206553 User submitted reviews online!!
Chattahoochee / Tallahassee West KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 48 user reviews. Phone: (850) 442-6657
CGID647

Chattahoochee / Tallahassee West KOA

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   6   7   2   8   7   5   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$35
Old facility, needs lots of work. Narrow roads, potholes, blacktop falling apart or has disappeared. Fairly heavily wooded but were able to get roof-top satellite in site 15. Staff was nice enough but not very enthusiastic...kind of like we were a bother. Wi-Fi was terrible. That said, it was okay for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$33
This is a great park. Shaded and level sites, friendly and helpful owners, clean laundry room, showers and bathrooms open 24 hours, nice pool. We just spent one night here on our way home, but were so glad to find it. They sell pizzas and chicken in the office which was great for us after a long day on the road. Great fenced in dog park, too. We would definitely come back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
First impression was negative, as roads were old asphalt and sites were dirt. Found sites to be firm sand and hookups were good. Wi-fi was free and worked. There is a large, nice fenced area for a dog run. Turnaround was a bit tight for 36' motorhome with a car in tow. Bigger rigs could make it, but would need to use care to make the turn. The park served us well for an overnight stay. We arrived after the office closed in the evening and left before it opened in the morning. Instructions for parking and paying were clear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
Nice KOA that is easy to get into and out of. We had a pretty level site. Like a lot of KOA's, sites are fairly close together. Staff was friendly. Wi-Fi was free and worked well, and we could pick up a few TV stations with our antenna. Good park for an overnight stay. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2013
$34
This was our second stay here and will be our last. This place is very heavily treed and the spot we were assigned did not allow us to use our DISH satellite and our regular antenna was not able to pick up a single TV station. The men's room was clean but two of the three stalls did not have TP. Leaving, I had to be very careful, and one turn was too tight for comfort. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2013
$35
Very quiet little park. Had to move 3 times to get satellite to work. WiFi and phone worked great. Friendly staff, close to I-10. It rained for a few days and made a mess but, still a great place to stop. Mostly overnighters. We will stay here again when down this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$35
Very friendly staff. Escorted us to site. The park was beautiful with lots of trees. Decorated nicely for fall. Nice pool area. My only negative was the sandy site. For the price I expected paved sites, even gravel would be better. We never got the motorhome totally level, but since we were just staying overnight we didn't get too worked up over it. Very peaceful and quiet. Very convenient to I-10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Friendly staff. We were escorted to our site. It's a very old park and has fallen into disrepair. The site was small and difficult to level. Site was hard/soft sand, very dirty. Lots of trees so it was hard to use satellite TV. There is no cable. The interior road, especially the exit area, was horrible with pot holes and un-level gravel/blacktop. Used it as an overnight. Wi-Fi was weak and limited - didn't use any other facilities We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
Convenient location close to I-10. Very friendly helpful staff, led us to a long pull through so we didn't need to unhitch for overnight stop. Wi-Fi worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
The owners are very friendly and led us to our pull-through. It was long and level, and we would not have to unhook our 37'. The restrooms and individual showers were clean. Most sites were shaded. They've cut down 50+ trees and were trimming the rest, so there is very good clearance. Air stations for major networks and many PBS stations are available. Satellite may work on a few sites. Verizon and Wi-Fi worked well. There is a small playground and pool. The access road has little traffic, so it is good for biking and running. Propane is cheaper than most, and you can get pizza and chicken wings delivered to your door. We intended on a night or two, but it was so nice and quiet here we stayed a week. Hence the rate. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$34
I stayed here for 1 night in a pull through site. Campground elevation is 76 feet. Maneuvering my 40 footer towing a dinghy was a little tight but OK. Roads are asphalt, sites and patios are sand/grass mixture. Site spacing is good. My site had full hookup 30/50 amps. Wi-Fi is included in daily rate and there is no cable. Their Wi-Fi is fairly fast. I was able to receive AT&T Wireless G3/4 Internet & Cellular service. I was not able to receive Dish Network 110/119 Satellite TV from dish on roof of motorhome due to the large number of trees. I was able to connect to the 110 satellite with my portable Qube dish but never connected to the 119 satellite. It looks like there may be a couple of sites that would be satellite friendly. I was able to get 19 channels of over-the-air television. Campground is pet friendly. WalMart is 18 miles away and IGA grocery is 8 miles away. This is my second visit here and it has rained hard both times dampening my spirits and overall opinion of the campground. In fairness however, this is a decent campground to spend an evening in. It is quiet and the people are friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$34
