206944 User submitted reviews online!!
Black Bear Cove was rated 8 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (423) 338-4399
CGID6508

Black Bear Cove

Camp Information
Sites
41
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   7   8   7   9   10   7   9   7   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We camped here several years ago and things have definitely changed for the worse. The bathroom and shower facilities were nasty. We were there 3 days and the facilities were never cleaned. The pool filter housing sprung a leak. Instead of fixing it, the owner turned off the filter pump. Pool became nasty real quick without filter running. We walked up to the lodge and were greeted with a heat wave when we walked in. Either the A/C didn't work or it was turned off. Overall, the place is run down. Either the owner does not care or the place is not generating the needed income to keep it up. It is really a shame, though. This is a beautiful location with lots of activities nearby (Hiawassee rafting, hiking, etc.). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
I've been using this site for 5 years and this is my first post. Since the last review, some things have obviously changed, so I wanted people to know. First: we reserved a specific site but someone was in it. The 'office/store' was not open so we had no choice but to pull in to another site. We found out later that the office is now at the lodge (I suppose, since we never actually saw it.) But, even if we had known that, we would never have been able to drive up that steep road in our 40' motorhome. When I finally got through to the office phone number, a man did drive down and offer to make our site stealer move. But, by that time, we had already pulled into another site. We never saw anyone who worked at the park again. So, the first thing you need to know is that the RV park office and store is now just restrooms and laundry. We didn't go inside. The next thing is that the restaurant is no longer in operation. One of the reasons we chose this park was based on the good reviews here. We ended up in a pull through, which was not bad, kind of hard to get in and out of, and in July heat, there was never any shade. Some of the back in sites (14 and under) were shady in the afternoon, but they were all taken and I don't think they were 50 amp (which we require to keep both a/c units going.) It's hard to find many parks that are truly big rig friendly, but when we were leaving, the windy road to get back to hwy 30 made this park just barely 'friendly' to us. Good thing my husband is a really good driver or we'd still be here. We did try the pool. There were about 5 or 6 people in it and that pretty much left no room for us, so we left really quick. I hate to be totally negative, but the first night, there was a water line break and the entire park had no water until mid-day the next day. The good thing was that we were able to go rafting. We only did the Hiwassee, but we've done the Ocoee lots of times and wanted to try rafting on our own for a change. It was a lot of fun. The scenery at the campground was nice, but a long walk to the river just to see it once or twice. It would have been nice to have a grill, Wi-Fi, a place to buy some water on site, some shade, a place to check in, garbage picked up more often, but other than that, well, we've seen worse places. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
The campground has incredible views and is close to the Ocoee River with lots of fun activities. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
The setting was as others said, just breathtaking! If we ever return we would ask for a backin along the woods line. The pull through sites were muddy and not level, all of them slanted down. To be level the front wheels would be off the ground! Baths and showers were filthy. The pool was very clean, electric good as was the cable TV, water pressure was a little low. Probably would not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Phone service NA when we called for reservations, but gambled and came anyway. Sure glad we did. Beautiful setting and views of the west side of the Smokey Mountains. Wide sites with 12, 50 amp and service for our ATT cell phone and Verizon wireless internet card. July was terribly hot, so some more shade would have been good, but the pool cooled us off at the end of a day of travel. Owner and others were very friendly. You can tell he has put his heart into making this a great destination. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
It is very easy to describe this place: awesome! The family that built this from the ground up, showed a lot of love for the land and environment. The staff who maintain it are excellent. My son and I made our first trip here and with the exception of going out to the grocery store, we took in what the Cherokee National Forest had to offer along with the Hiwassee River. The campground is within a very short walk to the river, and talk about pristine. They are adding to the whole campground and facility and I can only wish them the best. We have added this to our favorite list. Excellent and very family oriented. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
We were surprised at how pretty the area is. The pool was nice. It was very family friendly as well as pet friendly. The bad things are WiFi was stated to be available and was not due to "cable" problems. Their web site is not that accurate. It has various things that they say are there but when you arrive there are signs posted "coming soon". The staff was ok...not overly friendly. Overall I would still go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$35
This is an excellent campground. It has clean facilities. It's highly recommended! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$32
