220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Steven C. Foster State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 27 user reviews. Phone: (912) 637-5274
CGID6403

Steven C. Foster State Park

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   10   8   9   9   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$24
It's a 18-mile drive into the Park (good road), but worth it. Campground roads curvy and tight in places for big rigs, but navigable if you're careful. Plenty of room between sites. We took the boat tour and saw alligators and other wildlife. Deer came through our campsite. Price reflects use of Senior Nat. Park Pass. Would recommend this park for a unique camping experience in the Okefenokee Swamp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
We stayed here for two nights. The staff and Camp Hosts were very friendly. Great family park. Lots of water activities ($$). We enjoyed kayaking in the swamp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$28
Park is well maintained but the roads are very narrow and there are not enough pull-through sites. Well shaded sites and early enough in the year so that bugs are not out yet which was very nice. Deer come very close to camp because they are not skittish or frightened. Took the pontoon boat tour of the swamp which we highly recommended. Tthe guide was very knowledgeable and was entertaining. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2014
$29
This is a perfect place to experience the Okeefanokee Swamp. Like most state parks in Ga the staff are helpful and informed. John boat rentals are very reasonable and you can see much of what the "Swamp" has to offer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Sites are mostly shaded. There is greenery separating the sites, some are more private than others. You reserve a spot according to size, but not site specific. Site 26 in loop 1 is a very nice pull-through (50’) across from the bathhouse. Bathhouse is small and needs updating, but it was kept clean. It was very crowded on weekend mornings with teenage girls putting on their eye makeup, and drying their hair. (Really – you are camping in the swamp). The roads inside the campground are in dire need of work. Lots of potholes. If you have a large rig or towing, request a pull-through and hope to get one on the entry road, so you don’t have to drive the campground loop. No problems with mosquitoes except inside the bathhouse. None out in the swamp. The state park rents boats or you can put your own in at the boat ramp. They also have a guided boat tour ($15). It’s a fantastic place to canoe, so serene and pristine. This time of year, the black water was very deep. There are no banks to get off to stretch. It’s 3.8 miles from the park boat ramp to the shelter (which has an outhouse) by Minnie Lake. Keep that in mind if you have restless children. Many large gators sunning themselves on logs. It goes without saying that there is no swimming. Actually there isn't much to do if you don't go boating out on the swamp. There is a short nature trail starting near the marina. As previously stated, bring everything that you need as it is a 17 mile drive into the park. The store has a few things, but not much. No groceries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
Nice wide level grassy sites. Very clean showers and bath. Beautiful boat ride into the swamp is available. Cell service marginal and slow wireless at lodge. Basic cable available with 11 channels. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
Review of campground: February 21 & 22 -Stephen C. Foster State Park, Fargo, GA. This GA state park is located on the west side of the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge. It is quite a drive out to it, and the road into the park is 17 miles just one way so you might want to call before you come or make reservations. The cost was $28, but then with a Golden Age Pass your entrance is free, and you get an extra 20% off the campground fee. There are two loops with 68 campsites that have water, electricity, and cable. There are also cottages to rent. The bathhouses have showers and were clean. The sites are in a wooded section, and it is charming and very quiet. There are sites for tents and some big pull- throughs for RVs over 40ft. We were there on a weekday, and there were many sites open, but a storm was coming in the next day, so we did not expect a lot of campers. They are really busy the months of March and April. You can walk to the ranger station and the boat dock where you can take a river tour (well worth it), rent kayaks, canoes, motor boats etc. There is also a 5 mile self guided hike at the ranger station called The Trembling Earth Nature Trail. We have never camped here before, but we loved it even though driving out you better have everything: food, gas and an RV that isn’t going to break down because the roads are really in the woods, and you might be the only one traveling on the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$28
