206873 User submitted reviews online!!
Great Falls KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (406) 727-3191
CGID6516

Great Falls KOA

Camp Information
Sites
178
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$57



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   1   7   7   5   3   7   1   9   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$57
The best about this park is the staff. The store is well stocked. Other than that, don't bother. Very narrow sites that are difficult to get into and out of. WiFi is iffy and not available on the lower half. No swimming pool, no cable TV and local channels poor. Very expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$62
Sites too narrow and unlevel. Lots of "landscaping" boulders which clog the already too small roads. Lots of mud on the edges when it rained. Dead tree branches sticking out everywhere. The entire place was overgrown. Scratched the sides of our 38' motorhome trying to maneuver into a site that wasn't near big enough. NOT big-rig friendly at all (or medium sized for that matter). They should not allow any rigs over 30' in the place. We left after one night and went to another campground with enough room for our rig / car. Who ever designed this place only had tents in mind. Will never stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$57
The staff here is very friendly and the park is located very conveniently for everything in town. Nice walking trail. But the sites are very close together and somewhat hard to maneuver. Also, it's very over priced for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$66
This campground was okay. It had nice, shaded, but small spots. We were expecting a pool, thanks to the website, and instead found a water park type thing. Kids above the age of 6 wouldn't like it or be able to use it. The deepest point was about two feet. The Great Falls KOA had nice views and little gardens, no fruit or vegetables at the time, though. They had free firewood, which was convenient, and free cookies in the afternoon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$62
At first glance, the park is beautiful with lots of foliage. Our pull through spot turned out to not be full hook up, and short. There is not a lot of room between sites. Our neighbors smoked us out of our RV, trying to light a fire with wet wood right under our windows. It is difficult to reach electric and water hookups because of all of the shrubbery and railroad ties. The kids did enjoy the waterpark until a storm hit. The laundry was adequate. Much of the equipment was out of order or not working properly if it was in order. Pulling out of our pull through was difficult. The spots aren't long enough to park the vehicles in front of, or behind the trailers, so you have to park across the front or rear of the spot. Many vehicles have bumpers hanging out in the roads which can cause a problem pulling out of a spot. It was a tight squeeze to get out. We stayed here because we had a KOA discount card, but I would not stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$65
Spaces were very small, packed in against next site. With a 38' rig, had to backup twice to make turns to get to site. Price was outrageous! Will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$50
Very tight spots for 40' rig towing a car. Office staff advised to disconnect car before heading to spot. Helpful staff. Rental bikes all had flat tires. Would stay again if rate was closer to $35-$40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
Beware of back-in sites because of over grown trees protruding into site. We got lucky and didn't back all the way into site - thereby missing a huge limb that would have taken out the top roof line of our RV. "Free firewood" was termite infested. Rose bushes, trees, landscaping all over grown. "Pool" area consists of an area that at most is 18" deep - fine for very tiny ones but older kids will not enjoy. Staff was friendly enough and this KOA needs much work. Hookups are shared and hard to access depending on how many plants/weeds are overgrown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$55
Quiet campground. Lots of landscaping between sites makes for very private feel. Great nature trail any city would be proud of. Off the street a few hundred yards means no road noise. It was 3 miles off the interstate down a main street in Great Falls or we would have given them 10/10. Great pool area for the kids. Playscapes too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$72
We have camped here before but never again. It was overpriced before, but $50 for a tent site is ridiculous. We ended up moving to a cabin due to a storm and had no porch light and it took them until 11:30 pm to tell me they couldn't do anything about it. The bathrooms were not very clean and many were out of toilet paper and had overflowing wastebaskets. In past years they had been cleaner. This place has always had a problem with slow service, not enough people at their front desk during busy times and this year was even worse. If you are paying these prices you should expect faster service. And friendlier. We will stay in a hotel next time, never staying here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$55
