217661 User submitted reviews online!!
Virgin River Canyon Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (435) 688-3200
CGID6438

Virgin River Canyon Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
75
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$4



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   7   7   8   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$4
Neat place to dry camp for a day or several. Excellent views and a trail or two. Easy access for big rigs. The only negative was a lot of flies. We were in a 40' rig with toad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$8
Great value for the price. Beautiful scenery and peace and quiet yet not far from the freeway. A very nice public campground that we'll return to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$8.0
Beautiful area and far enough from the highway to be quiet. Lots of birds and wildlife. No hookups but this is certainly no problem with self contained units for a night or two. We will stay here anytime we are passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$4
Campground far enough off the highway to be able to sit outside and relax and get a good night sleep. River was very muddy looking this time of year. It's too bad they don't have drinking water here since they have flush toilets. If you have a cellphone antenna and a booster it's possible to get Verizon service here. Great stop over for a night or longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$4
What a great BLM campground! Easy access from the hwy, large sites and beautiful views. There are no hookups and no dump station, but if you are prepared for that or you just want to stay the night it is wonderful. It can get windy in the canyon. They allow you to stay as long as you like and because the cost is low there are some people that look like they have been around for a while. It is nice to find small quiet places like this that are easy to get our 40' MH into. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$8
Beautiful dry camping in the desert among the dramatic cliffs of the Virgin River Canyon. Located 1/2 way between St. George and Mesquite. Be sure to have your AC tuned up and working well for this location in the hot times of the year. When the sun goes down is time to sit outside and enjoy the stars and gorgeous sunsets! Fire pits can be used if it's not too windy. Immaculate bathrooms - thanks to the great on-site hosts. Beautiful hiking and day use area on the river. Campground is located on a plateau above the river. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$4
We would duplicate what was said in the previous post regarding this nice little park. However, the Exit# off I-15 in Arizona at the Utah border is 18. We have a 40' motorhome and some of the off-the-road pull-offs would accommodate us, but not all. All the backins are very short and are for tents but they are very close together. The bathrooms with flush toilets were immaculate. There are no hookups and no showers. It was 100 degrees plus at the end of September. We would stay again for a night if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$4
Bottom Line Up Front - We would absolutely stay here again and rate it a 6 only because of the absence of hook-ups. Located in Arizona on Interstate 15 exit 19 (Cedar Pockets Interchange). Nestled in a pocket of the spectacular Virgin River Gorge, this recreation area is surrounded by colorful cliffs and rocky canyons. The Virgin River Canyon Recreation Area offers a developed campground, picnic/day use area, hiking trails and access to the Virgin River and two wilderness areas. The campground is open all year with 75 sites (many are pull-throughs). There are no hook-ups, but, this is a wonderful little Park. There are tables, charcoal grills, water to fill your tank, flush toilets (no showers), two handicapped-accessible sites and paved roads. There’s no sewer dump. The Park is located about 20 miles southwest of St. George Utah and about 20 miles northeast of Mesquite, Nevada. Take the Cedar Pockets exit, located halfway through the Virgin River Gorge. Campsites are $8.00 per night. Holders of a Golden Age or Golden Access permit are entitled to a 50% discount. This is a great little layover park, or, if you don’t mind the lack of hookups, a great extended park. The views here are breath taking! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com