223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Mountain View RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 72 user reviews. Phone: (432) 283-0005
CGID6455

Mountain View RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   9   8   10   7   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2014
$32
Very nice campground and very nice staff. Great place to overnight with lots of pull thru's. The only reason I could not give it a 10 was the abundance of sand spurs. I know it is hard to get rid of them but the poor dogs had a heck of a time with them and have them in my carpet now...But would probably stop there again since most likely all the campgrounds in the area have them.. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
We just stopped here on our way further west so we only stayed for one night. As other reviews have said, we didn't even have to unhook. The people who run the place are super friendly and super accommodating. The five of us just hopped into his F150 and he took us to pickup dinner. Our pull-thru site was nearly perfectly level and easy to pull into with plenty of room for our slides. The views of the mountains were fantastic. The sunrise in the morning was very photo worthy. There were a few fire ants near the hook ups, but we are very used to them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
Owners are really nice and accommodating. Offered to take us to town if we didn't want to unhook. Said I could check in as early as I wanted (parks are empty around here) and we picked out our own site. The only negatives were there is not a lot of shade and it's hard for dogs. There is no grass and the rocks are hot. Saw a fenced in area but had to walk thru about 3" layer of "soot/dirt" to get to possible grass. I'd stay here again for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
IMO the best park in Van Horn. Owners live on site and have been steadily working the last 18 months to upgrade and get the park back into shape. Sites are long and pretty level and have plenty of room for slides. Good electric, water, and cable with the owners putting in new pedestals with amp service up to 100 amps for really big rigs. And as other reviewers have stated, owners will take you and your party or traveling friends over town to any restaurant you like so you do not have to unhook. There is no charge, its part of their service. Friendly nice people. We will stop again. Solid 9 from me. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
New owners have made this the place to overnight when stopping in Van Horn. New electric and cable at sites. Wide, level easy in pull-through sites. Restrooms are dated but clean. New owner is working through updating everything and is very friendly. Van Horn is not a scenic destination but this is a good place to spend a night or two. Will stay here again the next time through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
Friendly owners working hard to constantly improve and it shows. Would definitely stay here again. Did not have to unhook, and found a site under a shady tree. Immaculate showers and laundry room (cheapest laundry machines we've found this year). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$32
Very nice park & owners but no amenities. It's clean & well taken care of but the park is mostly dirt & gravel. Nice park for overnight parking but not for longer stays. Sites are mostly level & we didn't have any problem with the length of the sites for our needs. We travel in a motorhome towing a vehicle with a wide bike rack. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
Staff is friendly and check in was a breeze. Easy off and on I-10. Love's gas station is close with easy access. The site's are long enough to accommodate our 36 foot RV with a car in tow. We did not have to unhook. Site's are level. WiFi was recently updated and was very fast. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
Nice park, especially for the price. Very friendly and helpful new owners. Electric recently upgraded, surface mostly crushed granite with taller pine trees between sites. Free transportation to and from town provided for those who don't want to unhook, which is a nice offer. Bath and laundry are clean, being improved step by step. A bit worn in some aspects, brand new in others. It is not a beautiful, grassy park as compared to other parts of the country, but it is West Texas, and this is one of the better choices in this town. We will definitely stay here again when traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
Easy on/off of I-10. Stayed one night. All pull through sites that are large enough that you do not have to unhook. Second time to stay here. Will stay again. Clean, quite, and nice owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$31
Decent campground. We have stayed here last 2 years. The owners have worked hard to keep it clean and up grade the electric. Price is reasonable. Long sites, no need to unhook if only staying the night. Owners offer to drive you to a restaurant if you do not have car or do not unhook. Very quiet as both interstate and trains are far enough away to keep the noise to a whisper. We will definitely stay here again on our way across Texas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$31
This is one of our favorite overnight stops. The family-owned campground is improving each time we visit. The gravel drives and sites accommodate even the largest rigs. This year many of the trees have been trimmed up so they don't scratch the rigs. The owners offered to drive us into town for dinner if we didn't want to unhitch the car. The free WiFi works. I look forward to the time when they put in a dog run. Currently there are many areas to walk the dogs, but they also have goats heads and other stickers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$27
