214792 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Skinner Recreation Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (951) 926-1541
CGID6416

Lake Skinner Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
241
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$48



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   9   9   2   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$48
To us, this is everything an RV campground should be: beautiful setting on a large lake surrounded by mountains. There is a large camp store, firewood, gas, diesel, and propane are available, rental boats, kayaks, and pontoon boats for fishing, spectacular sunsets, paved walking and bicycling trails. Because we stayed here on weekdays in January, the place was only about 10% filled so the rowdiness other reviewers had mentioned was nonexistent. The only downside is a very active and vocal group of coyotes who one night were literally surrounding our motorhome. Also, cell phone service is spotty and data service nonexistent, even with a Verizon JetPack. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
If you arrive on a weekday & with a 90 percent chance of getting a decent site, you can get real quality value from your efforts. Gate people said Wi-Fi was independently offered at $5 per day. Beautiful spring days only interrupted by a noisy electrical generator outlet the 1st night. Moved to another site & things proved fine. Management warned of the crowded weekend ahead. Sorry I missed it. I will come again on another weekday stretch. Nice hiking trails & green picnic/park. A wonderful view of the lake at sunset. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
Very nice County park in Riverside California. Clean sites, very large sites. We stayed for New Years. I would recommend this park to anybody that is visiting the Temecula Wine Country. Nice fishing lake as well. Home of the Balloon and Wine Festival each year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$16
Rate reflects Passport America. On this, our second visit in as many weeks, we find the campground delightfully vacant.  Besides the 4 campground hosts in our loop, there's never been more than 2 other rigs.  And, they appear, as do we, to be looking for a safe, quiet facility to relax in.  Which is what this campground is usually not during the weekends.  Those working in the park freely acknowledge this.  Even complain about it.  Seems reflective of today's society.  The campground rules clearly identify quiet hours.  As a financially blessed California taxpayer, I'm offended that the public use facilities seem to be too often catering to the lowest common denominator.  Ironically, I head to the local casino's campground for a quiet weekend retreat. Definitely use this campground on the weekdays (please be respectful of those around you as you want them to be of you), but unless your tolerance for inappropriate behavior exceeds mine, avoid it during the high use periods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We just love this place. Quiet with large sites and great fishing. I wish they would add Wi-Fi because we've been here 6 times this year. It is very relaxing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$22
They now have Wi-Fi that you can pay for. We have a hotspot so didn't use theirs. In a valley surrounded by mountains, beautiful. The sites are dirt/sand but there is grass other places. We enjoyed our time there and would camp there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
February 2012
$20
We actually stayed here in October of 2011 but I didn't know about this website to write a review and I feel so strongly that I need to warn people about this park. BEWARE! We will never stay here again unless there is no other option and then we would only stay here on Sunday - Thursday. We will park in a Walmart parking lot before we camp here again. On Friday and Saturday it turns into drunken partyville and the rangers go home at 10pm so they can't control it. Their information says that quiet hours are 10pm - 8am and that they are "strictly enforced." That is a bold-faced lie!!! They aren't here to enforce it and the park hosts just put in their ear plugs and turn on their white noise and ignore it. After several polite attempts to ask our "neighbors" to quiet down we had to pound on the door of the camp host at 1:30am. He was only 2 sites away so their is no way that he shouldn't have heard it. They did quiet down some after the host talked to them. The partiers obviously had been here before and they told us that they always come there and party until early morning and that "everyone does it." We didn't see any other lights on in the section we were in. The next day we complained to the rangers and they apologized and said that they would talk to the hosts. But like I said: they go home at 10pm so there is no enforcement of "quiet hours." The partiers left that next morning so the rangers never could have talked to them. Oh and by the way: we also got invaded by ants. If you have to stay here: talk to the rangers when you come in and tell them you are concerned about weekend parties and they probably know who they are so they could talk to them ahead of time. I would also talk with the park hosts ahead of time so they are forewarned that they will be awakened by me: if not the partiers. Beware!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$26
Although a fair distance from the interstate, this large, well-maintained park is worth the stop for an overnight or extended stay. Three campground loops offer a full range of hookups, pull-through, and back-in sites and are ample in size. Interior roads are paved, sites are mostly level dirt with shade trees, tables, and a fire ring. The back-in sites have the advantage of being on the edge of large grassy fields. A fairly large store has a limited selection of groceries, and there's a cafe that is open on weekends. Plenty of bike and hiking trails, playgrounds, and room for kids. It was quiet during our stay during the week, but very busy, with lots of children, during the weekend. No wireless in the campground loops, but Verizon cell service and 3G, sometimes 4G, worked well. Very dark at night, and quiet during the week. A reasonable price for the area makes this an attractive stop. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
