223611 User submitted reviews online!!
Oak Mountain State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 63 user reviews. Phone: (205) 620-2527
CGID64

Oak Mountain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
155
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   9   8   8   8   10   7   3   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$28
This park is a great place to visit! So many activities to enjoy here such as horseback riding, fishing, canoeing, hiking, a waterfall, etc. There is no weekly rate, only monthly during their off-season. The daily rate increases over the weekend, $28 is the average we're paying for water/elec only. Sewer is $3 extra, but there is a dump station if you don't need FHU. Electric is 30 amp. There are many volunteers who live here and they keep the place immaculately clean, and have been very friendly and helpful (had a couple of issues happen in our RV). Every site has a picnic table and metal firepit with grill cover, sites are pretty level and most are paved. There is lots of shade parking and plenty of bath houses so no one is walking too far to use one. Only 2 of the houses on the B campground has coin-operated laundry, this is the only area I noticed that doesn't get cleaned often. The layout of the campsites allow you to feel more private - not too cramped. We parked in B19 which is at the very end of the row, with a short walk to the bath house w/ laundry and the lake. We can actually see the water through the trees from this spot. For those with Verizon, I can't seem to get service anywhere in the park except for the campground - I get 2-3 signal bars and actually get LTE data here! The website says there is wifi but it hasn't been working for months - the only place with working free wifi is the Snack Bar next to the golf course. We love it here so we extended our stay for a few more days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2014
$30
Beautiful park, lots of amenities and very pet friendly with lots of nice dog walking spaces. Super friendly and helpful staff. Clean and well maintained. Get there before dark, as there is five miles of winding road from the park gate to the campground. Road is paved and wide and easy to navigate, but signs are hard to see in the dark. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
The roads into this campground are paved and as are the full-hookup sites in the park. The sites are fairly level. Although you can make reservations through Reserve America, those reservations are only for the tent sites and the electric water sites. If you wish to have full hookup, you need to call the office for reservations. The ranger running the office wasn't sure why they still haven't been able to straighten this out. Additionally, they reserve sites not by number, but by first-come--first-come. You reserve the right for a site, just not a particular site, which doesn't appear to be problematic. There are several bath houses; however, there was only one shower in each house and the bath areas are quite aged. The laundry facility only has one working washing machine and two dryers, but due to the large nature of this campground, it was impossible for me to get a turn to do the laundry. This park is a great destination campground. There is a golf course, several swimming areas, numerous hiking and biking paths, fishing, a petting zoo, horse back riding, cabins, and a wildlife rehabilitation area open for visits. We would definitely stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$25
It's a little drive to get here from I-65 but worth it. This is a beautiful park. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice shady and fairly level sites but were still able to use our satellite. Wi-Fi didn't work for us and very weak phone signal. If I lived in this area, I would come here a lot. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
This was our first visit to Oak Mountain State Park, definitely a great family park. There are tons of hiking/biking trails, horse back riding, golf, fishing, kayaking and swimming the lakes. Plenty of activities for all ages to enjoy. The sites are paved, however, some have the fire pits and picnic tables down a hill or on a ledge, the park does have a few hills. My only complaint would be the posted speed limit within the campgrounds is 15 mph, most private parks are 5-10 mph, and having smaller children, the speed limit seemed high... 5 or 10 mph would be perfect. Friendly staff and the park seemed clean. We will visit Oak Mountain State Park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$28
Stayed for an overnight stop-over. Very scenic. Long drive into the campground, signs are hard to read. Thankfully, the gal at the tollbooth entrance told us it's a five mile drive into the park to reach the campground. Interesting layout. They have parallel spots along the campground roads. We stayed in a large back-in with only water/elec. Pretty and quiet. We'd definitely come back, looks like there's plenty to do there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$23
