223474 User submitted reviews online!!
JP Coleman State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (662) 423-6515
CGID6320

JP Coleman State Park

Camp Information
Sites
69
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   10   7   8   8   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$13
Very nice park. The campgrounds over looks the Tennessee River. Most sites are level and In the shade. Showers were nice and up to date. The is no TV coverage but several had satellite setup. Now, for the bad, the check in staff was not helpful. Sorry we interrupted your day. If the staff would follow their own rule, everything would have been better. They let four tents and one popup in one site with three vehicles. Other sites had cars parked all over the road. This is a nice park and will return again. The price is the senior discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
This is a lovely campground. Our site was a "pull through" but basically we were just parked on the side of the road. Didn't matter. If I'd known what the campground was like, I'd have reserved a better spot much sooner. Some of the spots are very uneven. Our picnic table was in the woods which was nice. There is a lot to do here - fishing, boating, nice for bike riding, great birding. I'd come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We reserved site 61 site unseen. It was difficult to get a 33 foot trailer into. Access was backing uphill on a narrow road with washout on edge into a pad at nearly a right angle. We could not level the trailer on this pad. The Pad was asphalt but not level. The online reservation service warns the site had moderate slope. There were two dead trees on the camp site which appeared to have been dead several years. They should have been removed for safety. We will be back to this park, just not to site 61. This is a popular park. It filled up over the weekend. It is on Pickwick Lake which is excellent for boating and fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$18
Great campground right on the Tennessee river. This is my 3rd time to stay at this park. The sites are pretty level and have great power, water, and sewer. Check in is always easy with nice staff. I stayed a week here and will be back when lake season starts up again. Views are also nice from most spots. I have used sites 20, 19, and 17. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$18
This is a great campground for boaters! Most sites are either waterfront or very close. Many boat owners have their boats docked right at their site (noise). Sites are very close together and maneuvering anything over 30ft is a challenge. It is like apartment dwelling in campers. Too bad because the river and lake are great! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$22
JP Coleman State Park is located in the far northeast corner of Mississippi on Lake Pickwick. It is a lovely park that is narrow, but long beside the shores of the lake. Private homes sit right next to the park boundaries, but do not detract from its natural beauty. It is about 20 minutes north of Luka, MS, and 35 to 45 minutes south of the Shiloh Battlefield National Park, which was the reason we stopped at this campground. Full hook-ups are available including both 30 and 50 amp service. The internal roads are asphalt and the pads are cement. The roads are a bit narrow and go up and down the rolling hills of the park. We maneuvered in ok with a 40’ motorhome pulling our car. However we barely made it out due to some narrow sharp turns. Next time I will wait until we reach the exit area before I hook up the tow car. Our pad (39) was right beside the lake and was long enough for the motorhome with parking beside the pad for the car. Some of the sites would have been too short. Some next to the lake are close together. This would be a great destination park for fishermen. There was a boat ramp in the campground and several camper’s boats were tied up along the bank. A fish cleaning station was located near the boat ramp. Laundry facilities were available at the campground, a real convenience for fulltimers. There were 2 washers and 2 dryers. The office only had a few available in change. We would definitely camp here again and wish we had more time to stay on our first visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$18
This is one of our favorite campgrounds- spacious sites with great views of the Tennessee River (technically, Picwick Lake). The restrooms (particularly in the new section) are very clean and modern. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
We enjoyed our stay here. All sites are near the water, even if they are not on the water. Good campground for boaters. Pool and restaurant/lodge area looked good from outside, however we did not use either one. Our site had a covered pavilion behind it with 4 picnic tables under it with electrical outlets, which was very nice for four families camping together at mealtime. Sites are pretty close together. We did not use the restroom or showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
We had a spectacular view of the lake from our campsite and plenty of shade trees to cool the site. The bathhouse was clean and had both AC and fans to keep it comfortable in the summer heat. Two criticisms: There was a lot of litter along the lake shore everywhere we walked, which detracted from its scenic beauty. Also, the park has a pool but charges $5.00 per adult camper. The pool is free to people who rent cabins however. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
We camped here July 2007. We stayed a little over a week. You do NOT want campsite #69, #68, or #67, unless you are staying in a tent. These sites are not only on a hill but slanted. We were afraid that our travel trailer was going to fall over. We immediately moved to another campsite. This park is beautiful. There are also boating slips to rent if you are bringing along a boat. Most campsites from 25-69 view the water in some way. Bathrooms were air-conditioned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
Our family has stayed at this campground on several occasions in the past and really enjoyed it. This particular time we were located on site 63, near the top of the camping area. We enjoyed our stay once again. This time however we found in this area the camp sites to be very unlevel, and our particular site was without a grill. This site does provide full hookup including sewage dumping facilities as well. We also noticed that the pads which were black topped, looked to be fairly new, but already were falling apart. An email was sent to the state wildlife fisheries and parks about these challenges and had an immediate and positive response from them. We will continue to stay with these folks from time to time. We really do enjoy the beauty of this area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$22
This is a larger park with friendly, accommodating staff. Cabin rentals are available. Bathrooms were large, clean but a little dated. One pull-thru available (site 23) but back-ins are easily navigated among sites 10-24. Sites 25-69 are a little tight for larger rigs. Nightly rate lower with senior discounts. Reserved a week - stayed two. The lake is beautiful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com