218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Curt Gowdy State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (307) 632-7946
CGID6428

Curt Gowdy State Park

Camp Information
Sites
145
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   4   9   10   9   9   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$17
Great park. The parks folks are helpful. Most sites are first come and they will let you go find a spot before you pay. Since I work from the road I needed Verizon service. The only area that had coverage was on the northwest side as you come into the park and the water/electric sites. 2 bars Verizon LTE but I needed my Wilson booster to get that level of coverage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
This is a beautiful park with a great visitors center with Curt Gowdy memorabilia. Sites are very well spaced, the only problem being that the site we were assigned was very unlevel. Only hydraulic jacks would have worked. After a couple of phone calls (extremely nice people) we took a different site and really enjoyed the stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
The park is in a very scenic setting, but the sites are not level and there are not many that have h2o and electric. Only 1 dump station, and not easily accessible for big rigs. Would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
Great state park located midway between Cheyenne and Laramie. Plenty of well spaced out sites with many directly on the water. We stayed in Tumbleweeds #27. It was a pull through site that was pretty level and just a few steps away from the lake. There is plenty of great hiking in the park and very pet friendly - we have a small dog. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
This is a nice spread out camp area. Some tent sites, some no hook ups, some with water and electric. They are scattered around the lake. We had an electric/water site in Tumbleweeds. None of the sites were right up on another. Looks like the main activity is water sports. Lots of jet skis, ski boat, water tubes. No swimming, that seemed odd. We enjoyed the stay. Some might be put off by the watercraft noises and this would not be a good choice for those. They were pretty much all done by dusk. No highways or trains noises at night. Would pick this park again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
We stayed here with our two young boys for the max 14 nights and loved every second! Now, when we first got there it had been raining so our spot had a little standing water. Leveling was interesting, but we got it done, in the rain and all. We found our site was wonderful. Level with one set of legos and water and electric were good to go. There was some work being done to a few sites when not being used, but nothing annoying or in the way. You can not swim, but you can wade, be in the water. Our kids splashed around and had a great time! The little store with snacks and some necessities was great, I am glad they were there. The playgrounds were also fun. There was wonderful hiking, bike riding and just a ton to see and do in Cheyenne and Laramie. The main negative I have about the park, and this is just there rule and I get that, but my mom flew in from Austin TX to stay with us for three nights and take the kids to the Cheyenne Frontier Days. She rented a car at the Denver airport, drove to the park and was going to sleep in our fifth wheel. Well, I was happy to pay a fee for her to be there, but I wasn't expecting to have to pay a full nights camping fee per night of her being there. She didn't have her own spot, only a car which was parked in our spot and not in the way of anyone else parking. I found that a little ridiculous, but whatever, of course we paid it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
This is a new state park on a small lake that was designed for today's larger RV's. We stayed in the Tumbleweeds area which is all large pull throughs. Several sites are on the water, and all have a view of the lake. Our site was fairly level. I've never stayed at a campground where the sites were so spread out; most sites are at least 40-50 yards from nearest neighbor. The visitor center is still being build, and their is no bath house. We came in from the Laramie side and went out towards Cheyenne, and the road is excellent. This park is a gem, and we would stay here again. Only negative was low water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$19
Very nice State Park with great views. We stayed in the electric loop (Tumbleweeds Campground). Water and 50 amp available at each site in this loop. No showers or restrooms. Dump station has easy access. Sites not very level so bring leveling boards. Each site in this loop has concrete pad with picnic table and metal fire ring. Ice, firewood, and some snacks are available from campground vendor. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$22
$22 per night for out of staters with water and electricity, $17 for dry camping, a real bargain. This is a real nice park. Many, many very large sites, not all of them are level. So large motor homes may find themselves a little out of level, but will fit for sure in most sites. (We are 43 feet.). Large trailers should not be any problem. Sites are very large and have concrete patios in the electric section. Pit toilets only, no showers, one dump station. Most of this park is dry camping, campsites are sparsely, scattered around the lake. It offers 35 miles of hiking, biking, jogging trails with moderated hill climbing. It's rustic, scenery is beautiful. It is a ten is many respects, but not so in others, but I would differently return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
