214867 User submitted reviews online!!
Sunset State Beach was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (831) 763-7062
CGID6408

Sunset State Beach

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   7   7   7   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$35
We stayed in site #25, which the camp host called "The Crown Jewel" of the park It was big, clean, and a short trail to an ocean overlook, with a drop dead view. The beach was quite a hike downhill. There are no amenities, other than the concrete pad and a fire pit. We were surprised at this, and landed there without water, because the CA Parks website said "developed". Now we know this does not mean hookups. Sunsets are amazing here, as the name would imply. The drive in is awesome, through farmlands and beautiful valleys. It is off the beaten path. Generators are against the rules after 8pm, as a ranger was quick to enforce. Nice place! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$39
This is a great state park quite and clean great views and just overall relaxing. Stayed in site 18 big and wide and long enough for our RV. Strawberry fields forever right beside our site. Cool and foggy in the morning. Clear and cool during the day. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
Secluded, quiet, beautiful campground. Can't see the ocean except for two sites, but just a 2 minute walk to an amazing view and sunsets. Ranger is very relaxed. No hookups, or dump. Both Sunset and Manresa Beach are nearby and beautiful. Aptos, Santa Cruz, Seascape and Monterey all within a 30-45 minute drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Good level site with a very large firepit. The walk to the beach is farther than we would like but the beach was incredible! Washrooms were very dirty with a sign apologizing for government cutbacks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
You can definitely see the affect of CA budget cuts here, but this is still a wonderful park. Bathrooms marginally clean, overall setting is unbeatable and sites are huge. Even though the CA State Park map says there are hook-ups, there are none. Come prepared to dry camp and plan to dump out elsewhere. Extra cars are add'l $10/nt. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
We stayed at Sunset Beach for 1 night to break-in our travel trailer. The park is set right near the ocean with a 10min walk to the beach (quite a few hills and steps to get there). There are no full hookups or dumping stations available. The sites are good in size and some a pull-through (we stayed in back-in site 19). There are no onsite stores so, make sure you bring what you need as it is a 15 min drive to one. The wind did pick-up at night, and the temps dropped to 50's so plan to dress warm or have a heater. Phil's Fish Market (25 mins away) has great Cioppino for the cold nights. The bathrooms were well maintained and the quarter operated showers were warm. You cannot beat the location for the price. We will stay again when the weather warms-up We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$25
Great little county park right outside of Santa Cruz. Not much space for big rigs, but we did get our 34' fifth wheel in. The beach is down the hill quite a bit and they provide stairs that are built into the hill side. The camp host did sell fire wood. We will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2007
$25
Although this state park is set in a beautiful location on a bluff above the Pacific Ocean it was in need of a lot of attention at the time of our stay. You will not be able to get a big rig into this park. At 32' we were one of the biggest motorhomes there. There were a lot of transients staying in the park in dilapidated trailers and homemade campers. The park host was a young man who looked to be barely out of his teens and did not inspire any confidence in his ability to handle anything more complicated than selling firewood. The wooden picnic tables and food lockers were rotten and falling apart. The whole place seemed to be going down hill fast (perhaps due to a lack of funding) and the fee of $25 for no hook-ups was ridiculous! It's too bad because we usually enjoy are stays at state parks, but we won't be back to this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com