OK for an overnight stop with good functioning facilities, level sandy sites and far enough off the Interstate to be very quiet. The bathrooms were clean but show their age and wear. Not too much available in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2011
$34
Price reflects KOA discount. The owners were friendly. The pizza and chicken wings from the campground office were delicious. The wi-fi was excellent. The sand and gravel sites were sloped, but not enough that our jacks couldn’t level us out. Plus they were long enough for our 35” motor home plus toad. The restrooms and showers are somewhat older, but fairly clean. There was no traffic noise even though we were right off of I-10. Unfortunately the gate on the dog park was broken so my Shih Tzu had to stay on his leash. Also the washer held extremely small loads, but still cost $1.75. Plus half of the lights were out in the laundry room making it difficult to see. We stayed here overnight and would do so again when passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$40
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Escort service to site. Gravel pull-through shady sites (mostly sand), but fairly level. We stayed in site 42 and it accommodated our 40ft motorhome well. It was a little too cool to use the pool, but it look nice at a quick glance. We didn't use the showers, I did take a look and they appeared clean. We were here visiting family and the campground was very convenient for us. If you do stay here I recommend trying their pizza including the breakfast pizza and their (hot or southern style) we thought they were awesome. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Nice overnight stay park just off I-10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Easy access from highway. Only about 1 mile from ramp which makes it close enough for a an easy overnight stay, but far enough that you do not hear highway noise. Friendly staff at check in. Directed me to my site and showed me the hookups. Wi-Fi was strong and fast. TV reception was great. Pool was a little old, but very clean and a nice relief from heat. Made me feel like I was on a farm as there were free range chickens running around. Sites were long and level. I wish the pads were gravel or paved, tracked a lot of sand into the RV. Great spot for big rigs to stay overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$32
Check in was friendly, and we were led to a long, level, pull through where we did not have to unhook. Verizon signal was good, wifi slow, and air local channels broke up some. The sites were shaded, and the pool was open but not heated. There was a small playground. Clean restrooms and showers were individual in the main building. It was very quiet, and propane was cheaper than we've gotten elsewhere. They were working on interior roads and landscaping. We will return for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2011
$34
For a KOA park this one needs some TLC. It didn't appear as rough looking as the last post, but it does need some work. The dog run is gone but you walk pets anywhere. This price was for a full hook up 50 amp site. Our water pressure was a little low. Good over night spot. Staff was friendly, and their little store was fairly well stocked. Their mini kitchen will take orders until 7:30 PM. A good stop for easy access to the interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2010
$34
This got a KOA President's Award in 05 and 06. We guess it has gone down hill since then. Location 1 mile off I-10 is convenient. Access is good. Sites are sand. Internal roads are crushed asphalt. There are a few seasonal sites that have become permanent. You cannot use your satellite and there is no cable TV. Wi-Fi is pretty good. Adjoining area to south is owned by campground and appears to be a cross between a logging operation and a dump. Dog waste is everywhere. Dog run is 8 x12 feet, fence is broken, and gate is missing. Playground fence is broken and on the ground. Dumpster was overflowing. This could be a nice KOA, but it is really a mess and in disrepair. Appears no one fixes anything. Staff was friendly. Since location is great we would stop in again but only for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
Good overnight night stop off I-10 if you don't need TV: no cable TV and trees make satellite difficult. Many sites are shady. Dirt sites were long enough for us to keep the toad hooked up behind our 40' rig. Sites a little narrow but adequate for us. Good 50 amp power, water pressure, sewer location. Quiet, no road noise. Had the pizza they cook and it was delivered to our site. Quite tasty! Good Verizon cell phone and air card. Would stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Typical KOA, park was clean and well maintained; staff was very friendly and escorted us to our site. Store has a mini restaurant to order quick take out. Road and pad are gravel which makes it a little dusty. Easy on and off I-10 and far enough away you don’t here any traffic noise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
