206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Owl Canyon Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 6 user reviews. Phone: (760) 252-6000
CGID6404

Owl Canyon Campground

Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   10   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$3
Owl Canyon BLM campground, north of Barstow, CA. Widely separated, and mostly level, dirt campsites in a pretty little canyon. Rate listed was for a senior discount. No hookups, but trash receptacles, a couple of unthreaded water spigots, and several clean pit toilets. Big rig accessible, but the dirt road leading to the campground is very washboarded, so it is slow going. Beautiful view of the mountain range to the south at sunset. Extremely quiet and peaceful area. Nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$3
The rate reflects use of a Senior Pass at this BLM campground. We loved the beautiful scenery, great hikes, and solitude with only us and the campground host using the campground during most of our week-long stay here. We would have loved to stay longer, but it became too cold and windy (explaining why we were the only ones crazy enough to be there). Even with higher occupation, though, this would still be a great place to stay and you can't beat the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$3
We were last at this campground in 2007. It is still a little-used gem. The five miles of washboard gravel road to the campground was in somewhat better shape, showing signs of grading, but I could do more than about 10 MPH most of the time. Once in the campground, the roads were navigable by any size rig, although there are a couple of serious dips that could cause the tail to drag on some. There is now a campground host here, and the difference from four years ago was noticeable: empty trash cans, sparkling clean vault toilets, and not a bit of trash in the entire campground. Aside from the host, there were only one or two other campers in the campground during our stay, until the weekend when three or four other sites were in use. Verizon voice service was good, but data service was still limited to the slow 1xRTT network, about one tenth the speed of that in native Verizon areas. The scenic loop that you can drive in a passenger vehicle has some of the most spectacular scenery in the US. There was limited water available at spigots around the campground, but they often run dry. The rate cited is reflects the 50% the Senior Pass rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2010
$3
The Bureau of Land Management (BLM) has just completed a major $500,000 rehabilitation of this campground. I stayed here for 4 days and found it wonderful. The campground was empty except for the volunteer hosts who were very hospitable. It did pick up a bit on Friday, but was nearly empty again after that. Even with the deluge of rain the previous week, the BLM had already come in and regraded every road from where the blacktop ends at Irwin road through out the entire area. If you like colorful rock formations, hiking, rockhounding, clear black skies at night for star gazing this is your place. It's $6.00 a night but with an America the Beautiful pass, it's only $3.00 a night. I wasn't fortunate enough to spot any wildlife other than birds, but the scenery alone is awesome. Some really nice fossils can be seen also such as camel tracks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$6
We have visited this campground a few times in the past but this time (April 2009) we had the place to ourselves. The campsites are undergoing renovations (new vault toilets, campfire rings and bbq, new metal ramadas) which are set to be completed May 2009. The auto touring in this area is great (colorful mud and rock formations) and a dark sky for stargazing at night. All size rigs will fit. We even saw a desert tortoise on the road coming in. Come in fall or spring when the weather is not quite as hot. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$6
This is a remote BLM campground that requires driving five miles of washboard gravel road to get to it, but the drive is worth it. The bright green rock mountains and other geological features are spectacular. For two of the three nights we stayed there (mid-week) there was nobody else there. Looking at the tags on the posts at each site, it appears the two or three sites are occupied each weekend. The two-mile scenic loop is as awesome as the Grand Canyon, in our opinion. There are well-maintained pit toilets, but every garbage can in the campground was full. We burned what trash we could and hauled the rest out with us. In early March, it was 70-75 during the day and 45-60 at night. Any size rig can fit. We will definitely go back there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com