223480 User submitted reviews online!!
Bahia Honda State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (305) 872-2353
CGID635

Bahia Honda State Park

Camp Information
Sites
78
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   10   7   10   6   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$38
Absolutely beautiful! We camped in site 15 Buttonwood on the water. That was the best snorkeling spot in the whole park! I would have given it a 10 if they had sewer hookups. Also, the dump station should be located on the road leaving the park, not in the middle of the campground in my opinion. The poor people camped next to it have to put up with the smell and engine noise of those using the facilities. I would not recommend using the campsites near the cabins. Those sites are extremely small and the bugs are horrible. The other campsites on the beach are nice and tucked into the shade which you will need in that heat. I can see why it is so hard to get a site here. We lucked out and booked a week when someone else cancelled. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Roads are very tight pulling a 30' trailer and backing into the sites. Sites are very close together, however, you hardly know that your neighbors are there due to dense vegetation between sites. Water service is at the front of the site and for every other space is on the wrong side of the campsite. Bathrooms showed their age, but were tolerable though the showers could use a good cleaning with bleach to get the old mold discoloration off. Beaches are very small compared to what I expected from the brochures. Of course the main attraction here is the location. It is 37 miles from Key West and all the activities along the way. I definitely recommend the snorkeling trip to Looe Key that you can take directly from the park. The staff at the park were all extremely friendly and helpful as well. If this park were located anywhere else I would probably give it a lower rating, but of course it is all about location in the Keys. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$43
Tough to expect more from a state park. Although the sites were gravel, and a bit tight for a 39' RV with 5 slides, we were able to make it with room to spare. Each site is separated by a thick hedge on 3 sides, so you get a pretty private setting. There is a marina / snack shop. Because of the way the park is situated, you can swim/snorkel even if the wind is blowing 20 mph. If too windy, walk over to the other side of the island where it is calm. For the most part the campsites are protected. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$40
We loved our stay here, love the location, close to Key West. Site 25 was large and has a nice waterfront area with beautiful sunsets. The water connection is located front left side (hose crossed site). The electric is located front right, we needed an extension cord. 50 amp power was good. The bath house was extremely clean and nice. We put Plexiglas panels in our screen door to keep the no-seeums out. Bug spray is a must. It's hard to get reservations but don't give up, it was worth the being denied every morning at 7:59:59 for a month plus to spend a week in paradise! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$38
Bugs, bugs, bugw!!! especially the no see ums are terrible, we came away bit to death!!! Also the seaweed on the beaches was real bad. Other than that it was fantastic, a "must go" at least once in a lifetime. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$23
Paid FL Senior rate which made for a great value in the keys. We had a nice wide and level 50 amp site with water. Sites vary in size quite a bit here and no sewer sites are available. Traffic noise is not as bad as some reviews indicate. It gets pretty quiet late at night and we could hear the ocean. No TV reception, but Verizon cell and broadband were both very good. For great happy hour prices and food specials try Springer's on Big Pine Key. It is the best bet around and they have the NFL package and great people there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$43
Of the four Florida State parks in the Keys, this is our least favorite, though it does have a nice beach. Waterfront sites are very tough to snag, and even though we had one which had to be reserved well in advance, you are looking at and hearing the Overseas highway bridge. Interior sites near the two big dumpsters, bathrooms, and dump station are smaller and the smell from the dumpster is overpowering when it is hot. Can't figure out why they would put the dump station and especially the dumpster in the middle of the campground. Extremely busy on the weekend, with a lot of day use people. We will stick to the other three parks from now on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$38
Only stayed here one night, but what a beautiful park! Wish I could have stayed longer, but was traveling & had reservation in northern FL. The people were so very nice. I plan to come back again if I can get reservations. I was lucky enough to get a cancellation. This is a must see state park & in the keys!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$43
This campground offers sites with water and electric hookups for RVs and dumping station in the Buttonwood area and primitive no-hookup tent campsites facing Sandspur Beach. All campsites offer far more space and privacy than any of the commercial ones that we saw on the main Route 1 highway. Charcoal grills and picnic tables are included. A few Buttonwood RV campsites face the sea, but they also face the busy Route 1 bridge. There is a small boat harbor and even boat slips for two or three campsites. Bathhouses are clean and reasonably modern. There is no coin-op laundry, but a washing sink is provided. The camp store sells gifts, no groceries or camping supplies but runs a snack bar. Free Wi-Fi is provided at the dive shop, adjacent to the store. Cellphone signals on Bahia Honda Key are poor. The Silver Palm Nature Trail is one the best I've seen. Natural beauty is everywhere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$38
