218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Palmetto Shores RV Resort (formerly Big Water Lake Club Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (803) 478-6336
CGID6348

Palmetto Shores RV Resort (formerly Big Water Lake Club Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   5   8   10   8   6   1   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$40
This a very nice park. Easy to get into and out of with large sites. Very nice pools and lazy river. Management lives on site and are working hard to make this a ideal park. They stay open late and appreciate your business. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
What a gem of a campground! The management team really take serious pride in this campground. The grounds are very well kept, bathrooms were always clean. They have 2 very large pools and a Lazy River. There is tons for a family to do here. This campground is under new management and the entire staff is great. They were very helpful through out our stay and are doing a great job with this RV Resort. Be sure to check it out if you are coming through South Carolina and want a campground that is right off I-95 for a quick overnight stay or if you are looking for a place to get away too for a few days! If you enjoy boating and fishing they are located right on Lake Marion We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2014
$40
We stayed here years ago when it was being developed and it was off to a great start, but things have changed. The folks working here were very helpful, but the sites sloped and the motorhome didn't have enough jacks to level without driving up on blocks too. Our site had washed with the rains and while it dried well, it had deep ruts. The electrical connections were almost on the ground and a couple sites wouldn't accommodate my coach because of that, I couldn't plug the surge protector in. The price was WAY too high for what is offered here. Highway noise from I-95 was incredible! Campers were not picking up after their dogs so there were a lot of piles to look out for too. I'm sorry to say I doubt we'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Rate reflects Coast to Coast which they are still honoring, even though they no longer belong. Good overnight park with easy access off the interstate. Sites are gravel but very level. It appears that the long term campers get the sites with the shade, and the short term crowd gets the sun. Very important if you camp here in the summer. Wi-Fi was very good. Sewer hook up was up hill from our dump valve. Pools well maintained, but not much of a beach on the lake. Only down side was the site we had was on the main road to their boat ramp. It was a little busy, but people did observe the 5MPH limit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
We stayed here 2 times a year when it was a Coast to Coast park, but it had gotten a little run down. New owners bought it 2 years ago and have made some great changes but their prices were a little high so we haven't stayed. I found out they now let Coast to Coast members stay at a reduced price and we stayed 5 days and found the park to be excellent again. The same woman still runs the gatehouse in the PM and can answer any questions you have and is very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$39
Camped overnight. This is a private camp that accepts patrons that are not members for limited camping - up to 2 weeks. The sites are roomy, roads good, location quiet and clean. Had trouble with my converter while there and the staff was very helpful in getting me to the right people. Close to the Interstate highway and easy on, easy off. Would stay here again. Only Con was the price was a little high and they didn't accept GS discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$39
Park goes by name "Big Water Campground." We had been heading for Santee Lakes Campground that was in our directory as a Good Sam Park but ended up at this one. Not sure if they are the same park or if we just went to the wrong place. Campground appears to only have two other RVs and the facilities do look "tired." However, we're only here for the overnight and there are plenty of flat, pull-through sites here. Only complaint is the price which seems quite high for this season, and there are no discounts for any RV clubs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2011
$12
We have been members for over 6 years. Over the years, they have not maintained or repaired many items on the grounds, i.e. putt putt is horrible, damaged, and has been. The boats were not maintained, eventually causing them to stop renting them. NOW we are being told that someone from Chattanooga, TN, bought the resort and now MEMBERS have to pay $12/night on top of the member and annual dues! AND they are renting to non-members by selling them a $10/day "member pass." Not what we signed the contract for. Very unethical group of people. I will be visiting lawyers and the BBB. I don't see how they can get away with this!!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
Nice park, stayed here as a non-member (I was thinking about joining). Staff not very friendly, when i made my reservation. I was asking the young lady on the phone about the site and they seemed to be rushing me off of the phone. I asked he if there was shade at the site and she simply stated she did not know, by the way no shade at this site. Our sewer hookup was up hill and we had a heck of a time getting our tanks empty, I had to hold up the sewer line to get the tanks to drain, not fun! I don't think I will be joining the membership or staying here again in the future. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
