220198 User submitted reviews online!!
Valle del Oro (55+ park) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (480) 984-1146
CGID6326

Valle del Oro (55+ park)

Camp Information
Sites
1760
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   6   10   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
Over the last 10 years I'e stay at Valle Del Oro multiple times and have always enjoyed my visits. My stay this year was for 5 weeks, 4 weeks at the monthly rate and the last week for $125, the Passport America rate. Electric, water, & garbage service was an additional $80 for the month, included in the weekly rate. I've always enjoy staying at this park, good location and near just about any store you could want. It's a combination of park models and RV sites, a rough estimate being about 60%-70% park models and the rest RV sites. The sites are fairly spacious and have space for the RV, a concrete patio, and a space to park the car parallel to the patio. The sites are gravel and a very few have a concrete driveway for the car. The vast majority of the sites are level but this year (for this first time) I needed some blocks to help with leveling. Most sites fit a 40' RV, some longer. The pet friendly sites are the first several rows around the perimeter of the park which somewhat limits where pet owners can be situated. There are fenced, grassed, dog runs situated throughout the park. There's a large multi-use swimming pool and a smaller lap pool along with the usual boccie ball and shuffle board courts. The fitness center was recently renovated with all new equipment, TV equipped elliptical trainers, treadmills, and recumbent bikes plus a variety of weight machines and free weights. All of the machines have TV's to which you can also connect external iPods and other electronic devices. The park has included Wi-Fi but it's very anemic, anemic defined as extremely marginal bandwidth. Doing some light e-mail and web browsing was so frustrating that I used my cell phone as a Wi-Fi hot spot. It's so bad it makes you wonder why they even bother to have it. While I provided feedback on the miserable state of this service to the front desk, I didn't pursue beyond that point. If you're a long(er) term visitor, Cable TV is available from the cable company. Satellite TV reception is good, when I've used a portable dish getting a signal was straightforward. However, I just use my antenna and get very good over the air reception with enough variety to satisfy me. There are several laundry facilities in the park which use a card key system. Several years ago the card cost me $5 and then you 'charge' it with money for the machines. I always wind up leaving anywhere from less than a dollar to several dollars on the card. The weakness of the Wi-Fi and lack of cable TV accounts for my rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$34
Rate reflects Passport America rate for the first week. First the bad: no cable and no wifi for short term people, laundry card is a rip off. The good more than outweighs the bad. We only stayed 2 weeks, but everyone was friendly and made us feel welcome. There are lots of activities, including pickleball. As in many resorts in the area, they are really set up for park models, and our electric cord wouldn't reach. They loaned us one for the duration of our stay. We liked the location for shopping, restaurants and tourism. We will return next year, and hope to stay longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$14
We spent four months here this past winter. The rate reflects the 4-month rate. Electricity, garbage, and sewer are all charged in addition (electricity was over $200 a couple of months). This resort is a large city with lots of activities and partying if that is your thing. We came because we had friends here, but will not stay at a park this large again. Traffic and parking are often an issue during events. The majority of the park is filled with park models whose owners tend to be a bit cliquish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
Clean mega-activity mega-park. Showers tiny, but good. Strict separation of pet owners from non-pet owners. Beware: If you're only here a few days, laundry card costs $5, and that's ONLY for the card (you then add more $ for laundry credit). This means you say goodbye to um-used balance. Feels like an intentional rip-off. Other parks have better credit card options and/or coin options. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2012
$39
We stayed Jan through March. This park is friendly and has lots of activities to offer. They have new Bocce Ball courts and Pickle Ball courts. You can walk your dog around the perimeter of the park, but otherwise their are restrictions. This is a large park and have heavy usage for the pool area. My issue is that they only clean the shower areas once per day and by 3 PM they get pretty mucky. The pool decks were not hosed down daily and the same bugs or sand, bandages were left around the side of the pool often when I went to the early morning pool exercises. Manager was not open to resolving concerns as her comment was that they have done things this way for years and in her opinion why change. They have obviously cut corners with cleanliness to fund things that attract people to the park. Wi-Fi is terrible. The computer room is pay per use. There is an area to set up and use your computer for free but it is very tiny and allows only about five people at a time and no printing access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Rate based on 3 week stay at $250 per week with our first week at half price under Passport America. Escort to site aided in backing into site around palm tree. Only negative relates to limited space to park dually between palm tree and raised concrete patio. Well maintained park with more than enough to keep one busy daily and nightly. Wi-Fi worked well. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$40