This park sits on a fantastic piece of waterfront real estate, that is a small undeveloped island aside from the park. Like most FL state parks it is on the rustic side and is meant for the outdoor lovers. If you are after perfect paved sites, planned activities, fancy bathrooms, and fully appointed clubhouses you will be disappointed. If you like beaches, boating, fishing, snorkeling, hiking and tropical settings this is for you. The bathrooms were clean and the electric worked fine. We made use of the onsite boat ramp and marina which is protected and calm. If you look at the map you see the bridge is very close by and since sound travels very well across water, you will hear traffic. It is a small price to pay for such a beautiful spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$29
This was our first visit to BHSP. If you are approaching the Keys from I-95, get onto the FL Turnpike as soon as possible. Miami traffic is busy. Be prepared for a unique geographical area. The campground is quite small and space is at a premium. Traffic noise from the bridge can be bothersome. Surprisingly we learned that the beaches on the Keys are quite small relative to those in most parts of Florida. However, swimming and kayaking are popular at the park. Marathon and Big Pine have tons of restaurants. Key West is less than an hour's drive. The tram ride there is the best way to get introduced to Key West. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
Great campground. Stayed in site 43, a corner lot with a view of the water. Campground is near US 1, so some highway noise is heard. Seaweed was in, smell initially bad, but it grows on you. Fishing was good, but launching kayak on Atlantic side tough with the rotting seaweed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
We had a waterfront site but because water hookup is on one side of site at front and electrical is on the other side at the back, we were unable to drive in to put water view in right spot. The 50 amp electrical hookup was "compromised" and a visit to the ranger station brought a volunteer to fix it. Worked fine the rest of our visit. Showers were clean until the weekend when some slobs were camping. Highway noise was intrusive but didn't disturb sleep. Big rigs need to check size carefully, since there is no standard size. This is a wonderful park to use as a base for visiting Key West, about 30 miles south. Key deer can be seen around sunset on Big Pine Key. Even if sewer hookup was available this would not be a favorite park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
Very nice state park, and I actually got very lucky to get a site here. I kept checking daily until someone cancelled, and I snatched it up. The park itself is very nice, and the water around the island is beautiful. The site we had was a little small but adequate and level. There is no cable, and we couldn't get any local channels on our rooftop antenna. The bathhouses were clean but not air conditioned. Plenty of places to swim, hike, or kayak. The views from this island are spectacular! I would gladly stay here again if I ever get the chance to return to the keys. I would've given it a 10 if they had full hookups and cable (or at least local channels available). Didn't bother me much, but the kids are lost without TV. Overall, a very nice park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$45
The location of this campground is awesome, but the sites themselves leave a little to be desired. We were lucky enough to get a waterfront site (for prime seasons you MUST reserve sites 11 months in advance - try working on two computers at the same time when the reservations open at 8 am). The sites are designed with the electric hookups in the right rear; therefore if you want to pull into the site to take advantage of the water view, you must have extra electric cable. The water hookup is in the front of the site near the road, so you must have extra water hose. Also the campground is right under the Bahia Honda bridge, so the traffic noise can be quite loud. The park staff was very friendly and helpful. I don't think we would stay here again - would try another campground closer to Key West. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$43
The rating is for the CG and not the park (which is great and has lots of fun activities). Our site, #26, was short (maximum length ~28') and narrow; site was level and made of gravel/dirt. The electric was good but the water connection was in the front of the site, more on the road than the site, so a long hose was needed. CG feels cramped but you can walk out to the main road for more space. Some of the sites were double-wide while others were pretty narrow so you may want to check the information on Reserve America beforehand to make sure your slides will fit. No laundry facilities. For activities, we really enjoyed the water, the star talk and the kayaking but the CG was pretty so-so. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$40
Great park! Fantastic beach, lots of activities, clean restrooms. Sites are nice and most are reasonably private. Water hookups are not necessarily conveniently located, so we had to park at a weird angle. Next time, we'll bring some extra hose. This is a popular park, so advance reservations are needed (we booked 11 months ahead). We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$38
Another fine Florida State Park. We stayed in site #13. It is a large site (we are a 40' rig towing a vehicle) in a cul-de-sac that backs up to the water. Plenty to do right here in the park. Key West is just a short drive. The water spigots are located near the road, not in the traditional locations near the electrical panel. We used 50' of hose to get to the fresh water hookup. Not a big deal but be sure you have plenty of hose with you. We loved our stay here. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We loved camping here. It is a clean, friendly park and we wish we were going again soon. Very nice beach and a short stores and restaurants. We went one day to Key West and another we went to Robbie's and rented a kayak for $40 for 4 hours. Then we shopped the vendors and also had an entertaining meal watching everyone feeding the tarpon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$43