The highlight of this park is that it has a National "EPIC" rating for mountain biking excellence! It is a not to miss utopia of amazingly well marked trails and skills practice areas! The inviting cycling & hiking trails, a challenging bow and arrow course, miles of mapped running trails and clear waters for boating or fishing offer so many options for fun! This park is jam packed with stunning views and unique rock formations. There were many on-the-water sites and all were well spaced out for privacy. The Tumbleweed Section, marked as "TW, offers water and electrical. Rumor has it that by Summer of 2013 there will be several sewer sites added and more electrical hook ups. This was a wonderful park for a 2 week stay. Just be sure that if you make reservations at this park, once you enter the park, go Left. Otherwise, you will drive for miles over washboard roads that are not very well marked. This lack of direction clarification was the only disappointing fact we encountered. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
Camped there for one night on our way back from the Tetons. Reasonably priced and scenic. Our site was on the water, but a bit difficult to get into. Once off the paved road near the entrance the gravel roads were bumpy. I was surprised they don't allow swimming, but they do allow boats, fishing, and saw someone water skiing. The attendant was friendly and told us to just go anywhere there was a site, but not the reservable sites. I would stop by again, but not for a long-term stay, just a quick over nighter or two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
I agree with the other reviewers. This is a gorgeous natural location (set around 2 lakes with miles of fabulous hiking trails), but the sites are generally quite primitive. So, I give it a 10 for location, but a 4 for sites. There's a lot of variation both in site quality, road quality and site size. The Camp Russell sites are curved pull-throughs that are mostly level, but not much of a view. The loops furthest from the entrance (Granite Point loop and Crystal Lake) have larger, decent sites, but many of the loops close to the entrance are small, uneven or the roads narrow and steep. If you have a big-rig I suggest unhooking and driving around the lake in a smaller car to determine access and site. With a bit of time you can find yourself a sweet location, but it does take some driving (we were in a 40-footer and found a decent site after some looking). This is dog-friendly area and lots of space to walk doggie (just can't go into the lake). Central dump and water available. Pit-toilets only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
Most sites are not level; reservable site have tight curves, making use by larger RVs difficult. Most other sites are just a table and fire pit and tire tracks. Except in Tumbleweeds loop, sites are not level. That loop has concrete patios and straight gravel driveways and water hookups. There are no showers available. On the other hand, this state park is pretty and many sites have a view of the lake. I would give the park an 8 for atmosphere, 4 for camp sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
Lovely reservoir (but you can't go in--only dirty boats and jet skis can). Some very nice sites with electric hookups, but those are reservation only, even if they sit empty all night. If you are without reservations or aren't fully self-contained (no showers here either), don't go here. Unlevel, grassy "sites" (they really aren't proper sites) without any amenities. Oh, well, maybe a fire ring buried under weeds and a rickety, off-level picnic table. No signage (except for the "Reservation Only!") signs. We wandered around the VERY rutted roads and ended up just taking what looked to be a group picnic table spot right on the water. (There wasn't a sign saying we couldn't.) We then watched a guy with a pop-up camper spend the better part of an hour wandering around till he took the site we had determined was almost 10% off level. Then he spent quite some time leveling. This could be just a beautiful park if they improved the roads, sites, and signage. I'd give it a 5 except I give it bonus points for the site we snagged. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$12
Our daily camp fee was for out of state, which was still a bargin. This was a great place to stop and rest after being on I -80 and listening to the traffic at the RV parks next to the highway. This is a no frills campground which is what we like. Very few sites have water and electric, and they are out in the sun and wind. No showers, pit toilets, and you have to fill up with water before you find your site. The sites are dirt, some are in the shade, some are right on the lake. You do have to be careful about driving into some of the camping areas, turning around can become difficult. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
Not up to par We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
We stayed here will traveling to California. It is conveniently located between exits from I-80. We had a nice large site overlooking the reservoir. Beautiful view of surrounding hills and it is in ranch country so there were cattle nearby. The toilets were clean but "pit" type. (No showers were available.) Water was available at each site. We will definitely stay here again. Visited in a 30 foot class A Motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com