215029 User submitted reviews online!!
North Landing Beach Riverfront Campground and Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (757) 426-6241
CGID6357

North Landing Beach Riverfront Campground and Resort

Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   7   1   7   8   2   10   8   3   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
An overall outstanding campground! Please disregard any and all old reviews for this website, because this campground has different management from a few years ago. My family and I were very impressed with the very clean, air conditioned bath house, very friendly staff, shaded lots, clean swimming pool and access to a small beach on the North Landing River, upper Currituck Sound. The campground is also a short ride to the Pungo Strawberry Festival. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$1
We called for reservations several months ahead and stayed during the off season. There were not that many campers there. The park is beautiful with a nice beach and great views. The onsite maintenance and office staff were very friendly and nice. It's off the beaten path but not that far. The only problems were the laundry was closed for renovations the entire 2 months we were there (the nearest coin laundry is 20 minutes away and very small), they had several campers with excessive barking dogs (I mean all day while the owners at work) even though they make you sign a separate pet form and the biggest issue is there is no onsite management. All questions require a phone call to an out of state manager. I had trouble getting answers to questions before we got there and during our stay all questions required a phone call. We did enjoy our stay and will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2012
$65
We love the location of this park, but it leaves a lot to be desired for safety and family atmosphere. No shortage of Rebel flags, drunks, loud music, crazy driving, golf carts everywhere. The roads are un-paved (very dusty), water hook ups are underground and are very dangerous (trip hazard) and hard to hook up and turn on. The beach was nice. Bath houses were serviced regularly but still dirty,and no soap in dispensers the entire stay. Staff was not helpful. We reserved a site well in advance and was changed upon arrival. We do not plan on visiting this campground again and would not recommend this campground to anyone. Hopefully they will improve this park as it does have a lot of potential. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$65
We spent 4 nights here last week. Although facilities were fine it was very difficult to leave the site as the turns are much too tight for a 42 foot motorhome. It was also impossible to be outside due to the number of mosquitos. Owners need to pave, or stone the sites due to dirt and mud, and create better site egress for larger coaches. I would not go back without these improvements. Lack of signs on roads make it easy to pass by it and you need to go 8 to 10 miles to turn around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$54
Spent four nights here with the wife and three boys. The rental boats are over priced but the campsites were huge compared to KOA and kids had a blast the whole time. The entire park lost water and power the first night...not sure why but only for three hours. Mosquito's...lots!!! Private beach was nice but crowded. Great bathrooms and showers. The sites are not paved, or perfectly level and the water supply is in the ground not on a post. Great pool but also crowded. Would definitely go again but not on a holiday weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$45
This is a campground with potential, but real issues with the clientele. On the positive side, the location is nice and the facilities were cared for at acceptable levels. Having said that, you need to be a certain kind of camper to tolerate the craziness at the campground. If you are into confederate flags everywhere (including tattooed to the chests of the men and women who wander the campground), this campground is for you. If you are into loud music blaring from golf carts until 11:00pm each night, this campground is for you. If you enjoy watching stone cold drunken campers stumble around the campground while screaming and yelling, this campground is for you. If you like going to the beach and praying that the drunken boaters don't run into the kids who are swimming, this campground is for you. I have been to dozens of campgrounds and in my experience, this has the most "party like" atmosphere in VA. If are you looking for that type of experience, North Landing Beach Riverfront Campground should be your destination. If you are looking for something suitable for families, you might want to consider an alternative. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$29
My husband and I stayed 4 nights and absolutely loved this place. The staff we met were very friendly at all times. We usually stay at the Holiday Trav-L-Park but were tired of the jet sounds. Here we only heard a couple but not the loud jet sound. We love the peace and quiet of the country and this place had that. We will definitely stay here any time we come to Virginia Beach again, starting next spring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We were first time campers in a Cruise America rental motorhome. Due to some very bad traffic we arrived very late at 22:00. We had phoned ahead and the staff explained how to check in late. The information was here and we found our site without any problems. We only stayed for an hour the next morning but the comfort station was clean and functional. The park was quite empty and peaceful and the staff were very helpful in pointing out the best and quickest route to our next stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Camped with a group. They did not put the group together despite have the spots reserved in group's name. Men's bathroom soap dispenser's were not refilled all weekend even though staff were seen servicing restroom multiple times. Charged for rental of pavilion. Spliced electric lines were prevalent throughout the campground to sewer pumps. Some sites had sewer odor from pump location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Camped here with a Good Sam Club. The pool was so cloudy and dirty that you could not see your feet. The pool test employee did not check the water on Saturday morning. The pool was full of unsuspecting people who thought the water was safe. In mid afternoon a person did test the water: the pH was way high and all other readings were out of tolerance. The pool technician did nothing to correct the pool water: said that chemicals would be added in the evening after the pool was closed. Not safe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