This is a beautiful Florida park. Our site was right on the ocean so we could snorkel right in front of our RV. The water was amazingly clear and warm. Sandspur beach has miles of untouched sand beach. Calusa beach is groomed and better for family swimming. The rangers and volunteers are great and happy to answer questions especially about nature in the park. We did experience no-seeums but only a couple of times during our 14 day stay. The breeze kept them at bay the rest. As already stated, you may need an extra hose to reach the water hook up. In order for us to drive nose into our site, a power extension cord was needed. The ocean sites are close to the bridge so there is some traffic noise. The park is full the whole year, so make reservations as early as possible or take a chance at a cancellation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$43
A very special place. As noted, sites are close to the Overseas Highway, so road noise reminds that you are not alone. Sites are large and well screened for privacy. We were fortunate to get a waterfront site and pulled straight in so the front of the motorhome faced the water. Sublime. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$43
Beautiful view from many camp sites. Great park. A couple of things to be aware of: there is a lot of road noise from the highway. Also, the water connection is a LONG way from the electric connection so you may need a longer hose. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$43
I think this park gets rated so highly due to the location. It is an older park and not as nice as Curry State Park or Long Key. The sites are fine, look out for no see ums. There are 2 beaches but the shore line is not huge if you like walking on the beaches. Close 25 minutes to Key West. We like to kayak but found it quite windy when we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
The campgrounds are about average for a state park. But the view from the rest of the island is great. We stayed for a week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$28
This Florida State Park is terrific! Large sites with water and electric. Many sites are oceanfront. The sites are level and packed gravel/coral with vegetation walls between most of the sites. Larger motorhomes may have a problem fitting in some sites, but with creative positioning coaches up to 40' should be able to take advantage of this beautiful Keys park. Towns and stores are within 10 minutes both north and south on Route 1. The park's staff are friendly and very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and other needed facilities. Two minor problems. The first is, as everyone else has said, there are no sewer hookups. When your tanks are full you will have to raise the jacks and go to the dump station. The second problem is getting reservations. We made ours 11 months in advance using three computers. Only one computer got through. Make Bahia Honda State Park a stop when you are in the Keys. You won't regret it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$38
This is an extremely nice state park. Most sites are double wide size and are surrounded by a ring of greenery. The showers are in excellent condition. Some sites are right on the ocean and have spectacular views. Like the previous poster said, the only thing that would make this park better would be sewer hook ups. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
This is our first visit but won't be our last. We had a water site and parked facing the water. We enjoyed watching the sunset at night from our site. Lots of biking, walking, nice beaches, etc. Everyone from the check out to the store have been very friendly. I understand now why you have to make reservations 11 months in advance. The only item that could make this park better would be sewer hookups. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
We are here for 2 weeks. We booked this site in Jan 09. The previous reviewer stated he could get only one night but a walk up person got 2 weeks.That is the policy here. Walk ups can get available sites held back for this purpose. It's a crap shoot. If you come in without a reservation, you are taking your chances. Site just fit our 40ft motorhome with 50 amp and water. No sewer. We will enjoy seeing the Key's for these two weeks. Good luck on getting a site. Use Reserve America to see when sites are available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
I waited 2 years to get a site on a trip to the Keys. I was only able to book in advance for one night, but was discouraged by what happened when I was checking in. There was a gentleman from outside the states camping in a rental RV. He was able to book two weeks, just by walking up. Being a Florida resident, it's irritating that I could not get a site for more than one day on-line, booking more than six months in advance. I would rate this place a 10 if I could book more than One night with ease. The views here are excellent for sunset and sunrise. Kayaking was a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$30
This is a fabulous state park. So much to do inside the park that you don't really need to leave to have fun. Snorkel, swim, fish, bike ride etc. all great times. If you can get a reservation here, enjoy it! Be sure to bring sun and insect protection. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Although this park is very hard to get into (takes reservations up to a year in advance) we had a good time. The sites are small and in my case site #34 has to share the water hook-up with site #35, which means my water hose was too small and a trip into Marathon was made. Another down side is the dumpster is adjacent to the bath house and in the summer months those who dive for lobster and fish all day dump the remains in the dumpster and the summer heat can play cruel tricks on you during the day or night and the smell is bad. Other than that this is about the best overall camping area south of Marathon and north of Key West. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$27
Very nice park but crowded most of the time. But if going to Key West about as close as you will get with out paying a lot more. The rangers are nice and the park is clean. The down side is that it is close to US one and the traffic noise is pretty loud. Other than that if there enduring the summer make sure to have mosquito spray and a good air conditioner. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$29
