220284 User submitted reviews online!!
Turtle Bayou was rated 6 out of 10 based on 21 user reviews. Phone: (409) 389-2468
CGID6350

Turtle Bayou

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   3   8   2   8   5   7   3   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
Easy off on interstate. New owners putting in new spaces for "transient" one night stays. This will make the park better. Mostly all permanents down on the river. If you have a Passport America membership and need a place to stay for the night in the area, then this would be suitable. We stayed in a pull thru with easy access. OK for the price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Price is Passport America rate. We stayed here to visit the Wildlife Refuge in the area. Park is right next to I-10 so easy access for passing through. However, there is traffic noise. There were several wild cats roaming around. Most sites are down steep hill. We stayed at some pull-through sites on the top across from office. Gravel roads and grassy, muddy sites. FHU 30 amp site where we were. Free decent wi-fi. Nice laundry. We were there for three days and twice during that time they turned off the power and water for some work they were doing without any warning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$18
Rate paid was with PA discount. This is a nice little overnight park right off I-10, easy in, easy out. The owners are very friendly. The site we were given was in the front, close to the office, all grass with FHU. The park was nicely mowed and very clean. The only noise was from traffic on I-10 but we weren't bothered by that. We'd definitely stop again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2011
$18
Was going to stay here but they would not let us drive in and look at sites. Every campground I have ever been at will let you drive in and look around before saying you wanted to stay. It looked rather dirty so we wanted to check out. Office was very dirty! Manager was not nice at all, needless to say we left! Rate was Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
We found this to be a nice park right off I-10 so easy on/off the highway. The park has a lot of trees and the river/bayou which is really neat. The roads are paved and the sites are grass/gravel and fairly level. There's no cable TV here but the WiFi worked well. We were passing through so only here for one night but would definitely come back again. We paid the PA rate of $18 for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
This campground sits right along highway 10 so you get some highway noise. It sits right on the Turtle Bayou and is a great fishing spot. We could not get any TV channels in, but that's why you camp: to get outdoors. This is a little campground that you can do that in. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
This park was somewhat junky at office and entrance area. When we were escorted to site we were pleasantly surprised. Our site was right on the Bayou and was beautiful and very peaceful. The sewer connections were set high probably due to possible flooding and did not drain very well. Would stay again if the same sites were available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2011
$10
We didn't like this park. First of all the The owner has an extreme rude attitude. Piles of wood, plumbing, junk all over the place. The wireless internet worked very poorly. Dirt lot park next to a mosquito infested bayou. We will not be returning there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
This is a great RV Park. Would come back here in a minute. Had everything we could possibly need in a Campground including a nice view of the water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
Nice park, friendly and helpful. Great Wi-Fi! Would stay here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
It was old and has irregular sites. Wi-Fi was very good. Over air TV was also very good. Close to I-10, noise was not too bad. Price was Passport America. OK for overnight. In and out was strange but not hard. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$12
Very pleasant experience. The second time I stayed here on business. Stayed three weeks this time. Safe , secure and quiet. Will be staying here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Right off the highway and on Turtle Bayou. Interior gravel roads have some pot holes, go slow. Had a level site, good strong Wi-Fi, good water pressure. There was some road noise. We would stay here again. We stayed for 1 night with rig and toad. Has nice folks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Good campground for one or two night in transit or if working temporarily in the area. A little over an hour from Johnson Space Center. Secluded and safe. Interesting access from interstate - be sure to call to get directions. Very friendly and helpful managers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2010
$27
We didn't like this park. First of all the manager was sarcastic when we asked if the $5.00 deposit for the key to the washroom was in effect. Messy grounds blamed on the hurricane. The wireless internet worked very poorly. Manager complained about the tap to water connection was leaking but the tap itself leaked. Showed her, and she went away. Wouldn't go there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$17
We stayed here 2 nights while visiting nearby Houston. Great for the Camp Club rate. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay here again and check out the fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
The park is on two tiers. The lower park is quite pretty but very buggy. Some sites were too wet and boggy to camp. Bathrooms were locked. Host would not open them without $5 key deposit. Advised not to use either the bathrooms or showers because they were in "bad shape". No dump station. Wi-Fi very iffy on the lower tier. $15 with credit card. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2009
$17
We camped down by the river in site 25 and after a day of rain the lower level became a big mud hole. Evidently hurricane left a layer of mud over whole place and they have done little to improve it. Nearly got stuck trying to leave. They advertise 2 rest rooms but we saw none in our area. We will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$17
Convenient place for an overnight stay from what we saw. Close to I-10, so there's a little road noise. Pull-throughs are grass/gravel and easy in & out for big rigs. We would stay here again for an overnight stay only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$10
This is a beautiful, peaceful park. We were shown to a spot right beside the river (bayou?) and by backing our motor home onto the site, we were able to sit at our dining table and watch the fishing boats chug by in a leisurely manner. This park is very relaxing after a long day of driving. The management is extremely welcoming and helpful and the overall scenic beauty of the park is super. The Wi-Fi connection boomed in without any problem. We have stayed at this park several times now, and it will always be one of our stops when we are in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2007
$22
This campground is part of the Coast to Coast Good Neighbor Program. They receive $12 when a reservation is made through this system. When we arrived they 'required' another $10 per night. On our first night they parked us 'out in a field' as our site had not been vacated ( still had to pay the additional $10 ) Once our site was vacated we were directed into it by 2 people giving completely different directions (from the front & rear of coach ) which caused a fair amount of confusion. When we stopped and exited the coach to talk to the 'directors' we were screamed at!!! Our site was a swampy god awful mess as it had been raining for several weeks . When we went to dump our tanks everything flushed back up on us as the sceptic system was either full or flooded. Also, the 'Laundry room' was 2 rusted washers & 2 rusted Dryers located in a damp and moldy back porch. Last but not least, this campground backs right up to Highway 10 and is very noisy. I would stay at a truck stop or rest area before I visited this campground again!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com