I have stayed at many better campgrounds. The tent sites were not clearly marked and had to walk through some to get to yours or people walked through ours to get to there's. We put up clothes lines to mark off ours to keep people from walking through. Ground cover for tents was horrible. Mulch is not good for under tents. The campsite was littered with trash old cans and just trash. Parking was far away from tents sites so everything had to be carried a far distance. There was one water supply to get water to wash dishes for many tent sites. The bathrooms only had three showers with one hook and no benches. The walls were green with mildew and shower curtains had brown stains on them and just looked gross. There was a pile of sand on one of the toilets that stayed there for a day and a half and I never seen anyone in there to clean the bathrooms. The pool was gross, I'm not sure what was going on with it. It had many stains on the bottom and much stuff floating on the top. Again never saw anyone clean the pool while I was here. The beach was littered with trash and cigarette butts with a sharp drop off into the water. The sand was almost black and the water was very dirty. While we were here the forensics team and the fire department showed up. Nothing was ever said to us. So I have no clue what was going on. We had three encounters with a CRAZY night security man. He likes to sneak up on you and scare you by looking into windows. VERY creepy. He also made comments regarding my 2 year old girl to my mother. Staff took forever to get with you while standing at the check out line at the store. There seems to be no curfew or lights out time with plenty of noise well into the night with no enforcement. Because of staying near the water, there was a ton of bugs here. People staying here were not friendly. I had one person carry on a conversation with me. Not sure why everyone staying here was so stuck up! So I would not stay here again!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$47
I have camped at this park many times. It is always available, and the staff is the best that I have encountered. The price is a little high, but I enjoy the park, and it is close to home. The pool was clean, and the camp store is well supplied. The black flies can be bothersome. The beach is not really a beach, and you really do not want to swim in it, but the view is wonderful. I will return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$24
My only complaints with this park is the road leading to it. Princess Anne Blvd is a narrow two lane road with no shoulders. And if that isn't bad enough on most of the road there are deep ditches that could easily wreck a large class A RV.You have to keep a eye on your tow dolly also It could also veer into a ditch and wreck. It is about 17 miles to the campground down a narrow two lane road.This section of Princess Anne is the kind of road that if you turn down it in a large RV you're stuck as there are not many places, if any, to turn around if you decide to go back. Once there I couldn't find a satellite signal, and there is no cable. Most of the RVs here seem to be residents, and it is a pretty park with beachfront access to the inter coastal waterway, but who swims in THAT! Unlike the other parks in the area there is minimal jet noise that seems to plague most the parks in this area. Staff is friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$49
Clean, level sites. Security gate with key card required for access. Staff friendly and helpful. Loved the nearby farms with fresh vegetables! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
A great family campground with plenty for kids to do, a superbly maintained river beach as well. RV sites are level and roomy. We toured other campgrounds closer to Virginia Beach but found this one to be the best overall. We’ve stayed here 2x. Good clean beach, pool, playground, showers, and camp sites. One ‘needs improvement’ is the staff. On peak days (Thursday – Monday) you’ll have a line of customers out the door waiting on the one cash register while three other employees and a 2nd cash register sit idle. They don’t seem concerned with customer satisfaction or timely service. Train employees and this place is a 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$43
We loved this resort. It is about a 20 minute drive to the Virginia Beach Oceanfront and a 7 minute drive to Knott’s Island. If you haven't been to Knott’s Island or the outer banks it's worth a trip. We enjoyed a local winery suggested by the campground and it was wonderful. The campground is small and beautiful it offers a private beach and we enjoyed the pool - evidentially newly renovated. We checked in late - there was a 24 hour security and the employees we ran into seemed to be nice enough. We enjoyed their Deli -it's a full service Deli. This is a little out of the way, but that's what we love about camping the most. We talked to some other campers that camp there all the time and they just raved about it. It has a boat launch (we didn't use) and it sits right on the Atlantic Intracoastal Waterway so you can fish - the sunsets were beautiful. Our children enjoyed the water balloon launching station. We will definitely be back. We peeked at one of the cottages and might try one next time. The bathrooms were clean and the security guard escorted us to our site late at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$48