Florida mile marker 37. This is a wonderful state park with over 80 campsites in three areas. Bayside without electricity (not for RV’s), Sandspur for tents, popups and vans with electricity and water and Buttonwood for everyone with electricity and water. Some sites face the gulf side and some of the tent sites face the ocean side. You can snorkel, bike, fish, swim, picnic, kayaking or hike up to the old bridge. There is a nature center with talks by the rangers. The water is like that beautiful carribean blue and in May it was enjoyable but still hot. We had site 12 where the little fishing dock was in back of and we could see both bridges (new and old) from our site. Very enjoyable three day stay. Checkout is at 1 and checkin at 3 but if you come in early you can enjoy the park until your site is cleared. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$31
Great location in Paradise! If you want a waterfront site directly on the water, this is the perfect spot. Fishing is great in the Bahia Honda Channel: grouper, tarpon, many reef fish. We were able to kayak directly from the site. There are 4 miles of road to bike on. There are 3 beaches with sand to chose from. You can snorkel from shore or sign up for an offshore tour. In addition, you are only 37 miles from Key West. If you are looking for a tent site avoid the Bayside Campground, it smelled like rotten eggs the entire week. Sandspur would be an excellent choice for tent or pop up campers. Buttonwood is for the RVs. Try to avoid the sites near the restroom since the dump station and garbage are also located there. I look forward to returning. You will probably need to reserve your spot 11 months in advance since this is a very popular and economical choice for the Keys. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$25
One of the nicest Ocean side parks in the USA. Beautiful sites on the beach or very near the water. Great kayaking, fishing, boating, biking, sunsets. Nice beach. Very difficult to get in here; it is one of Florida's most sought after sites to camp not only because of its beauty but price. Sunshine Key RV park also on big Pine Key is $110 a night and it is a parking lot. We have camped on the beach here and if, like us, you always dreamed of camping on the beach, remember it can be windy here and the fine gulf sand that looks like sugar will drift around your tent like snow! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$17
Easy in and out. Gate attendant is friendly. Paved roads but gravel sites.Great nature center and employee. Nice bath, clean and bleach odor. Stayed 5 days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$31
Nice paved interior roads & gravel camp pads. Dump site is easily accessible for big rigs. The beaches (3 of them ) are great as is the sunset from on top of the old bridge. Yes there is some road noise, but you are in the Key and almost everything is 'just off the hwy' . The only draw back to this park is that it is almost impossible to get a reservation for a site. Reservations can be made up to 11 months in advance. We managed to get a site for 1 nite. (someone must have cancelled) Just for grins I checked the web site & discovered that this site is booked every nite for the next 11 months. So plan ahead if you want to stay here. FYI - if you are a tent camper - Sandspur sites 62-72 are RIGHT ON THE WATER and beautiful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$26
This is a beautiful campground. The sites a closer together than in some state parks, but had plenty of privacy because of the shrubs between the sites. The sites are quite level and clean but if you have a tent bring lots of spikes instead of stakes as the limestone is like cement. A great place to sit and enjoy a tropical paradise and sip a margarita! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$15
Wonderful location. Great views. Back to nature! Highly recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$31
Pros: Great winter weather. Friendly rangers with excellent ranger talks. Historic content preserved (Old railroad bridge). Nice Beach. Some spaces are right on the ocean! Boat launch ramp and place to park your small boat very close. Great fish restaurants nearby (Key Fisheries three times in a week). Fresh ocean breeze. Cool nights. Cons: Highway noise pretty severe in campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$31
After reading so many nice comments at Woodalls forums regarding Bahia, we weren't all that impressed. They had signs stating to conserve water and electricity, yet the mens bathroom had a missing shower head so the water would pour out. When this occured, the toilets wouldn't always flush properly. So to say the least, we had several occurences of plugged up toilets in both the mens and ladies bathroom, which weren't cleaned all that well. There are no doors or screens on the bathroom entry doors that made for some major bug problems with skeeters. Even the park staff said, they were the worst they had seen in years. They made sitting outside darn near impossible at times, especially in the evening's. As for the beach, if this is rated as one of the top beaches in the nation, they haven't seen some of the wonderful beaches along the Great Lakes, (of course the water is a little cooler). At high tide the beach was covered in seaweed, and had small bugs flying all around it. At low tide we could sit out in chairs in the water. The snorkeling was nice though. The ocean front sites have a great view of Hwy 1, with quite a bit of noise. We didn't realize how close the Hwy was going to be. We think we would have liked Long Key better since the view isn't wasted on a HWY. There is a dumpster in the area between sites 38 and 45 and the smell in this area was terrible. I wouldn't even consider a spot in this area as it was that bad. (Think rotting fish guts in 90 degree temperatures, and you'll have an idea). The camp store closes at 5 PM, doesn't carry any groceries, but ice is available. The kids liked getting ice cream, besides that the store was kind of worthless. We heard that there was a park ranger that patrolled the area. We only saw them on two occasions in 5 days, but there were no real problems with noise or rowdy's. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$19
Nice park but would advise tent campers to get in the sandspur section the rest of the campground is too close to the highway and is noisy. We camped here in a Tent.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com