This park is hard to miss! There are several huge signs around the park and visible from I 10. Help was friendly and responsive. Park was clean with refurbished sites and well laid out. Small trees will grow to provide shade in the near future, but otherwise park is a good value. Stayed for one night only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$32
The owners are working hard to improve the park. The spots are long and angled. The power problems have been solved from last year. it is easy on and off I-10. The owners are very helpful and offered to drive us to dinner if we did not want to unhook. Nice area for large RV's no problems getting in or exiting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2014
$32
Flat gravel campground with wide access roads and long level pull-throughs. Moderate size pine trees between each site. Right next to I-10 so easy access, but lots of truck noise. Power OK (one leg was a tad low - might be problematic in summer), did not use other utilities, Wi-Fi has good signal strength and speed (but they do warn it depends upon how far you are from the central building), strong Verizon cell signal with decent data rate. We will stay here again when needing an overnight in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$31
Van Horn is in the middle of nowhere so there are few options. We stayed here exactly a year ago and the nightly price was $25. I thought that was reasonable. This year the price is $31.50, and that's with the GS discount. This will be the last time we stop for the night in Van Horn. They have priced themselves out of my comfort zone. Although they have all the amenities, I need nothing but electric. The park itself is in good condition. The manager said they had rewired it this past year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
Oddly, for such a beautiful part of the world, RV parks that offer anything beyond overnight stays off of I-10 are pretty slim on the ground in this region. Sadly, so are safe and free overnight parking opportunities. For those not wanting to get snarled up in El Paso traffic and crime, Van Horn is the obvious stopping place in the region. Happily, this park is very pleasant for an overnight stay. The management is very friendly, there are plans to update the showers and baths, and the views of the desert mountains are lovely from the campsite. Unfortunately, plants with vicious stickers are indigenous to the area, particularly in winter, so keep your dogs out of any foliage and grass! I spoke with the management about this, and they discussed their plans to develop a dog park area that can be fenced and maintained sticker free. I look forward to that development. Camp sites were nice, level pull throughs with trees, there was ample light to hook up in the dark, and overnight guests came and went very quietly. Without prompting, the manager charged me less than the advertised fee for my size motorhome, since I obviously only needed 30 amp hook up. However, she also mentioned that many obvious 50 amp rigs regularly attempt to pay a 30 amp rate. Come on, you big guys: pony up! Don't be cheap skates and nickel and dime RV park owners over $10 when you're driving something that may cost more than they'll earn in the next 25 years. These folks have to earn a living too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Got here in real bad Dec. weather. We read that the park was under new management. We weren't disappointed. Very clean, trees at each site with a nice light at each electric post to see at night. Sights are all gravel and level. Plenty of room to park big rigs and walk the pets. Some sites have picnic tables. Folks in the office very nice and helpful. Would recommend this RV park to any rig for a few nights or more. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$27
Convenient to I-10, very friendly staff, lots of wide/long pull through spaces easy for big rigs, very popular as a one-night stay. Nice grassy fenced area for pets, but there are stickers. Trees on either side of most every site. Stop in Van Horn and go to El Capitan for dinner! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$31
Right off I-10, fuel at the same exit. Park looks well maintained, large sites, and wide roads with some shade. It has a few areas of grass to walk pets. Very nice people in office, they even offered to drive us to dinner if we didn't want to unload our car. I highly recommend using this park. We will again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
We stayed here one night and chose the park based on the other reviews. This is an OK park and the managers couldn't have been nicer, but I wouldn't give it a high rating for a couple of reasons. The Wi-Fi was so weak that we couldn't use it. We do have our own Verizon hot spot. It is really not a great spot for a dog. There is almost no grass and what there is, has stickers that get into the dogs feet. We don't use them, but I did check out the showers and they are very nice and clean with individual rooms with a shower, sink and toilet and room to change. The morning of our departure, the water went out, but they did get it fixed pretty quick. Overall a good place to stay overnight if you have your own Wi-Fi, but I think next time I would check out the other parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
We overnite in Van Horn several times a year passing through and normally stay at the KOA. Not anymore. We decided this trip to try something different after reading the other reviews of Mountain View. A pleasant surprise. The new ownership family is doing a nice job. Sites are plenty big - no stepping on your neighbor. Almost every site has a Neat Pine tree. Sites are level, hookups are all what you would expect and the driving isles are plenty big to negotiate any rig. The mountain views in evening are terrific and overall very glad we stayed here. The owners couldn't be more accommodating even offering free transportation to local restaurants if you don't want to unhook your tow vehicle. We enjoyed our stay and will make this our Van Horn Stop. Easy Access and signage. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
