224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Manatee Springs State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 68 user reviews. Phone: (352) 493-6072
CGID648

Manatee Springs State Park

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   8   7   7   7   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
Just like so many Florida State Parks it's in disrepair. The bathhouse in the Magnolia loop was nasty. Showers were filthy, toilets backing up and filthy, the rest of the boathouse just nasty. The campground needs an upgrade. There is also a tick issue so dog owners beware and also watch yourself. Positive, staff was nice and spring and trails were awesome. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$10
Rate is for Florida senior. The Hickory loop is open enough to negotiate with our 26 ft RV. I'm not sure a big rig could utilize this park, especially the other loops. It is very shady, which makes TV and cell reception more difficult. We were able to receive only 1 major network and several PBS channels. Showers are clean and centrally located. Utilities are adequate. Due to flooding, the springs were closed. We had deer wandering through our site both morning and evening. Walking the dog at night, I also heard some animal in the open dumpster, but since bears have been sighted in this part of Florida, I didn't check to see...maybe it was a raccoon. We would like to return when we can access the whole park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$22
When we camped here the boardwalk and springs were closed because of flooding, so we did not get the full experience. Still, it was a very nice park. It was almost empty during our mid-week visit so it was nice and calm. We stayed in the “Hick” loop. One of the “Mag1” loop was closed. We had no problem in getting into a nice site with our 27 foot motorhome. It is true that the campground road is some pretty big potholes and has trees pretty close the roadway. The 30 amp electrical hookup was solid with good voltage. We worked very hard to find a hole in the trees to get satellite and were successful; most sites would not have satellite. Our Verizon phone and data were very marginal – almost not functional. There was WiFi just a short walk away at the snack stand. There is a nice smaller Walmart and a Winn-Dixie in Chiefland about 7 miles away. We liked the campground and would certainly camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$22
Loved this park. The manatees were amazing. Loved the long boardwalk to the Suwanee River. Wi-Fi is available at the great concession right by the springs. Would definitely recommend a stay here. Great bathrooms but no laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2014
$22
This is a very popular park which was full over the Presidents' Day weekend. The manatees that can be seen in the outfall of the huge Manatee Springs are an attraction for day users as well as campers. The price shown covers the $20 nightly fee for water and electric, plus the 9% sales tax (the “community” of Manatee Springs charges a 2% local option tax beyond 7% state sales tax). The bathrooms were clean and in good condition. The narrow roads inside the campgrounds are compacted sand as are the individual sites, leading to tracking sand into the camper. In addition, the interior roads are potholed and rough. Our Verizon air card and Verizon cell phone worked marginally, and sometimes not at all, and there were only 5 TV stations we could get over the air. Apparently the park is in a “hole” as a couple of miles back towards town, the phone worked well. The map provided when we checked in rated each site based on depth, so many sites would not be good for rigs over 30 feet. We watched some larger rigs get into place, which was a challenge at the sites we could see. Seven miles into Chiefland provides the opportunity to take the 32 mile Nature Coast State Trail, a beautiful three-pronged paved trail to nearby communities. There is a Walmart and many other stores in Chiefland, plus a number of restaurants. If we were to visit the area again, we'd stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
The springs are so refreshing and just beautiful. The campground has nice tree cover and spacing between sites. The water pressure was good and 30 amp electric worked fine. The bath house is old and dated, but I was told they are getting ready to update this park. These updates will make this a real gem. Deer would come right into the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
Park is beautiful and the springs were very nice, but the bathrooms were always dirty. There is not enough trash containers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$9
Great camp ground. We saw about 30 deer and even had 5 in our campsite in the morning. Very good for a state park. My rate is the senior rate which is half price. The sites are all sand, but firmly packed and we had no trouble. The interior road are tight, but we saw several tag axle coaches going through. The springs are about 1/4 mile away. We saw numerous manatee there. This is a great spot for kids as well as us older folks. Good places to eat in Chiefland which is about 10 minutes away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
