219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Thunderbird State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (405) 360-3572
CGID6427

Lake Thunderbird State Park

Camp Information
Sites
271
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   9   8   8   8   7   8   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
Nice park near Norman, but a bit of a drive if you need to be in town each day. Verizon JetPack worked really well. This park has multiple camping areas, some with 50 amp power but no sewer hookups near the Nature Center, others on the other side of the lake are full hookups but only 30 amp power. Look closely at a map or call before you go. We had been there for a day visit once before and our map program routed us to the other side of the lake this time, oops. Arrived there in a rain storm and it was very muddy but other than than no complaints, very friendly staff. They offer a Good Sam's discount but you need to ask for it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2013
$25
We stayed at Little Axe annex, which is a bit different than other camping areas of the lake. Our pull-through site was right along the shore with a concrete pad, shade, table, fire ring, but 30 amp and no sewer. 50 amp sites are pretty tight and back in. Big clean showers, perhaps because we were the only ones there except for a small surge of weekenders. Quiet. Goat-head stickers abound, along with a herd of cats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
This is a huge park with campgrounds in a number of areas. I was the only one camped in my area, which was on a little hill with a great view of the lake below. The rangers in the office that took my payment were friendly and helpful. The park was not overly crowded, so it was like having my own property on the lake. Although there are near empty dumpsters a very short distance from most campsites I had to clean up after prior campers who thought the fire pit was their trash can. Otherwise grounds were clean, and the sunset over the lake terrific! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$28
Would give higher rating if people picked up their trash. Little Sandy area only section with 50 amp service and sites for larger rigs. 14 day max stay may be extended to 28 days with management approval. Longer stays require proof of medical treatment. Swimming, boating, fishing in huge lake. Hiking trails and archery range and cafe at different areas around the lake. Far from any highways but worth the trip for piece and quiet (except on holiday weekends). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$28
Nice and quiet, lake is very low, colors of trees very pretty, WiFi available at campground office. Great trails for dog walking, few people here during week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
This state park has large, shaded sites with a lot of space between each site. We stayed in the Hickory Hill campground which has full hook-ups. The majority of the sites in the park have electric/water only. The camp host was friendly and the park was quiet at night. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$23
This is an excellent State park campground with electric and water. Sites are concrete and roads are paved. I am referring to the southside Turkey Pass unit. Lots of shade trees and next to the boat launch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
State park with newly concreted paved sites; many not quit level, paved roads, some shade. Bath room and shower unfortunately had many bugs crawling about floors; you paid 50 cents for 3 minutes of shower flow or 75 cents for 4 minutes. Put your money in a coin control box seems rather dinky for $25/night campground. Lake with boat ramp close by and stables with horses. Apparently there are several sections of the campground at Lake Thunderbird. We were an overnighter on way west and few possible campgrounds in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$21
Nice level sites, not busy at this time of year, have to get your permits from the camp host. Very quiet. We would definitely come back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
I guess we are in a different park. The sites were nice, but hadn't been cleaned in forever. Tables and fire rings were often in someone else's camping area. But the Camp Hosts were the BIG problem. Loud and obnoxious themselves, their loose and noisy dogs finished the picture. Park Rangers spent most evenings sitting at the host site, talking, and ignoring everything else. A shame - they should be forced to go to Foss Lake State Park to see how a park should be run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$26
Stayed during the holiday weekend and there were lots of people around. Campground hosts were very helpful running the roads in their little golf cart with the rooster riding shotgun. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
We stayed 2 nights in site #1 in Sandy Point. This area of the park had very recently been hit by a tornado, so much of the area was not open. Our site was level, with a concrete pad which was long enough for our 40 ft motorhome. It was an easy back-in with the parking lot in front of us. We stayed in a 30 amp site with no sewer. The directions listed are from I-35, but if you are coming in on I-40, you can use the Choctaw Rd. exit and head south for 10 miles. The road has no shoulders, but is straight. Turn left at the "T" intersection and you are about 1/2 mile from the entrance to the park. The I-35 directions send you through the town of Norman. The staff was very nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$13
Easy in and out. Beautiful sites. Great water view. Worth the drive from the main highway. Very friendly camp hosts. Large sites. Quite, woodsy, relaxing! Would definitely say here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
What a great park. A real treat and worth the extra time to drive to. We only stayed here one night as we were just passing through. Gave serious consideration though to staying another day or two! We stayed in Hickory Hills Loop. It had full hook-ups including sewer. A first for me in State Parks. The site was a back in however, it was level and I did not have to unhook my vehicle. Within 10 minutes a couple of deer came down to our site and welcomed us. Soon after that, the camp host came and collected our money and gave us a Good Sam discount. We arrived after the park office closed however, there where maps of the park by the front door of the office. The views are wonderful and it was great to breathe in the clean air and not have to hear the sound of passing cars and trucks. One of the reasons I rated this park a little lower is that they charge you for the shower in 3 minute intervals. Also the sites are a little closer than in most state parks. Not a problem for us because we are traveling in the off time, however, I can imagine it would be quite tight in the summer months and on weekends. Verizon air card worked great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
This is a beautiful lake setting. Excellent paved sites with full hookups. The wildlife is wonderful - species of birds we have never seen before! The deer come right up to your campsite. The trees are beautiful. The park is fairly busy during the spring and summer times, with boat races and every site filled. Television reception is poor and you only receive a few stations - found it is helpful with the new digital converter boxes - very good reception! Air card works exceptionally well. We have stayed here around 7 times and have enjoyed each stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
Nice, quiet park about 15 minutes east of Norman. Lots of wildlife. Only negatives were no sewer hook-up (but most State Parks do not have), and the only water views were for handicap use only and there were at least 10 sites that cannot be used by non-handicaps unless the park is full. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$19
We camped in the Little Axe area. This was the only area where reservations could be made. We arrived late on Friday night which was a bad idea. We were not given a specific site which is fine but pulling into a park for the first time, no map, pitch black and very narrow roads made it a little nerve racking with a 35ft trailer. Overall the park is a little beauty with wonderful views of the lake and gorgeous trees but the sites were right on top of each other. If I had this park I would take out over half of the sites. We did not even have room to set up outside and did not bother with the awning. If you want space this was not the place because you can hear your neighbor breathe they are so close. The park ranger was very nice and helpful. If you go try during the week. The weekends are packed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$21
Nice State Park. We thought the sites were a little close to each other but there weren't very many people here due to the time of year. We had a site right on the lake with 50amp, water and sewer. Big rig friendly, good satellite cell and aircard reception. Water pressure was adequate and no problems with the power. Site pads are concrete with plenty of room for awning and slides. Park offers too many amenities to list so check out their website. Even if you're looking for just a place to spend the night, it's worth the drive because this place was quiet! We would stop here again if in the area. Price included a $2.00 senior discount (62 or older). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Well worth the 11-mile drive from I-40. $20 was for 30 amp full hookups, with a Good Sam discount. There are some 50 amp sites available for $2 more, but they were bunched together on asphalt. Most sites are back-ins, most of which were long and level enough for big rigs. Lots of trees. Many sites have a view of the lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com