206676 User submitted reviews online!!
Anchors Aweigh RV Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 53 user reviews. Phone: (251) 971-6644
CGID6474

Anchors Aweigh RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   9   10   8   8   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Stayed just one night in a pull-through. Friendly front desk staff, well laid out, with full facilities. To be picky, could have had more trash receptacles instead of the one dumpster on the way out. Great facilities. Very clean bathrooms/showers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$35
We have stayed in this park for about the past 5 years staying from a few days to two weeks at a time. It is one of the best in this area. We got a pull through site for about $35.00 a night which was very reasonable. Clean, concrete pads, wifi sometimes, friendly staff. We refer Rvers to this RV resort because it is well worth the price you pay. We will continue to use this RV park when in this area. Very pleased. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$36
The best thing about this campground is the 6 private full bathrooms available. Just off Rt 59 which is the main drag into Gulf Shores. Concrete pads. Wireless is iffy and you need a separate code for each device including phone and e readers. One laptop worked perfectly well-everything else was hit or miss. Friendly staff. Mainly long-term snowbirds with a sense of community for those who live here. There are scheduled activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
A very nice well run campground. Friendly staff and many activities in the park and nearby. We would definitely stay here again when visiting the Gulf Shores area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
Had an excellent experience. Stayed 10 days and will return next year. Grounds well maintained, clean facilities, and friendly staff. The fenced dog area is well used and other campers are courteous about cleaning up after their pets. Would definitely recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
Very nice park. All amenities worked very well. Clean campground that was easily accessible even for the largest units. Easy to find and easy to navigate. Great interior roads. Very long pull-throughs. Back in sites generous as well. Campground is located in a perfect location to all the local sites including the beautiful beaches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
Very nice, well maintained, nicely landscaped, facilities all looked relatively new, friendly staff. Very quiet at night, no traffic or other extemporaneous noise. Slept very good here. Super easy access to and in the park with our larger RV. We really enjoyed our stay here and would very much look forward to coming back to stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This is an excellent RV park. Friendly staff, great location for shopping, dining, and the Gulf. Nice dog park, pool, paved roads, level site. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Excellent park, excellent community center. Wonderful park. Definitely will visit again. Walk-in pool. Bathrooms extremely clean and well kept. Grounds excellent. Sewer tap toward front portion of site, thus we had to use our extra hose length. Water and electric connections were okay. Check-in very pleasant and easy. Plenty of room staging during check-in; we tow Ford Flex. Very close to excellent shopping, dining, recreation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This is a nice park right in the middle of town close to a lot of restaurants and shopping. We have looked around at other parks in the area and for the money this is as nice as the other parks that charge $60 a day or more. The only issue is that they let people park cars in the street witch can make it hard to get in and out of your site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$18
This RV park is a very easy drive over to the beach in Gulf Shores/Orange Beach, only about 6 miles. The staff here at Anchors Away, was very accommodating and caring. The entire staff was helpful in every way. All sites were paved and had patios and picnic tables. Large sites with grass and very long pull through sites. It is a family friendly park and has very nice pool area. It is a great place to walk and 3 times around was 1 mile: an easy walk. They do have a workout room, which is not much to talk about and needs some work but the weather was nice so we opted to walk outside rather on the older treadmills. The restaurants in Foley were very accessible and very good if you did not want to drive to the beach. I would definitely recommend this park and we will for sure go back to this park next time we visit this area. Our rate reflects a monthly stay. Daily or weekly will be higher. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
A fairly new campground. The interior roads are paved and wide. The WiFi was very fast and free. All of the pads are concrete and level. Only negative is the absence of trees which is due to the park being only a few years old. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
This is a great campground close to all Foley activities. It is only about 6 miles from the beach. The WiFi was weak at times. I would highly recommend this campground and will be returning soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$33
Awesome campground! Spotless with modern hookups. Every site has concrete pad and patio. Wide roads and good size sites make this place a snap to get in and out. The campground is about 7 miles from the beach and is close to all kinds of shopping, from Home Depot to Outlet Malls. It has a beautiful pool with a blow up water slide for the kids. There's an exercise room and rec room as well. We stayed here for just 5 days while waiting for the weather to clear west of us. If I wasn't on the move, I'd stay here a month. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$16
This was our second stay here, the nightly rate is based on a month rate. The staff is wonderful, very responsive to campers needs. Everything is in excellent working order and very clean. The location is convenient to tourist attractions. The only thing keeping this from a 10 is the pool. It is clean, has lots of lounge chairs, but it is COLD!!! Too cold, the only people we ever saw in the pool were kids, no adults. There is a hot tub, we used that, but on a hot day, we would prefer using the pool. Great campground and staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
The park is right in the heart of Foley, close to the beach and other activities ie shopping, and Wal-Mart and eating places. The lots were well cared for. Grass was easy to walk on without stickers. No problem with critters/ants. Swimming pool was very nice water temp much better this year. Although there is little shade, the morning and evening breeze when you are in the shade is pleasant. We plan to go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Can't add much to what has already been said. Only real negative is the lack of shade. Staff were great. Sites are concrete, long, and level. Individual restroom/shower rooms were clean. Nice pool. Within 10 miles or less of just about everything; shoping, dining, beachs, etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