This park is showing it's age, the roads are narrow and backing into the site wasn't easy. Everything worked and was clean. However, it was quite a walk to the dumpsters. There was very little in information available on the park and what we did get wasn't very good. However the Manatees were in so all was well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$20
It was unusual, to say the least, to see SCUBA divers plunking their way through the woods in full gear as they headed for diving in the turquoise spring water. The forested walking trails were delightful and offered a lovely view of basking turtles in the river. Our pull-through site was level and comfortable, making it easy to stay connected for an early morning departure. Restroom/showers were adequate. The park had more to offer than we could enjoy on our one-night stay. We'll return here to check it out more carefully. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$21
We enjoyed a very pleasant 2 week stay here in site #94, which is right next to the trail to the Springs in Hickory Loop. Yes, the campground is rather rustic. Yes, the roads are a bit bumpy in the loop, but the ambiance and beauty of the campground is worth it! This is NOT a resort and if that's what you're looking for, pass on this park. There are plenty of sites large enough for a big rig in Hickory loop and a couple of sites in Magnolia loop; although, it would be a challenge to navigate the tight road through Magnolia with a large rig. Hickory is also tight but very doable if you're careful. If you want a lot of beautiful hiking trails, a gorgeous spring where you can swim year round, an opportunity to see dozens of cave divers come and go from the "Catfish Hotel" cave area, then you'll like it. We enjoyed daily walks to the end of the almost mile long boardwalk to the Suwannee River to see the manatees and vultures sitting in the trees. We saw a "Limpkin", a rarely sighted Florida bird here several times. We had deer visit near our campsite almost daily and we saw several large gopher tortoise holes while out hiking the many trails. The park is a very quick and easy 6 miles to Chiefland where they have plenty of shopping and services available, including a wonderful large produce stand very near the road from the park. We have devices with both ATT and Verizon and with a Wilson antenna were able to stay connected via cell phone and Internet while here. The service does come and go, though. Manatee Springs will definitely be on our list of places to revisit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
Rustic is the key word. Vintage also applies. Restrooms were dirty the weekend we were here but with dirt/sand roads and sites that is going to happen. Most sites are close to each other and have little screening so not much privacy. Nice and shady though. Verizon signal very weak with 1/2 bar of "o"...not enough to load weather maps or even make reliable voice calls. Note to paddlers: Manatee Spring run is very short and closed in winter; can walk to the Suwanee but it's a quarter mile wide and dominated by power boats & wind. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$27
This park was such a shock to my husband and me. We have been camping in Florida state parks since the end of November, 2012. We have had a favorable impression of the campgrounds until we came to this park. The sites are not cared for at all. They are not level, not raked as in the other parks, tons of leaves and other debris in sites and surrounding fire rings. If you want a fire make sure you bring your own rake. The bathrooms are horrible: outdated, crumbling and very dirty. There were volunteers during our stay but the one in our loop did absolutely nothing during our time there. Some of them in the other loops did try. The people at the gate were very friendly and helpful. The access road is very narrow and is surrounded by trees and vegetation. The big rigs had difficulty accessing their sites. I would suggest you visit the spring and boardwalk as a day trip but I would not recommend staying in the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2013
$22
This park is absolutely gorgeous. The wildlife is phenomenal: both flora and fauna. We saw deer, vultures, turtles, squirrels, fish, and hawks. There is a boardwalk from the springs to the river that has breathtaking scenery. For all of that I would give the park a 10. But: the roads within the campground loops are thoughtlessly narrow and rutted. Don't even think about bringing in a big rig. Our motor home is 35 feet and we were hitting brush on all sides. The campsite (#71) looks wide open on the Reserve America website, but they aren't showing you the trees that create a bottleneck getting into the site. We barely made it. If you don't need cell or WiFi, this is a nice place to go. I would call the park and ask the rangers what sites are the easiest to get into: based on the roads and the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$22
Staff was very helpful and informative and directed us to the best RV sites and an amazing burger joint nearby. Dog friendly, except on boardwalks (wasn't a problem for us). Great back in sites, large and wooded, easy hookups. Nice showers, lots of paths and trails, great things to see, lots of animals (saw my first live armadillo, lots of deer, raccoons investigated our trailer, no manatees). Great boardwalks around park, but still wild and quiet, just our cup of tea. Would highly recommend to anyone who likes rustic and off the beaten path - great place to see nature, and great camping! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$24
