into a nice site with plenty of room for slides and awning. All campsites are back-ins with a picnic table on a concrete slab. You park on level gravel sites with lots of grass around and some large trees. The campsites are a mix of 30 and 50amp, vary in length and tree cover so plan accordingly. There is no Sprint service in the area and they offer no cable or WiFi. The owners and camp workers are very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms, showers, laundry and pool were all clean and well maintained. They also offer a weekend breakfast and potluck dinner. Your closest resupply town is Mountain Home about 25 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2013
$7
This park appears to be run on a shoestring budget. Everything is orderly, but appeared to be rundown and didn't appear to be updated or maintained well. Management was very helpful and friendly. The temp. was in 90's, and we were charged extra for 50 amp. No cell service or wi-fi. After arriving over the very dusty 3 miles of gravel roads our rig was pretty dirty and no to clean it. During our stay the park was evacuated due to a out of control grass fire, making the return to Mountain Home impassable. The view is great, but it's a little out of the way and could have been a disaster. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Outstanding friendly park. Management were wonderful and very helpful. The park is out of the way about 30 miles from Mountain Home and the last 3 miles are over a dirt road. My coach was a dusty mess by the time we got there, BUT! I have to say the stay was worth it. We found it so nice, quiet and friendly that we stayed an extra day. We will be sure to stay here again and again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
The rate reflects RPI member rate – should have been $10 and ends up $14 with the extra so called motel taxes and extra $3 for 50 amp. The camp is remote – 25 miles to anything at all. There is a 3 mile dirt road just to get into the camp. The rig was covered in dust and dirt and we were told we could not even rinse it off and that we would “Have to live with it”. The owners are basically condescending and underlying insulting. The sites are not level and the grass needed to be mowed. The camp was not well maintained overall. We paid extra for the 50 amp and it did not work. When we reported it, they argued with us and told us it was our rig and that one A/C will pull 30 amps. Instead of fixing it, we had to plug into another site and then it worked. They had Wi-Fi that you could only use supervised and just to check your e-mail. There is no TV reception and the TV in the lounge was not working the whole time we were there. There is a book exchange, but it is guarded in order to build the owners private collection. She said people weren’t honest. She also said she liked RPI but not Coast to Coast. The staff and locals were not friendly and would not even say hello to anyone. We would not, of course, recommend this camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This campground might be a bit off the beaten path, but it is in beautiful country, sitting up on a hill with a 360 degree view. The hosts are very friendly and go out of their way to make everyone comfortable. A great place to kick back and just relax. Good fishing nearby in a small reservoir as well as the Boise River and there is boating above the dam. Just take it easy driving up the gravel road, it's well worth the trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
I would recommend unhooking your tow before traveling the last 2 miles, as it is a very rough and dusty gravel road. We stayed here using AOR, and it was a pleasant place to stay, although a bit out of the way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$50
We were very please with the service, cleanliness and natural environment. I really felt like I was in the outback, very remote and relaxing. September seemed to be a great time to visit (good weather and still green). The staff was very friendly as well as the long term travelers. One piece of advice, don't plan on washing your vehicle before hand, there is a 3 mile dirt road to the park that will dirty it right up. Enjoyed my stay, will probably be back within the next year. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com