220250 User submitted reviews online!!
Carbondale/Crystal River KOA (formerly Crystal River Resort Cabins an was rated 6 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (970) 963-2341
CGID6334

Carbondale/Crystal River KOA (formerly Crystal River Resort Cabins an

Camp Information
Sites
36
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   4   9   6   8   4   10   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$45
Very pretty RV park and great location to Glenwood Springs, Aspen, and scenic views. The only negative is there is no cable TV or sewer hook-up but the honey wagon comes by at no charge. WIFI is poor due to mountainous area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$39
Everyone here was very nice. Did have trouble getting to our site. We had to back up the road in order to make the turn to get to site. They were very helpful with this. We suggested they come up with a new route. There is no Wi-Fi. It was pulled since everyone could not use it. They were planning on getting a new system. The shower house is new with 2 in each the men's and women's. The regular shower was a little small but very nice. They have pass codes to get in. The river is at least visible from most sites. Sites had a patio with either a picnic table or table with 4 chairs. Most had a fire ring but not all. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$38
I agree that this park may someday be a gem, however, they advertise new bathrooms - they certainly are as they are still pipes sticking out of the ground! We were reluctantly offered a communal cabin to shower upon arrival. This, however, also appeared to be rented to people outside the camp and we had to wait over an hour one day for this one cabin to come free for use. There are still no sewer connections. No cellphone or Wi-Fi connection at site as advertised either. The lady in the office placed the phone in the drawer as she could not handle it ringing...no wonder it took five hours to return our call for a booking. Directions for our rig (45 feet with towed) were impossible as we can not perform an S-bend at less than 45 degree angles. On the plus, lovely location, the staff were friendly and, judging by reviews, most parks in this area leave something to be desired. Price is with a KOA discount. We would stay again especially if services were as advertised - if you are fully self contained it would be fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
We loved this park and the friendliness of the staff. The owner is an architect who is upgrading the cabins and plans to add sewer next year. Only place we have ever been that offers the services of the honey wagon free with more than a couple days stay. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
We camped here in a riverside site. The owners and staff are friendly and try to be very accommodating. Although there is no sewer hookup there is a service offered for dumping the tanks and there is a dump station. This campground is only about 10 minutes to Carbondale which is a charming town with a grocery store and good restaurants. The Verizon signal here was weak and we could not get local TV stations or a satellite signal. The sites are small and close together. The road is noisy but quiets down at night. I think that this is a works in progress as they have a potential gem of a campground if they make a few small changes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
This is a great camping location, we had a space right on little Crystal Creek, it was beautiful. The new owner is making great strides and in another year or so this will definitely be a 10, especially once they get the sewers in. Free honey wagon though with a couple day notice. We were there during the fire ban so couldn't have campfire nor grills, but we still had a great time. If you are looking for a nice place in the Aspen area this is definitely the spot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$36
The RV campground and especially the restroom are worn. Although I liked the area I would not return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
We LOVED this campground. Our water and electric site was right on the river. I loved looking out at the river every morning drinking coffee sitting in the dinette in my rig. The kids played in the river all day long except when we were riding bikes on the new bike path to Carbondale. Friendly service. My experience was completely different from the July reviewer. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
My family and I have been camping at BRB campground since 2000 utilizing a cabin, RV site, and a tent space for a period of 10 days each year we have gone there. We have found our experiences there relaxing, peaceful, and rejuvenating. The cabin is clean, the RV site has plenty of space between the next unit, and the tent sites are very adequate. The view is marvelous and going to sleep at night with the sound of the river is wonderful. We look forward each year to our trip to this wonderful spot. I highly recommend Crystal River Resort for a relaxing vacation in the mountains or a quick overnight stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
Don't let the river in the back of the property fool you, this is the worst RV Park I have ever camped in! I echo all the previous bad comments and add: many off leash unattended dogs running loose. We told the management, and their response was "well that happens." The road noise from the highway is terrible also. The trailer park getto is still here and as scary as ever. Don't make the same mistake we did: stay away! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Mobile (free) dump tank emptying service was nice especially with a longer stay. The setting on the river was nice but you didn't have a clear view of it. The manager and staff were helpful and pleasant. The bathrooms were very old but clean, considering the age. The 30 amp service was at the front of the site requiring an ext cord--available from the office at no charge. The sites were crowded together and we had to keep our windows closed at night to keep out the campfire smoke from adjacent sites. There is a new bike trail outside the campground which goes into Carbondale which is a nice feature. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$33
This could be a great campground. The location is fabulous - right at the base of Mount Sopris and on the Crystal River. It's about 15 minutes from Carbondale. But, it needs a lot of TLC. The owners were very nice and would bring the honeywagon around when asked (no sewer hookups), but there was a lot of junk laying around and there are MANY full-timers, potentially illegal immigrants, living there in horribly run-down rigs (REALLY run down rigs - so bad you can't believe people are living in them). Our actual spot was great, right on the river, and the other folks staying there were super friendly, but the "shanty town" and all the junk laying around really would make us think twice about returning, which is sad because this has the potential to be a fabulous campground with a little bit of money, time and attention. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Though advertised as a family resort (with photos on the website that match the advertising), as daylight approached (we got there late 30 June 2006) it seemed more of a junk yard and work camp. Along with a large population of what seems to be migrant workers in RV type trailers, there are many hazards abound – old automobile engines, 5 gallon containers of corrosive, poisonous chemicals (clearly marked as such), buckets and drain pans of used oil laying about, and invasive overgrowth blocking views of many of the “riverfront” sites. After approaching on-site management for 2 days about the lack of cleanliness in the bathrooms and shower house, management took it as personal affronts and told us to buy a better motor home so we would not have to use their bathroom/shower house, indicating that our standards must be higher than theirs. As we attempted to explain our position (management did not verify the conditions the first day), we were again told to buy a better motor home and “Get our s$%& and get the %$%% out!” along with being told that the cleaning staff’s primary focus was the cabins and that if there was any time left over, they clean the bathroom and showers in the RV area. Several other RVers in the campground had stopped using the bathrooms and shower house. . Redstone National Park is approx 10 miles further down CO 133 and has water and electric hooks up available at many sites, along with spotless bath and shower accommodations – even on a busy holiday weekend. In 25 years of RVing, I can not remember a worse experience! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$35
Be careful. This is one of those places you have to be careful of. The disappointment felt once you actually arrive here is sad. The web site is misleading. It appears that many people actually live on this property and call it home. Great for them but, I am looking for a much cleaner and safe feeling experience that what this place can provide. Good luck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com