Very nice park typical of old Florida. Shaded sites with very nice trail system through the park. Easy access to the Susanne River via canoe/kayak from the spring. Very idyllic setting. Sites are semi-private and the park seems to be used a lot by locals (I think that's good). Quiet park with rangers visible but not obvious. Will stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2012
$26
Would have given this park a lower rating if not for the wonderful wildlife and great park rangers. We saw bald eagles, otters, great horned owls, and the deer indeed roam all over the campground. The spring is beautiful, and the walkway to the river on the boardwalk is really nice. Otherwise, not sure we would ever return. Though the restroom (though horribly dated) was clean in our Hickory loop, the other bath houses were not. One in the non reservable loop (shows up as tents only on Reserve America, but has many walk in sites for RV's), is really awful with tiles missing off the wall and bugs everywhere. If you like spiders and ticks: this is your place. All roads through the camp loops are basically dirt two tracks and rough. Sites are dirt and mostly unlevel. We had not only no TV signals on our roof top, but no cell phone service either. Had to travel into town 6 miles away just to get a signal. This park cannot attract camp hosts, as the other loops camp host sites were empty, and our's left the day we did. So much for that bath house being clean anymore. No washer dryers either. With no sewer connection: don't plan on an extended stay if you like clean laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
What a wonderful park. We really lucked out in visiting here. The campground is so nice; we stayed in the Hickory Loop, close to the springs, boardwalk and playground. Chiefland has stores and restaurants close by (a Wal-Mart Super center). Cedar Key was a wonderful old Florida fishing town to visit 30 minutes away. If you go, eat Tony's yummy Clam Chowder. Stop at the wholesale clam place and ask for a tour. An $18 bag of clams are easy to steam on the grill at the campsite: yum! We saw 11 manatee, many deer, buzzards galore, a raccoon, and other birds. The Spanish moss in the trees, the quiet Suwannee River, the unbusy-ness, were so relaxing. My two (14 and 16) loved swimming in the springs, and searching around for animals. The dirt roads and sites are a little pest, but it was worth it for the great experience! Verizon 3G was very sketchy. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
I love this park. Friendly people, three beautiful loops, and the spring is so wonderful to swim in. I swear I felt like a million bucks mentally and physically after our swim. We took a moonlight paddle on the Suwannee River that was beyond marvelous - warm, no bugs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
Great park! Close to grocery stores, Walmart. Easy to get into site. Fun golf course less than two miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Nice big sites. We had enough space for a couple of RVs. Electrical and water only. Dump station can be accessed from the right or left side. Sand site was pretty level and surrounded by trees with lots of privacy. Beautiful location with lots of birds and manatees. We enjoyed walking around the park and on the boardwalks. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$11
Park is a beautiful place to visit. This park has three loops of camp sites. The Hickory loop has wider roads and good size sites. Magnolia # 1 and 2 the roads are a little smaller and sites are smaller. Big rigs need to stay in the Hickory loop. Roads are sand and clay mix. All sites are sand and level. In wet weather you will track in sand. Coming into park at gate house you have two long lanes to park in and check in. This is a plus and you are out of the road this way. Staff was nice at check in and helpful. This park is very heavy with trees. No Sat. systems will work here. We could pick up three channels (5-1,2,3) over the air on TV. About six miles back to Chiefland if you need more supplies, Wal-Mart near Hwy 320 and ALT 27. Water from springs flow into the Suwannee River. Water flow rate is high (per state between 35 and 150 million gallons per day), clear, and at 72 degrees year around. You can dive (with tanks) into the Springs if you wish. All sites have 30 amps less three sites (site 4 is a host site) and site 7 and 36 have 50 amps. Nice dump station in or out of park. Park is very dark at night with very little lights, only at bathhouses. No noise in this park as you are deep in the woods. Verizon cell and MiFi air card did work OK but were on the weak side. The rate was due to FL residents. Gates are locked at 7:00 pm and you have a code to get in. We did see deer walking around the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Hands down one of our favorite parks. The bathrooms could use some work but otherwise a 10 for us. There are some huge sites and they are well maintained. The playground is great, we love the walk out to the fishing pier and swimming in the springs. The wildlife is outstanding. The deer come within a few feet of the sites. We have been many times and will continue to frequent the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
