219014 User submitted reviews online!!
Desert Gardens RV Park (55+ park) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (520) 868-3800
CGID6323

Desert Gardens RV Park (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
266
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   4   8   5   8   8   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$15
We took advantage of an advertised special which is why the rate is low. This park has wide gravel sites that are deep and back in only. Good electric, water, and sewer. No dog park but most walk their dog on the walking trails surrounding the perimeter of the park. Nice facilities and lots of activities if you're into that. This is a RV Co-op park. They will try and sell you a lot. We found the owner to be stuck up once he found out we weren't interesting. There were some owners that also wouldn't give us the time of day and gave us the impression we were intruding on their park. Work kampers were excellent! When here on a monthly rate the rate does change month to month due to the "premium months". We probably will not stay again due to the attitude of the main owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
Quiet, very spacious sites, groomed trails to walk, lots of amenities - loved it! Will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$14
We stayed at this RV park for 3 months. Beautiful setting, natural desert, walking trails, fitness center, and a pool. All sites are back-in and, except for the premium exterior sites, another RV will be directly behind you so privacy is limited. All interior roads are coarse gravel and would benefit from having a grader go through and pack down the gravel. Walking on the gravel is difficult. There is a nice activity center for people to play bingo, cards, stained glass, etc. There did not appear to be any activity coordinator to plan events. Each week a list of weekly activities was e-mailed and that was appreciated. Pool was only heated when temperatures were above 70'F. Fitness center equipment was minimal;for the number of people wanting to use it. More is needed. The fitness center had an air conditioner but was usually turned off. When the air conditioner was on the room was suitable for use. There is virtually no shopping nearby. If you are looking for isolation in the desert and do not need to shop often this place would be fine. This RV park is definitely more spacious than most of the RV parks in Arizona. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
Great gym, nice clubhouse, big sites, very scenic. Stained glass teacher and setup is outstanding. Also very good setup for quilt-making and sewing. Line dancing, genealogy, tagalongs, pot lucks. Lots of activities. Only complaint is the pool is not very hot, and they leave the cover on. If you want to use it, you have to go and ask for staff to come and remove it. Wish they would uncover pool at 10 am and close at 10 pm, and there would be more water activities. Also no picnic tables at sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
This is our 4th year here. Rate includes 3-mo discount. They are growing VERY rapidly, but the amenities are NOT keeping up. Don't heat the pool till mid-Feb. No mail service - have to rent a box in Florence (10 mi round trip). If you put down a deposit, after you arrive they can sell your lot, and if your section is full, you can end up in the new area which is far from the activity bldg. If you need to drive your car to the activities, there's very little parking, so you have to rent a golf cart. Very few group activities -- most are pot lucks -- almost NO entertainment, and if there is, it's a repeat from last year. We won't come back again. Sad, as it's a beautiful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Very lovely park; amazing landscaping. The rate reflects a monthly rate. Wide, wide sites. All gravel, no patios at all. All sites are for sale, so owners will have to put one in where they want it, no pressure to buy. Very clean and quiet park, and we felt safe here. The activity director left the end of Feb., so very little in the way of organized activities or lessons. There were potlucks, ice cream socials, catered dinners (no kitchen in the rec hall) and Bingo. The internet is available for a fee. Didn't use it, so don't know how reliable it is. Pool/hot tub area very nice, laundromat very clean. It is too far from amenities for our taste: the closest big grocery/Wal-Mart is about 15 miles away. A few restaurants in town that we went to, were good; a National Monument is about 15 miles away; a Greek Orthodox Monastery (beautiful) is about 10 miles away; and that's about it, unless you drive 50 miles to Mesa, or 60 miles to Tucson. We might stop here again for a week or so, but a month was too long for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$33
I would have given them a 10, but they have gravel roads. I personally don't like gravel roads because they are so noisy. They have a pool and hot tub, wood working room, jewelry making and great laundry room. This is a very nice park. It is centrally located between Tucson and Phoenix. There are some really good restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay here again, although, again, don't like the gravel roads. Clean and upscale. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$32
Stayed one night. No pull throughs, but plenty of room for backing in. Guess the snowbird season is over because the park was almost empty. Good water pressure and power, no cable TV, and I had a little trouble with the WiFi. Not much here, but it seemed kept up. Quite a few weeds about, but I was told they had just sprayed for them. Not a lot of choices in the area. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2009
$14
Nice large sites, all gravel and very dusty if near main traffic route. Good activities with nice building. Needs a kitchen added. Nice pool, workout area and rec room. Horseshoe pits are available. Only two showers. Would stay here again but would like to see kitchen added and wood shop opened for use. All the sites are for sale, no pressure to buy. Rental fees are reasonable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$1
We stayed here with the 5 free night package. Very impressed with the park as the sites are large and well spaced. Some sections have more mature landscaping. Loose gravel on the roads is hard to walk on. The swimming pool is new, but much too small for the size of the park. Only two showers, which were well kept, but separated from the restrooms by a walkway. Good, new exercise equipment. The park has its own well and the water is good - a definite plus. The sales presentation was low key. We felt that this is a little too far from services although the desert setting was very great and the sunsets stupendous. Another possible drawback is the presence of state and county prisons in Florence. No cable service, and when we used our digital converter there was no signal. Apparently more services are in the works. The clubhouse has no kitchen but there is a woodworking shop and stained glass shop. Would possibly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
Yes, the gravel sites really are huge, though a concrete pad would have been nice. No shade, so it can be hot out here, and it was windy every day which really stirred up the dust. But you get beautiful desert sunsets, & peace and quiet, unless you are parked near the highway. Very nice swimming pool and spa, laundry room, clubhouse, large shower rooms (but only 2). There are 266 sites, very spread out, long walk to the facilities. Only one set of dumpsters, no recycling; lots of residents were driving to anything within. Park is 5 miles from jct. to town, and 10mi.from a major grocery store. Seems an odd spot to be selling expensive lots, which were about 10%sold. Good deal now to stay 5 nights free and listen to low key sales pitch; see website. Definitely a nice place to visit and big rigs will love it. People were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$32
A new management company has bought this campground and are selling lots as well as renting them. If we were ready to settle down in one spot, we would definitely purchase here. The people are very friendly and welcoming. The staff was great. The new pool and spa are spotless and soothing. Lots of activities to choose from. The setting is beautiful as the campground is surrounded by the natural desert. Saguaro Cacti are everywhere, the sunsets are unobstructed and you can really commune with nature. The campsites are some of the widest we have ever seen..wonderful privacy with space to stretch out and full hook-ups. This park has spoiled us to those other parks where you park side-by-side with other RV's your awnings practically touch and you can look into their windows. We will definitely come back here for a very long stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$15
This is a lot-for-sale park that rents spots. Park is still in the development phase. If you like a quiet desert setting this place is hard to beat. Lots are huge. We were here for 12 days: first 5 days were a freebee-listen-to-the sales-pitch (no pressure) and then $170 for an additional week. I would rate it a 10, except for no cable and WiFi at extra cost. By the way, swimming pool & spa is currently going through final testing. We plan to return next year, perhaps for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
This is a buy your lot campground with renting available. We stayed here for 3 months in a fifth wheel. Left because we were told the lot we were on wouldn't sell because it had an RV on it. They were more interested in selling. Beautiful campground but buyer beware. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$30
Nice clean park very out of the way. Average grocery shopping 15 miles away. Really great shopping 40 miles away. WiFi is not always reliable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com