220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Wooden Spoke Guest Ranch was rated 4 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (325) 573-2348
CGID6513

Wooden Spoke Guest Ranch

Camp Information
Sites
25
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$13



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   7   2   6   7   4   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2013
$13
We stayed because of the Passport rate, but here, you get what you pay for. The long driveway into the park is riddled with near unavoidable potholes. Tree branches overhanging the road are not cut back, so you have to choose between the potholes or branches scraping your roof. The office was closed even though it was midday. Roads within the campground are also unmaintained, and debris was embedded in the ground at our site. When we parked and plugged in, we found a well-established hornet's nest in the junction box. It was fun plugging in with them buzzing angrily around my head. We went to the pool, which looked inviting, but on closer inspection revealed leaves, dirt, and scorpions lurking at the bottom, with dead frogs floating in the water filters. The women's restrooms were dark and uninviting; we peeked in, but didn't enter. Would not stay here again for the $12.50, and certainly not for full price. If it weren't for the deer and farm animals, which were fun to look at, I would have given a lower rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
This park is different; think it was a former dude ranch. Our GPS incorrectly took us in on a very dirty, dusty road off highway 84. When we got to the park entrance, we saw the paved road we should have taken in from a little further North off highway 84. This old ranch had a number of buildings for hosting events; barnyard animals, a helicopter that came and went a few times and a lot of dust. We never saw nor spoke to park management. An answering service takes the calls and encouraged us to just show up as they usually have sites available. We simply left cash in the night drop and chose our own site which was pretty level. The dirt roads inside the park had potholes that we were able to negotiate OK. Except for the helicopter, that was interesting to watch, it was very quiet. I would stay here again if my RV was already dirty. I would not stay here in a clean RV nor arrive in the dark as it would be hard to avoid the potholes and figure which site would work for a big rig with towed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
This park is located in a rural area, just a couple of miles from the highway. Access is good, via paved county roads. The somewhat secluded location makes for a quiet camping experience so far as road noise is concerned. Although off the beaten path, one's impression is that the facility has seen better days. It does not appear as though any maintenance has been done in years, including the interior roads that are gravel and full of potholes. Many trees, which is nice, cause some interfere with vehicle traffic. Many sites are end-to-end, and very short. Water, sewer, and electricity seemed to work fine although the hook ups were in pretty marginal condition. Most of the park sites are take up by permanent campers, some of whom are obviously not neat freaks based on the assortment of scooters, motorcycles, BBQ grills, coolers, lawn chairs and assorted “stuff” laying around their sites. Although very friendly and seemingly helpful on the telephone the park staff was never available at the office. We never saw a host during our entire stay. We did not feel comfortable or safe here at all. We will not return and would not recommend this park to anyone. Sorry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$12
Wow! So quiet at night, except the trains, that were distant. Like a ghost town of a dude ranch, on it's last legs. Sites are easy to get into, fairly level, gravel mixed with broken glass. A few work camper residents leave early, but are quiet. A decent stop off US 84, and with Passport America, an OK value for full hookups. I would not go out of my way to avoid this place for one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$13
Don't know what the beef is by former reviewers. This was a DUDE RANCH converted to a camp ranch. Owner returned calls. Ate dinner w/ owner is very friendly. Cafe open when they have groups in. Food was very good and reasonable. Out under Texas sky, very quiet. About 1-1/4 mi. from Hwy. 84, paved roads to and into CG. Sites on slight slants, roomy, semi shaded some w/ fire pits. Verizon phone worked fine. Roof mounted satellite OK too. Stayed in 40' MH w/ pull car in one of their pull throughs. Would stay here again. Price was Passport America Member. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
There were no shower/bathroom facilities. There was no wi-fi; and, when I called about amenities and asked about cable, I was told they have cable. But, we were unable to receive said cable service. We were unable to receive cell phone service while there. There is a pool which was clean (with the exception of leaves that had blown into it -- but, in West Texas with the wind blowing, of course there will be leaves in the pool). This is a very rustic campground, and the only "shade" trees are mesquite trees -- which give limited (VERY limited) shade. There were several buildings which looked to be "motel" rooms for large groups that might come in. We were told they have a restaurant, but if so, we had no idea when/if it was even open. As stated before, there were several animals, and the only time we saw ANYONE else was later in the evening (just before it began storming) when a lady was feeding the animals. Also as stated before, we paid by leaving our payment in the mailbox. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2007
$13
If there were restrooms or showers, they were locked up. There is no laundry. No fire pits or grills and no picnic tables. The sites are gravel as are the access roads. Sites are 40' wide. There are some neat farm animals and deer and peacocks. There is no staff around. You just leave your payment in a mailbox. Trying to get a reservation by telephone is difficult. You get an answering service. It took me ten tries over three months to get a call back. The email address doesn't work, and US mail isn't answered. There are a couple of swings and slides. Maintenance has been neglected. This is formerly the Wagon Wheel Guest Ranch. This is not a destination campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com