Very nice country setting makes this park a come back again park. Beautiful lake. Large dirt parking spaces but very level. The bugs were an issue but that is normal for a true outdoor setting. A perfect park for family gatherings. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
A park with lots of grass and trees. There is a lake but no water contact is allowed. They have a children's water splash area that was a welcome relief for the kids in the 108 temps while we were there. Park is well maintained with boating and fishing available. They also have a store and restaurant there happened to be a concert on the weekend we were at this park and it was free to campers! A nice bonus to a good park One important note we made, even though it was very hot and the park was almost full, there was no electricity interruption. Made for a good air conditioned weekend for the oldsters while the youngsters played in the water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
We agree this is a very nice park. Large sites with 50 Amps. Kids climbing frames with slides. Summer splash park. Nice fishing lake. Small boat rentals. Very user friendly reservation web site. Web site shows site size, orientation, and availability. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
This is a very good campground for the money. We camped by the grassy park area this last time, as opposed to by the lake. The campsites are large with plenty of room. Good local place to get away for a week-end stay. We will be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$24
We had a good time. A place to just relax. We stayed in area C next to the grass and flew our kites. The bathrooms and showers were clean. We were able to walk or ride our bikes most anywhere we wanted. Though at the time we were there the water park was not open. When you walk around the lake, be sure that you have mosquito repellent on. The area between area B and C is a large dirt field in which some people were driving their RC buggie and cars. That was really neat to watch. But the best thing about this park is that it requires you to slow down and relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Nice county campground, well maintained, large sites. The county has many new improvements from the last time we camped there. Good level hiking trail around the campground. Kid and pet friendly, the campground is broken up into 3 sections. Each section has a nice green lawn for the kids to play. The campground is located near the wineries in Temecula. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
A great park close to town but seems like way out in the middle of wilderness. This park has lots of space and it was silent at night. Close to Temecula Wine country. We were with a group of about 15 motor homes in one of the group spots. The group area is dirt / gravel. Some dust. Fairly nice picnic table fire pit area. Good views of lake. It is about 8 miles to downtown Temecula from here and maybe 3 miles to the center of the wine country. The streets of Temecula are CROWDED on the weekend. After a visit to old town Temecula I looked forward to going back my my refuge at Lake Skinner. Our group area did not have sewer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This is a great park. A variety of site lengths and widths to accommodate pretty much any rig. We stayed in a 94 foot site. We never had to unhook our dolly, and there was enough room to park our car in front of or behind our 35 foot rig. While the campground itself is large, the entire park complex is HUGE. Boat rentals, play grounds, water park, etc. With all the stuff to do, it's VERY spread out. It's probably a good mile walk from the campground to the lake, and there are HUGE open areas separating the campground from the other activities. I'm talking about 100's of square yards. There's even a store with a cafe! You can get a rack of ribs for under $20. The best things about this park are A.) The price. $25 for full hookups, not bad. B.) The proximity to the SoCal Wine country. You are literally 2 miles from 30 wineries, some awesome wine tasting. The worst things? Dirt sites, and the gate closing at 10pm. WE JUST made it in. We drove in from Vegas, left at 4pm and rolled in RIGHT as the guy was locking the gate. Thankfully he saw us coming and let us in. This really is a great park, we can't wait to go back. If your looking for a get-a-way or a home base for wine tasting, oh oh oh and the farmer's market in Temecula is AWESOME! Here's the plan, get up on a Saturday, head down to the farmers market in the Historic old town Temecula, load up on all kinds of goodies. Take them back to your camper/RV/whatever, and plan a meal with your loot. Now, hit the wineries in search of something that will pair well with the ingredients from the market. You'll have a great time tasting all the wine and learning about it. After all that searching, you'll have an amazing dinner with the perfect wine while watching the sunset over the lake. Ahh. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
A very big park with plenty of big rig sites. WiFi is available within the park at a cost of $4.95/day or $15.99 weekly. The rangers are good about policing the noisy and maintaining park rules in general which is necessary in a park this large. Weekend occupancy is high, but during the week only about 15% of the spaces are filled. Only significant drawback is that the access gate is closed and locked from 10:00 p.m. to 5:30 a.m. If time has a tendency to get away from you then you may need to spend a night in a motel. The distance from the gate to the campground is probably two miles and you won't want to walk it in the dark! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
Great park, located in a quiet area, but close to several different Winerys, and lots of shopping. Quiet at night. Had level, pull through sites. There is a lot of walking and biking areas. Boat launch areas available. Good prices. Only drawback was no Internet. But, if you have a cell phone with software for internet, it works fine. We used ours with our Droid Phone through Verizon. There is a small campstore for items you may have forgotten. Laundry and the restrooms/showers were very clean. Overall a good place for camping for value and has easy access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$25