This is a huge park with nearly 10,000 acres close to Birmingham but you'd never know you are near a big city. There's a lake, a golf course, RV camping, day use facilities, etc. The setting is beautiful and peaceful. The A-area sites are large and private. Satellite TV is possible from some sites. The Verizon 4G signal was adequate. The campground is a 5-mile drive from the main park entrance but the road is wide and well-paved. All the campground roads and sites are paved. There is a small general store at the campground entrance so you don't have to go back out in order to buy milk or eggs. Some pull-through sites are a bit odd in that your door ends up being on the street side away from your wooded area, but we didn't think think was a problem and we were invited to pull in the other way if we wanted to. There is a 15% senior discount during the week which, in addition to lower weekday rates, made this into a delightful bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$25
What a beautiful park! The campground in this park is a bit difficult to find and about 5 miles from the entrance gate, but what a pretty drive through the grounds. There is a lake close by the campground, but didn't have time to drive to there. We spent one night on our travels through the area and found the park quiet and very pretty. The layout is quite different, but there is ample space between sites, It is nice for privacy and maneuvering. The big "downside" was the toilet/bath facility. It's definitely past due for an upgrade or fixing up. I'd love to stop here again when I have time to hike, bike, fish, golf, etc. Very nice! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30+
Sites were paved and nice and level. Park staff was the greatest. Showers/baths/laundry facilities were really in desperate need of updating. Really a scenic park and loved the people we met, facilities are my only complaint! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$24
Simply a beautiful, well maintained state park with miles and miles of hiking/biking trails. Beautiful lake, fall colors are spectacular and in the spring the trees bust out with flowers and more color. Friendly staff goes out of their way to take care of guests. One of my favorite parks to stay at. Over the years I've grown very fond of this park and look forward to every future visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$27
In the short time we were there I really enjoyed the park. We didn't get to spend too much time enjoying the different amenities as we were searching for a new home in the area. However, the park had numerous trails and water available along with a golf course. The roads in the campground were in great condition. We stayed in a pull through which was basically a paved area adjacent to the road. You had the option of facing your RV in either direction as there were no posted signs on which direction to travel on the roads in the campground. Most people had their doors facing the road. We chose the opposite and of course had to run our water and electric under the RV as a result, but no problems there. There was plenty of space between campers. Each site had a picnic table and fire ring. The picnic tables need upgrading, but it was still a great atmosphere. We will definitely camp here again when we have more time. The only negative is the distance from the front of the park to the campground and the early closing of the back entrance at 5 o'clock. It is over five miles from the front entrance to the campground. If you miss the cutoff time for the back entrance, plan to add 20-25 minutes to your drive to get back to your site. Also, internet service was supposed to be available, but it was not working. The office indicated this problem was being worked on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
Husband and I stayed here for three nights in October. As others stated, the layout of the sites is very odd, particularly in the "A" section; however, I'm assuming it is because of the area's topography. We did stay in section A, and yes, the sites are at the edge of the road, but we got used to it and the trees were beautiful in this section. We also appreciated the fact that this being a state park there are full hookups, unlike our state parks in Texas. The streets appeared to be recently re-topped--not sure but they were in great shape and our site was level. I could see where a larger motor home would have to be familiar with the sites but there were several in section A. No TV cable but we received several area stations using our antenna. The WIFI was not great, but we were under the trees and there were rain showers in the area for a day or so. Our Verizon MIFI worked great though. Don't know if we'll ever be back to the area but it was a pretty park at a great nightly rate and a reasonable drive into Birmingham via 65. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$24
This State Park is huge! The roads are paved leading in. The bath houses are old and dated along with the washer & dryers. We stayed here one night as a stop over. Ample room for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
We love our Alabama State Parks and so this one was on our list to visit. We loved it. Very quiet, lots of woods and hiking trails. We geocached and all around a very relaxing campground. Only complaint was the trash dumpsters were almost a mile away from the campground which meant for a long walk, but we understand the idea behind it..no loud trash trucks at 5am to hear. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