This is our favorite park. The roads are paved, wide and easy for big rigs to get around. The sites are cement pads with grass yards and some trees. There is a small pond for fishing, a hot tub for relaxing and a swimming pool for cooling off in the summer. The owners are friendly and helpful. They also schedule many activities for their winter guests. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Very nice campground, well laid out and upkeep is terrific. Level sites with plenty of room and very nice staff. We have recommended this campground to our friends and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
First night here but everything seems very good. The Wi-Fi is Tengo, is free and consistent with no log-outs. You can watch you tube so it is fast enough for me. The grounds are immaculate, few trees and those trees are very small. Nice grass, no weeds and few if any ant hills that seemingly dot this area of the country. All roads are paved and the sites are concrete, level and very long. Sewer hook-up is at the middle of the site and was a little long to reach but we just moved the coach forward about four feet and everything was OK, still had ample room to park the toad. The staff has been great even when accommodating the wife in changing sites so the afternoon sun would not flood our picnic table area. It's a quiet place with lots of shopping areas and restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$30
Close to everything including beaches and some of the best seafood along the gulf. Staff is great, very nice zero entry pool, hottub and small playground. Has a catch and release pond, fenced-in dog run, recreation room, fitness center, nice laundry room, individual bath houses and flat paved roads. Park is around 4 years old. Has good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$37
We stopped here for one night and stayed four. This is a very clean and friendly RV park. The sites are plenty long and all sites are angled for easy in and out. I can't remember another RV park with such wide paved roads! We will make this a 2 week stay next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$29
We spent eight days here and enjoyed our stay. The sites are level, cement pad, good spacing between units, easy hookups. Only problem is the lack of mature trees. Level, paved roads, good neighbors and very friendly, helpful office staff. Looking forward to staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
This is a great place to stay! My husband was working night shifts while we were here and the managers were very friendly and accommodating! We stayed four weeks and couldn't ask for anything more! Thanks so much for everything! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$29
It is a great location with easy access to shopping and the beaches! The staff was very friendly and courteous. There is a nice pool with a small clubhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
We spent 2 nights here and were pleasantly surprised. Our site was an extra long pull-through which was level and easily accommodated our 42 footer and toad. Cable TV and WiFi worked well and were included in the charge. The swimming pool was never crowded and the spa was warm and inviting. There was plenty of room to walk the dogs and also an enclosed dog run. The park is close to Lamberts, the Tanger outlet mall and the beaches. Be sure to get directions to the Pirate's Cove, a small eatery on the water that will welcome you and your dog. We will definitely return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$38
Very nice, clean and quiet park. Staff is friendly and helpful. Wide streets make navigating park with a large rig very easy. Easy 8 mile drive to beaches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
Rate estimated from monthly rate, which is all inclusive (including electric). We arrived in the midst of strong storms, the staff processed us quickly, we were escorted and guided into our back in site, all before the storms hit. The campground is easy for big rigs with wide paved roads. There are pull throughs available. Hookups are in a convenient layout. There are lots of cable TV channels, free Wi-Fi, good Verizon signal. The staff is friendly and helpful. Lots to do in the area. Great campground, will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$37
Excellent park with friendly staff. Close to Lamberts restaurant and the shopping center. Have stayed here many times. I highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2009
$28
This campground was fantastic. We stayed during spring break. We were met by the owner when we pulled in after hours and he personally escorted us to our site and helped my husband back in.We also had a problem with a water leak and they were very helpful directing us to a repair center. The sites were concrete pads and level. The bathrooms were extremely clean. The kids had a great time playing in the pool and at the pirate ship playground. We will definitely stay here when we come to the beach!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$30
Rate is for a weekly stay. Well-maintained cg with wide paved roads. All sites are concrete pads. Extra long pull-throughs easily accommodated our 40-footer plus tow. Restrooms were very clean. Beautiful pool/hot tub. Managers are always on-site and work hard. When we first got here, we thought the other campers were a little clicky, but a large number of them are snowbirds who have been here all winter. Daily noise of sirens from busy Rte. 59 just outside of campground. Don't miss Old Time Pottery store a half-mile away! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
Wonderful, clean, quiet RV park. Away from the traffic and noise. Sites were wide, road were wide and easy to get in and out of your site without having to worry. Everything was new and clean. These wasn't one thing I could say negative about it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$30
Excellent park. Very friendly owners and campers. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$32
This is a great campground with very friendly management. They even help you back into your site if applicable. Sites are large and roomy. The pool is very large and well kept. There is a hot tub and playground as well. If you mention their website, they give a 10% discount on the nightly rate. We stayed 3 nights. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$29
We stayed there for a week after leaving WestWales RV park due to poor conditions. This is a great park with a very friendly staff. We had a group of seven RVs and they were able to place us very close together on only a one days notice. We will certainly stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
