220521 User submitted reviews online!!
Tombigbee State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (662) 842-7669
CGID6430

Tombigbee State Park

Camp Information
Sites
37
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   9   9   9   7   10   8   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
This park is in a beautiful area and they strive to keep the park maintained with the limited employees they have, but all of the employees are really nice. It is a narrow drive to it but it is also very convenient to Tupelo. The showers were clean. Their washer was gone but was to get a new one the 1st of July. The sites are big and fairly level. The lake is very beautiful and is very family friendly also to our furry family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
A ways off the beaten path, but a good stop. It is a real nature type park, not a parking lot. You are in the woods. Lots of hot water in the shower, but no dry place to stand. If over 65, you get the cheaper rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Nice park. We enjoyed a paved, level, full hook up site with a reasonable amount of elbow room. Over the weekend the small campground filled up but the rest of the time things were rather quiet. Getting to the park one travels a twisting and turning county road for about five minutes. The road is somewhat narrow but I’d say that bigger rigs can negotiate it without much of a problem. The centerpiece of the park is a pretty lake. There are rental cabins, pavilions, and a nice playground. The park features not one, but two disc golf courses. Using cell signal booster I was able to get on the Internet with a medium to weak 3G signal strength. After moving the dish around a bit I was able to lock on to a very good satellite TV signal. I have one rather serious concern about this state park. Every night around midnight the campground voltage rose to the point that our camper’s Surgeguard cut power to the camper, reporting voltages as high as 134 volts. We had a neighbor who was getting the same readings. I talked to the park employees about it and they said it would be looked into but after 5 nights the spikes continued to happen. After the first night we unplugged the electric before going to bed because we didn’t want the Surgeguard cycling the electricity off and on through the night. I would return to this park believing this issue will be resolved. Till then, I don’t think I’d recommend the park to people without some kind of high voltage protection. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
The campground is not very large, but the sites are spacious with concrete pads, so leveling was fairly easy. We stayed in site 15, and there were no campsites on either side of us. The manager who checked us in was very friendly. The park doesn't have a lot to do as far as recreation but was a good place to relax. Did not use the laundry but noticed they only had one washer & dryer which did not look very usable. The park is about 6 miles from the town of Tupelo for groceries, gas, etc. We stayed here for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$14
This is a great park. We had a nice back-in site, and it was very quiet. There was a problem checking in, but it was straightened out, and we had a place to stay for 2 nights. You are 4 miles from Tupelo and Elvis Presley's boyhood home. The town is bigger than we thought it would be with a Walmart and many other stores. The sites were fairly level. We would stay here again and will recommend it to friends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Very pretty little park. We stayed here 2 nights. Would definitely stay here again. Very quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
Great place to stay and I would certainly stay here again. Nice, quiet and clean. The $14.00 rate is after my seniors discount. Nice level asphalt sites, I didn't unhook from the truck and no leveling required. Nice clean shower and restroom, looks like plenty of play areas for children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
This was a pleasant park with spacious sites. As mentioned, the road to the park is narrow and curvy but manageable for a big rig. The park offers various activities including fishing and disk golf. The rest rooms were closed for construction when we were here, but the park staff called us in advance to make sure that wouldn't be a problem. There is no Internet and our ATT phones didn't have a signal. We spent three nights and wouldn't hesitate to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
What a nice surprise. The road in is narrow and has several curves but not too many for a big rig. Nice large grass spot with full hook ups and shade depending on the spot you choose. I did an overnighter but I would have liked to stay longer. No speed bumps. I missed the first and second turns my GPS wanted me to take and took the 3 turn it recommended was the better one. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$14
Nice clean park with helpful employees. Only problem was voltage would go up to 133V shutting off our EMS at night. Daytime OK We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$14
Very nice state park campground. Clean restrooms/showers. Lots of shade trees. Nice lake in park but not near campsites. The whole park area was very well kept & clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
This park is just six miles south of Tupelo and the state of MS needs to put some money into it. Tennis courts, bathrooms need to be updated. Most of the sites were level with water and electricity. Checking in was easy and the hostess was very nice. Some long term campers there and many just for a one night stopover traveling the Trace. In the park there is disc golf, fishing and boating. Close to the Elvis Presley Birthplace Park and the other sites in Tupelo to visit. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$14
Nice small campground and good park. Sites are paved pads; we had 50 amp,water and sewer. Beautiful park and lake. Had a power problem and staff was great! Problem solved quickly. Short commute to Tupelo and Elvis' childhood home etc. Tried their disc golf course. We'd come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
We camped here for one night. The campground is very small and has one loop with the bathhouse in the center of the loop. The bathhouse is old but it was clean and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. The bathhouse also contained washers and dryers. All of the sites but two, have full hookups. The sewer connection was at the very back of the paved parking pad. Our site had a lantern hanger but it was about to come out of the ground. The ranger that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. Our son enjoyed fishing in the small lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
Great little state park off the beaten path! Just a word of advice if using a GPS unit to guide you, if you find yourself on a long country back road, it's OK! Just keep following the directions and you will find it! Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Although the shower house was older, it was still relatively clean for camping in a state park. Nice, big shade trees and paved sites. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$14
Getting to the park was a little hairy with the curves and some of the limbs, but that is probably due to us being newbies. Once we arrived at the park it was very nice and quiet. The spots were level. The added extra is that this is a state park with sewer. The people there were very helpful. We would stay here again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$13
Came in on a Friday night without reservations and found the campground full. They were nice enough to place us in an overflow area on the edge of the parking lot. We did have electricity available. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$14
This is a nice campground, small but clean with plenty of space. Restroom and shower were clean but need upgraded. Laundry facilities available. There are only 20 sites available, 18 have full hookups and 2 have water only. 30 and 50 amp service available. Sites are level and paved. Many sites are small and not sure 40 footers would make it. Rate I paid was for senior citizen. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
Stayed here one day as I was passing through. The site lot's are level and paved with tons of room. Had no problems with water, sewage, or 30 amp electrical hook ups. Bath house is out of date but is very clean. The park rangers are among the nicest and most helpful I have ever seen. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
We stayed here in a 40' footer with 4-slides and a tow vehicle. For a small campground it is well laid out with mostly large sites. Not many sites have a satellite shot though. We were in site 2 with a table, standing BBQ and a shared fire pit. We also had phone service (Verizon). We didn't see the "No Vehicles Over 17500 Pounds" until we were on it. Nowhere for big rigs to turn around until you're in the park. So we stayed anyway. We would stay here again: if the weight limit is removed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$18
We stayed here one night as we passed through Tupelo. It is a small campground circled around the bathroom and laundry room. The sites were spacious, level and paved. The park ranger was friendly and patrolled quite often giving a feeling of security. The facilities are dated, but very clean. Landscaping was very nice. Our parents were with us in a motorhome and neither of us had any problems with the electricity or water. Although somewhat off the beaten path, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
Picnic tables, fire pits, children's play area, fishing lake and nature trails are included. Sites are about 45' wide. Sites are paved as are access roads. Tennis courts could use some re-furbishing. The staff is very friendly. The main problem we had was that the voltage on the shore power was too high. During the day it was 130 volts. At night it was 134 volts. This can cause damage to some electrical appliances. If this is corrected, we would rate this park a nine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com