We have been going here for years. If your looking for a paved site, cable and good internet/cell reception this place isn't for you. The camping loops and sites are all dirt once you leave the main entry roads. They are nicely shaded. We used the springs, walked on the boardwalk to the Suwanee River day and night, ran the trails and had a blast. Deer walk right up to your campsite here. Our site was level and not a problem if you don't mind using a broom and leaving your shoes outside. Some of the loops are pretty tight and not big rig friendly. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
Our favorite park with a natural spring. The campground is in walking distance to the spring and the river. It's very secure and well maintained. We love that the park developed a balanced existence between people and animals. They have deers running freely in the campground. Native non-poisenous snakes are allowed to stay near the spring in their natural habitat, without being killed or disturbed. The park rangers are friendly and very informative. The boat ramp for the river is close to the parking lot, which makes launching a boat easy. Further down the river are other accessible springs. The bathhouses are very clean and so are the laundry facilities. The lots are super large with an enormous privacy space around each lot. We stayed at lot #61 and looked into the forest and watched the deer. A nearby town of Chiefland offers great restaurants, a classy winery and plenty of grocery stores. We come here a few times a year and the park and campground have never lost any of its magic. It is truly a rare Florida gem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
Nice area to visit, good swimming, lots of wildlife. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
We arrived early Friday afternoon. This is the first park where I have encountered a park ranger with a bit of an attitude. When we approached the gate, we slowed and then pulled over to the right hand side in the parking area just past the gate. There was no traffic in either direction but we didn't want to hold up others that might be coming through. I got out and went in to check in (we had reservations) The young female park ranger immediately scolded me for not stopping completely. I apologized and tried to explain that we slowed down and then pulled over to get out of the way but she didn't seem to want to hear. Once I gave her our name she gave me the pass for our vehicle. Never gave me directions or map of the campground layout or directions. I asked for a map of the trails and she gave me one. After this everything was great! Our site was very close to the springs (94). Right after we arrived the deer came visiting and did so at least twice a day. Site was a little uneven and tilted down towards the back. Very sandy and unfortunately we had lots of rain for both days we were there so we had lots of mud. The north trails provided a great ride on our mountain bikes. There is also a bike lane that runs from the campground east almost 6 miles to the Nature Coast Trail. Springs felt great on a hot day. Our site was next to the trail that went down to the springs and people were headed to the springs until almost 9 at night. Very quiet campground. Restrooms were a bit muddy due to all the rain, which was to be expected. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
All sites have picnic table/combo grill/fire rings. Site was very sandy even though the Reserve America said it was gravel. Park itself was beautiful with lots of deer that will almost come right up to you. Springs were beautiful. Lots of ticks so make sure that you spray and check often. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
We camped in site #93 a PT, this was our second visit. Site was very unlevel as it slopes down to Catfish Hotel Sink. All sites have picnic table, combo grill/fire rings, lantern post and laundry posts(bring your own rope). Sites are sand with leaves. Each site was raked by the volunteer host after occupant checked out. So all sites were very clean. There was a mandatory burn ban in effect during our visit as FL is in a drought right now. Park was well maintained, bathhouses were clean when we arrived but we did not use them, so do not know if they were kept that way. There were a lot of tenters and popups so I would suspect they had moments when they were not pristine. Park has hiking trails, playgrounds, concessionaire that rents kayaks and canoes, sells ice and ice cream as well as various sundries. They have a deal if you are a camper: rent a canoe at 4pm until 4pm the next day for $30. There is a Wal-Mart nearby if you forget anything. Springs were clean and cold. Not overly crowded even though temps were in the 90's. Many volunteers picking up trash and answering questions from guests. There is a nice long boardwalk that you can tie up a boat to or fish from. We watched the sturgeon jumping in the Suwannee River each night. Lots of deer roaming around. The campers feed them so they are not shy and are not afraid of cars or people. We visited the Dakotah Winery on Hwy 19 nearby. Had a great tasting and they have a nice shop with lots of goodies to buy. Checked out the Chiefland Farmers and flea market. Much more flea than farmers market. Was disappointed to not find any local produce there. I would have given this park a 10: if not for the many stinging insects, lots of yellow flies this time of year; we could only get 1 TV station