Staff was not Friendly at all. No site maps,pool closed and very dirty, restrooms very dirty and smell bad. People next to us partyed all night, and bought wood and had to buy starter fluid, as wood was not dry. We will not come back here. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$45
My score may not accurately reflect our like of this campground. Was hard to score. We had a great site on a canal and no direct neighbors. No grills but had fire ring and picnic table. Partial shade and level gravel sites. Not a whole lot to do for the kids. The bathrooms are very nice but are only cleaned once a day. They really need it twice. Only one paper towel dispenser and soap dispenser. Several toilets missing handles to flush and thus were quite disgusting. Manager was very nice but other staff in the store were not. Fire wood was $5 for small and $10 for large. We purchased the large and had plenty left after two days. Neighbors had large party and broadcast some NASCAR race late into the evening for all to hear. At other end of the campground someone was playing loud thumping music at 9:00 am Sunday morning. Campground has security but I guess he doesnt control noise. Nice fishing docks and decent beach. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$32
My family and I had a great time on our last camp-out. We always try to visit North Landing Beach when we are in the southeastern region of Virginia. I highly recommend this campground to everyone as it is always clean, the people are friendly and our time there is fun!!! Thank you North Landing Beach for a great experience once again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
Staff was friendly and park was nice considering the start of the season. The only complaint is that they moved us from our reserved site and we lost our 50 AMP service. Very nice rustic private campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$45
Excellent campground tucked away in southern Virginia Beach. The sites are large and pulling in a breeze. The staff has always been friendly (we've camped there a few times) and very helpful. The beach is good size for the campground and the water is shallow allowing kids to play freely. Pets are always welcome, and the list of activities go on forever. They have a big pool, volleyball court, canoes and plenty of space to drop a line in the water to test your luck. In the summer they have movies and other activities in their new and spacious pavilion. We highly recommend this out of the way place with plenty of charm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$48
People did not seem to be the friendly type. The water valve had to be dug out of the dirt to connect hose. There was a constant drumming sound we could here inside our trailer coming from the Security trailer most of the time we were there, even into the late night. If you stay there get some distance from security trailer. Sites are large in comparison to other RV parks we have been in. River beach is very shallow for a long way out, great for the kids to play in. Trash dumpster was a good distance from site and only one trash barrel located near the center of the camping area. Sited are sand and rock. We would return but only at a selected site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Park was very nice and mostly well kept. The seasonal section lacked mowing and weeding. We were there a month and noticed the difference between that section and the frequent turnover section. The water is smelly but pressure is good. Nice shady sites but that does interfere with satellite. The laundry room needs a/c so the door can be closed to keep out bugs. Pool was great as was waterfront. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
We stayed here over Father's Day Weekend with 5 other family's and all I can say is WOW!!! I leave within 45 minutes of this campground and never even new it was here. The Owner is a real nice guy and extremely helpful. The sites are roomy compared to the other local campgrounds and we had 2 travel trailers, 2 pop ups, and 2 tents so we saw all of the different type of sites they had. The Pool area was very clean and they're was a life guard on duty. The river front tent sites were awesome and if I was tent camping that would be the most stay sites for me but I like my creature comforts so has to have a site with electricity and water. They also have a boat lunch so you can launch your boat and Jet Skis. The river beach is sandy and you can walk out a long distance and still not over your waist so the kids love it. The Rest Rooms are the cleanest I have seen in a long time. The only reason that I did not give the campground a 10 was the showers could have a bench so you can put your clothes on while you are showering and give you a private area to change, Really would like to have high speed wireless so I can stay connected so I can enjoy the campground and still get my college work done and the Office staff not all put a couple were very rude. Will I go again??!!! Sure you will this is now on our favorites list for places to get away for the weekend at. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
Pro: A very nice ongoing remake by new owners of an older campground. RV sites have full 50A E/W/S hookups. Most RV sites are wooded, but several larger sites are more open and satellite friendly. Our rooftop Datastorm dish connected from site 55 on the first try. Nice sandy beach on the intracoastal waterway at North Landing River. Lots of wooded tent sites as well as beach front sites. Playground amenities include water-battleground with forts and launchers. Friendly and helpful staff, full-service camp store with adjacent swimming pool. About 20 miles along a scenic drive to Virginia Beach ocean front; about 27 miles to the big shopping complexes (Wal-Mart, etc., et al.) just off I-64 at Chesapeake VA. Con: Poor cell-phone connection. New Verizon tower under construction to the south, but probably not available for 2006 summer season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com