This is a large park that is very nice with wide streets and spaces with plenty of room for a long RV and parking for 2 vehicles. It is a 55+ park so kids are limited to short visits. The club house has many activities and a theater that has big name entertainment occasionally. There are also tennis courts and rooms for woodworking and other hobbies. Many restaurants are within a short driving distance. For those wanting to stay a short time, they are a Passport America park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$45
I just noticed previous reviewers' rates! Wow. I guess I should have paid attention earlier and negotiated up front, however we were going there to visit some snowbird relatives anyway. Great place and area to stay. Several pages of small-print rules in the park's phone book. I guess when you have that many people there, you'd better have some discipline. Nice large sites nestled between park models. Everyone very friendly. VDO could use more grassy spots for the mutts (I know, I know - more water needed). Quiet, except for that inevitable rude departure of a pusher at 6am - for shame - you know who you are - I think I heard you in Pahrump, too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
Our first experience in a huge, 55+ park. 85% park models. Very well kept and clean park. Friendly, helpful staff as well as residents. Loads of activities (attended a 'welcome back' meet and greet and a Veterans Day Special evening). We had a very good time and made some friends. Spaces were generously sized. We would definitely return again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Have stayed here for the past 2 winters (Oct-Apr) and really enjoy the park people and activities. We started playing tennis here which has organized league play and social tennis - big draw for this park. They also have 8 softball teams that are in league play. There are way too many activities to do here in one winter season and it is very difficult to get bored during that time (Nov-Mar). They have 3 happy hours per week at the large pool area along with shows, dinners, weekly market day (Thurs), etc. They are adding 2 more tennis courts (8 total) and 6 pickle ball courts over the summer. This is a PPA park also for 7 days. We will return next fall for our 3rd season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$26
A giant park with lots of amenities and activities. It's our favorite of the CalAm resorts and we will go back: if we can get reservations! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
This is a winter destination snowbird park. Our rate reflects the monthly charge. You pay extra for electricity and trash and sewer. When they park you, it is assumed you will be staying for months on end, so they are very precise to get you aligned with everyone else. They are also careful to not allow you to run over the utilities which are located at the back of the lots. You may need cord and hose extensions, if you are not situated with your hookups on the left rear corner of your rig. As a winter destination park, they have all activities customarily available at these kinds of parks. Some of these activities do have small fees. This park has the nicest wood shop I have ever seen in any RV park. My wife enjoyed the sewing and quilt group as well. The park has gate guards that do check what your purpose is in the park, and restrict traffic after the late hours at night. We seemed secure for our 3 month stay. The park has its own post office that seems to be staffed with volunteers. The hours are somewhat restrictive as you can't pick up packages until the mail is put out in the boxes, about 11 AM. The office closes at 3 PM. Our site number was not our post office box number, but if you received UPS or FedEx, it had to have the site number on it. This was hard to explain to our relatives and vendors that were sending us things. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and have made specific site reservations for next year by putting down a $250 deposit. We have to reserve a pet area site as we have a small dog, and if you walk into areas that don't allow dogs, you will have a resident yell at you quite quickly. This is normal at all the parks we have stayed at here in Mesa in the past. While this park will work for an overnight stay, it is geared to the longer term folks in the winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$23
55+, more than the typical amenities, 2 pools (one so hot you can't stand to get in!), on-site PO, friendly people and staff. Love the Country Store every Thurs.; 3 small dog parks and very pet friendly in the pet sections (some annoying barking goes on); lots of park models and friends have purchased here; very active park. We stayed here for 4 months and would come back again. Rate reflects monthly discount for long term stay, electric average ($15 mo. meter reading fee!), sewer/trash (an extra $30/mo.)-- you have your own trash and recycle cans. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
Great park, lots of activities. Off leash areas for your "kids" which were very clean. They take you to your site and help you park. We lucked out with a site across from laundry. Very convenient. This park has the coolest outside model train layout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2010
$20
They get 3 points because the park is well maintained. At the front gate our first experience was, and I quote, "What do you want?" (It was in no way friendly or joking). After telling him we had a reservation and pointing to our names on his list, he proceeded to quiz us on when we made the reservation. Finally, he sent us up to where another friendly chap in a golf cart led us to our site. We told him we could take it from there but he demanded to back us in and claimed 20 years experience. He then proceeded to stand in the wrong spot (couldn't see my blind spot) and issue orders that would run us into a pole. We then proceeded to ignore him and he turned beat red and yelled at me that we were going to run over the cement pad. We saw the pad and were in no danger of hitting it. We then proceeded to back up stopping every few feet to "check" and never came close to the pad. Once in place he was upset that the steps wouldn't reach the pad. I pulled them out and