We stayed here for three days and found the park to be friendly and enjoyable. Sites were clean and mostly level, and the single restroom was likewise clean and in good repair. Plenty of bear-proof trash cans. Bug activity was fine at this time of the year. We took the 90 minute boat tour ($15/adult) and recommend it if you do not bring your own boat. Plenty of gator activity, so keep your pets away from the water's edge. No AT&T or Sprint coverage, but Wi-Fi is available at the registration office. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$28
A great park; quiet, nature lovers heaven. Miles away from anything, lots of walking, biking, fishing. Gator viewing. We rented a jon boat after we went on the guided tour. Friendly staff, neat and clean park. Deers visited daily. Felt very secure, and we never left the park once we got there. I would go back in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$21
Great campground for a few days. Clean well maintained bathhouses, showers. No phone service and very little WiFi only at check in area. Many boating activities in the swamp available, we took the tour, rented a motor boat, rented a canoe, and took the sunset canoe float. Saw lots of gators, great birding, and turtles even though it was winter. Fishing from boat basin and in swamp, caught blue gill. Bugs can be annoying at dusk and dawn. Very level sites, sandy soil with undergrowth between sites, so private, especially in top loop when open. Rate reflects 'Winter Getaway' prices for Ga State Parks. Stock up provisions before you go into park as nearest stores are an hour away. Bike riding easy within park, very flat and long stretches of road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$22
As some had said earlier, come prepared and fully loaded because it's about 17 miles out to the first little town, Fargo. Having said that this is a great camp ground. The roads are paved, the sites are sand that will compress about 1.5"; we had to use a couple of boards to keep level. The showers were spotless, with great hot water and pressure. You can rent john boats, canoes, and kayaks to go paddle around the swamp. Well worth it. They have guided boat tours everyday. The have Wi-Fi at the general store. Verizon works sometimes and it's the same with their MiFi. They have cable TV with local channels plus a PBS station. The trees are pretty thick so I don't know how well satellite will work. Check before you go in on reservations. We were there over the Tday weekend and the they said they were all booked up. However we found that there were lots of sites that were still open. This is a very pleasant camp ground with large sites that are not right on top of one another. I'd go back any time; well maybe not during the summer or when they had a hurricane come through there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
I have stayed here many times over the years. While there is not much to do other than fish, or enjoy the natural beauty of the park, I always enjoy my stay. It is a quiet park and a long way to any groceries or supplies so be sure to have what you need. I come here to fish, hike and rent a boat to explore the swamp. If you like peace and solitude, this is for you. I hope to return to the swamp many more times. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$22
Excellent campground. Right in the swamp. Take the swamp tour. Loved it. Thought it would be buggy but it wasn't except for on day. Would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
We camped here the 1st week of April for spring break. The bugs where pretty bad but we had a great time. Its a nice place to camp but There is nothing around to do out side of the park. Once you explore the swap and take a bike ride and hike that's it pretty much. I would say everyone needs to go at least once for the experience but only stay 2 or 3 days tops. Note rate reflects the "Friends Pass". We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
A state park with CABLE TV SERVICE? Oh my. I'm not coming out of my RV for two days! I was quite surprised to find cable TV service at a state park. It's pretty basic, 10 channels, consisting of the networks, Weather Channel, USA, and TNT. Works for me! Other than the fact that I hibernated with my TV set for two days, this is a great park! Lots of trees for shade. In the two loops, the RV sites are back-in. There are a few pull-through sites, but they are outside the loops in a separate area. Both loops have "comfort stations" featuring bathrooms, and a washer and dryer. Having a washer and dryer for public use at a state park is rare! $1 to wash, $1 to dry, pretty cheap! No charge to use the showers, unless you are camping in the primitive group camp area, then it's $2 for a shower. The office is open every day, and has great souvenir items (hats, T-shirts, etc.) as well as some basic food and camping needs. I did find it odd that there are two water faucets at each site. I wonder why two faucets are needed, never found out why. Wood campfires are currently banned here due to drought and recent wildfires, but charcoal fires are allowed. Verizon Air Card (4G) wouldn't connect at all. Verizon cell phone and wireless landline barely got a signal, faded in and out depending where you stood. Park has a pay phone near the office. My understanding is that you need to have a prepaid phone card to use the pay phone. You do have to be careful about snakes and alligators, but didn't see any during my stay. Did I remember to say that this state park has CABLE TV? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$28