We enjoyed our stay here. It is a nice, comfortable RV park. The staff was friendly. I do have a few complaints. The store was not stocked very well. We needed toilet paper. They had none for our camper. The cable hookup only had a male end and they were not willing to provide a connector to make it work even though she said she normally had one on there and someone must have taken it. Lastly, the showers were disgusting. Hair and mold in the corners of the shower stalls along with other peoples soap and razors made me happy I was wearing my flip-flops. Like I said, the staff was very friendly. They just did not go out of there way to be very accommodating. I would recommend Black Bear Cove. Just make sure you have enough toilet paper with you. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$32
Good things: very clean restrooms, clean park, friendly staff, lots of trash cans throughout campground, cable-TV. Not so Good things: not all lots level/gravel sites when it rains strong majority are under water; septic and water hook-up 1 foot to 3 foot apart (too close); river is 450 feet or more from campsites; lots of rule with threats of fines for anything you do wrong; no shade (park is young, but still not enough trees planted for each site when developed); fire rings too high to enjoy a good old fashion campfire; expense/overpriced for what you get and what they have too offer (steep additional charges for more then 2 people, TV and TT) campground did have Wi-Fi, pool, pavilion, volleyball court, laundry room, and playground (did not use); had strong water pressure and must use a converter (was not told at check in we had to fill tank use water pump; however, the park attendant was very accommodating next day to let us borrow one); no activities for kids. Fishing license in Tennessee for out of state resident is very high so we did not fish. ($32 for 3 days per person). I am neutral on this one. Good for just overnight stays or travel throughs, not for long haul vacation. Good SAM club. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
We camped here with the local Good Sam's club "Sam's Dixie Travelers". It was pouring down when we arrived but from the welcome that we received you would have thought that it was nothing but sunshine outside. The staff were great the site that we had #21 was great and the view was super. While there the club had a vote on the campgrounds that we will go to next year and this one was selected again. Watched the TN vs FL game on cable. The only negative was the WiFi was not strong enough at this site. Took the laptop to the pavilion and it worked great. Watched the gliders sail over the mountains. What a site. They do not charge for WiFi anymore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
New park. The owners are very accommodating, however I was a bit surprised at the two pieces of paperwork I had to sign for "legal" purposes, I guess they think this protects them totally against liability, but it does not if they are of course neglectful in some way, but aside from that the park is new and is not real easy to get into. The gravel road is going to cause him problems during big rains, hopefully he has plans to blacktop in the future. Once in the park is surrounding by some nice scenery. One writer notes all the rules and then cites keeping a dog on a leash, I have been using RV parks for a lot of years and I have yet to find a RV park that did not have a rule requiring your dogs to be leashed! The pool looked nice and clean, the sites well taken care of, some people don't like the fact that their are not a lot of trees, but as long as it is not a hot summer day I like the fact that I have a clear view of the southern sky for my satellite dish! I would stay here again, we had a wonderful time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
This is a small, new park, therefore, not much shade. But, we enjoyed the beautiful scenery, secured walking path, friendly staff, and swimming pool. Only problem we encountered was the availability of laundry room. The park will be expanding soon with a new lodge, cabins, and chapel. We would love to return someday! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$33
The park is basically in a rolling open field. I sure don't recall seeing any shaded sites, unless you count shade from a nearby tree at sunset. There are no sites directly on the river. The pool is very small. Wi-Fi access is very weak in some spots. The park is very well landscaped. Being a brand new park, it will be interesting to see if the park is maintained well over the next few years. Some of the long-term RVs are starting to look trashy. There are several signs for future expansion of other facilities. Apparently the owner's kids hang out in the laundry room and the RV rental units to watch TV. It was a pain having to compete with them for a washer and dryer and seeing their clothes hanging all over the laundry room. Lots of rules, such as keeping a dog on a leash. Even though you have to sign a form acknowledging the rules, some people still let their dogs run without a leash in the nearby field. If you are going rafting on the Hiwassee, this park is probably your best option in the area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
This is an exceptional park with incredible views of the surrounding mountains. Spaces are wide enough to accommodate multiple slides and awnings. There is a large field to exercise your pets. Showers and restrooms are spotless, staff is always friendly and helpful. We have stayed here multiple times and always have had a great experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$48
We had just got our TT and wanted somewhere close to home but still out camping to try it out. This campground is still very new. The owners were great. They made their rounds to make sure everything was in order everyday. I would like to see a bigger play ground for the kids. Tennessee game on a huge projection screen and cook out was one of the activities while we were there. I noticed on their website a pool is going in this season. The down sides for me 1- it was just a big field with camp sites; 2- Not a lot to do in the campground (still new this is in their plans); 3- All roads and sights are gravel. (not sure if they plan to pave). All in all it was nice and if your are coming in from out of town with plans for area attractions I would strongly recommend this camp ground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com