221717 User submitted reviews online!!
Monahans Sandhills State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (432) 943-2092
CGID6380

Monahans Sandhills State Park

Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   9   7   6   10   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$16
Nice cheap place to overnight if traveling I-20. Drive through sites that are level and have water and electric. Right off the highway and the sand dunes are a fun break. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$14
Price does not reflect the $3 entry fee per person per day. If you have pets, watch for sand spurs. They were in our dogs paws and in the rugs in the trailer. When we made reservations, they indicated there was $3 entry fee and even after asking they indicated it was only $3, Not crowded, there was sand everywhere. Difficult to keep out of the trailer. We stayed 2 days and close to Interstate. Different with the sand dunes and no trees. Worth visit to see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Good state park campground. Quiet and clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$14
Expect sand, sun, wind. A great state park that is easy to navigate and close to I-20. My only caution would be that if the 10-15 pull off/pull through type spots are full then big rigs will have a difficult time parking in the narrow, perpendicular spots. A great spot to stop on your way through the Texas desert! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Kids would probably love this park. We stopped overnight because we were tired and needed to stop. Sites were not designed for big rigs; we are 34 ft with a tow car, and we were really overlapping into the next site. Fortunately the park wasn't crowded. Very quiet; kind of like being in another world. No wi-fi but really good antenna TV. Sites are very narrow; we drove off into the sand and fortunately did not get stuck. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Would stay here again if we had to while traveling though west TX, but it's really not big rig friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$14
Friendly staff. Clean campground. There was nothing but sand everywhere. Our campsite was a pull-through which was merely a small pull-off on the side of the road. Since the only activity at this park besides picnicking, is sliding down the sand dunes on saucers, the park had a large number of children. The wind made it impossible to use the grill. I would like to warn people that have respiratory conditions that the air has lots of sand dust in it. My husband, dog, and myself sneezed constantly. This is a unique place which we are glad to have experienced, but we will not return. In fact, we left a day earlier than planned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
We loved this park. One camps right in among the dunes on paved sites. It is so different than most camping experiences. It was fun to walk around the park and see the different forms of dunes. The park was also covered with beautiful fall wildflowers and there is a nice walk where some are identified. The campground itself is about 2 miles off of Interstate 20, so traffic noise was not a problem. Kids were having fun "surfing" down the dunes, with boards rented at the main office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
Outstanding park to camp in - overnight or for a few days. Park Rangers are very friendly and helpful. Access roads and sites are paved. However, the pavement at the sites is narrow. You might step out into sand. The sand is not like ocean sand. It doesn't stick to shoes or dogs. The wind erases most tracks in the dunes, bur after a calm night, the sand is covered in animal tracks. Night time star viewing is spectacular. This is a very dark place! Over-the-air TV is remarkably good. Our Verizon air card worked OK, but a little slow. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
This was a convenient overnight stop, just a few miles off I-20. Our pull-through site parallel the road, easy to pull into, and fairly level, some have more of a slope. Some sites are back-in and not as big. We stayed a Tuesday night, and the campground was about full, we had made a reservation and I was glad. There are restrooms with showers, a little sandy, but not bad. Kids love this place, lots of sand to slide down and play in. We are a retired couple, but enjoyed walking around the sand dunes. Our Verizon cell phone had full bars and our air card for internet worked good. Water and electric hookups worked fine. I would return if in the area. The cost is $14 for camping, $3.00 per person day fee, no charge to make a reservation. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
The sand hills are beautiful...although the weather was uncooperative. The staff were friendly and helpful. Well worth a stop. A jewel that can't be seen from the highway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Fun place to visit, I am a little bias though. This is where I use to play as a kid in the 50's. Walking in the sand dunes is fun when it is cool. Love the wild life and nature at this campground. Definitely will stay here again when I am in West Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
Not a bad stopover from I-20 if you are passing through west Texas. Price paid didn't include $3 per person entrance fee. The sand dunes are nice to see and the sunset and sunrise light can be fantastic for photos. Only about half of the sites can accommodate longer rigs, and about half of those are sloped. There's a small amount of noise from I-20 (about 1.5 miles away) and an occasional train passing by I-20 as well. Verizon was weak but worked well enough outside the trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
The rate shown does not include $3 per person fee. Sites are level and easy to get into even with a big rig. No sewer connections but does have a dump station. Our site had 50 amps which comes in handy when running both A/C to cool off the motorhome. The sand hills are fun to walk on and watch the kids slide down. Don't stop at the main window too long or the ranger dude will fuss at you. Campground is good for a day or two in our opinion. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
Spent 2 nights here while visiting the Petroleum Museum in Midland and having a little work done on our tow vehicle. Most campers only stayed one night as this doesn't seem to be a destination park. It is billed as the "Sahara of Texas" and it is composed of many large sand dunes. It was nice for a couple of nights, and we enjoyed hiking the dunes, but I wouldn't stay longer than a couple of days. We will stay here again should we be in the Midland, Odessa, or Monahans area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$14