We stayed here with our ROD membership. The park is nicely laid out, with level sites. Our site was a pull through and was a nice size. The park is beautiful, right on the water. The pools were the best we've enjoyed so far. We went over to the lazy river and floated around for a few hours. Staff was nice and adequately professional. Overall a great stay! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$10
This is a great park, we used Coast to Coast and stayed a week. The drive in rate is $44/night. As others stated the pool is terrific, has a very nice mini golf and the grounds well kept. The weekend was busy with lots of families, but by Sunday nearly everyone was gone. Lots of places to walk the dog, our site had a lovely water view. I think there were more than 60 sites and quite a few cabins, some right on the lake. This was our first visit but we will most surely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$10
We stayed here two nights as a stopover. Will return here for sure at next opportunity. Park is one of the best we have stated at. It was cold but I guess that is not totally the resorts fault :-) Most sites are pull-thru and very easy to get into. The view of the lake is awesome at sunset. The clubhouse with beautiful bar/HDTV is a must see as is the exercise room (best one we've seen). Too bad the pools were closed since there are two pools and a small lazy river. Sandy beach at the lake, fishing pier, boat ramp and boat slips make this a fisherman's paradise. The restrooms were the best I have seen in a campground. Satellite friendly, but minimal antenna TV reception. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$5
Outstanding, clean well kept resort park. We stayed here using our ROD membership. Nice level sites. Roads are graded frequently to keep them smooth and level. The only real drawback is the noise from I-95 but that did not bother us. We will definitely come back to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$10
The sites were average size. It appeared to be a well kept park. We will definitely return. It rained on us all weekend, but it was still nice. We could hear the interstate noise, but it wasn't terrible. The only negative we saw were the roads. They were not paved and had lots of holes. (888) 228-4040 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$10
Overall a nice park. They have 2 pools and a "Lazy River", float tubs provided. When we where here it was maybe 1/10 occupied. Could be cowered if full. We had the pool to ourself. We stayed here as CDC members. They only had 2 washers and dryers. As full time Revers we do us the parks laundry and found we had to wait for an empty washer, and this is with the park almost empty. So far for us this is the best park we stayed at in the CDC system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
We stayed here as a Coast to Coast member. We were treated as "members." We had a great, relaxing, time. The pools and lazy river are so relaxing. They lay just next to the lake so if you wish to sit and sun you get to with a great view. The facilities are well designed, built, and maintained. We hope to come back time and time again as our Coast to Coast membership allows. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$1
We stayed here on a 'free preview' weekend and listened to the sales pitch. This is a nice cg but we did have some issues. First was it's close proximity to I-95 - we had a tough time sleeping with all of the interstate noise. Second was a few teens that were zipping around on golf carts - we have small children and were concerned with their safety. Last - this is the first cg we've been to where we had something stolen from (clothing of all things) - not really the cg's fault, but they didn't seem very concerned with the thievery. The cg was clean and had some nice low level lighting at night - which some may not like. The bathrooms were clean, but no shower curtain and no dry place to get dressed once out of the shower. Small play ground for the kids and putt putt. Interior roads and the sites were all packed sand. The pool area was nice - pool was supposed to be heated, but they were having issues. Teh lazy river looked nice, but was closed due to issues. They are also building a new, larger pool right next to the existing one. Boat slips and dock, provided fishing platform for Lake Marion. The also had a small catch & release pond that was stocked. All in all, it was a good cg. We didn't buy and we're not c2c members, so we won't be back. This is a great CG for I-95 travelers needing a stop over. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$8
Well-maintained, clean, convenient to highway, pleasant environment. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
We camped here March 14-19th, this park is excellent and they are making improvements. Lots for kids to do during season. Park is very clean and the bathrooms and showers are spotless. We plan to go back 2 times during summer and again in fall. It is a C2C member and not sure if they allow non-members. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$8
This a nice park. We stayed here as Coast to Coast members. While here in February, the park was nearly empty. Many overnighters on their way south. Upon arrival, we were told that we must wear a pink wrist band at all times. No way! We did see others wearing them. The restrooms and showers were spotless. Only 2 washers and dryers, housed in an open area of the comfort station. Excellent exercise room with very good equipment. Most sites are pull-thru and level. Verizon cell service marginal. Very satellite friendly. This is a place to bring the kids. Santee (outlet stores), Summerton and Manning SC all very close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com