We camped here to attend the SEC Baseball tournament in Hoover, so we did not use their many recreation opportunities in the park. There is golf, horseback riding, hiking, swimming, fishing and bike riding. As mentioned by others the park could use some maintenance. The shower I used was slow and backed up. The site was not open enough to use our canopy. It does no good to find a site you like for a return trip. You can't reserve a specific site. The tent camps are through the entire area rather than separated in a primitive camping area. Loop A is shady. Loop B is more open and less natural looking. Watch the bike riders on the long road to the camp ground. They don't use the bike lanes provided. We will try another camp ground for our next time to the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Our full hookup site was nice with enough trees providing shade that we didn't need to extend the awning. While the site was not particularly spacious, we did have a small grassy area with a fire ring. The sites are a bit closer together than we would have liked. There are several small bathhouses throughout the campground, but each contain only one shower and one toilet with only a curtain for privacy. The campground beach is not well maintained and people reported to us that they saw snakes in the water near that beach. We opted to drive to the larger beach which is better maintained. Great hiking/mountain biking and even a little waterfall. Kids also enjoyed the petting zoo, although that too is small. Not much of a playground; only swings and one slide. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
A very nice and quite RV park. The check in was great and our site was level and nice. It is about seven miles from I-65 but a pretty drive. Worth the stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$23
This park is okay for an overnight stop. It is is easy to get into and out of, although the road leading to the park is quite narrow. Park appears somewhat rundown, but then everything looks a little dreary in the winter. There were not many campers in the park, so it was very quiet. We would stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$26
This was a fantastic choice in the Birmingham area. The park itself is beautiful and accessible for larger units. We have a 40' rig and had no trouble getting in. Just take it slow the road in has some curves. It is about 5.5 miles from the front gate but a beautiful drive. The park offers seclusion from city life but in about 6 miles you are close to shopping and dining. We were offered pull through sites that were really pull off sites and with slides on both sides we would have been in the road. We found back in sites that were more than adequate. The sites are rather scattered and not lined up which can be tricky at first glance but once you get yourself oriented and scope out your approach no problems at all. All the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We highly recommend this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$30
We stayed here for a 5-day weekend- it is a nice wooded campground in the middle of a large state park. It has a rustic feel with lots of leaves and trees vs a polished, manicured campground. It was quiet with lots of shade. Each site had a large sized fire ring. The sites were gravel and reasonably level. We had a full hook-up site - there is only 30 Amp power - but that did not prove any difficulty since it was fall and not excessively hot. There are frequent bathhouses, though we did not really use. There was a playground nearby for children which got a lot of use. The Wi-Fi was out of order (and seems to permanently be that way) but we got strong enough Verizon cell signal to make do. We saw lots of rangers patrolling the entire park (always very friendly), and the front gate was always staffed- we had no safety concerns. Overall, this a very nice campground- very typical of a COE or national park campground. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Disappointing. Type site reserved online not available. Told to search park loops for site. Each loop has cul de sac for turn arounds. Very difficult in MH with tow; especially, when other campers had their vehicles all over roads. Bathrooms dirty and rundown. Overcharged us as they did not give advertised senior discount. Long drive from entrance. Great overall park golf course. No plans to return. Difficult to maneuver. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
A very nice place. It is close to I-65 but very quiet. This is a great place for bicycling as there are trails throughout the park. The site was shaded and there was a nice separation between the sites. We stayed overnight on the way to the gulf. We would stop there again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2012
$26