Rate was for a 50 full pull-thru site. Sites are spacious and can actually accommodate very long rigs as the space between the various rows in the park are quite wide. The roads and sites are not paved, so there is going to be dust and dirt. Restrooms were very clean and check-in was very efficient, the pride of the owners being readily apparent. Glad we read the recent reviews and decided to stay here. We would certainly stay again if passing through the area and needing an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
We were driving through and only stayed here one night. This is a very nice campground. The bathhouse was clean, clean, clean. They have separate showers that are enclosed with toilet, sink and bench. Sands restaurant is across from the campground which has good food. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
I-10 east bound, easy off, exit 140B, 1/2 mile on frontage road to park entrance on right. On ramp back to I-10 another 1/2 mile. Park has good gravel roads, easy on the feet to go for a walk. Sites are level. We had a pull through site with 50 amp and did not have to disconnect. We are 58 feet total. Very friendly staff. We would stay here again next time by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
RV sign can be seen from I-10. Easy access from interstate. All sites are pull-thru and very spacious as are the roads. New owners are very friendly and helpful. Office is open from 8 AM to 8 PM and the owner lives on site and only a phone call away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
Close to freeway, easy in and out. Roads and sites are gravel. Sites are long and not to narrow. Water, power, and cell were good. Not much noise from freeway. Close to shopping, etc. Good for overnight/short stays. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
This park was right off the I-10 and had a big sign, which is how we found it. A friendly lady in the office, level sites & great showers. Each bath room/shower room was a single room with a toilet, sink & shower & enough hooks. If you needed to sit the commode with the lid down (standard like you have at home) was the seat. Very clean. The cable TV did not work for us. We just stopped for the night and would stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
This is a great spot to spend the night. Office people were very friendly. We had a blown fuse, and my husband went up to the office to see if they had any, forgetting to take his money. They offered to give him the fuse, so he wouldn't have to walk back. Of course, he did go back and pay them, but we appreciate the gesture. Wi-fi and cable both worked great. Hook-ups were easy. We will stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
Great overnight campground. Very easy on/off I-10. Parked in the very back and both train and highway noise were minimal. Very friendly owners. Will stop here again. 50amp worked well. A little dusty but not too bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Great stopover park on I-10. Easy on and off. Clean and neat. Large pull throughs. Super friendly hosts. We will stay again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Very enjoyable campground, even though only overnight. The sites are spacious, long, and level. Easy off/on to I-10, and it's quiet at the site - nice. The campground has new owners who are endeavoring to upgrade the facility. I watched some of their busy industry....Dinner was had the hotel "El Capitan" in Van Horn. Pay attention to the architecture - it's notable. I'm partial to Italian food and the Rigatoni was excellent. Good salad and wine as well. The campground owners will ferry you to the hotel and bring you back - very nice of them. We'll return to this facility as we travel west/east. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Best place to stop in Van Horn, TX. New owners apparently, working hard to improve the facility. Everyone we had contact with was great. We stopped both going to and coming from Arizona. Lots of areas to walk pets, and handy to I-10 without too much highway noise. Only downside is the dirt/dust, but I believe you will find that everywhere near Van Horn. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
Really nice new owners who are upgrading the park. They just added a row of 50 amp service to very long pull throughs. Only suggestion is don't wash your car or RV as the park is very dusty. Had a small problem, and they were there to fix it at once. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
We picked this park because it was near the freeway. Very little freeway noise for being so close. The park is under new management and they are working on improvements and upgrades. We did have some low power issues but it was handled. The owners are very nice and accommodating. They did recommend a restaurant, the Van Horn Cattle Company. It was an excellent place--good food and very reasonable. The park has room for big rigs and is easy to get in and out. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Easy in/out right off exit 140. There is a Love's gas station at the exit. Two very friendly women checked us in. The rate was posted at $35/night, and I asked if they belonged to any discount clubs. They said not yet, but they would give me a $5 discount anyway. Nice long level gravel sites. A large pine tree in-between each site provided some shade, but does not obstruct satellite signal. Strong Verizon signal here. Good water pressure. Some road/train noise, but not much. There is a nice view of mountains. We will stay here again when passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Nice people. They said they just reopened January 2013 with new owners/managers. Gave good Sams discount even though they were not listed in book. Just an overnight stay but would definitely stay again. Laundry area was nice too. 4 washers 2 gas dryers. $1 for each machine. Whole park was very clean. The Texas Visitors Center has them listed in their Van Horn brochure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