This state park is located at end of state highway 177, approximately 17 miles northeast of the small village of Fargo. A small store in the village offers basic food items and fuel. The park lies within the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge. Campers are literally locked in each evening. It is not possible to leave or enter the park between the hours of 10 PM and 7 AM. Motorboats, canoes and kayaks are available for rent or you can bring your own (outboard motors are limited to 10 hp). Tours of a portion of the swamp are also offered. Not surprisingly, I was unable to get a cell signal while at the campground. However, there is limited cable TV available. It appears that the signal is received by a master antenna and its quality is not very good. While I found the level of staff competence to be poor, this was otherwise an excellent wilderness experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$23
A GEM!!! One of the best sites we have ever stayed at. Quiet, spacious, beautiful. It is off the beaten track. Very spotty cellphone coverage (mostly none), no TV or internet. If you don't mind that, go here. Cheap boat rentals and lots and lots of alligators in the swamp. I boated there 3 days and loved every minute. Very helpful staff. Bring all the food you need, it's 17 miles to nearest convenience store. No campfires allowed currently because it is VERY dry (lake is down 2 feet+). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$23
Very remote (located at the end of a 17 mile dead end road) within the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge. Very beautiful setting for wildlife viewing. Drawbacks...gates close at 10 PM with no entry / exit codes provided, only emergency after that. Next, the close proximity of any suitable shopping for groceries. Either Lake City, Florida, or Valdosta Ga. (both 56 miles away) so plan accordingly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$23
Beautiful, well maintained state park. Large, level, half moon pull through grass sites. Most have shade tree's. Maybe 6 sites for big rigs (40 ft.+), so get there early for best spot. Definitely make reservations for large spots, since there are only a few. Nice nature trails. Cable TV was great. Check with park for water level, if you want to do boating. Water was too low on our visit. Friendly staff. We will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2010
$25
This is a beautiful park. There is not much to do, but if you are in the mood to fish or relax this is the place for you. You can rent motorboats very cheap to go and explore the swamp. The staff gets an A plus for helpfulness. Very relaxing and quiet park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Located in the heart of the Okefenokee Swamp at the end of a 17 mile road, this campground immerses you in nature. This park offers fishing, boat rides, boat rentals, a nature trail and alligators! The sites are very large and spread out. It is very quiet in this campground. We took the boat tour and later in the day rented a boat to explore the swamp further. We saw many alligators along the way. We were forced to pay for 3 nights but only stayed for two because of a holiday weekend. The park was only 25% full during our stay. The staff was friendly. Don't forget to get fuel and groceries before driving into the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Good size state park on an island in the Okefenokee swamp. Park is 17 miles from Hwy 441 in Fargo. As others have said pack up everything you will need before you come here. You will pass campground on right side as you drive to office. You will need to do a U-turn and go back to campground. Part of the sites can be a trick to drive to. The 50 amp sites have more room. The other loop is a trick due to trees close to road. Road snakes around the loop and sites can be tough to back into. OK for smaller units. Sites are close to level, have grass, hard to get and out of, water, power, table, and fire ring. Dump station is on wrong side of road so you will need to do a U-turn to get in. Some playground equipment for kids. Rate was on Golden Age Card (this is a Nat. Park as well). Great place to fish and see all the wild life. Boat tour was great as was walking trails. You can rent boats here as well. This swamp is super size and full of alligators. Staff was nice at check in. Interpretive center/museum near office. Verizon cell phone did work, but was weak. DTV will pick up a small number of channels. Sat. systems will work only at some sites. Cable TV in park was useless, very small number of channels all poor, plus very dark. Gates are locked at 10:00 pm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