so had to rely on our weather station for updates since we couldn't get local TV weather; and the unlevelness of our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This park has three camping loops with dirt roads and just electricity and water. We were the only ones in the Magnolia 2 loop when we got here, but other campers came in right after us. The road is meant for one vehicle at a time, so if two RV’s have to pass, one will have to pull over into a site. The Hickory Loop is much better for bigger RV’s and the walk to the springs is closer but we did enjoy our site. This spring is one of the biggest in Florida which discharges over 100 million gallons per day. There a lot to do at this park. One can swim, snorkel or scuba dive in the springs. There are over 8.5 miles of hiking trails throughout the park. One of the best things to do is to walk the boardwalks that go through the swamps along the springs and out to the Suwannee River which exits to the Gulf at this spot. There are alligators, carp and sturgeon in the river. In the winter the Manatees swim up to the spring. That is why this campground is popular during those months, because of all the great viewing areas to watch them. The springs in the winter are warmer for the Manatees than the rivers or the Gulf. We would have loved to see them! The sturgeon are amazing: leaping out of the water every few minutes, twisting their bodies around before smacking back into the water. One other camper told us that they jump more as it gets warmer. That in June on nights with the full moon, they are flipping all over the place and it is quite a sight. The park has canoes that can be rented to paddle the river and part of the springs. One can rent the canoes even during the winter months, but there are strict instructions about paddling around the Manatees. This is a beautiful park and we will return. The deer in the park are not afraid of anyone. In the morning we had 6 deer eating away and just staring at us as we were getting ready to leave the park. People feed them and they expected that food! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$20
Nice state park. Large sites but if you plan on just driving up and getting one you may get shut out. Some sites are on the short side and a long coach may not fit. So it's worth it to make reservations. Apparently the black headed buzzards (a much maligned bird) winter down here and there were 1000s of them hanging out in the trees. It was pretty cool in a Boris Karloff kind of way. We didn't see any Manatee but talked to folks who had seen some there that day. The roads and sites are firm sand and sites are level. The springs are pretty nice and are great for swimming. Lots of trails for hiking and biking. Showers are a bit old but in good shape and clean. Nice campground for the money. Our MiFi worked OK some of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$24
Lovely. Want to come back. Very picturesque and relaxing. Really enjoyed this park. Beautiful woods surrounding park with friendly white tail deer. Fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$10
This is a delightful state park with many educational experiences for young and old alike. Wildlife is plentiful and we actually had deer roaming in the empty site directly across from us. They list pull through sites and 50amp service, however, only three 50amp sites (4-7-36), and only five pull through sites (93-29-36-12-6). The roads are dirt and narrow and can be very difficult if arriving at night with a large RV. We had no problem with our 34ft motorhome during the daylight but a 40ft motorhome arriving that night received quite a bit of damage getting into his site. The sites are level and very spacious. We stayed in site 64. The bathrooms and showers were very clean but not heated. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our $10 fee represented a 50% senior discount. We definitely will visit this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$21
This is a good campground with pleasant hiking (and swimming, in the naturally-heated spring). Sites in Hickory Loop are larger and a bit better-maintained, and the shower room there is considerably better than the one in Magnolia Loop (which is only screened in and has no heat). The sites in Magnolia Loop are sandy, and a bit narrow. There is no Wi-Fi, but Verizon coverage is adequate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
We stopped here over night and the spring is out standing to swim in. The campground has big sites and they are roomy. The bath rooms were a pig pen and did not look like they had been cleaned in days. This is the reason for the lower rating, bathrooms, very dirty! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$12
This state park is beautiful. Sits on the Suwannee River and has roped off a swimming area. It is basic, very shady, and deer walk around freely at dusk. We took our 13-year-old, very active and curious grandson and could hardly get him into the RV. Florida residents, don't forget to ask for the senior discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$20
We stopped in on a whim while passing through just to see what was available (we were considering just over nighting at the Wal-Mart nearby). What a treat! Extremely friendly staff who were delighted to have walk-ins. We were impressed by the huge size of the spots and how well maintained everything was. Beautiful walking trails, and the boardwalk out to the dock was amazing in the sunset light. Saw 4 manatees in the morning. Only downside was that cellular phone service (AT&T and Sprint) was spotty (we work online as we travel). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