they were dead on to the inch. (I couldn't do that again in a million years.) He then decides the front of the rig must be even with the adjacent "rigs." It wasn't until I moved up to accommodate this that I realized the utilities were all the way to the back of the very deep lot. Without a spare 30amp cord we were stuck with a 15amp extension cord. The sewer would have required 4 - 15ft hoses so effectively we had no sewer for the week we were here. He then checked the electric meter and asked me to sign off, which I did. He then proceeded to argue that it wasn't my signature? I offered to show him my ID, but at this point he jumped on his cart and drove off. He never bothered to tell us the office is closed on the weekends so we walked the 1/2 mile to the office for nothing and didn't have information or access to stuff for the weekend. On Monday when we checked in we talked to the manager about it and he just blew us off. The park is mostly mobile home (park models with lots of add on's) with empty spots filled with RV's. In talking to folks, our experience is fairly typical. If they have a park model that wants your RV site, you will be moved. If it wouldn't have upset my mother who was staying here, I would have pulled out and went elsewhere. The rate reflects PPA. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
The price reflects the summer rates. We have been to this park before and it is wonderful. The staff is friendly and helpful. The grounds are well manicured at all times. The amenities are to many to list and the pools and hot tubs are ahhh relaxing and very clean. It was quiet when we were here this time but have been here in peak season and the staff is still friendly and helpful. A good location to sight see, hike the mountains, tube down the river or boating at the nearby lakes. We will come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
We camped here for two nights. This park has it all. You really need the map to get around, since it's so huge. All sites have paved patios and room to put out your canopy, if desired. The restrooms and showers were the best that I have seen anywhere, except there was a problem with the women's shower drain. This is the only reason I didn't give this park a 10. I will stay here the next time I'm here in Mesa. Great park with lots of amenities and activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
This place is great, they have everything. Staff is great, you can take any kind of craft class you can imagine. Has two pools, hot tub, and a hair salon. There is a billiard room with 16 tables, an exercise room, and PC and Apple computer classes. Also has many shuffleboard courts. Any shopping and restaurants are basically within 5 miles. We will be back for 3 months in January. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$23
Must be near to a hundred activities available. From a garden railroad to bike clubs, golf, hiking and a couple of dozen crafts rooms, you can use even two computer rooms: Apple and PC. If for some strange reason you get bored on campus, there is a ton to do in the Mesa, Apache Junction, and Phoenix area. It is an over 55 community with lots of room for us transients. Like a playground for Seniors. We stayed for 6 weeks and plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2010
$28
We intended to stay in this park for 3 months but left after a month. There are lots of activities, but all the classes we tried to sign up for were full. As a previous poster stated it is more like a 75+ community. There are two large pet areas which are divided by a non pet area that you will have people screaming at you if you try to cross. The pet area we were in, was serviced by two small gravel pet runs that seemed very unsanitary as the smell was unbearable. Our dogs became sick after a couple days and on investigation we found that most dogs in the park were sick and the runs were suspected of being the contributor. The park is very central to the Mesa area and would be a good location for getting out to the recreational areas. There is shopping fairly close and it is right beside the freeway if you want to travel around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
This is probably the nicest of the many 55+ megaparks in Mesa. Like the others, it is mostly park models, but it always has sites available for RVs. The roads are wider than most of the other parks, making it easier to park a big rig. There are four big laundries in the park, with inexpensive ($1.00/load) well maintained machines. It has swimming pools, tennis courts, many craft shops, the whole works. The staff and volunteers are very friendly, all seeming to enjoy their work. The pet sections tend to be around the perimeter, which means they are much more likely to get road noise. We could not connect to the park Wi-Fi from our site. Park 50-amp power was very strong, not sagging noticeably under load. We stayed for one week under the half price Passport America rate of $18/day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
55+ park. Stayed here about 3 weeks, very comfortable. Lots of amenities including separate workrooms for a dozen crafts, including a super size wood working shop, and a garden railroad to work on. No camp store, which surprised me, not even a snack vending machine. They except Campground USA, and Passport America, so the first couple of weeks are half price. Again no grass but lots of park models that are well landscaped. We found ourselves welcomed and had a great time at bingo and the dances and on site craft shows. Would definitely stay here again, perhaps next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$26