We camped 1 night at Oak Mountain State Park in Pelham, AL on February 22, 2012. We were using this as a place to stop for the night on our way to Houston, TX from Seneca, SC. Pelham is near Birmingham, AL. The campsite itself was awkward in respect to the hook-ups locations. The utilities (water, electricity, and sewer) worked properly and they were at different placements depending on your campsite. You park on gravel and the campsites had enough space. Most (if not all) were pull-through. There are trees and bushes. However, very little to no privacy between the campsites. There is a fire ring and picnic table at each site. We did not have reservations, but on a Wednesday in February this would not be necessary here. We arrived about 4:00 p.m. and there was a ranger to check us in at the camping office. The office sold a few camping supplies, snacks, and souvenirs. The campground was not 20% full. So, we did have more privacy and peace than if we had neighbors right next to us. The bathhouse had showers. However, the showers were in dire need of maintenance. The showers in both the men’s and women’s were backed up to where the bathhouse floors were a lake. Yuck! If the showers were not backed up, then we would have rated the campsite a 5 or 6 overall. Note: There was a laundry room at the bathhouse, but I did not need these. The view was average for a campground. The campground is next to a lake but I believe the host and one other campsite could see the lake from their campsite. The view was the other campsites, trees, bushes, and gravel. The park is located near restaurants and shopping. It is a very popular day-use park and has over 50 miles of hiking, biking and equestrian trails. There are a couple of fishing lakes and there is also a recreational lake with pedal boat and canoe rentals, a sandy beach swimming area, a large open playing field, ample shoreline for bank fisherman and a boat launch for your personal boat (no gas operated motors, but electric trolling motors are allowed). The park also has a 18 hole golf course with pro shop & driving range, mountain bike trails, a demonstration farm, and rental horseback riding facilities. So, there are a lot of recreational activities available here! Our stay was here for the night was fine (except for the bathroom/shower). We set-up camp, grilled up supper, and then built a campfire. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
This is the second time we have stayed at OMSP. The bathrooms were cleaned twice a day during our visit. There were only about 12-15 sites occupied and 3 of those were hosts. OMSP has a lot of hiking and biking trails. The lake is within walking distance from all sites for fishing. The parking pads are fairly level. However, many sites are either small and wide or narrow and deep. It rained the day we left and of course our site flooded right outside the door. It appears they have recently cut down all the hedge bushes that provided some privacy from neighboring sites. My computer and phone found the Wi-Fi, but would never connect. Our neighbors had the same trouble. Cell phone service is not a problem. pros: Clean bathrooms, level parking pads, loads of outdoor activities, bingo on Saturday night (in-season) cons: no privacy, drainage issues near the pavilion, narrow sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$29
OK stay, but not enough for me to stay more than one night. Nice drive from the interstate to the camp ground/sites. Restrooms need some real TLC… They were clean for the most part, but they appeared used and abused… Sites are nice, but not much separation. I was lucky during my stay as there were only a handful of other rigs in the park. Wi-Fi available at all of the sites with a very strong signal. BTW I am not an internet junkie, but I do work whilst on the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
We liked this place. Yes, the drive in is 5.5 miles long but it's a pleasant scenic road through the length of the park. From I-65 to your campsite is only about a 12-15 minute drive. Sites in Loop C have full hookups and are reasonably spaced. Utilities were fine. Verizon works well. Quiet and shady. Laundry in Loop A (the only one we could find) had only one washer that didn't work well, and no parking. Lots of things to do in the park, including hiking, fishing, golf, cycling, horseback riding, etc. The park is convenient to Birmingham, and gas & restaurants are just outside the park near the Interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This is a very nice State Park and Campground. The are lots of activities for all ages; boating, a beach, golf, hiking, cycling, and an equestrian center. This park is huge, and beautifully maintained. The guy who checked us in was not very friendly, but the camp hosts were just great. The positives -> gorgeous grounds, lots to do, easy 15 minute drive into Birmingham. Negatives -> Lazy check-in clerk, No 50 amp power, and we had an ant problem. However, the positives far exceed the negatives. We highly recommend this state park as a destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This is a wonderful state park. The campground is 5 miles from the entrance but the drive is beautiful. We were in site A14, a large, level pull through. The restrooms are dated but very clean. The water pressure was good but the water was not very hot. The sites are relatively close together but since we were not at the site much did not matter to us. There are great hiking trails, a beautiful golf course, good kayaking lakes, a treetop nature walk, and good biking. This is a hilly park so be prepared for a workout. We are hoping to stay here longer next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$17
Very large park in a very pretty area. The campground is exactly 5.5 miles from the entry gate (and it did not take 30 minutes to drive as per previous review) via a pretty drive. The campsites are fairly close together without much separation or privacy as is available in a lot of state parks and some are quite unlevel and/or sloped. We had to use leveling boards on one side in site, #A14. The buildings (bathhouses) appear to be very run down and in need of some serious maintenance but we didn't look inside. We enjoyed a short hike near the lake and the walkway bridges were in good condition. This is probably the best choice of campgrounds in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$22