All sites are pull throughs, comfortably spaced and very level. We were greeted by a friendly, outgoing lady at the front desk. She was very knowledgeable about the area and had great suggestions for good places to eat and places to see. The laundry and bathrooms even smelled clean, and this is the first RV park we have stayed in that the dryers actually dried the clothes, and for only $1. The Wi-Fi worked well and so did the cable TV. It is only a few blocks to gas/fuel/groceries/restaurants and a very easy on and off of the freeway. The next time we are in this area we will stay here again and recommend it to all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2013
$30
Very sweet lady at the front office, and park is easy to find. We were parked right next to office building and the internet signal was so poor it was unusable. I can see they are working to upgrade the campground but feel they are edging on too costly for what they offer. We would have probably rated higher if the Dec $25 was still in place. We were there Jan 1, 2013 and the rate is now $30 for 30 amp..higher if you need 50 amps. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
The park basically looks like a gravel parking lot with hookups, although there are trees and the sites are reasonably wide pull-throughs. The office staff was very pleasant, helpful, and friendly. The convenience of location right off the Interstate make it an excellent overnight stop. We didn’t use the on-site laundromat, but it looked very good. Our internet was pretty bad, but they are in the process of improving the park, so that may change. There are lots of places to walk a dog, but the abundant burrs, even on the gravel roads, made that walk unpleasant. Not a place we’d want to stay for any length of time, but we’d have no hesitancy to stop there again for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
Overnight stay. Easy on and off I-10. Large pull-through site. Friendly staff, older showers/restroom but hot water and laundry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
Great, flat pull-through sites with plenty of room to maneuver. The park is pretty basic, but the new owners are really working hard at upgrading and making improvements. The bathrooms are old, but spotless. WiFi is sketchy and apparently only works at sites near the building. There is some road noise, but the easy access to I-20 is worth it for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
Easy overnight, easy on/off freeway, pull through sites, full hookup, inexpensive, clean, and friendly. New owners since October 2012. Highly recommend this if you're passing through, or visiting Carlsbad Caverns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
This is a very good campground as noted by other posters. Fine points are the cleanliness in a mature campground and the staff. The showers could use a small foot stool or bench to help one dress. Cable TV was marginal but WI-FI was top notch. We were allowed to select any site we wanted, in our 30 Amp price range. The absence of a 2 page Rules and Regulations document was refreshing. Fee is for a 30 Amp site with a $5 discount with some type of travel card. We will stay here again for an overnight visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$35
Great for overnight stay. Clean, easy to maneuver with tow car. New management just there a couple of weeks and they are working hard to improve the facility. Owners very friendly. So friendly they drove us to El Captain Hotel for dinner and back. Who does that? BTW, great place to eat. Will definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
This campground is a gem if you are an over - nighter because it has ample room all pull through sites. The new owners are semi-retired and super friendly. The laundry facilities are extra clean and only a dollar per load. Will definitely return on our next time through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Gravel, well-kept spaces with good dog walking.There are very good showers. We had already started supper, when our neighbor informed us of The Van Horn Cattle Company restaurant, an easy walk from the park, which we will try in the future, as he rated it 41/2 stars!! There are trees and tables at every site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
This park is no longer RV'er friendly. A new owner purchased the park in July 2010 and no longer honors any club discounts. Minimum charge for an overnight stay is $30. The park is still advertised in several club directories. The camp host stated that the new owner didn’t care. He doesn’t know anything about RV parks. This is his first one, and he had it written in the purchase contract that he didn’t have to honor any past park commitments. With the isolated location the park gets lots of RV'ers from the club directories. Then in a classic bait and switch, the host must tell you, in the case of Passport America, it is now $20 more to spend the night or you can go another 80 miles on down the road and find someplace else. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
February 2011
$30