They are in the process of renovating/expanding a portion of the park, but we did not notice at all. The construction was halted over the long weekend (President's Day) and was started again on Tuesday as we were leaving. The construction activities were not in the immediate vicinity of the campsites. My daughter loved the playground and this facility seemed like a very family oriented facility. Lots of groups and lots of fun to be had. We can't wait to go back!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$34
This is a great weekend getaway, close to the Inland Empire. We have been coming to this campground for years since it is close and only a short drive from our home. It has always been clean with friendly staff. There are large grass areas for the kids to play and plenty of room to ride bikes. Great playground for the kids also. The park is going through renovations, adding a water play area which will be great for summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
We came out for a wedding that we were in, at one of the Wineries and thought it would be nice to camp in our trailer. This campground has a 10 o'clock curfew, so we had to leave the rehearsal dinner early to meet our curfew. The spaces are small, with very little room for our tow vehicle and it was LOUD all night, with all the music and mayhem going on from our neighbors. The park ranger didn't come by once and the camp host wasn't in his trailer, either. We reserved for two nights, but left the next day to go to Indian Oaks. We also asked for our money back, since it was not a pleasant stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
Decent size sites, the ones that back up to the grassy area are best. Sites are gravel and dusty. Large area for kids to ride bikes and play. Nice in April, but would be hot in summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Nice park, staff was friendly, but they put us in a site that barely fit our RV + tow vehicle. There were numerous spots still vacant. Very rustic and a lot of open spaces. Could not walk to the water carrying all our gear, fishing poles, tackle box, folding chair, bait, etc. had to drive, but not very far. Coyotes at night feasting on rabbits kind of freaked out my kids, but just added to the experience. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$27
This is a typical state park environment; very scenic surroundings with a decent sized fishing lake. The roads are paved and access is very easy; sites are dirt with picnic tables and fire pits. There is no cable, but satellite reception is very good. You're only 5 miles from winery row offering about 20 wineries, shops, and restaurants. The lake offers shore fishing, and there is a boat ramp - but far away from the campground. There's a pool, but only in the summer months. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
The best part of this park is their website, which is very easy to use for reservations. We were scheduled to stay at this park for two nights on Memorial Day weekend. We would have left immediately but were too tired from the day's drive, and left first thing the next morning. This campground has three sites - A, B and C. We were placed in A, which is by far the worst in terms of size and privacy. We have a 34' foot motorhome and were literally inches from our neighbors. B is somewhat better in that some of the spots on the ends are a little better. A is the best area in terms of larger spots - still not great, but better. The big problem of this park is that all campsites are very far away from the lake. I expected to be able to carry my kayak or pull it in a kayak cart to the water's edge, which was impossible due to the distance. Also, the park doesn't allow you to put in a kayak anywhere - you have to drive to their boat launch area. If I wanted to drive to be able to kayak, I wouldn't have made the effort of booking a campground on the lake. The whole park is huge with tons of space all around the lake. They chose to create the campsites within a small fraction of the overall space such that your on top of your neighbors. To us, this setup is unacceptable. Additionally, the park was busy for the holiday weekend, which was to be expected. To add insult to injury, a park ranger knocked on my door when we were just sitting down to dinner to inquire whether my kayaks had been inspected, which was required before taking them in the lake. I assured him that I was not going to be able to put them in the water because I didn't have a tow vehicle to be able to drive to the boat launch area. This park should be avoided at all costs. We will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
We came with a Cub Scout Pack of approximately 15 families covering 8 camping spaces allowing two cars each. The daytime activities and surroundings were excellent. Our boys hiked a trail around the lake, played at the playground and in general had plenty of space to do group activities. It wasn't until evening time when all the problems started. We did note on entry that gates to the camping facility closed at 10 p.m. and all campers were to observe quiet time beyond that point. That's pretty standard at "family" campgrounds but what's not standard is the fact no one enforced this. We were surrounded on one side by gang members having a large family gathering with thumping music and free flowing alcohol and obscenities and behind us an altercation between some drunk 20 somethings and on the end next to us another drunk group of men with two small sleeping children. At around 11:30 we dug out the map and tried to call the park ranger with the number on the paper but could only leave a message. As the evening wore on with no quiet in sight and a vulnerable feeling in our tents by rising tempers outside we resorted to calling 911 and reporting the incident which was worsened by the fact the police also could not gain entrance to the camp due to the locked gates at the entrance. When they finally did arrive in a convoy of 5 cars they ended up taking 3 people away and letting us know that camp usually contained this type of element and he apologized that our family and our boys all had to put up with this sort of facility. We will now add to our camping list bolt cutters because what it amounts to is we paid a facility to let us sleep there for the night with no park rangers making rounds and keeping things in check and allowing no way to leave pending any "real" emergencies. On a side note, the bathrooms were pretty dirty on all occasions we used them. So if you have a family with children, if you must camp there, please camp in the group camping sites next to the water's edge. We have camped there before and found it pleasant and was patrolled by a park ranger. This was a very nerve wracking experience and one we will not repeat. This must be the closest place for all the undesirables of the area to congregate knowing full well there is no enforcement around. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2008