This is a nice area. There are lots of animals . I saw Deer on the golf course at night. A lot of the sites are not level. The bath house is not kelp very clean, but it is warm. I would like to see the state do a major over haul to the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
We camp at Oak Mountain because it's close to our home(15min), although it takes another 30min to get to the campground from the park entrance. The park has for several years not had the funding for anything but day-to-day maintenance. The swimming area for campers is nothing but a pile of sand that has washed away. Relatively few sites have sewer connections. The playground equipment and area needs updating. I was not impressed with the volunteer staff during other visits, but this time was OK. Saturday night bingo was fun. My 7year old loves the place, so we will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
The park itself is fantastic but the campground is only average. We stayed in the B loop (didn't even ride through the A loop). The sites were level and there was decent amount of space between sites. Very shaded as well. The problem is the bath house. They are VERY dated and only marginally clean. They do have sewer hookup so if you can take showers in the camper this one is worth checking out. TONS of activities to do from hiking, horseback riding, golf, lake swimming. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$15
This place seem nice, but it was late by the time we arrived and we were just here for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
This was a lovely place to stay. Our site was probably one of the best #17. It was a back-in that afforded more privacy. Great place for swimming, hiking, biking, fishing, golfing, etc.! Hardly any critters (just a couple birds) in their wildlife rehab, but that should be a good thing! It was too bad they were full when we first got to Birmingham. I would've much preferred to stay here over the Birmingham South CG! Much prettier, cheaper, and quieter! Would've been nice to have had 50amp, but we went on propane for most stuff so we could use a the 30amp for AC. Our rate reflects a 15% senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
For tent campers in particular, this campground is wonderful. Area A is the more scenic, less crowded, and more woodsy of the two camping areas, and contains a large number of relatively secluded walk-in sites a short distance from the parking area. Bathroom facilities are relatively abundant and generally well maintained, the campground has its own scenic and uncrowded lake beach for tanning and swimming, a campground store is well stocked with the basics, and there are organized nature walks and "ranger naturalist" type activities on weekends. The state park itself has activities well suited for a variety of ages and interests, including scenic hiking and biking trails, a terrific petting zoo, swimming, boating, and horseback riding. The park and campground are in close proximity to Birmingham but create the illusion of being a world away! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
Don't waste the gas or the time, unless you are totally self-contained. It is a long drive in: 5+ miles from the main gate. Be sure you use the right entrance as the secondary entrance closes early and it is a long drive around. The campground is well laid out, very pretty, and the sites are fairly level. The bath house however, is in a word: awful. They are filthy, with broken fixtures and holes in the walls. The ladies has two shower stalls, but you have to go through one to get into the other. The staff was friendly, apologetic and stated that this was not the first complaint, but that there were no refunds, and nothing seems to get done. They asked us to please complain to the state (I did, on the postcard they provided), and said that it is a problem with the "contractors" who take care of the bathhouses. We will not be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
This state park campground is very scenic and a combination of sun and shade. The sites are not large and there is not much privacy. We needed something in the area and decided to make do with 30 amp (big mistake). The campground itself is in need of much updating as the roads and campsites themselves were in disrepair. One good advantage in this campground is the availability of sewer connections. The campground is about 10 miles off I-65. We will not return because of the lack of 50 amp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$22
My husband and I were desperate to camp, so since Oak Mtn. is within 15 minutes of our house, we decided to try it. We had visited the park earlier to determine if we wanted to camp here and decided only if we were desperate. Boy, were we surprised! The park was much better that we had anticipated. The only reason that I don't rate the park a 10 is because of the state of disrepair the facilities are in. The scenery is beautiful, and there is plenty of outdoor activities, but the sites and roads are in need of attention. If the roads and sites were fixed, it would be a huge 10! It is a shame that a campground so close to a major city is allowed to look like this. We will be going back for quick weekend trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This was our first outing in our motorhome. We stayed two days and had an overall nice experience. Many of the sites are close together, though the one we had was shady with a good amount of space. The bathrooms were relatively clean, but very dated. We would likely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$26
