218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Caledonia State Park - Hosack Run CG was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (717) 352-2161
CGID6493

Caledonia State Park - Hosack Run CG

Camp Information
Sites
175
Date of Stay
July 2012
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   8   9   9   5   6   4   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
This is an older State campground. There are about 12 sites that would work for a big unit: we have a 40' fifth wheel. We live close and use this park so our grand children can visit. The rest rooms, showers are OK but very outdated. The sites are good sized for the most part, the main road is paved but sites are really dirt for the most part, need restoned badly. Not bad unless it rains, then there is a lot of mud. We camp here with friends a lot as there is a group circle for about 7 units, that is big and open. Pool is about 1 mile away at the main park, there is good fishing and lots of hiking trails. Our price reflects a resident and senior discount. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
This is an older state park. There is a large public area with picnic tables and large pool. Campers get discounts on the pool. Park was just okay, however, you have to consider the age of the park. Bathrooms/showers were older but kept clean by staff. We stayed in the Hosack area. A little overgrown in some sites. Not many spaces for large rigs. We were very close to the next camper. Smaller sites were nicely spaced between campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$26
Stayed two nights. Rate is with the senior discount. Park is very well maintained. Bathrooms were cleaned early every morning and then checked later in the day. Bathrooms are old but are slated for replacement in 2012. Sites are neat with no excessive weeds. You will hear some road noise from route 30 because it is nearby and the campground is on the side of a hill above the road. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$23
Great State park, it is near our home and we stay here often. Some sites have power but there are no other hook-ups, TV antennas don't work well because of all the trees. You are in woods so if you don't like trees don't stay here. Most of the sites meant for RVs are easy to back into. There is not much in the line of play areas for kids (must love the out door things to like this kind of camping). There are many places to see in the near by area, you're minutes from Gettysburg and other fun areas. It is very quiet and well patrolled, great hiking and fishing with a pool close at the main park. It is a great place to just get away from it all and have a camp fire. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$27
Fabulous park! Beautiful natural surroundings, many hiking trails. They need to make it clearer that you must bring in your own fresh water. No water at sites, available water nearby but spigots are not threaded so you need an adapter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This campground was alright if you live close and don't have to drive far to get there but considering we met our son there and we're from SC it was a little disappointing. The bathrooms were not clean and the park ranger that did come by was not very friendly. We drove all around to find firewood so I would suggest buying it in town by the bundle or searching the woods for your own. It does have a really nice large pool and picnicking area at the front of the park. There are no water hookups but we knew this so it wasn't a surprise. I guess I just expected more since PA is so beautiful. We probably would not stay there again. The 28.00 a night is out of state rate and with pets. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$28
THIS DESCRIPTION IS FROM THE PARK WEBSITE: Camping: modern restrooms with showers 175 tent and trailer sites are available in two campgrounds. The camping season opens the first Friday after March 28 and ends after deer season in December. Chinquapin Hill Campground is nestled on the side of a mountain with plenty of shade trees and is close to the swimming pool. Some sites have electrical hookups. Hosack Run Campground is one mile from the main day use area. It has moderately level, open and shaded sites, and offers hot showers, flush toilets, electrical hookups, a dump station and small playground for children. Pets are permitted on designated sites. Two special campsites are set aside for people with disabilities with a nearby family-assist restroom. END WEBSITE INFORMATION. We arrived in early May and stayed in the Hosack Run loop; the Chinquapin Hill Campground was scheduled to open for Memorial day weekend, so we know nothing of that area. OUR REVIEW IS OF THE HOSACK RUN AREA. We went first to the check-in building, which is quite new and beautifully done, and was staffed until 3:30 PM. Check in process is cumbersome; they would not assign a site at the registration office. We had to go to the campground, make note of preferred sites, then return to registration to see which sites were available, then get registered. The campground has 52 sites in a single loop. Sites are not as large or as well separated as the average public campground. The sites on the outside of the loop have no hookups; the first two sites on the outside are beautiful and back up on a river. Most, but not all, of the sites on the inside of the loop have electric hookups, some 30A and some 50A. A few sites are spacious and well separated, but several were in clusters of 2, 3, and even 6 sites (circle the wagons) - there were very few rigs in early May, but we would not want to be there during high season. There were a few unthreaded water hydrants around the loop. The dump station was very awkward; the concrete "funnel" leading into the opening was so steep that it was difficult to get the cover open wide enough to place the dump hose. The threaded hydrant at the dump station had very low flow; less than one gallon per minute. We would stay there again in off season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Generally we love Pennsylvania state park camping, but I feel impelled to give a warning to anyone who may be considering a stay at Caledonia. Although many of the sites looked very spacious, we were cramped into site 145. It appeared as if they converted a 6-space bathroom parking area into 3 sites, and we were squeezed in the middle, on asphalt, for the weekend. The nice hiking trails of the park were well maintained and well marked, but after a long hiking day, it was not very relaxing to return back to our site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$24
Water access was a little difficult. Campground is nice, but the surrounding area was terrific. Grounds are within a nice drive to Gettysburg. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$38
This was a pretty good campground, for a State Park. The site was well wooded, and yet level (didn't need to use levelers.) This was our first campground, as an RV'r. I've been a tent camper all my life, until now. There are no amenities (camp store, etc.) The swimming pool is HUGE. However, this (and the public park areas) are used heavily by the local community, so there were lots of people in the pool. The lake is not right next to the campsites, so you had to drive to it. Firewood was sold by camp hosts, within the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$19
Too many of the sites in the Hosack Run campground are too crowded, not at all what we expected based on our experiences with other state parks in Pennsylvania. When our neighbor backed in, his slide out was less than 3 feet from our awning. There are a few fairly good electric sites but not many. The non-electric sites on the outside of the loop looked very nice -- roomy and private. No electric in the shower houses from about 8 am to about 8:30 pm. Rather annoying push-button showers, although the water temperature was good. The sites in the other campground at Caledonia are spread out better and more private than those in Hosack Run, but only a handful have electric and most of those have little shade. That campground is also very hilly. We love camping in state parks but will not be returning to Caledonia. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$19
This beautiful state campground's setting is tall pines and a rocky running stream. We stated in the 50 amp sites (152) because we wanted to stay near my in-laws who have a big rig (150) and they wanted 50 amp. We chose only from knowledge of the map online, but if we would do it again, we'd choose another site - perhaps 132-136 because of they are level sites near the stream or else 177-183 on the other side because of level, big sites near the bathhouse. The bathhouse is no luxury (push button showers that start out cold but they get hot and no lights during day to save electricity) but they were clean enough. It's pretty, basic family camping at its best. The other campground at the park has the pool nearby but it looks much hillier and more difficult for bigger rigs without as much pretty shade. We will definitely return to Hosack. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com