The roads in park are all gravel and free of pot holes. The sites are dirt or dirt with tree roots. 30 amp power had no voltage drops or problems, keep in mind park was close to empty. Water is from a well and meter show pressure from 35 to 50 PSI. Site we were on was off level in two ways, side to side and front to rear. Other sites look level to me. A number for wood tables on sites should be cut up and used for fire wood, in poor shape. Our site had trash at table. Sat. TV will work if you have dish on the ground due to all the nice shade trees. We could pick up (17) TV channels over the air. Wi-Fi worked very well on our site and was part of the nightly rate. Verizon cell and 3G card worked well as cell tower is 1/4 mile away. You could hear a small amount of road noise off I-10 outside only, inside zero noise. Staff was very nice at check in. The pool water was light green in color and this is due to the high heat. Playground equipment for the kids was nice. Staff has worked hard to making this park look great. I checked the bathrooms and showers and found all were clean (did not use them). Washing machines, bathrooms, and showers are all in the office building, long walk from some site. The nice trees will help keep down the summer heat. If you need anything Chattahoochee is around eight miles north, city is small and had limited supplies. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Plus side: Quiet, peaceful setting. Friendly hosts and very helpful. Easy on and off from I-10. They have pizza and cheeseburgers available as well as some breakfast items. Minus side: Out in the boonies. No town near there. Too many trees to get any satellite reception. Unlevel sites. But, I would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This was a quick night stay for us on our way to Orlando. We drove for 7 hours and were very hot when we finished setting up our camper that afternoon. The pool was our first stop and I have to say that this was the dirtiest pool I have ever seen. There was a film on the top of the water and our kids (7 and 15) did not want to get in, that's how dirty the water was. I was very disappointed because we always choose KOA's because their quality is always top rate, but not this pool. Everything else was fine, but we will not stay here again. Sorry. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Great over night. Large level sites. Gas at intersection. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Nice park for an overnight stay. Has easy access from I-10. The staff was very friendly and the roads were wide enough to get our 38ft 5th wheel through with no problems, even though there are a lot of trees. We couldn't get WiFi at our spot even though we were close to the office. We would stay here again if passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$38
This was an easy access to I-10 for an overnight stay. It was quiet. Had a pull through with 50 amp, water, sewer. No cable but the TV antenna worked fine. Not many campers this time of year. Some workers are staying long term. If the place had been full it would have been very tight between sites. There is no concrete. The picnic tables were very rough. Has lots of trees. Did not use the store, food service nor facilities, but all were clean. Found the owners to be very nice and very helpful. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$40
This campground is perfect for what it is. A great overnight stay. Everytime I stop, no mater what time I arrive, someone comes out and leads me to my site. First timers to this KOA will be a little nervous because the road leading to the campground is not well lighted. The city needs to fix that. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$33
We stopped here for an overnight. Easy access to I-10, one mile off the interstate but very quiet. Lots of trees, but plenty of room on roads and sites. There were 5 tent sites, 5 rental cabins and 46 pull-throughs. Some were 30 amp plus water, others were 50 amp plus water and sewer. Wi-Fi was generally good though slow at times. There is a laundry room with 4 washers and three dryers. It and the bathrooms were well kept. There is a store and small restaurant on site, as well as DVD rentals for $1 and a book exchange. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$34
Good place to stop. Easy access, and easy to maneuver inside. Verizon broadband was very strong, no service for Verizon cell. Go figure. Very nice people. Great little take out restaurant on site. We did pizza. They delivered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
New owners were very friendly. Have done lots of improvements. We stayed in site #42, a pull through with 50 amps. Clear view to the South for satellites. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
The prior reviews are all pretty accurate. It's a quite place to stop. A nice looking pool, clean facility and gracious staff. We would stop again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This is an fabulous park and the owners and employees are great. Highly recommend this part. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
Very nice country campground. Big oaks and spanish moss. Very shady and quiet. New owners are very eager to please. Limited restaurant (pizza, burgers, light breakfast) No cable TV, but it is in the country. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$34
Park is OK for an overnight stay but nothing special. The staff is friendly but pretty unorganized. The sites are all hard packed sand but they did very well in torrential rains. The interior roads are pretty rough and tight but manageable. They only have a few long sites and a few 50 amp sites so it may be wise to call the CG directly to confirm. Make sure you bring a good book along because they don't have cable and satellite is doubtful due to all of the trees. The campground is very quiet but it is also in the middle of nowhere. Pretty expensive for what you get, we won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$31
Very quiet park. Right off highway. Hard packed sand sites. Tons of trees, just about every site is shaded. Great management. At 8:00pm each night, they walked us to our site. We would stay here again. The only bad thing was the sand. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$28
We have stayed at this park about 3 times. Each time we stay here it is always on the way to somewhere else. The owners are very nice and the park is always clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$38