Big sites, but someone in the site next to me was apparently storing an RV as we never saw anyone show up. A long elevated walking platform through the swamp area was a nice way to look for wildlife. The sites are soft sand and can be a problem if it rains. We did see a pair manatee in the pond area that is off limits to people at this time of year due to the manatee presence. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2010
$20
Have stayed here 3-4 times and can report that the condition of the campground now is far superior to previous visits. Substantial improvements to roads, trails, etc. Campsites have been raked clean (ala DisneyWorld), everything was very tidy. Check site map, but we prefer Hickory loop which is nearest to the swimming springs. Reservation alert. I checked availabilities on ReserveAmerica and they reported very few vacancies for the dates I wanted. Called the campground office directly and they said they withhold many "walk in" sites from the reservation service. So while it might appear full at ReserveAmerica, there could likely be many sites available by reservation through the campsite office. $20 campsite fee a bargain, made better by 50% discount offered to Florida residents over 65 years - $10 per night. Probably best visited in the summer when spring swimming can be enjoyed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$24
A great park. Friendly and efficient staff and volunteers. Nice campsites. Looking forward to stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
Good state park. I would stay here again. Has great kayaking and manatees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2009
$20
I was here at a slow time in the season and it was a little on the cool side. The sites are bare ground but were clean and level. The spring itself is beautiful and cave divers were here daily. Saw 2 manatees and lots of vultures. Staff was friendly and helpful. You can swim in the spring: which is a constant 72 degrees and crystal clear. You can fish, scuba dive, rent a canoe or kayak. All in all a great spot with lots to do. Just wish it had internet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This State Park is beautiful. The sites are level with plenty of room for a camper and a tent. There is plenty of shade. The restrooms are nice and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. They are very conscience of the enviroment. We had regular visits from deer and racoons. The springs were crystal clear. We canoed down the Swanee River. This is one of the most pictures places in Florida. We loved this park and would love to return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
We were on site # 61 at the end of one of the fingers in the Magnolia loop which is the largest loop. Each site has a picnic table, fire ring/grill combo, 30amp and water as well as 2 clothesline poles. Most sites are shady and sandy. 3 Sites have 50A; they are:4, 5, & 38. Sites 93 and 94 overlook a cave diving lake, and some sites in Magnolia loop overlook another lake. Park roads are paved, but camp roads are not; they are sand. Roads are tight and winding with trees close. We have a 35ft motorhome and were able to make it but without toad hitched. Larger units can make it but need to go slow. Our site had lots of ants but they weren't the biting kind. Mosquitoes were not too bad. We did not need spray. Our site was also level but at least 10 inches lower than neighbors as it sloped toward Suwannee River. Had our own path to bath house which was clean upon our arrival. Did not use but they were old and smaller, and had no laundry area. Rangers were friendly and patrolled often. There was firewood for sale, canoe/kayaks for rent, and a small store that had swim stuff and ice cream/food to purchase. Nice playground in picnic area. Springs are 72 degrees year round and in winter manatees come into park, so no swimming then. Lots of divers come here for certifications. 2 miles of underwater caves to explore. Nice long boardwalk to view river and to fish off of. Camp area is short walk to springs. Camp is quiet and peaceful. No cell service for ATT and only 1 TV station (PBS channel). Dump station was easy to use. Lots of trails for bikes or hiking. Deer come into campsite areas because they have been fed by the campers. Lots of birds to watch, and spiders, too. Walmart close by about 6 mi away in Chiefland. We visited Fanning Springs SP nearby which has another nice set of springs to enjoy. Dakota Winery is on the way there on HWY 19. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2009
$16
Now I love this campground but the bathhouse is so bad it should be torn down. Other than that this place is great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$16
The park is nice, with deer roaming freely through out park. The roads to campsites are a little narrow but can be traveled being careful. Springs were closed due to river flooding. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
