223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Vallecito Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (970) 884-9458
CGID6381

Vallecito Resort

Camp Information
Sites
203
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   9   8   6   7   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
We stayed here for a month. The park was very busy but we had a nice site in somewhat crowded conditions. There are a lot of seasonal park model residents. The people were extremely friendly and thee are a lot of activities like pot lucks, Saturday breakfast and other events. The access to the the beautiful lake, surrounding Colorado areas like a Durango, Silverton, and Ouray made this a great place to spend a summer month. Weather was beautiful. WiFi worked pretty good most of the time. Would definitely return and recommend a stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$23
Absolutely spectacular! Nicest people at the park - from reservations - to arrival - to departure. They have lots of events planned for the park guests. There are extremely nice, permanent places, cabins, and then RV sites that are shady, level, and very easy to get in and out of. Close to Vallecita Lake and Durango. We will definitely go back and stay longer. Everyone is welcoming and friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
Gorgeous park set in the San Juan Mountains with huge pine trees for shade. Sites are mostly level and the park roads are gravel/dirt. It can be a little difficult to get a good line of sight for your satellite so you may want to ask about that when you reserve. Main drawback is the wifi. Really spotty, some days downright unusable. People are really nice that run the park though. There are tons of hummingbirds so hang a feeder! Be careful when driving around the area because there is lots of wildlife. We saw numerous elk, mule deer, and turkeys. You are only about a mile away from the Vallecito Reservoir which is a popular fishing lake. It is an easy day trip to Silverton also. Stayed 13 nights in a 37' fifth wheel. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
Superb park! Very friendly and helpful staff, everything well maintained, pretty location. Rate based on PA discount. Unlike many parks, the permanent residences are well-kept and actually appealing. Will definitely return, maybe for a longer stay than 5 nights - would be a good place for a month or two! Nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
We are members of Passport and found this park through our passport book. They had planned activities that were lots of fun. The sites were a little small. In talking with people in the park, they were return guests and stay for months. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Restrooms outdated were dirty and noticed obvious mold. Sites were gravel tight to get in to. It was a beautiful location and they did have 2 hot tubs. Guests and staff were both friendly. Only 10 cable channels but we didn't get them all. WiFi wasn't that fast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$16
Well treed and well maintained, older, built by CCC park. Sites vary in size and shape as dictated by roadways among the mature trees. Very accommodating and friendly owner / manager (lives on site). No security. No AT&T cell signal. Under capacity Wi-Fi (good in-rig signal but not enough bandwidth). Difficult to use satellite antenna due to trees. Park models and 'permanent trailers' scattered throughout park belonging to very friendly and welcoming seasonal residents. Lots of socializing including weekly square/round dancing and onsite national round dance teacher/cuer). Short drive to lake and good lakeside restaurants. Good AT&T service. Hiking in San Juan National Forest and casino in Igncio, NM. Short /scenic drive to Durango, CO for shopping, services, and tourist attractions. Our rate reflected Passport America membership. We are considering staying for a month or more during 2014. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$19
7500 ft up and 15 miles into the forest from US 160, Lake Vallecito RV Resort lives up to its name. While the owner is keeping it open for October, most facilities closed 10/1 for the season. Very wide open sites; comfortable atmosphere; reminds me of New England! I will be back! Rate posted reflects the passport America rate: good for 4 nights. Hot tubs on site were closed 9/27, but outdoors and looked great! Also cabins available. This is a summer resort and many retirees live here for the whole season; but the pull throughs for travelers are fine and the location is great. The lake is just up the road 2 miles further and true wilderness about 10 miles up. Be sure to visit Pura Vida restaurant when he reopens in April. It's a great spot: lakefront. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$11
This was our 2nd time staying at this park. Stayed last year for one month and stayed this year for 4 months. The rate reflects the "seasonal" rate for a 5 month stay. This is the second season for the new owner with ongoing updates in the park. On Friday nights under the large covered pavilion you can buy a made to order pizza that they will cook for you in the new wood burning oven. There are many activities for the whole family throughout the week. Very close to Vallecito Lake and about an 18 "scenic" mile drive to Durango where there are many activities. There are two small grocery stores and 4 restaurants along the lake as well. The average temperature in the park is in the mid to high seventies and usually at least 10 degrees cooler than in Durango which is why we chose to stay here for 4 months. Owner and staff were always very helpful and friendly. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
New owners, new management, a great place to stay for a couple of days or longer. Very quiet during day and night. Good WiFi. Many summerhouses very well maintained and still a lot of sites for vacationers. Very friendly staf, they escort you to the site. Ground is close to the lake(500 ft) and it is 20 ml. to Durango. Worthwhile to come to. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is still a rustic campground with many activities. The new managers have been making good improvements to the physical site, but are sadly lacking in Public Relations. One family was denied moving to another location when the noise level was high due to campground work, though other sites were available. Others have found their reserved site was given to someone else. An unusual number of "permanent" campers are trying to sell, so prices are low but feelings are not good. One Activities Committee resigned, en mass; there are already rumblings of management being very controlling by others. Campers from last year have been told they could not return, and one was told to leave this year when he/she told the manager she was being harsh on her workers! I know of a dozen who came last year who are either not here this year or will not be back next year. Too bad there are so many bad feelings over management, but if you are looking to buy here, Beware! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
The park is in a great location in the middle of huge evergreens. Sites are a little close together. The laundry etc. could use some updating but it not a bad place at all. I would stay there again without fear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$34
Friendly Staff. Seasonal Park shows wear and lack of repairs. Minimal amenities. Cable TV was a broken wire coming out of ground. Sewer had no cap and was covered by a rock. Site was level but small. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
This is a lovely clean park with very friendly staff and full time residents. We enjoyed our visit here and stayed six weeks. However, the park is very out-of-date with regard to internet. WiFi is available only at office and pavilion next to office. Cell phones (all services) do not work at this location, you must drive up to the dam (a very short distance) to make calls or use public phone in laundry. Park needs some work trimming trees and playground equipment is old and needs repair. Great for older people who love to play cards, bingo and squaredance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2006
$28
The staff here is very helpful and friendly. They drove us around in a golf cart to show us the possible sites that we could stay in. They returned to our site to make sure we were situated and everything hooked up ok. The campground has a lot of trees and shade. However all the trees makes it a challenge to navigate a RV through them. More than half of the park is full timers who live in their RV's or modular homes. They are driving distance from the reservoir. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com