The very friendly and helpful staff, helped us park in the rain. Our site was long enough to not unhook toad but we did need leveling jacks. This campground is far enough from I-10 to be very quiet but near enough to be convenient. The interior roads need a lot of work - you will find out if you missed closing a cabinet or drawer. The playground looks adequate but it was wet so we did not use it. They do have a better than average (from my experience) store and you can get a pizza and some breakfast. We would use this campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
One of the best parks at which we've stayed. Management was very friendly. It was like being a part of the family. Very quiet and serene. Sites were spacious and level. Longest pull-thrus I've seen. Roads and spaces are sandy, so wipe your feet. We stayed for two nights. We'll definitely go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
We stayed one night on route to our destination, and found this campground to be a great spot to rest. The showers were extremely clean, staff very friendly, and the area is peaceful/quiet; this campground even sells pizza (which was delicious), which they delivered to our door. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$27
We stayed here three nights while viewing a area we had been considering moving to in a few years. The campground office and adjoining bathroom and showers were spotless. There is no paved drives in the campground and it was dusty from not much rain. If it were not for needing three days in the area we would have only stayed one night. There is nothing in the area, no newspapers even near the Interstate 10 gas station and a dialup modem connection in a room in the back of the main building that smells like a fruit cellar. The managers are very friendly and the campground won awards in 2006 from KOA, but I don't think they would win any now. Also, it is very quiet at night and no interstate noise, being approx. a mile off I-10. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$27
I didn't actually see this campground in the light since we used it for an overnight stop. The manager was very friendly and helped us get into our site, making sure our slide cleared the tree and hook ups in our site. The bathrooms were sparkling, as were the showers. They do a good overnight business and have long pull thru w/e sites right by the entrance for people just wanting to get off the road for the night. We saw several large motorhomes with their toads still attached. Would definitely stay here again. The store also has pizza. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$25
We had site #43 PT. Sites are grass with a picnic table. FHU at site.Very clean showers and restrooms. Manger very friendly and helpful. Small playground, pool, cabins available, no grill or fire ring at site but there are some near pool to use. LP gas is available and there is a camp store. We only stayed overnight on our way west. There is only 1 restaurant in Chattahoochee as we came to find out. It's about 15 miles away from KOA. We would stay here again and have. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2007
$37
I will rate this campground low for one reason: the manager blamed us for the sewer smell. Our coach has a macerator added by the previous owners. It has good and bad like all things. We used it for 2 weeks over the summer with no problems. We stayed at this campground 3 nights and on the one day the manager wanted to blame our coach for making a STINK. I informed him the tanks were closed! But there was no convincing him that the problem might be with his system! If my system is closed, how would my odors be coming from his pipes which he told me he had to pour bleach down? He had already found us guilty, and no matter what I had to say, he was not going to listen. Won't stay at this KOA. Hope others aren't like this one. This was our first try at KOA and not so good! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$33
We were on site 42 which was in the row that is used the most for overnighters. The sites were very very close. Almost like being at a Rally. The entrance was on a slope with a rather large rock in the middle. After entering, it did become a much better road. The owner was very, very friendly. Our reservation was ready for us, as we had called 2 weeks prior to our arrival. We were billed on our credit card before our arrival, which I thought was strange. Usually only done at larger campgrounds. There were 6 motorhomes all about 40' lined up by evening for just overnights. All the RVer's were very quiet and conscious of how close we all were and respected one another. They had a very small fenced in yard for dogs. I have two Corgis who did enjoy the fence, but were used to a larger area to play in. Will stay again on our travels on I-10 thru that area. Very easy on/off. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2006
$29
Nice shaded park. Super friendly host. Easy on and off the interstate but far enough away to miss the noise. Typical KOA in the aspect of closeness of spots but roomy enough for a longer stay if desired. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2006
$24
Lovely owner, and nice site. Not too level, but a woodsy feeling. Nice store. The drive in was past the old jai lai building (kind of depressing), but not a bad place to stop for the night (on the way). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2004
$25
Very clean park, all sites are pull thrus. Small pool, playground, horseshoe pit, pavilion with outdoor grill. Pets welcome. Picnic table at site but no fire ring. Tight spaces, but awning can go out. LP gas available. There is a camp store with a pancake breakfast in the mornings. All sites packed dirt/gravel, but level. Extra person above 2 people charge. New owner as of July 2004. Would use this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com