219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Cherokee Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (205) 428-8339
CGID6431

Cherokee Campground

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   3   7   7   5   6   3   8   5   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2014
$15
All we wanted was a spot to park overnight while on our journey. This was way off the highway and appeared a bit on the dumpy side, but since it was for one night we took it. We were led up and around a narrow, twisty road in poor condition, squeezing between vehicles parked on the road. Our site was narrow, gravel and not level. There was no handle for the water faucet and since it was one night we didn't question or complain about it. We paid $15 for the Passport America rate. I would not stop here again. I wished we had pulled into a rest area or Camping World which was down the road instead. The campground was very full and was quiet. We had a wooded lot next to us that was very pretty. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2014
$15
The campsites are ok, but the park is a bit on the tight side getting in and out. In addition, it's a trip through the country to get there for an over night. If you are staying only for the night, go somewhere else. There is only a very marginal Verizon signal (no internet) and we were unable to get any TV over the air. The $15 is the PA rate. I would have paid $30 for something closer to the highway with phone and TV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
Needed a place to overnight and this was the perfect place. Pulled in just before dark and the owner lead us to our site. Pulled right in and left the truck hooked to the trailer because we were leaving early the next morning. Just needed one board to level up and pulled the bedroom slide out but had plenty of room for all of the slides if I needed to. The owner recommended a good place to eat where we had plenty of parking. Yes, the park had many permanents as other reviews have stated, but for $15 a night (Passport America rate), and a secure place to spend the night, it can't be beat! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$15
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Owner was accommodating and waited for us because we had a flat tire. Site good, bathroom OK, but only had 1 roll of toilet paper between men's and ladies. Shower in men's was good, ladies shower could have used new shower head and an update. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
Rate was Passport America. Very laid back staff. Our pull through site's (11) size was large & easy to enter, but we had to carefully zig zag through trees to exit; others were OK. Hilly campground; workers staying there returned at 4:15 am in large dump trucks with air brakes. Due to trees our roof top dish was blocked. Verizon hot spot was very poor if it did work. Power was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$15
Rate reflects Passport America rate. Pros: WiFi is pay-as-you-go. Good, fairly quiet park except in am some traffic noise. No cable but get several stations on antenna (didn't bother with sat dish, so many trees),. Pretty scenery under the big pines. Cons: Bathhouse, laundry & clubroom is filthy & rundown. Shower drains backup when washers empty. Site not level for 40 ft RV (and few can accommodate a big rig at all). Interior roads poor shape for big rigs and roads to the campground narrow & bumpy. Will find a more convenient location for Birmingham sightseeing next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
January 2013
$12
Where do we start. Roads need work; buildings need updated, cleaned, maintained. And the “shadow” cut-outs that are every where are a bit corny. Layout is very confusing. Sites vary in size from spacious to way too tight if you have slides; site level varies just as much from level to WOW ok then. Our site had us pitched 5 to 6 inches to the front. Due to drainage and outdated (grandfathered) sewer problems, the washers back up into the ladies shower stalls. Laundry and shower facilities are located in a 1930's converted house. Washer and dryers cost $2.00 each. Cell phone service is glitchy. Internet service is through a pay site (not Tengonet). Prices weren't bad, $15.99 per week for 2 devices, $21.99 for a month; with awesome connection and data usage. Television is either antennae or satellite. We would suggest IF you are over 35 ft you call in advance for Big Rig availability. Lots of “perms” and they vary in attitude, the ones in our area were very friendly and welcoming. Management will work with you so your stay is pleasant and enjoyable. Rate shown is with Military Discount. Even with all of this parks quirks, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$15
Rate is Passport America. We arrived late (after dark) and left early. Our impression is of a completely adequate campground, although it was a stopover not a destination. The owner met us and took us to our site, helped us park and made sure we were satisfied. Very nice guy, enjoyable and made effort to be helpful. Many campground occupants appear to be semi-permanent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
The rate is based on the Passport America. Great place for the price. Management was great. They showed us several sights to choose from, lead us to our sight, and even helped us back into the sight. I am not sure what previous camper meant when they said "pretending to be good Christians". To the contrary, these folks were great! They are doing a good job and saw them working on sights while we were here. The lake was very nice. The rest rooms were OK and could use some updating. They are currently working on making sights better all the time. They could use a little leveling but were OK. I was able to park my coach and my van easily on the sight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
Sites extremely small. Could not extend awning or slide. Owner and his daughter were both very rude nasty people pretending to be good Christians. Horrible experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$15