$19
Great Campground. Located in a very quiet wildlife preserve with a lake. You can rent a boat and, hike all over the area. Close by you can visit one of the wonderful wineries along Rancho Calif Road. Close to town for shopping but, makes you feel as though you are far from everything. Spaces are a bit close but ok overall. Beautiful grassy areas for picnics or kids. Pet friendly and, helpful camphosts, plan to go again for the Wine & Ballon Festival. Very Quiet at night, far from City lights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
Nice Riverside county run park with average size spots and full hookups. The spots are a little close and it is a bit of a gamble on what your neighbors will be like. So far we have been lucky with great neighbors although have heard horror stories from other campers. The lake is great and has some of the better fishing for the area. A nice playground for the kids and plenty of room to ride bikes all around. Watch out for occasional skunks at night and don't shine your flashlight on them or the will leave you a smelly present that will last quite a while. We have stayed here several times and like the fishing and spontaneous campsite availability on almost any weekend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2007
$35
Set in a beautiful valley, Lake Skinner is one of our favorite locations. The camp hosts are very helpful, the restrooms clean, full hookups for a very reasonable price are some of the many benefits. The only downside is that you can get very noisy groups playing loud music, which destroys the peaceful ambience. This time we didn't have that problem. Christmas Eve and Christmas Day were quiet and peaceful, just what we wanted. An extra benefit is the county website for reservations, it couldn't be better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
We camped here with another family and liked the way we could park side-by-side with our awnings and front doors facing each other to create one big campsite. The sites were good sized and the whole place is pretty, overall. HOWEVER: Watch out for the mosquitos!!! We also had the terrible misfortune to be directly across from a group of individuals who partied hard till 2 am the first night, and 5 am the second night. Park security did NOTHING and they got an earful from me at check-out. I'll come back, but only if I have the chance to talk to security beforehand and get a promise from them that they will enforce their so-called rule of no noise after 10 pm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2007
$25
Horrific. Apparently we stayed here on Raider Nation weekend. The "Thump Thump and nasty profanities" was heard until the Budweiser ran out, usually around 3 am. No rangers ever ventured NEAR the group of 40 or so. Cool pool, but my life and possessions are worth more. STAY AWAY unless your Snoop Doggy Dogg. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Lovely remote Desert like park on a lake with mountains all around. Big fishing lake. 5 miles from wine country with many vineyards and tasting rooms. Good restaurants in area. Mostly pull throughs, some short. Has fire rings! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
We camped here on a spur of the moment. Great for a weekend getaway. Though no swimming or human contact of lake water is allowed they do allow fishing. Playgrounds and pool area (open during summer months only). Very kid friendly. Lots of places to ride bikes and explore. Lots of rabbits and foraging skunks as well. Kids LOVED it. Small general store on site. They take reservations. If you plan to arrive within 48 hours it's first come, first served. Some sites have left and right hand hookups which is perfect when camping with another family because it allows the trailer doors to face each other making one HUGE campsite. We will definitely return time and again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
We stayed several weeks here. Bare-bones bath and shower areas. Weekdays are peaceful, quiet: birding, fishing at dawn, walking trails, magnificent sunsets. Warning: this is THE place for the local weekend-warriors who arrive like clock-work Friday evenings with truckloads of dogs, kids, bicycles, bbqs, firewood and attitude. We spent weekends holed-up in the RV enjoying the complete nightmare of drunken humanity through the windows. Rangers do not reappear until Monday mornings: assess the damage and share stories of even nastier weekends past. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
Stayed for the weekend. Very quiet and peaceful. This seems to be a popular spot for fishing. The campground is flat so it is a good place for bike riding. There is a store and cafe. I would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
We usually camp here during Thanksgiving, but came out for Labor Day. There are some trees, but not enough if it is a warm summer. Park is full on the holiday weekends. There is lots of grass and a giant playground for the kids. Lots of flat paved and dirt roads for bikes and walking. Spaces are mostly level dirt and are usually big enough for one slide out and awning. The lake is boat only, no swimming. Boat rentals and small store are good enough for weekend stays. This is a nice basic campground, close to Temecula wine country. Rangers are usually nice and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com