We stayed 2 days and would have stayed longer if schedule had allowed. Nicely wooded, quiet. We took the hike to the falls which is not spectacular, but is pretty and peaceful. The trails separate to go to the top or bottom of the falls, both trails fairly steep downhill and up!). but not long. To get to the falls at the bottom requires some rock climbing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$19
Some sites are a bit tight, some are not level. Interior roads range from very good to passable. The campground was very quiet at the end of March. The Park is scenic, but campground is not. When I made the reservation, I was given the address of the park office, not the campground; fortunately the ranger at the entrance corrected that. The campground is more than 5 miles from park entrance. Sewers available, but electric is only 30 amp. Broadband with our Verizon air card was spotty. Don’t miss the free tour of Golden Flake potato chip factory in Birmingham, but call ahead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$23
The park was nearly at capacity when we stayed here. It was very nice, relatively quiet. Lots of children playing which we enjoy. We stayed one night with full hookups and paid $22.50 with my 15% discount for the federal handicap access card. This park is near our home and we plan to visit it regularly. We had a great time here! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$23
The campground is buried deep in this very large state park. A bonus is a private beach for campers, since the public beach is overcrowded and not to our liking. You can not reserve a specific site, only the type of hook-up, and the sites run the full spectrum from nice to crowded and uncomfortable. It can get loud at night; I have never seen security. The sites are not paved, nor are all of the roads, which makes it difficult for the children to ride their bikes. We use this campground when we want to go camping but need to stay in-town. They were to begin a massive renovation last summer, but as of the end of the year, it had still not begun. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
The quiet was deafening. Didn't miss the three or four trains blowing whistles during the night like at bh south cg. Yes, the drive in is a little long but well worth the time. Drive slow, there are a lot of deer in the area. The sites were a little close for a state park but totally acceptable. Great hiking trails and a beautiful lake. If you're a golfer, theres a great course a couple of miles away and if your a biker, great place to ride. Staff was friendly and helpful. Twenty four hour guard at gate along with park police on patrol. I used cell card for internet.This may be the best deal in Birmingham area. We will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
After the long drive that day, and then the long drive (5 miles) into the park to get to the campsites, we were pretty disappointed at what we saw. The park itself was beautiful, but the campsites were pitiful. Very crammed in for a state park and this is suppose to the a very large state park. If only they gave as much time and attention to the campground as they gave the golf course and the stables. We almost left but it was late and we were tired, so after our 4th attempt at a decent site we final settled in. There were a lot of families with far more people in their site than should have been allowed, campers that looked like they had been there for months (even though there was a 2 week max), dogs tied up with no one around. Our goal was to use our last day of vacation for the kids to swim in the lake, but we could never find the access to the lake. Left early the next morning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$24
Nice park. Poor sites and maintenance. Fire ring was rusted out and looked like it had been run over.. OK for overnight. Charge extra for having 4 kids instead of two! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$18
We’ve camped in this park a couple of times. Overall we enjoyed the park. It has lots to offer both inside and outside the park. There is a very nice golf course, lakes with good fishing and miles of hiking and separate biking trails. Also, there is great shopping, dining and other activities within minutes of the park. However, the campground does have problems. There are two areas, “A” and “B”. The sites in the “B” area are very crowded and built in the “trailer park” style. But the “A” sites are built on a road along a hill overlooking the lake and offer some nice rooming sites with good views. The camp sites and bathrooms do need updating but the main issue we had with the campground is the lack of rule enforcement. We had problems during both of our visits. On the Friday night of our first visit, loud parties went on all night in a couple of the primitive sites. The rangers stop their patrols at about 8pm and we are not seen again until the next day. During our second visit, we were forced to move to another site because of the men in the site next to us. They were workers laying a new water line through the park and would sit outside all night drinking, playing loud music and saying things I didn’t want my young children to hear. When I complained to the staff, I was told I could leave or move. The park did nothing even though the rules clearly state the quiet hours and that no alcohol is allowed in the park. We put in a comment but have heard nothing. We had no cell phone cover at the campground but had it in other areas of the park. Even though we had some problems, we like what the park offers and are planning to stay there again. We just contacted the park and were told they are closing down area “A” for renovation. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$23
Oak Mountain is a huge state park about 30 miles south of Birmingham. It has a large lake with a swimming area, horse-riding stables, a BMX bike track, a large petting zoo, and miles of serious bike trails. The campground itself is not very exciting or especially beautiful, but it is very adequate. The sites have a picnic table and fire ring. Our site was beside a tiny little stream in a sparsely wooded area with gentle rolling hills, and the lake in the distance. The bathhouses were clean and heated very well on the cold February weekend we were there. The facilities are obviously aging, although everything functioned and was clean. I have heard rumors about the park getting a facelift for years, but I saw no evidence of it in the campground. The park is so huge you will need a car or bike to get around and see it. Children will love the petting zoo, which is quite large and well kept. The horse-riding stables are large and always busy, so it's wise to make a reservation if you intend to ride. Every biker in Birmingham seems to show up at Oak Mountain on nice weekends because of their great bike trails. Deer are abundant, so chances of spotting wildlife are excellent. I believe another reviewer mentioned that the park is several miles away from the main road, so it's important to take in what you need to avoid trips out. Once on the main road, though, there is everything one could want, with many restaurants, a Super Walmart, all kinds of stores and the Galleria (a very large mall) within a 10-mile area. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
Old ,worn ,out of date with terrible layout of campsites. Adequate but definitely not for longer stays. Seems good for weekender family camping if you like to have folks very close by. Staff was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$20
We camped here overnight since it is near our home. Nice mix of tent and camper sites. Fun petting barn five miles down the road. Some of the camper sites could be roomier but overall a nice place to camp. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$18
We stayed there 2 nights. The state park is huge. The campground has some improvements going on. The sights were level but the road pavement is broken in places. There were some permanent residence. The bathrooms were cleaned while we were there but they didn't stay clean long (because of the rain). The staff was mostly teenagers. The petting zoo at the park entrance was great for the little one! We would visit again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$16
Oak Mountain offers typical state park type campsites. Most of the sites are large and private. Arrangement is not in uniform rows but rather scattered. All sites have gravel pads, picnic tables and fire pits. The park does not offer most of the technical features such as cable TV or internet access because of it's remote location. It is, however, a great place to comfortably go spend a week and relax. Distance from the interstate highway to the park is a long slow 9 miles over good but slow park roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2006
$15
Price and scenery is everything here. Facilities are not clean, young employees too busy visiting with friends to do much work. Supervisors haven't been seen anywhere in the 4 days we've been here. Sites are laid out backwards, overgrown bushes at your door, mown yard area is behind the rig. Very, very unkempt and no improvements noted on the roadways or sites. There's several FEMA units here but that doesn't bother us. We considered trying for a workamping position here but not after seeing how disorganized it is. Like I said, price and scenery makes this park! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2006
$18
We arrived on Saturday morning without knowing the office did not open until 9am. We went nearby and ate breakfast. We arrived back at the office at 9:05am and the employees were just arriving. We pulled over to the side and walked to the office/store to register. The door was locked. The sign on the door showed they opened at 9am. (Keep in mind they saw us walking up as they were going inside.) I knocked on the door and someone looked out the window on the door and said, "We're not open yet." I commented about the sign showing the hours. Well, as we stood there waiting for another 20 minutes, I was getting furious. Once they opened, we were assigned a site; B49. We did not get to ride through and pick. We entered the campground and to our surprise, there are "full-timers" living here! We could barely get down the road much less get in the site we were assigned. I called the office and the lady informed me that the site was designed for 45'. We are 38' with 3 slides. We would not even risk it. We went back to the office, got a refund and went to Tannehill Historical State Park! I DO NOT recommend this park to anyone. Campers, BEWARE!!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2005