This place is a dump. New ownership does not equate to "new facility". Right on the interstate exit, I do mean eastbound exit, one could if they did not know the exit in the park, turn west and head into oncoming interstate traffic. Very dusty. Self check in, but very confusing. Sign says, $30 for 30A and $35 for 50A, none of the sites are posted for what the amperage is. Also on the sign says something about no water, no sewer deduct $12, so we paid $20, as we were in a 50A site and don't like to use the 50A so we used the 20A plug. Short time later the host arrives and says this is a $35 site, I try to tell him that I am plugged into the 20A receptacle and will not be hooking up to sewer or water. He says "the new owner gives no discounts" instead of arguing I pay him $30, that is good. Restrooms are not clean. Good Verizon/motosat. Did not use the Wi-Fi. We will not be staying here again. Avoid at all cost. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Park is under new ownership. They are fixing many items and have worked hard to get the park outdoors in good repair. Showers and restrooms are very dated and need a facelift. We stayed one night, easy on and off freeway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$12
This is a very difficult campground to review. It appears to be suffering low maintenance, as the sites and facilities not kept up, nor are they particularly attractive. Electrical connections on about half sites seem non-functional. There is no one in the office; one leaves the money in an envelope. On the other hand, there is plenty of room, and since there are few customers, one can have a spacious site. This is a Passport park (although not listed in the book), so the price is pretty good. We did not use the restrooms, so I have no idea what shape they were in. Bottom line: the price was right and this was quieter and more pleasant than a Wal-Mart parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2009
$12
This is strictly an overnight stop in west Texas. You have to look around to find a sight where the electric works. Easy highway access and level large pull throughs, no need to unhitch trailer. Worth the $12.50 for 30amp for us. We stay here every time we pass through this area and need to stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
No one in attendance for this self registration park. Facilities were poorly kept and run down. Could find no toilet or shower facilities. Neither cable TV nor Wi-Fi worked, though the park advertised these features. Barely worth the half price fee through Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2009
$25
The park is under new management and they live in site #1. They are always available. You check yourself in when the office is not open. The Office is usually open from 4pm to 7pm, except on Sundays. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$12
Very comfortable pull-thru sites. Each one has a pine tree and a landscape boulder -- very cool! The mountain scenery is spectacular! We belong to Passport America and the rate is $12.50 for one night. We had everything we needed, including cable. This is our third time to stay here and we are always glad that it's here. We highly recommend it! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
Please don't bring your pets to this park during this time of the year. There are so many stickers it took us a lot of time to clean the trailer and all our rugs. Weeds galore. No wonder there were only 10 trailers in a 100 trailer unit. No antenna reception. The office was not open at 6pm, no one answers the phone, and the office was not open at 10am friday morning. $25 was to much for this park. There was NO water. Fortunally we had water. This place needs NEW management. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2008
$25
This was a decent enough campground for an overnight stop. There is plenty of room to maneuver. I really can't ask for much more from an overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$13
Appeared very run down with lots of hookups out of order. While we allegedly had 30 amp service, I don't think that is what we were getting. Next to the freeway. Self serve-no one available when we were there. Was OK for sleeping for the night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
This park gets a 2 rating because it has long pull-thrus and tall pine trees. We pulled in because of the wind storm while driving, so decided to stay 2 days and catch up on laundry. The office was closed so I put a check in the envelope and placed it in the slot. After setting up in the first site the electric went out. We used another power outlet on the next site. The electric amps were so low that I could only use the air conditioner. I couldn't use the electric hot water or the refrigerator. So much for doing laundry. I kept going back to the office to see if any body was working so I could get my money back for the second day. No one ever showed up for both days. The park is for sale. Hope someone with big money comes in and helps this place get back on it's feet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2008
$13
One of the very worst. We had to move over to the KOA in Van Horn to spend two more nights due to severe wind event in the area. The electricity was really funky on our 30 amp connection; I don't know if there are any 50 amp sites in this park. We couldn't find any. Don't plan to use your microwave or convection oven here. This park gives Passport America's already dubious reputation an even more tarnished reputation. I believe I will dump Passport America and join KOA's travel club. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2008
$12
We paid $12.50 with Passport America, otherwise it's $25.00. Yes, there are mountain views. That is why we gave it at least a rating of 2. This park has a For Sale sign in front. No one was in the office from 2pm through the next morning. The ad states rallies welcome with a large rec room. The rec room was filled with junk. It looked like a few garages were cleaned out & put in there. We could see it though a opening in the wall when using the bathrooms. The rec room was not accessible. The ladies room had a toilet broken, no toilet paper, no paper towels, the waste can was spilling out onto the floor, and was filthy. The shower rooms were dirty but at least had toilet paper. Above all, we had a 30A site and couldn't use anything but lights. The voltage was very low. We had to use our inverter to use the microwave. People pulling in were scurrying around trying to find 50Amp sites or at least usable 30Amp. Some sites had an "X" on the electric post but other that didn't had poor power. We don't know if the WiFi worked. We didn't try. One night was more than enough. This park could be a very pleasant place if it were kept up. Even though it's along the frontage road of I-10, the openness of the surroundings made the noise tolerable. We will not return to this park and we will let Passport America know of its condition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2008