Price was for site, plus 1 adult ($3/day). Really loved the beachy beauty of this place and we enjoyed seeing the many animal tracks on the dunes. Sites have electrical and water; most look pretty level (some are on a slope). If you like natural beauty and peaceful surroundings, and don't mind going without full hook-ups, this is a great place to stay and a good price. The CG headquarters rents plastic discs to slide down the sand dunes. People who work here are very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
This was our first stay in a Texas State Park and it was wonderful. This campground is easily accessed from the interstate. You do have to transit a raised railroad crossing to get into the state park. There was only one other RV in the campground and it was not occupied while we were here. Many of the sites are considered pull throughs, though they are parallel to the road, not what I consider a traditional pull through. Electric and water service was good. Only had one bar of Verizon cell service and did not try out our aircard. The sandhills are beautiful and it was a lovely place to spend the night. There were lots of non-aggressive bees everywhere. Even though we were the only ones here, we did not feel unsafe as we were locked in after 10 pm. Part of the camping fee was $3 per person Texas State Park Access fee. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
This is a great secluded park amidst the sand dunes. It was very cold here, so we relied on our on-board water and did fine. The area is very picturesque if you like the desert. The scenic trail near the entrance is great, with bird feeders and water which enticed many birds to stop by. We saw a western cardinal, which was a real treat. Many other species were in attendance also. Quiet and serene says it all. The park worker, Art, was most hospitable and tried to get us water, however the pipes had broken due to the low temps. I'd surely go back. It was great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$14
I spent a few days here and found the park quiet and relaxing, yet close to the Interstate for exploring the region. Sites are mostly pull through and have plenty of room for larger rigs. Covered picnic shelters are at each site, and sand dune hills and other landscape features offer a bit of privacy. The park staff members are all very friendly and make you feel at home. Showers are clean and offer lots of hot water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
This is a very nice Texas state park located west Midland/Odessa. It is a convenient place to stop while traveling on I-20. There are probably about 30 RV spots with water and electricity only. There is a dump station in the park. Many of the spaces are back-in, but a few are pull-through spaces running parallel to the road. The roads are all paved as are the spaces. We arrived fairly early in the day and there were plenty of spaces to choose from, but by dark most of the spaces were taken. We stayed here the Thursday before Easter. This is a very unusual setting with sand dunes, more typical of a beach-side location rather than in the middle of Texas. It is very picturesque. Blowing sand, however, is a potential problem when the wind is blowing: a common condition in this area of Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$14
Beautiful, white sand dunes and a pretty sunset made our overnight stay at this State Park a pleasure. The bathrooms and showers were clean and very nice, and we enjoyed our experience there very much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
A secluded, quiet park. Very easy access off Interstate 25. Interesting visitor's center. Only complaint: it was confusing as to how to position our Fifth Wheel in the sites. We arrived after normal working hours and no staff were available. There were only three other RVs here so space was not a problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$14
If your traveling from El Paso to Dallas you have to stay here. We loved this park. We have a 10 year old and he thought 'it was cool'. If you do not like sand; do not stay at this park. The front office people were very helpful. This park is unique. It almost feels like your staying on the moon. We took a walk at night and it was very calm and peaceful. The sights do not have sewer or WiFi but the electricity worked fine as well as the water pressure. Kids will love to rent boards for the sand dunes. You will be pleasantly surprised if you don't mind the sand. Great for just 1 overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$18
A convenient state park about 3 miles off the interstate. Good for an overnighter and also extended stay if one is into sand dunes. About half of the sites are back-ins and half are pull thru. All but one or two will serve all size rigs even with tow vehicle attached. Water pressure good. Voltage good, but campground was only one third full. No trees, one bath house, no laundry facility. Covered picnic shelters. Easy access in and out. Ranger staff very helpful. I'd bump the rating up one point if it had sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2007
$13
Our rate is with TX Pass. Park is about 2 miles off I 20. Sand dunes are a wonder of nature. Plant life is varied and beautiful. The most helpful park employees we have had anywhere. They were very helpful and even spent time talking with us about the animals and plants in the area. RV sites are among the dunes near the main picnic area where most of the sand sledding takes place. This is wonderful fun and the kids and I have loved playing here. Disks and boards are available to rent at office, but can't be rented after 4 and must be returned by 4:30. There are several pull throughs available which can accommodate big rigs. We had pull through site 1 - close to the showers and the picnic area. We would have been a little too snug if someone had been in site 2 - also a pull through. There are more private spots toward the back of the loop. Sites have covered picnic areas, grills and fire rings. All of that was covered in bird mess, however. My husband had to scrub the picnic table and benches with Clorox and a brush before we could use them. I use my own grill The showers are clean with plenty of hot water and pressure. There is a little day house you can rent for groups with a kitchen and bath. I would recommend seeing this place and camping here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com