$17
This park should be a 10 not a 5. The setting is so serene with deer (we saw 3 together), rabbits, etc. There are boat launches, swimming areas, trails and an injured animal rehab center. Unfortunately, the park has not been kept up. The pavillions and bath houses were rotting away, and the washers and dryers were covered with rust. No one seems to be working too much either. The fellow riding the lawn mower didn't move the picnic table (which by the way was too warped to use), to do a proper job and the mower kept hitting rocks, one of which struck our MH. All the bushes needed trimming and if I had a rake, I would have cleared the leaves and debris off my site myself. I heard the state will be renovating this park. I hope so. This is a sin! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$12
This was a wonderful find! After having an awful experience with a Michigan S.P., this Alabama S.P. was welcoming, inexpensive, friendly and down right gorgeous. The sites are large with some tucked away amongst the trees for smaller rigs and tents. There is fishing nearby and the bird watching was phenominal. The only down side: ANTS! If you're not careful they will invade your buggy! We would definitely return to this little gem located just 10 miles south of Birmingham. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2004
$14
Great state park. Location was wonderful. Sites were average or better, amenities include a golf course. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$14
Was there over Halloween weekend. Campground was full. Bathhouse was not cleaned the entire weekend, garbage in bathhouse was not emptied between Friday noon and Sunday 2 pm. Had trouble with the CG Office when attempting to make reservations. Was told to call back in 15 minutes. Called back in 15 minutes as instructed and was told the office was closed. When I asked the young lady why she had told me to call back in 15 minutes knowing she would not accept my reservations then, she had no answer other than call back the next day. I complained to park office but never got to talk with the person in charge. He attempted to call me back one time leaving a voice mail that he would call again. Never heard from him again. Visit was okay but as mentioned before there is a need for updating. B loop sites are very close and arrangement is difficult. Bathhouses are small. Dumpsters are located outside the campground gate about a quarter of a mile so they are not convenient and you have to stop and show the office your window pass to get back in. Site are gravel which is okay but a lot need to be leveled. Road has some decent size holes. A good paving job is needed through out the CG. If it were not so convenient and so many things to do there, we would not go back. Beautiful scenery. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$15
Very nice CG. Most sites were shaded. Surrounding areas are very beautiful. The CG staff was very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$16
We don't generally use any of the bath facilities, so no help there. It was warm up there, but a nice stay. Hosts had bingo with prizes every Saturday night 8 months of the year. Rodeo at the stables after that. It was a great time, with plenty of family entertainment. As before, the campground itself was run-down. Everything worked fine for us, but the hosts mentioned some power problems in the past. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$16
We stayed here the week after Christmas. The max temperature during the day was below 40F. So, we just sat around the fire, trying to keep the wind from blowing us over. The campground is decent the sites are gravel and not very well spaced. Some of the spaces are quite small. The surrounding scenery is very pretty. There are lots of activities to do within the park, including a BMX bike race track, a petting zoo, and a lake. There are many mountain bike trails, of which the longest is about 17 miles (I was sore for a week!). Overall, this is a very pretty park. However, don't expect the sites to be quite as nice as the rest of the park. I have heard rumors that renovations have been made or are being planned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$14
Lovely mountainous scenery, although the campground is run down. The State has approved money to refurbish, but still, it's a nice place to stay. The campground is 5 miles from the entrance to the park, so be sure you want to stay put when you go there. It's only a few minutes to the Galleria shopping center in Birmingham, but feels a thousand miles away. Lots of deer! Nice for tent campers too. No Sprint cell phone service, so we had to leave. Boo-hoo! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$16
State Park. Fishing, horseback riding, hiking, bike trails, swimming. Camp host served doughnuts and coffee in clubhouse and Bingo on Saturday night. Within a few miles of B'ham metro, stores, restaurants, etc. Clean and beautiful. Recommend it highly. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com