218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Hidden View Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (559) 673-5151
CGID6448

Hidden View Campground

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   9   9   7   7   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
This campground is run by the Army Corps of Engineers, which makes for an unusual setup. Some campsites have electricity and water, some have one or the other. We stayed in Loop C Space 31 which had both 50 amp and water. At first we didn't really care for the site because there was a steep slope off to one side. After looking at all the other sites we decided it wasn't so bad. None of the pull-through sites we saw had any hookups. Make sure when you choose a site (either online or in person) that you look carefully at whether or not there are hookups. Many sites had electricity but not water, which is very unusual. The Corps has done an excellent job providing other amenities such as covered picnic tables, fire pits, BBQs, and lantern poles. The main job of the volunteer camp host is to rake each campsite - they are pristine when you pull in! The sites are asphalt but very narrow. Some are a bit of work to back into. All are built into a hilly area so lots of slopes and need to level from side-to-side. Lake was at an all-time low so many sites that would normally be right on the water, aren't. Would definitely come back when the lake is full. Great place to go with a mix of RVers and tent campers as tent campers can choose any site. There's a fairly new playground for kids, nothing for dogs, except a lot of foxtails. Best entry is from the south, through Madera. The road in from Chowchilla is long, hilly, and a bit confusing with lots of turns. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$15
Rate reflects Senior Pass Discount. Electric available at site but water was not available for direct hookup. Some sites could hook into water but spigots were not site specific. Firewood available to purchase which benefits the Boy Scout troop. Lake levels are very low but people still enjoyed water access for boating. Site 37 was long and level but right next to road and deep drop off. One irritation - the grounds crew decided to mow the area around my campsite beginning at 5:45 AM. Not exactly the way I prefer to wake up. Coarsegold and Oakhurst are nearby towns with Oakhurst the larger of the two and easy drives. Yosemite is nearby as well for day trip but there is so much in Yosemite that day trip just isn't enough. I would stay again at campsite but perhaps try for a different site that might have better access to water spigot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$15
I like open campgrounds with a view, so the lack of shade did not bother me. Actually, I had a tree behind me that gave me afternoon shade, but did not block my view. Lake is very low, but I came here to relax, so that was OK. View was still very good. OK cell voice and data service, although signal was a little weak. Site could have been more level, but a couple of boards solved my problem. I was in Site 22, which is normally part of a double site, but few campers are here this time of year, so I had a lot of privacy. Had no problems getting my 32' motorhome backed into site. Because this area is so hilly, some picnic tables were behind, below, or above the campsite, but they did have steps to the ones I investigated. Price is with senior pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Hensley Lake Recreation Area, east of Chowchilla (U.S. Hwy 99, Exit 170). Great facilities, open all year. Plenty of available sites (some pull-through) when we were there in early part of week in October. Many sites have incredible view of lake. Playground in day use area. Good walking along park roads. Near foothills of Sierra Mountains. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
We camped in Site 13. Though it had an asphalt pad, it required some leveling on one side. Not very busy even though it is the summer season. My primary purpose was to do geocaching and there were enough caches scattered about to make the trip worthwhile. For a public campground, this is very well done. Had it offered Wi-Fi, I would have kicked the rating up a notch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$15
Very little shade, unlevel sites, only a few will readily accommodate large units. Ours is a 36' motorhome and it took several tries to get level on site 45. Electricity has been upgraded to 50 AMP in all of the electric sites but one. Most of the sites are multi-level with tables and fire rings below or some times as much as 40' above you if you were in a camper rather than a tent. Very hilly terrain with winding roads, although the campground is well designed considering the difficult terrain. We had a nice view of Hensley Lake. Rangers and hosts very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
We chose to camp here when the weather decided to be in the triple digits - having only 30 amps it was very difficult to keep the motorhome cool without having to use the generator during the day. The sites weren't that level & our 40' motorhome barely fit. We had a view of the lake & were able to swim to get cool. We had reservations to stay an entire week, but because of the heat chose to leave early. It was a great place to stay & we didn't mind the drive to Yosemite Nat'l. Park. We would stay here again, but not in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$12
ok We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$20
This is a US Army Corps of Engineers camp ground. The park is outstanding with great access to the lake for water sports. There are miles of hiking trails to enjoy and the spring wild flowers are out standning. The RV sites are too narrow and force campers to hide behind their rigs. The roads are hilly, twisty and demand close attention while navigating through the park. We enjoyed our stay because of the hiking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$10
We had back-in water/electric site #15 and really liked it even though it did not have a view of the lake; we have a 30 ft class A. The sites on the lake side were more crowded, we opted for some privacy and a beautiful meadow view over the water view. The site was a long, paved and a bit sloped but not too bad. The paved part was pretty narrow with concrete barriers lining it so you didn't have much room on the awning side before the slope of the hill. Camp hosts were friendly and helpful. The town of Madera wasn't too far away and we found everything we needed there. Dump station was organized and easy to access. Nightly rate reflects the Interagency Senior Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
Located at Hensley Lake in the Central Valley. Lake is nicely sized for boating, fishing, and swimming. Facilities were nicely maintained. Handicap accessible restrooms and showers were available. Equestrian, hiking and biking trails were enjoyable. Lack of shade trees, and fluctuations in water level were noted. Park would be hot during the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com