219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Ouachita State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 41 user reviews. Phone: (501) 767-9366
CGID6354

Lake Ouachita State Park

Camp Information
Sites
103
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   8   9   9   10   10   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Great state park. Amazing views. We had site #1, which gave us an okay view of the water and was near the boat ramp. The sites were large and level. We spent most of our time in Hot Springs so we didn't take part in any of the activities that the state park had to offer (there were several per day). Lots of great "finds" in rocks and just things to look at. Spent an hour skipping rocks with my two daughters. The drive in and out is steep; do be warned, low gear is needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
If you are looking for peace and quiet this is the perfect campground. Great hiking trails, fishing, and a marina with boat rentals and swimming area. Be advised there is no cell phone reception out here. Hookups worked fine. Were here during a severe storm and the park rangers did an excellent job at checking in on us and keeping us informed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$18
Very nice and quiet park. Facilities clean. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$19
We stayed in Loop D at this campground. We had a nice view of the lake. Our site was level and easy to back into. The bathrooms/showers were clean, but with lukewarm water. Our site Number 94 was spacious. During our week's stay, we found it peaceful here. We signed up at the visitor center for a lake tour, which was very informative. The staff were all friendly and made us feel welcome. The lake was amazing, with lots of coves to explore, and fishing. Boats and fishing gear can be rented at the marina. We walked the trails and shorelines. Easy access to everything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
This was our first trip here. Nicely maintained park. Sites mostly level, we did have to use our levelers on the rear driver's side. We stayed in Campground A Site 19, although it was a nice weekend, I wasn't happy about the site's layout. The firepit was too far away, as well as the grill. The tent pad was in the place they should have been. But, that said, we made it work just fine. The trail at the end of our campsite down to the lake was nice. The view was gorgeous and our stay was relaxing. The older bath house was nice enough, although a little graffitied. The newer bath house was in better shape. The park was clean, well groomed, the staff was kind and easy to work with. We will stay here again but we have chosen a few other sites in A (17), C (84) & D (93) but the park staff informed us that C & D will be closed for a year for upgrades. (Probably adding sewer and concrete pads they said). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This is a beautiful and quiet park. The sites were spacious and roomy with views of the water. It was a good location for being close to Hot Springs and Hot Springs Village. We did not use the restrooms. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
My family stayed here nine nights in a 33' RV. We originally had reservations for four nights but we enjoyed the campground so much we decided to stay longer. This is one of the cleanest and best keep campgrounds we have ever stayed at. The full hookups were great for a family. The bathhouse was clean. We stayed in site 14 which was on the inside loop but still had a good view of the lake. The scenery was absolutely beautiful. The staff at the visitors center was both friendly and helpful. We will camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
This is a very nice park. We started in the C loop right on the water which had spectacular views and direct water access. It did not have sewer but the views and water access are the best. We moved to the full hookup loop and it was very nice as well, although the water access was farther away but still usable. There seemed to be more families in the full hookup loop as it has a flatter grade and kids can ride bikes easily there. This park is very clean and sites were level. We will be coming back, they have set the bar high for us going forward. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This is our family's favorite state park we've visited to date. We stayed in the FHU loop A area. We moved around a bit as we stayed for 10 days (sites 30, 31 & 8) during Spring Break and each site was in great shape. Everything from the picnic tables to the bathrooms was top-notch and well kept. Staff was friendly and the park host was helpful and friendly. Lots of park activities with good marina for rentals. Don't miss the 4 mile Caddo Trail! Intermediate trail with some pretty incredible views. There is also a beginner trail (1/2 mile) suitable for smaller kids. The visitor center is a pain to negotiate with a longer rig - and since the sites are assigned, I would setup first and then go hit the visitor center to register. I would call to reserve a site instead of using the online registration and ask for a specific site by number (I did not see a way to request specific sites on the website). After our 10 day trip, we decided our favorite sites for our next visits will be: 9,11,13,17,19,21,24,25,28,30,32,34,2,4. These are all outside spots with solid views as well. Site 8 has a lot of room for the kids to play and was right next to a bath house, but was on the inside of the loop. The tent pads at the end of the peninsula of Loop A have some epic views (although a bit windy). We found a spot that sold firewood off 227 about 1/2 to Hot Springs for reasonable prices (just south of the Rail Road tracks heading into town). This is a big destination for holidays, so be sure to plan accordingly and reserve early. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$28