Very surprised! We got off to a horrible start, it was Friday the 13th! First off, I found a 12 volt electrical short in the trailer that took out the A/C, Fridge, and Furnace. Could only get the A/C working, so we left for the park. As we pulled onto the main road into the park, all we see is columns of smoke from what appears to be a forest fire!! Turns out to be prescribed burning thank goodness. We pull into the campground and we were pleasantly surprised by our surroundings. Very clean, well taken care of, spotless restrooms or comfort stations as they call them. But then I realized, this is a Georgia State Park, they're all very nice! The wife and I had a great time and enjoyed a tour of the swamp with many close encounters with alligators, probably two dozen or so. The guide was very informative and the weather was great. She did say that the bug population increases in warmer weather and that the yellow flies (they bite) come out for a couple weeks around April/May and again in August/September. Staff was very friendly, helpful, informative, and funny! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
This park is a beautiful, scenic park. We arrived on a Monday afternoon and there were plenty of sites to choose from. While setting up, it was evident that we were going to battle mosquitoes, but this did not stop us! We had our 6 year old grandson along and he and granddad spent many hours on their bikes riding through the park. The park has 2 sections, and both are nice. We walked the Trembling Earth trail and this is absolutely the best trail we have ever seen in a State Park. Most of it is a boardwalk and there are plenty of photo opportunities along the way. The visitors center really appealed to our grandson as there was a good variety of live snakes, turtles and a couple of baby alligators. We chose to rent a small motor boat to tour the swamp ourselves, rather than take the guided tour. We enjoyed it so much that we went out two days in a row. Be aware that you will see plenty of alligators in the swamp and around the park. The camp hosts were very friendly and helpful with suggestions. This park is not near any major towns, but the camp store is well stocked. Because of the mosquitoes problem, we did not sit outside much, but still enjoyed the week. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2008
$24
WOW! What a park! If you like being away from civilization and getting back to nature, then this is the park for you! Quiet campground. Great wildlife viewing--lots of gators, birds, mosquitoes, turtles, snakes and deer. Did I mention the army of mosquitoes! We rented a small motor boat to tour the swamp instead of taking the guided tour. What a great suggestion from the ranger. We were lucky to go when we did as the yellow flies come out in mid May which make mosquitoes look like pets! I can't imagine what it would be like in the middle of summer. Ugh! The restrooms were kept VERY clean our entire trip, even though they are a little outdated. My only complaint, beside the mosquitoes, was the lack of shower/rest room facilities for the campground. Too many campers and not enough facilities made for a wait each morning and evening. You will have to pay an additional fee ($5) to get in the park, because the state park is actually located inside the Federally protected swamp. You can see where the fires burned portions of the park. It is truly amazing to see how fast it is recovering. We loved this place despite the mosquitoes, (did I mention mosquitoes?)we are planning a return trip next year for spring break. What a jewel of a park! Nothing else like it. My 2 boys, 11 and 9, loved this park. Like other posters have said--make sure you have everything you need because it is a ride to get anything and come back. The camp store has a few necessities, but I can tell you personally that they don't stock milk! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
A really beautiful state park but very remote - at least 50 miles to the nearest fuel and groceries. No cell phone service. Sites are grass and are level and spacious, separated by vegetation. Most sites are heavily wooded but several are satellite friendly. All sites have 20/30/50amp electricity, water , and basic cable TV. There are only about 8 sites for big rigs and Loop A is not accessible to anything over about 30 ft. Bring mosquito repellent - it is a swamp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$22
If you like quiet, out of the way campgrounds with beautiful scenery and nothing to do but enjoy it, then Steven Foster State Park is for you. It is located 17 miles from Fargo, GA on a pine island in Okefenokee Swamp and is part of Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge. (Because the State Park is in the National Refuge you may use a Golden Age passport for a 20% discount on the campsite fee.). The sites are large, private, and very wooded. Even the pull through sites have great shade. There is a great nature trail, most of which is on an elevated boardwalk through the swamp. The park offers canoe and boat rentals for excursions out into the lakes. There is also a guided boat tour that takes you out alligator watching. We saw alligators everywhere on the banks and in the water. We also saw Anhinga, cormorant, and pileated woodpeckers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com