214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Ajo Heights RV Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 24 user reviews. Phone: (520) 387-6796
CGID6384

Ajo Heights RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
38
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   10   10   9   8   9   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$27
Price reflects Good Sam discount. Nice park, friendly long termers, beautifully maintained , handy for the IGA grocery store. Great overnight stop. Can be windy, watch your awning. Will return We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
Very nice facility and from what I hear very busy during the snowbird season. Occupants of site near me said this was their 2nd year snowbirding and they plan to come back next year. The sites are right next to each other - basically it is a big gravel lot with the only divider being a concrete pad for chairs. No tables, fire pits, grills available. I arrived to find plenty of sites available and no neighbors beside me. There is a laundry (1.25wash/.75dry), plenty of puzzles and a book exchange. Lots of local literature and the owners were extremely helpful to let me know what attractions were available in the area. The facilities were spotless. I would recommend this park without hesitation. It was great for my few days in the area and popular for long term. Just a side note: there appears to be a lot of illegal activities in the area - border crossings and drugs. There is huge Border Patrol presence throughout this part of Arizona with numerous inspection stations. Signage on popular trails/scenic roads emphasizes the activities and issues cautions. I was never approached but did see illegals being escorted by the patrol agents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$27
As all the previous reviews state, this is a very nice park and probably the nicest in Ajo. A couple of things to note. Cash only no credit cards accepted. There is only 1 shower in each bathroom and they are a bit small, but there's plenty of hot water, good pressure, and the bathrooms are clean. Also, the address doesn't show up on my GPS, the Google Earth is wrong, but the map location on this website is correct. As the previous post indicates it's across the street from the IGA, Olsens's Market (which is in the GPS), But here are the coordinates : N 32.39294 w 112.87096 That is our location in the park at site 19. I'd stay here again in a heart beat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
The previous reviews say it all. We’re just completing our 6th winter season in this great park. The wonderful folks who gather here each winter are a joy to have as neighbors and very easy to be around. Please note: the map location on Google Earth & Maps may not be correct. The park is on Hwy 85, just north of the Marine Motel and south of another rv park, Belly Acres and across the street from the Chevron station and Olsen’s IGA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$27
This is basically a copy of another review. This is one of our favorite parks. It is excellent. Very clean and tidy smaller campground. Each space has a cement pad and a little landscaping with plenty of room for rigs with slides on both sides and a tow car. There is also a pretty little cactus garden with a picnic table. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and pointed us in the direction of several sights we would have missed otherwise. Strong Verizon and Wi-Fi signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$29
Excellent very clean and tidy smaller campground. Each space has a cement pad and a little landscaping with plenty of room for rigs with slides on both sides and a tow car. There is also a pretty little cactus garden with a picnic table. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and pointed us in the direction of several sights we would have missed otherwise. Strong Verizon and WiFi signal. While not technically "pull through" sites, some of the sites on the right side you can go through the lot next door and pull straight in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$29
Rate cited is with Good Sam discount. Pleasant, well maintained park. Level gravel interior roads and sites, all big enough for any size rig. Fast, strong WiFi. Strong 50 amp power, good water pressure. Sites are wide enough to have slides out and still be able to walk around the rig. Cement patio. Very pleasant staff. We stayed here five years ago, and we like it as much this year as back then. Verizon now has voice and 3G data service in Ajo. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$27
This is a very well maintained park. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The sites are regular sized, compacted gravel with a concrete patio. Hookups are in the back with a little greenery. There is no privacy between the sites. The washrooms and the laundry are very clean (laundry W/D $1.25/0.75). Given the location it was quiet at night. Convenient for shopping groceries. This place is great for checking out Organ Pipe NM. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2012
$58
We stayed here for 2 nights to visit the Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument. The park is along the main road into town. Be careful as there is another park immediately north of this one. There were a lot of other MH's in the park. The prime season hadn't started so reservations weren't necessary but the owner said they fill up during the prime season. The interior roads and site pads are gravel. All of the sites are back in. They are flat so it is easy to level. They have full hook ups with water, electricity (50 AMP), and sewer. They also have connections for cable & telephone. All of the utility connections are at the rear of the sites so you might need some long hoses/cords to reach the connections. No outside tables but you get a small concrete pad. It’s safe to say that almost all of the sites offer a view of the southern sky with few obstructions so you should get good satellite reception. The park’s Wi-Fi was very good. The pet area consisted of an old drive-in movie theater. It is best described as primitive. There isn't anywhere else to walk the dogs. The only road is the main road with little or no shoulder and definitely no sidewalks. We didn't use the restrooms/showers, recreation room or laundry. No pool or hot tub. The owners were friendly and attentive. They don’t accept credit cards. They do accept cash and checks. If we ever had to return to this area again, we would stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$24