A very nice park. All sites have level concrete pads. Free wi-fi, and pool. Close to Gulf Shores. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
This park is wonderful. This is our home away from home. The staff makes you feel welcome. We are very close to the owners, and they have worked their butts off to make this RV resort what it is today. To the man that gave them four stars and said that the monthly rate was really, really high and the exercise room was very dirty. Did you ever stop to think that maybe someone before you may has messed it up. Did you bring this to the owners attention for the matter to be taken care of? You know life is too short to find problems with everything in life. Bottom line, Anchors Aweigh RV Resort is the best of the best and we love it there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Very nice, clean park. Wide streets, nice level sites We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
Newer, family run park. Concrete pads, and roads. Great new facilities – clean showers. Great looking pool but we did not use it. They have an exercise room that has very little equipment and most of it seems old. Plus, this exercise room was very dirty. Plenty of space between sites. Closed to Hwy 59 but far enough not to hear any road noise. Stayed two nights, asked about staying for a month but the price was really, really high for a monthly. Will return for an overnight or a day or two only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
Great park owners. Very well maintained large sites. Nice pool and laundry. Close to good restaurants. Only drawback is no shade or trees on site.We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
Very well kept park. Manicured grass with concrete pads. We will not stay anywhere else in this area. Great pool and hot tub facilities. Friendly staff. Easy access to beach and restaurants. Don't stay anywhere else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$34
Stayed 2 nights on a scheduled 3 night stay as part of a local club rally. The rally broke camp one day early because of forecast of severe weather with a strong possibility of large hail. Excellent campground with smooth paved streets, easy turns, large paved level sites with excellent hook-ups. Meeting room, hot tub, quiet area. Our club has re-booked for this fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
A good park with good facilities. Would stay here again when we return to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$30
I strongly agree with all previous comments. Great RV park. Will be coming back! Quiet, great location, strong WiFi connection. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$31
This is a great campground and one of the main reasons is that it was designed by an RVer. It has wide, level concrete pads with patios and picnic tables on each site. There is thick grass throughout the park so mud is not an issue. It also has very wide access roads that make it easy to get into the sites. The cable and Wi-Fi work very well and the campground, including the restrooms, is absolutely spotless. The best thing about this park, however, are the owners. They live on site and are friendly and accommodating and are willing to go out of their way to help. Another great thing is that this park is only 5 minutes from shopping, groceries and Wal-Mart but it is very quiet. More parks should be designed like this one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2008
$33
We stay at Anchors Aweigh every time we travel across I-10 because of friendly management and paved level sites with picnic table. Wide grassy area between sites. During the winter there is a high concentration of snow-birds but that allows us to meet more diverse folks. During Lent they have a Friday fish fry. Then pancake and sausage breakfast every Saturday AM (extra $$). We have and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2007
$27
We have been here two nights. This is an excellent park. Everyone is friendly and helpful. We were shown our space and were helped with the backing. We were offered help to set up. The restrooms and showers are private and spotless. Pretty pool and hot tub, small playground for young children. Close to many restaurants and shopping. Approximately 7 miles to the gulf. Sites are large, concrete with easy access to water, power and sewer. Wi-Fi comes with the price and works well. The grounds are very clean, with a nice pet walk and clean up bags provided. There is also a fish cleaning area at the exit from the park. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
This is really a great campground. We will definitely return! Management was really helpful. There were ants near our site when we arrived and were taken care of within 5 minutes! The gentleman even backed my camper into the spot for me. Bathhouse has clean private shower rooms. Sites, patios and roads were paved and wide. The pool was very clean and nice. All sites offer both 50 and 30 amp service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$32
We stayed in several campgrounds in the Gulf Shores area and this one is definitely the best. Great friendly people who operate it. Well manicured grass with nice level pads. Pool area and bathrooms were very clean. Very good Internet. A must stop if you are in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$28
New park with level concrete sites. Friendly staff. We definitely would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$30
This was our first trip in our travel trailer. The attendants were extremely helpful in getting us set up and stayed with us until we were fully functional. This park is very well laid out and convenient to enter and exit. We will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$31
Boy oh boy- - - where do I start. This CG is spanking brand new and everything is just squeaky clean. There is an angel working the office and I can't say enough about her and how much she helped me in setting up our club's rally over a very busy weekend in Southern Alabama. The CATV is super, the free Wi-Fi is fast enough to satisfy you when you think that it's free! The clubhouse is very nice and offers a big screen TV for your pleasure and a full kitchen for rallies and the like. A neat little side item that was advantageous to us ralliers was that the snowbirds ( a pretty good population ) cook up a full breakfast every saturday morning for a 3 buck donation- - - can't beat that! This campground is close to everything you'd ever want to be doing as far as extracurricular activities are concerned. I'll definitely be returning soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2007
$32
We've stayed at Anchors Aweigh twice in February on both legs of a trip to Florida - going and returning to Louisiana. NEW Park just opened in October, 2006 with WIDE streets and sites. Excellent husband and wife management team really make you feel at home and most of all welcome! This CG is at the top of our list for return visits. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com