Our rate reflects a three week stay. As noted in previous reviews this is more of a park model park --it does have RV sites. The grounds are well kept and it is very clean. If you are over 40ft they park you against the outer walls of the resort along either Southern Drive, Ellsworth or Highway 60. We found it to be rather noisy from a traffic standpoint. If you plan to stay three or four months you might find it a little more user friendly, as it is set up to favor long term stays. As for our experience in three weeks: the site did not have cable TV, and the Wi-Fi was very slow and unrelable; over head power lines killed the TV reception, so we had only three local channels on the antenna. If you stay over a month you can purchase cable TV from the local provider.The sites are wide enough to accommodate the RV, a car and some patio furniture. They are a little tight to get into but as mentioned before they do "park you with precision". The laundry was clean, but the equipment was in disrepair or did not work properly. Something that had been brought to the managers attention several times, but had not been repaired. Only one entrance into the resort unless you are a seasonal stayer then you get a remote to open the gate on Southern Drive. While this is a 55 park, it felt much more like an over 75 park to us. We would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$20
This is a large over-55 park with all of the amenities. My wife took advantage of a lapidary class. We found the staff and residents friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again. Rate was Passport America and good for seven days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2008
$36
Upon arriving late at this age restricted community, with no reservations, we were charged full price to spend the night in a parking lot -- pending an assigned space in the morning. The gentleman that parked us that night; did so with military precision, standing right upon the left side view mirror as we parked our RV. He seemed to have no regard for the possibility of loosing a foot in the maneuver.. . Not having been given any suggestions or alternatives to where we should walk our pets the next morning, we considerately kept the pets tightly leashed and vigilantly grabbed all solid excavations as quickly as they were released. However, this wasn't enough for a piece of flotsam in the pool who crassly accused us of allowing our pets to run helter skelter across the shuffleboard court (not even a infinitesimal possibility that we would have ever done it.). Once we were parked in our assigned spot (again directed with military precision) there were signs for don'ts (NO PETS ALLOWED PAST this point, and NO SMOKING PAST THIS POINT) clearly posted throughout the park. This further intensified the feeling of visiting someone who really didn't want you there to begin with. Most of the workers we talked with were congenial and considerate. However the feeling that there are some tightly wound people directing the environment, in which they are most likely; temporary residents, pervaded our interpretation of this tense "resort". We not only would NOT go back, but would advise anyone who appreciates the art of good manners and hospitality to give it a second thought, as Valle Del Oro anything but inviting and relaxing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
December 2007
$37
We came in here on Christmas Eve, for an overnight on the way to Roper Lake. Since it was late, they said the only place they could put us was in the overflow area. A parking lot. (Mind you, they had lots of pull-through sites available.) In all fairness, the staff was friendly and helpful, but if they think our experience here would make us inclined to purchase a lot in their park? Well, sorry! I have to assume this was better than Wal-Mart (I've never stayed there and don't intend to again), but probably only just. What can I say? It's a resort type campground. Not our cup of tea! We won't be back. Next time, we'll go a few miles on up the road to Usery Mountain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$35
This is the 3rd winter we have stayed at this park. I would of given this park a 10 but there have been some changes that I find to be a problem. Once you put a deposit down on a site for the winter, and someone comes in and wants that site for the year, you are asked to find another spot. Even if you have reserved that spot for the year and someone wants to put a park model on it you are asked to find another spot. The wi-fi is on and off, mostly off unless you go to the club house. This has been promised now for 3 years and no improvement as yet. The 2 pools are great and the staff couldn't be better. They have many activities here. If you're bored it's your fault. I don't know if we will come back next year as the price for the 4 months is beginning to get a little pricey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
First, the people at the office are very nice. But this is the largest RV park I have ever seen! You need a GPS to get around in the park. Great water pressure, 70 psi. G3 on the air card. Costco is close and there is a Safeway and Albertsons just across the freeway. The place is spotless, but I could not find the trash bins. Maybe tomorrow. I would probably stay here again, if I could not find something smaller and more user friendly. Phoenix is getting way too big. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2007
$35
This is a destination park. Age 55+. Wonderful amenities and entertainment. Sports and craft classes abound. Very good exercise room. If you are bored here, it is because you want to be. The sites close to Southern Ave. or Hwy 60 have quite a bit of road noise. The one complaint I have with this park (and almost all other parks in this area) is that they call themselves RV parks but really they are Park Model Parks. Actual RV sites are in the minority. There were many non pet area spots available in February, their busiest month. The pet area is segregated and most residents get quite upset if you set foot inside the no pet area. There are fenced pet runs but I don't recommend using them because of the chance of getting a disease because of the concentrated site. They accept Passport America, Coast to Coast and Good Sam.(maybe others but I don't remember) and are happy to accept you with these plans. They even run through the list to be sure you get the discounts you are entitled too. Refreshing. We have stayed at this park before and would do so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com