Clean, well maintained RV park. Only 40 sites, typical amount of space between sites, paved patio pad, gravel roads and sites. Roads within park are wide and easy to navigate with big rig. Wifi and digital cable worked very well. Owners are exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable of the Ajo area. Great place to stay while visiting Organ Pipe National Monument. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
This is an excellent, clean park in a beautiful area, adjoining the Sonaron desert. There is also a cactus garden in the park with benches to sit on and observe the desert birds. All the amenities work fine and the bathrooms are exceptionally nice. There's a grocery store within walking distance and the town is very welcoming and often has little festivals and rodeo's. This area of Arizona has much to offer for the nature lover. I stayed for 3 months and look forward to returning. Closed during the hot summer. (The rate I quoted above is for a monthly rental). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
Nice clean site with a little cactus garden each site. Quiet. Wi-Fi worked but cable TV only works with a digital TV. Highly unlikely we will return to the area but if we did would stay here again. A good campground to go to Organ Pipe Cactus NP. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$27
Located in the beautiful Sonoran Desert with 40 sites, very casual, friendly and laid back. The owners were super nice and helpful, they have great pride of ownership in the c/g, and it shows. Plenty of space for our coach and towed. well maintained park in a lovely setting, with a small patio but no picnic table or barbecue. Spectacular sunsets and very quiet at night. Has spotless bathrooms and a small laundry located in the recreation room. There is an IGA food store over the road and a couple of small local restaurants, Wi-Fi was good. This is a great place to relax and chill out. We would stay here again. This is a seasonal c/g and is closed between May 1 and September 30. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$27
Neat and well looked after. Has friendly owners that don't tolerate any messing around. Very quiet, good WiFi. Ajo is a pleasant small town with good facilities. We would definitely stay here again, only for longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$27
Beautifully maintained campground. Rate is Good Sam. Sites are tight, but do-able for 40 ft'er & 4 slides. Sunsets spectacular. Verizon card & cable TV worked fine. Great base to visit Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument. Friendly owners & very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$26
This is just a small park but very well kept. We used it for a base to Organ Pipe Cactus National Monument as well as a place to chill and hang out. The owner is an RVer himself and he cares. The cable was excellent and the Wi-Fi was the best we had seen. The park is all small gravel but you have a concrete patio. The sites get raked after someone leaves. The site a fair spaced and the people are great. There isn't a whole lot in Ajo itself but we love the desert and the cactus. Some real good hiking also. Hookups are great. We will stay here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$17
We stayed a couple of nights while touring Organ Pipe National Monument. Easy and friendly check in. The owners are on site and take care of the grounds nicely. We were in a back in site but the owner showed us how to pull through from the back side via an undeveloped part of the property. Rate is Passport America. Parking is on gravel with cement pad located for steps to RV. Reasonably level. Good cable and Wi-Fi. Good grocery market across street. Charming downtown square. We will stay here again when in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$29
Rate is the daily FHU rate with GS discount. Great check-in experience that included area info. Site was a back-in, but with very good access. Good facilities as this park had a blend of snowbirds and shorter term visitors. All in all, a well run park that we would again stay at the next time we are in town to pick up our insurance before entering Mexico. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$23
We planned on staying here a week, but wound up staying 5 weeks. The park is clean and the spaces are large. We found everyone outgoing and fun to be around. The owner is the best host one could ever hope to find. We only left because of time constraints, we will for sure return at our first opportunity. This park is only open November 1st to May 1st because Ajo is very hot in the summer we were told. Stop here during your travels and you will be spoiled for other RV parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$28
This was a stop over for two nights while on our way to Yuma and was our first time staying here. The majority of folks staying were there for the season and return every year. Everyone was so nice and friendly including the owner. We visited with several people and will not hesitate to stay again next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2008
$10
Very nice small park on the North end of town. We are fully "Self Contained" so we don't look for rest rooms, laundry, wifi etc. Verizon cell signal is great, 4 bars 1X. Good grocery store across the street. Friendly folks, we plan to stay a month, @ $275+ electric and tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$23
Nicely manicured desert park with easy access for any size rig. Friendly staff. Mostly seasonals, who were extremely sociable. Large back-in gravel sites. Excellent 50 amp power. Fee-based very slow WiFi. No Verizon signal in Ajo. Very small showers. Large book exchange. Laundry had only two washers and two driers. The town supermarket is across the street. We will stay there again next time through Ajo unless we are there when Desert Shadows is offering their Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
Nice clean park with desert landscaping. All sites are back-in gravel sites. Most sites have concrete patios. Owner just installed a new satellite/WIFI system and it works well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
This is a gem of a park in Ajo. It is immaculate, and the owner has landscaped it nicely with different gravels and cactus/rock formations. It is across the street from a grocery and within walking distance (2 mi.) from "The Plaza." Easy access to sites, and decent room between you and your neighbor. Weekly rate available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com