This one of our favorite places to camp in Arkansas. Generally quite clean and beautiful. What more needs to be said? We stay here whenever we are passing through or for an extended stay vacation. You will not be disappointed, and it is close to Hot Springs as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$28
Best State Park we've ever stayed. Restrooms are immaculate. Loop A is the best for RV'ers with level sites, excellent hookups, fire rings, grill, and large picnic tables. We stayed in site 7 (across from restrooms) & site 9. Eagle tour is a nice boat ride. Its about 15-20 minutes to Hot Springs. Ice and firewood are available at the Visitors Center. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Tall pines, clean park, plenty of space between sites, what more could one ask for! Lake to swim in, boats to rent, or launch your own. Friendly folks, helpful park staff, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and marked this park as one to come back to when we are in the area. Spaces are level, electric, water and sewer connections well placed. During prime time, plan ahead and secure your reservations because it is a popular park (and well deserved!). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This is a state park: easy in and out, plenty of room for slides and awning with our 33 foot rig. Has spacious sites and a lot of trees making satellite reception challenging but not impossible. There are only 40 sites with 50amp and full hook-ups, the rest are 30 amp with water & electric only. There is a nice, sandy swimming area on lake. This is a great park because it is on Lake Quachita which is a fantastic lake. Mainly because of the lake, this campground is by far my favorite. We will return to this park every opportunity we get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$15
We stayed here 2 nights as we traveled from Texas to Ohio. We stayed at the 'hike-in' tent sites. These were right on the lake, on a small peninsula. The sites were very close to the common parking area. We had a nice amount of shade, and the lakefront sites really helped keep the kids entertained. The camp store was nice, and there is also a designated beach swimming area that we did not get to try. I recommend this campground, as it seemed very nice and clean and the campers and staff were friendly. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
My first experience with an Arkansas State Park Campground. First, the positives. The AAA campsites in Area A are above average. Our campsite had a asphalt parking pad with a very stable picnic table and crushed limestone/concrete camping area. The Negatives: The cleaning crew only visited the comfort station once a morning. Also, the comfort station was NOT comfortable at all. in 100 degree heat, there was no A/C or fans in any of the comfort stations. There is no Wi-Fi. (Spoiled with LA State Parks). I was also surprised that there were no controls at night to keep unregistered guest out of the park. (Again, spoiled with LA state parks). Overall, I was very pleased with the campsite; however, very disappointed with the comfort stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Stayed here 3 nights - beautiful park & scenery. Restrooms/showers were spotless. Park employees friendly & very helpful. Will probably go back to this park again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
We camped in area A with full hook ups. The sites were well spaced with a mixed forest setting. The campground was about 70% full so reservations are suggested. Area A is much different from areas C and D which had very close sites with little privacy. Area B was closed due to recent storm damage. We rented a pontoon boat for an afternoon with friends. Lake Ouachita is beautiful with many islands. The entire lake seems to be surrounded by national forest land. I highly recommend this campground since it is only 20 minutes from Hot Springs with many attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
One of our favorite parks of all time. The lake is gorgeous and the island beaches have sandstone bottoms. The park offers boat rentals at reasonable rates and an abundance of activities for people of all ages. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our site overlooked the beach area and marina, breath taking views of the lake. It required minimal leveling and when a down pour came one day it drained out quickly. Also, sites can be reserved by site # so you can get exactly the site you want with some planning. The park is not real close to anything in particular but it will keep you entertained plenty if you enjoy being outdoors. Cell phone reception did work with our carrier (Verizon) near the marina boat ramp and at the top of the hill when coming into the park on the main road. We will return to this park again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$18