Wonderful picturesque park with helpful friendly staff; would stay again. GPS was helpful in getting to the Park! Well kept! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This RV park caters mostly to long term usage. Nothing wrong with that. Just lots of really old RV's in need of repair. The road to the campground was a little sketchy, not the RV parks fault, just be careful. The road is very narrow, twisty, no shoulder with a steep drop off and lots of traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
Park was full with a permanent party with the exception of 2 sites. I was parked in a driveway uphill with no shade. By driveway I mean in the middle of the road. This was once a good park but has seen better days. I would never stop again. The rate posted is Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
I'll start with the good: The owner is very nice. It is a beautiful park: lots of gorgeous trees, a pretty lake, and it is quiet. On the downside: It is at least 90 percent long-term residents, and may I add that I realize those people need a place to reside so I'm not criticizing that. But many of those residents have atrocious looking areas and some very poorly maintained units. I just think people considering staying here have a right to know that. If you are just making a one-night stop while traveling, this place would probably be fine. But it is definitely not a place to go to enjoy a few days of R & R, and it is not a place to go with children. Also thought the price was a little high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
The park owner was very friendly and helpful. The park has seen better days though. Mostly old trailers everywhere that hadn't been moved in ages. Not the type of place I'd like to take my grandchildren. We stayed over night. We will not be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
I was happy to find this campground due to rough weather, but would not return. Friendly staff, but utilities were hard to access and several permanent residents had very cluttered sites. Land was rough and on a slope, though my own site wasn't too bad. Nice tree cover. Heads up that they had their shower house burn down a while back, so be prepared to use your own bathroom. I do not consider it "pet friendly" if there is no fenced area for unleashed dogs--indeed, their own dog was penned up in a tiny kennel. They do not accept credit cards. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2009
$15
Would not stay here for more than one night. It was off the beaten path, but very quiet because of that fact. Directions left a bit to be desired. It was in need of a face lift, but as an overnight stop, was acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$12
This is an older park. Quaint is a good word to describe it. The bathhouse is very clean and has good water pressure. Owner and son are exceptionally nice and do a very nice job of keeping the park areas mowed. It is easy to enjoy a walk around the lake. The campsites are reasonably spaced apart and are very shady. We began our stay here with a CampClubUSA discount and have decided to stay for a couple of weeks while I tend to medical care. Weekly is reasonable at $100 as well as the monthly rate at $330 plus lodging tax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$13
Like the previous posters said, this is an old campground. It is situated next to a lovely lake. Campers can walk around the lake in about 20 minutes and the owners keep the lakeside mowed and free of weeks and over growth. There is a bit of history associated with the campground in that back in the 60's there was a beach next to the swimming area. The swimming area had a concrete bottom and steps leading down into the lake water and it probably was quite nice back in it's day. Time has changed and the swimming area is no longer used due to insurance reasons. The sandy beach has disappeared and pine trees now grow in that area. The bath house still stands next to the old beach area and that is where the shower/laundry facilities are. I don't have a problem with the age of the building but I think it would behoove the owners to try to build a new facility closer to the front of the campground. The campground is definitely shady which would probably feel great during the hot summer months. In the fall, nature does her thing and there are leaves and pine needles all over. The owners keep the roads clear of the debris but the constant drone of the leaf blowers (sometimes at 7 in the morning!) can be quite a nuisance. I appreciate their effort on maintaining a nice appearance but I detest leaf blowers in general and so my irritation with them may not be shared by others. I am here for several months working in the area through the winter. The monthly rate in my opinion is just a tad steep considering the age of the facilities but it includes electric so I can't complain too loudly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2008
$12
It's a dump! The sites do not even resemble sites and it's hard to tell where you're supposed to park. Passport America should take it out of their book. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$12
The staff was friendly, but the park is pretty old. There are small roads to get to the park and it is actually a bit tight getting into and out of the parking area. The pad we used is in bad shape, not very level and is broken in many spots. On the positive side, it is very quiet and very low cost place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
Sad to say this could be a nice campground, but they have sure let it get shabby and the owners are very unfriendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$11
This is an old (40 + years) campground and is somewhat in need of renovations to both the facilities and the sites, yet it is remarkably clean and the staff is extremely polite and accommodating. On the upside: there is plenty of shade, the sites are relatively level, and there is a nice lake in which fishing is permitted. On the downside: the facilities are old, some of the sites are a bit short, and the location is somewhat off the main highways. We gave it a "7" only because of the age of the campground and it's distance from main thoroughfares. The $11 rate reflects the Passport America discount. We would consider returning if no other options were available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com