$13
We stopped here for an overnight while traveling. The Electric was low and flucuated from below 108 to about 112 volts. We parked way in the back, and were happy for the quiet site. Many Pecan trees in this park. We picked many off the ground. They were tasty. We would stay here again but hope they fix up the power. Had supper at Chewey's restaurant in downtown Van Horn. Great food and pleasant surroundings. Fried Chicken to die for. John Madden's Hall of Fame. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2007
$25
Not very clean, too close to highway, WiFi not very good low signal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$13
Good park for an over night stop. Passport America rate is $13.50 good for one night. Easy on/off from I-10. Sites are long enough to stay hooked-up. Trees between each site. Very large park so lots of space with wide interior roads. Far enough back from the highway to have only minimal noise and train seemed far in the distance. WiFi worked great but cable TV did not work at our site. Only a few 50 amp sites available. Our 30 amp electricity had low voltage. Many sites are closed due to electrical problems. Ground cover between sites contained small stickers so our dog could not walk around. Had to walk him on gravel road to grass along front of park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
Easy in and out. We were there on a Sunday and the office was locked so we paid in a drop box. OK for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$10
This campground is fine for a one night overnighter. Very large pullthrough sites make entering and exiting a breeze. We checked in at 3:00 p.m. and left at 9:30 a.m. the next day and didn't see anyone in the office or any workkampers whatsoever. The $10 rate is Passport America. If no one is in the office when you check in, be sure to go to the front entrance and use the park layout plan to pick a site...not all are 50 amp, if that's needed, and some sites are Xed off because of faulty electric. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$10
We stopped at the KOA and they were nice when we ask for directions to Mt View RV Park. Their rate, by the way, was $28.50 less 5% for Good Sam Members. Mt View RV Park looks just as nice and my PassPort price was $10. Easy pull thru FHU sites, free WI-FI, cable, & 50 amp. I was in hog heaven. Wish this place was everywhere I go. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Checked in and hooked up to electric and then discovered that my electric appliances were not operating at full charge, i.e. my tea kettle would not perk and microwave was not rotating at full speed. I spoke with the person who checked me in and she said there were no other complaints. I didn't know what to do, as in checking other sites those currents appeared low also. The owner then came over and with great hostility confronted me, never asking me for information, accusing me of causing trouble. He grabbed my hand and placed a 'wad' of money in it and told me to leave. He said there electric hookups were fine and asked what kind of 'five and dime' gadget was I using to check their system. I tried to explain to him about my appliances but he continued to not listen and yell at me. I have traveled for over a year in an RV and have never been treated with such abuse. I am a volunteer campground host in a national park and would never treat someone as I was treated. I moved next door to the Van Horn KOA and was treated wonderfully. MY RV electric system is working just fine here! Mtn. View obviously has wiring problems! And a very hostile and rude owner. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$10
Used Passport America for the great price. Park is right off I-10 so expect some noise but the surrounding mountain beauty more than made up for the traffic! Extra large sites allowed my 58 foot rig to park and get in and out with no problems. Extra wide roads, nice small gravel surface and level sites made this a nice camp. Mostly passing through type one night travelers. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
We stayed here for one night on a trip to New Mexico. This park is very neat and clean with some pretty views of the surrounding mountains. The owner was very nice. We would definitely stay here again. It is a great place to stay for a nights sleep. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2007
$20
We stayed here one night while traveling through. Very large level gravel sites -- large enough to leave our HDT, 38' 5th-wheel, and Jeep all hooked up together. Very wide streets and wide sites. Beautiful desert setting. Very clean and well maintained. Easy to get in any of the entrances (there are at least two), and easy to get into big diagonal sites. Although WiFi is advertised, we were unable to get anything but a very weak signal. I would have liked to stay longer, but we had a deadline to be in Arizona. Will definitely go back there if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$10
RV Park has just re-opened with new owner. Free WiFi. Very easy access off I10. Some freeway and train noise. Had a long talk with new owner. Seems he will be doing a lot of upgrades. An interesting feature is that he offers horse corrals for travelers with horses/ Passport & Happy Camper Park. Cost is $10. Electricity was good, but low water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com