Great time at this State Park! I hated that I didn't have cell phone service, but we knew that coming in. It's a beautiful campsite with a beach and "Three Sisters" historical site. The park offered interesting classes for the family and a information boat ride ($9 adults) at night. We'll definitely return! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Nice park, large sites will definitely return. The restrooms were very clean and well taken care of. All the sites were shaded and the access was easy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
Beautiful campground with nice spacious sites. Stayed here for four nights. The walk in tent sites have some of the best views. Everyone is very friendly. Some spots are overlooking the lake and others you back up to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
We planned to stay for one night but stayed for 3.This turned out to be the best park in which we have ever stayed. Plenty of room from all sides and the cleanest park, no trash, dog droppings or dirty restrooms and showers: everything was spotless. The lake was beautiful with great trees. A very friendly host and all guests where very nice. We plan to return this next year, and to stay at least a week. Our satellite and aircard worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$27
First class state park on a beautiful lake. We camped in the A loop, sites were large and well-spaced. No TV or Wi-Fi, but there is plenty to do in the park and in the surrounding area. Wished we had booked more time here. We'll definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$21
We stayed here in August, so the humidity was a little high. This is a beautiful campground with lake and woods nearby. Staff is very helpful. We were here for 2 weeks with no TV and never missed it for a minute. Close to Hot Springs for "touristy" fun and shopping. We will return again and again!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
Great campground right on the lake. All sites in A loop are large, paved and well spaced. B loop is tents only. C and D loops are waterfront but are close together and would be loud. We prefer the A loop. Lake is beautiful. Marina on site offers boat rentals at competitive rates. We had a great day on the water on their ski deck boat. Not a bad drive to Hot Springs. Hot Springs NP Mountain Tower provided a great view of the area and worth the nominal fee. Hot Springs NP Bathhouse Row was a neat stroll and deserved more time than the afternoon that we allowed for it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$27
We stayed in site #19 in the "A" loop. What a wonderful time we had. We camped 4 nights. Tree cover in much of the "A" loop didn't let us connect to our satellite service, but we were able to pull in local channels for news and weather. All of the park staff we met were very helpful and we will return in the near future. We love the Arkansas State Parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
This is a really nice state park on a beautiful large lake. We were in section A, which has full service. The sites are well spaced and easy to back into. Lots of trees for shade and many sites with lake view. The sites were very level. The road in is a little bit of a challenge so be prepared for a climb and then rapid descent. Don't overheat your brakes on the way out. Basically, a good place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Great park. The nicest state park I have ever stayed at. The sites in section A have full hookups. Everything was immaculate. The only drawback for me was no laundry facility. We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
Clean friendly state park. Sites are a little too close together. Nice lake view from several of the sites. We have stayed here twice and would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
This is a really nice park. All of the sites are paved as are the interior roads. The sites have full hookups, are quite spacious, and well shaded. The only negatives are no wifi; and satellite reception is iffy because of the trees. Bring a good book! The park is a little way from Hot Springs. If you like peace and quiet in a beautiful setting then this is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
Very nice, large, shady sites. Level gravel pads. Nicely landscaped with separate picnic table area (some have decks/patios). We stayed in area C. Friendly staff. About 25 minutes from downtown Hot Springs. LOTS of activities planned daily during the summer that are all free and geared to different ages. Great family atmosphere. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$27
This is one of the best campgrounds we have visited. The sites for the most part were level. The sites are large with many being able to accommodate 45' rigs. The office staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. The park has left many trees which add to the beauty, but may make satellite reception difficult, but not impossible. What makes this campground rate a "10" is the lake and the views. We will be back and rent a boat from the marina to explore this lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$14