We stayed here for one night. The roads in the campground are sand and narrow. It is pretty hard to avoid brushing vegetation. They have different sized campsites. You really need to go through Reserve America to get a site you can fit into. The campsites are sand and are nice as are most of the sites in the Florida state parks. Quiet and dark. We stayed here in a 31 foot Class C and didn't use the camp bathrooms or showers. We would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$16
A very nice state park. As others mentioned, the interior roads are a bit tight, but most of the sites were quite large and deep. The walk out from the springs to the river is via an elevated boardwalk and a easy stroll from the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
Although this is a beautiful park, it is difficult getting a 37' or larger motorhome into a spot here. It can be done, but the roads are very narrow, all sand, with low hanging branches and mostly back-in sites. But it is a nice park otherwise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2009
$16
We camped here for a week and loved it. The springs are lovely and great for a peaceful swim. The boardwalk to the river is a lovely walk, and the vulture roosts stunning. Manatees were there, but hard to see. It is a great location for day trips - bike trails, Lower Suwanee Wildlife Refuge, Cedar Key - all fascinating. But just sitting/walking around the campground is lovely. Many, many birds and very friendly people. We hated to leave. Only very small problem was no washer/dryer so you have to go to a local laundromat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$16
We were surprised at the dirt roads in the park. We stayed 2 weeks way too long as there is not much to do in the area. We did see and enjoy some manatees. There are lots of nice walking paths and in the late afternoon we found some armadillos. It was quite cold a few days and there is no heat in the showers, except a small heat lamp. Also they give you a combination for the gate at night, but it is the old fashioned get out of your toad and then close the gate and replace when you are done not very modern for a Florida State Park. We have found most Florida State parks great to stay in. There is a very friendly host at the Hickory site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$17
There are picnic tables and fire rings at each 40' wide shady site. Gravel road and sites. One feature is a wonderful spring that is 72 degrees and can be swum in year-round. The Suwannee River flows through the park and Manatees and Sturgeons can be seen daily. There are lots of interesting birds also. Canoe trips are available. There is a playground and many nature trails. There is a security gate locked at night. There is no laundry. Chiefton, with laundry and Walmart is six miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
This State Park is amazing. It is so beautiful there with lots of shade and big trees. The spring water was cold (73 degrees) the water was so clear you could see the bottom. Lots of wildlife. We had four deer walk though our camp site each night. The camp ground road is sand/diry as well as the camp sites. The sand was so fine it felt like you were walking on carpet. The only reason I did not give this Park a 10 is because the bathrooms were bad. There were so many bugs in the bathroom I was scared to go in. Other then that this Park is amazingly beautiful, and I will go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$16
This is a beautiful park. We saw deer on 4 occasions on a 1 night stay. The springs are wonderful and great swimming. They say it’s 72 degrees year around, but I had to beak the ice in August. Wonderful boardwalk and nature trails. Bathrooms were dirty, but maybe I got there at the wrong time. Sites were a little tight. 30 AMP only. Staff was very friendly. No Wi-Fi or even cell service. Mosquitoes were large and numerous. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$17
Not big rig friendly. Sites are too narrow and short. Friendly ranger. WONDERFUL spring to swim in. Very nice trails and boardwalks. No cell signal until about a mile outside the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
Standard Florida State Park. Clean and the operators are helpful and friendly. This is a good swimming spot but the springs can be closed if the river is high after a lot of rain (this happens in the spring usually) or when the manatees are present in the winter. This can be a good birding spot too for water birds. SCUBA divers use one of the areas for diving. The sites could be a bit small for a big rig tho. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$17
Real nice state park west of Gainesville. Easy access to the park but road in the campground was narrow. Might be difficult for a big rig to access although there were big 5th wheels and trailers. Highlight of the park is Manatee Springs. Usually open for swimming but because the manatees were visiting - saw six one day - they closed it to swimmers. Crystal clear water gives access to viewing the manatee, turtles and all kinds of fish. Amardillo in the area and the deer will walk right into the campsite. They weren't bothered by the dogs. Only saw one red bellied water snake. Nice walk out to the river on boardwalk. Popular spot for scuba diving in the sink hole located in the park. Took a short trip down to Cedar Key, about 30 miles away. Nice town on the Gulf to visit. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$17
