214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Leasburg Dam State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (575) 524-4068
CGID6483

Leasburg Dam State Park

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$14



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   7   9   9   9   9   6   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$14
Excellent state park facility. Sites are nicely spaced, offering privacy because of location, not because of vegetation. Plenty of bird and animal activity. I put a bird feeder up and the birds went crazy! Convenient location to Las Cruces. White Sands NM is about 1 hour drive away. Hatch NM nearby if you need a supply of chiles. Gila Cliff Dwellings a nice day trip. Plenty to see on the 3 hour drive and the Cliff Dwellings are well worth the drive. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$14
Very nice park. New Mexico does a great job providing sites with permanent shelters. Our camping area had pit toilets that were like brand new. Flush toilets and showers were back at the main bldg by the Visitor center - a short bike ride away from our spot. Nice walking trails and super helpful staff. Dring our stay in winter. WiFi was available in the Visitor Center but only from 12 pm to 4 pm, . Electric and water at our site were great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$10
Planned on staying one week; however, the electricity was extremely low (I have a digital power management system). So, we only stayed one night. The park ranger attempted to correct the power issue; but, was not successful. The park itself was clean and rustic (desert surroundings). The playground was small, but adequate. If the power was more reliable, I would have given this park a higher rating. Would stay here again only if the power was functioning properly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$14
Sites are level, well-spaced, and quiet. Water and electric hookup, dump station available. Bathroom is clean. The area is scruffy, as is typical of that part of New Mexico. But it's still a nice campground and is only a short distance off of Interstate 25. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$14
We used this park as a base for exploring elsewhere. Very clean, quiet place with very friendly and helpful staff. Really enjoyed our stay and stayed an extra day. Vistas from the camp are great. If you like desert camping, this is good place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2013
$14
Reservation sites are pull-through, off street style parking that is slightly less private feeling than the first-come/first-serve sites (we stayed in both during this visit). All sites have covered and cement patios and fire pits. Our first spot (#19) had great; (free) wi-fi reception, but site #6 was spotty. Showers and bathrooms very clean. Great hiking to the dam. The towns of Hatch, Mesilla and Las Cruces are all close by (15 miles). Loved it so much we extended our stay 5 additional days. We will definitely return here. Price reflects water and electric (30amp) hookups. Dry camping sites available for $10/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$14
A really great stay if you like the desert. There isn't much to do except hike and enjoy the desert. There are lots of well maintained trails around the park, with informational spots, so you can learn a lot about the area. There are great views of the Rio Grande (pretty much dry this time of year this far south) and the dam. There is a train track and crossing nearby but the horns only added to the ambiance for us. We love trains. Each of the electric sites has a concrete pad with water and 30 amp and a ramada with picnic table and fire ring and grill. The sites are aligned front to back with lots of space. Very quiet and clean and beautiful views of New Mexico. There is a common sewer dump at the entrance. We will stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$14
I didn't see this state park through the same set of glasses other had on when they were there! For a state park, this is not at all scenic. The Rio Grande can't be seen, and it is nothing more than a damp stream bed, at least at this time of year. Yes, there are trails through a not very interesting desert. Views from the campground include a number of run down homes and structures. Sites are quite close together with little privacy but do have concrete pads and a shelter/ramada. If there is any wind it is very dusty (as at most desert campgrounds). Fairly good antenna TV reception from El Paso. We won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$14
Great campground with friendly and helpful state personnel and volunteers running it. The camp host was very personable and knowledgeable. One of the best we've ever met. Lots of nice walking trails, great children play area and camp facilities. We'll stay there again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$17
Nice park, great staff, but fill your fresh water tank before you get there. Water is so bad it stained the side of my motorhome with iron. The water is seriously bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$14
Delightful desert state park with friendly staff. Make sure you have the reservations done online or by phone, and call ahead if you do not have reservation. There is a complex NM state park system of being able to say only l night without reservation, then all further nights MUST be reserved online/phone plus $10.60 reservation fee per site. This is VERY close to Las Cruces - just zip south on I-25, also to Hatch. Eat at the Pepper Pot and Sparky's! Close to White Sands NP and also be sure to visit Aguirre Springs Canyon State Park nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$14
This is another great little New Mexico State Park. This is our third one this month. We stayed in the Cactus Patch loop with water and electric. The concrete pad was perfectly level. Good electricity with very clean showers. There are several well maintained trails. There are hosts for each of the loops. It is convenient to Los Cruces and Hatch. We will return when in the area. (888) 667-2757 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2008
$1
We were here last year and had a great stay. This year when we came through the campsites with hookups were full. We were able to stay in the dry camp area down past the park office. The area can handle at least 6-8 rigs. There is water and trash and you can use the shower/bathroom facilities. The area is dirt, but it's just a place to park overnight unless you want to stay longer. Not sure what the normal charge would be, we have an annual camping pass so it was free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$14
This is an excellent park. It is extremely well maintained and very clean. The roads are gravel and the pads are concrete. Each site has a picnic table in a covered patio area. Sites 20 & 21 are very big rig friendly, but all the sites are pull throughs. The park is right off I-25. It is a very quite location and well suited for walks. We stayed nine days and enjoyed every minute. The volunteer staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$14
This State Park is located about 20 miles north of Las Cruces approximately 1 mile off of hwy 25. There are 2 campground loops, Grease wood & Cactus Patch. Grease wood sites, 1-14 have 8 non-reserve able elec/water sites, 1 being handicapped accessible,($14.00) the rest are $10.00 All of the sites have a very nice shelter with a cement floor and large picnic table. The RV pads are also cement and there is a fire ring. Some of the sites are more private then the others but there is plenty of room for slides, awning and to park your car. This campground has vault toilets which were very clean. There are train tracks that are nearby and you can hear it although it was not a problem sleeping at night. The campground is very quiet and has lovely views of the surrounding area. Cactus Patch Loop Campground sites 15-24 are all water and electric with 6 sites being reserve able.. This area is more child friendly, having a nice playground area. There are modern clean bathrooms with 3 private shower stalls, 1 being handicap accessible on the women’s side I would assume the men’s side too. There is a vending machine dispensing soda pop and across the street is the Park office. The train tracks are very close to this loop, so beware. Below Cactus Patch Loop is a trail that takes you down to the waters edge. There are day use facilities ($5.00) and also a picnic day use area near the Park Office. Both campgrounds RV sites appeared to be level. The roads are all dirt and gravel. Good cell/aircard reception, (Verizon) , the water pressure was just ok, and there were no problems with the electric, 30 amp. Dump station is located in the park. We would have no problem staying here again . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com