Paved roads and sites with concrete pad, picnic table, fire pit, charcoal grill, and area for tent or tent like shelter. Nice large sites with good amount of room in between sites. Big rig friendly. We were in Camp Area A, site #1. Price reflects winter rates (as of Dec 1). Approximately 25 miles off I-30 with many long winding roads. A great park, but not the most convenient to get to. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2007
$16
Absolutely beautiful! We were in campsite area A with a view of the lake. I will definitely be back to this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$18
We love it here. Get reservations in advance because they are often full. There is very limited cell phone service but the beauty and peaceful surroundings make it worth the inconvenience. It is miles off the beaten path. Not really a place to pull into on your way, but a wonderful destination. The rangers are terrific. They have a great programs for all ages and a cool snake collection. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Great place, great RVing. Camp C or D are the places to be (on the water). Clean, hot showers. Marina with boat launch and rentals, hiking trails, nice beach for swimming. Will definitely return when I'm in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
This place was incredible and we will be back here many times in the future. It's like heaven on earth as far as I am concerned. My wife, myself and 3 kids 5,7 and 8 had a great time. We stayed here for 7 days on a lake front campsite in section C. I think it was section C. Quick notes for those that need Internet access or phone calls via cell phones: 1- I have a Sprint data card and had no luck anywhere in the park at all getting any kind of signal. 2- I have a "T" mobile cell phone I can use for calls and hook up to my lap top for Internet access. This worked but very poorly at our campsite and most parts of the park. Very tough to even complete or start a call. I did notice that my "T" mobile phone when it did work, seemed to work on Cingular's network only, no "T" mobile. Fine with me since it works either way and doesn't cost me any different. I only mentioned Cingular because those that have Cingular or "T" mobile will get some sort of access, just really bad and almost non existant in most of the park. I did notice that in section A, I got a decent signal on my phone consistently. So, if cell phone signal is important while you camp make sure you get in area A (I think). Better ask the staff when you reserve which has good access, I am pretty sure it's A. As for the rest of the park: -Beautiful scenery -Great hiking trails -Wildlife mostly rabbits and squirrels everywhere -Crystal clear lake -Marina with boat rentals -Nice swimming area I can't say enough how amazing this place is. Truly one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to in my life. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
One of the most beautiful parks we've ever stayed in. We had a Premium waterfront site in "C" area with 30 amp and water. The site was gravel and absolutely level. Ours was very wide. Some were narrow but long, with terraced areas behind the main site with a picnic table and a large area for pitching a tent or screen room. All have fire rings and grills. During the week, this place was very quiet, blue jays galore (they love peanuts) and all kinds of birds, including a pair of "panhandler" ducks. The fishing is very good. We rented a small fishing boat with motor and went out on the lake which is huge. Lots of islands and coves to explore. Restrooms/showers were spotless, although the hot water could have been warmer. All in all a bit of paradise. We will be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$14
I stayed in area "A" which has sewer hookups and 40 level camping sites. The sites are very big and have paved areas for both the camper and vehicle parking. Picnic tables are on concrete slabs. The sites also include fire rings and light poles. Both 30 amp and 50 amp service is provided. Winter rates were in effect during my stay -- half the normal $26 rate. It is a 15 to 20 minute drive into the city of Hot Springs. A boat ramp is next to the campground entrance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2006
$27
This park is one of the nicest we've ever been to. We camped during the week of Thanksgiving. Beautiful grounds, lots of hiking, lots of children playing, very clean. Just a great experience! Can't wait to go back this summer and experience everything! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
This is a very nice state park. The lake front sites have beautiful views. The roads and sites are paved. Sites are mostly level. Plenty of shade. Each site has a picnic table, fire ring, grill, and a pole for hanging a lantern. There are hiking trails, a swimming beach, a marina, park ranger led activities, and a small store in the visitor's center. We will definitely be back for another stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com