This campground was so far the best state park we have camped at in Florida. The deer came right into the camp site, so did an armadillo. The kids had a lot of fun in the spring. Sites are big and shaded. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
We liked this park very much, The sites are well spaced and large. The area is forested and quiet. There is a lot of wildlife--be respectful. We saw several poisonous snakes, including a timber rattler killing a hawk. There were manatees at the end of the spring run in the Suwannee River almost every morning, although it was late in the year for them. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$16
This is a very pretty park with plenty of wildlife. The deer came within 10 feet of the campsite and we saw racoons and armadillos. We stayed in site #95 in the Hickory loop with plenty of shade. Our site was very near the trail the to park and springs and not far from the bath house. Only downfall to the restrooms and showers were the bugs inside and the lack of space to put clothes while showering. Our site was level with a fire ring and two poles to hang a clothes line. There was not a lantern pole though. As stated in an earlier review the sand/dirt gets everywhere. We did have some cell phone service. The kids liked swimming in the springs (only 72 degrees). They also enjoyed the bike/hiking trails (app 8 miles). It was fun to watch the scuba divers who cave dive there. The park area has plenty of picnic sites, concession area (open April 1) and decent playground. There's a boardwalk to stroll along the springs to the Suwannee River. Early in the morning you may be lucky and see a manatee and will surely see all the vultures at the end of the boardwalk. Walmart and other stores are within 7 miles if you forget anything. Staff was informational and helpful. Site #93 is only pull thru and overlooks the Catfish Hotel Diving Hole. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
We had the pull through spot next to the spring and playground and it made our second stay much better. Abundant wildlife and many things to see and do. If it only had sewer or at least paved access roads and sites. A great value and we really like the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2006
$16
If you like state parks and have a rig 30' or less this park gets my recommendation. It is peaceful and quite. The restrooms were very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2006
$17
Enjoyed the park. Wide variety of wild life (deer, raccoon, possum, manatee). Kids enjoyed playground. Swimming hole looked nice (but we didn't swim). Careful driving through park (trees can be close to trailer). Recommend arriving before dark. Site was short, so we had to unhitch. Dark, fine sand gets into camper. Would rate higher if it was paved. Good value for the money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2006
$18
We have been camping at Manatee Springs since 1989. This is a great Florida State Park. We have seen Manatee while walking on the boardwalk. The deer walk right up to your campsite. This is a sandy place with some tight turns but I can do it with a 30' TT and full size truck. Great place for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$16
We enjoyed our stay here. We were in the Magnolia Loop. The springs were very clear and the boardwalk was well kept and offered nice views of the springs and Suwannee River. There is a small playground for the kids and plenty of trails for your hiking pleasure. Canoe/kayak rentals and swimming were available, though the weather was a bit cold for watersports on our visit. The main access road was paved, only the camping loops and sites were sand. Our site was relatively level and hard packed. It was a little trickier than normal getting into our slot as it angled opposite of what you'd hope and our 33' Class A doesn't turn short. And it was an end slot with a buffer of woods, so not a lot of swing space was available. Once we managed to get in the slot, it was plenty large enough to put out the awnings and still have room to move. Bathrooms were in need of paint but clean. No papertowels or blowers to dry hands were available. Staff and fellow campers were friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$16
This is a beautiful park, but the campground is lousy. The roads through the park are all sand and wind between a narrow opening of trees. It would be difficult getting into the campground with anything over 30' in my opinion. The sites are unimproved soft sand and quite narrow. Our site was very close to the surrounding sites, but some were a little more spacious. There were wild animals everywhere and, when the river is not flooded, the spring and creek are beautiful, I was told. Florida needs to work on their older campgrounds. We stayed in March of 2003. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$18
Rustic, shaded. Great if you like wildlife. Nice trails. They do not have a swimming pool however there is a safe area where you can swim in the spring. We'll be back in 2004. We were in a tent- going back in a pop-up. We camped here in a Tent.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2002
$18
Beautiful location. No pool, but nice, cool, clear spring. On Suwannee River with lots of wildlife. Larger rigs will fit with skilled drivers. Sites are sandy. Picnic table and fire pit. Bring repellant. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com