The entrance is narrow, congested and unkempt. The interior roads are narrow with over grown shrubs and trees making it difficult to get to your site. There is little or no gravel just dusty road that are a mess when the wind blows and it blows every day in Great Falls. It is greatly over priced, worth less than half they charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$80
It is a nice enough campground but the rate is extremely high for what is there. We have stayed at similar campgrounds with very reasonable rates. We found the access very tight for parking fifth wheel trailer. The staff were very friendly. There is only one garbage dumpster for entire campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$62
Nice park, an older park with very narrow sites. The width of the sites is something to be desired, no room to stake out pets and spouses. Otherwise a great park, we spent two days just vegging out there. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$67
The campground amenities were very nice. Our children enjoyed the splash pool and playground. The store was well stocked and there was free firewood. The bathrooms were very clean. Navigating to the sites is very tight because the sites aren't very long, so trucks and trailers hang out into the road a little ways. We have a fifth wheel whose total length is just under 32 feet and a long-bed truck and we didn't fit in our site. When we went to our site we had to stop and ask someone to move their truck so we could get by. Unfortunately, while we were there a motor-home scraped a parked trailer, causing damage to both. There are bushes that separate the sites, which is nice for privacy, but doesn't leave room for much more than a picnic table. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$67
We really enjoyed our stay at this campground. We have 3 kids under 10 and the waterpark was just perfect for them. Safe and shallow and not terribly busy even during the hot afternoon. The kids also liked feeding the chickens and renting the pedal bikes. The nightly entertainment was terrific and the pancake breakfast was delicious. We arrived in time for the July 4th fireworks display put on by the employees which was really well done. WiFi was inconsistent during our stay. The roads are gravel and really need to be paved. Potholes filled with water when it rained and the roads stayed muddy for days afterwards. The interior roads are tight and we saw several big units have difficulty getting in and out of their sites. We have a 35 foot fifth wheel but we were ok as we had one of the wider sites. Some sites are quite narrow and have a slope to them. Like most KOA's, this place is not cheap especially when paying for extra kids and a pet. However, if you have kids and are planning on staying for a few days, then this place is worth the extra money. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$62
Let me say at the outset that we will stay here again, but only because of the tremendous bluegrass musicians who perform here nightly during the summer months. They are absolutely folk fest quality, and if you consider how much you would pay anywhere else to see them, the campsite becomes more economical. Besides that, the price they charge for this place is outrageous. (It would have been $70 without the KOA membership discount). The place just isn't that special. On the plus side, kids will love the (free) waterpark. On the minus side, management seems to have put lots of money into certain amenities (granite washroom countertops, quality landscaping around the rear of the office), but not into any of the campsites. The roads and campsites are desperately in need of gravel (the entire campground turns into a mudbowl when it rains), and the hookups at my site were well into the bushes. For $63 a night, I expect at the very least that "the basics" have been taken care of. Beyond "the basics", WiFi was down for our entire stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2009
$52
If you have young kids, they'll like this place. But I thought $52 for water/electric was too expensive. I wish I would have stayed at Dick's instead, but didn't want to drive all the way back across town. Staff was great and the facilities were clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$56
Nice campground with free firewood and friendly staff. Sites are small: our 10-man tent took up almost all of our site. Price was too expensive: they charged $49 a night for a tent, plus $7 for every person over 2 in the group. So 3 people cost $56 a night, in a tent! Although we all liked the campground, it became packed over the weekend and very noisy. Plus, they had hired some teens who made alot of noise in the early morning while working on the campsites around us, and they became rude when we asked them to be quiet. Got alot of stares for the remainder of the vacation for an over-priced campground. Other than the noise and high price, this campground has it all and we all enjoyed the veggies growing all about the grounds. Would go again, but the owners need to rethink prices: shouldn't try to get rich off tent campers. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$52
Very friendly and helpful staff. An older KOA with small, but private spaces. Not Big Rig friendly, and at this rate they should have cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
I liked this KOA and rate it a 7 (6.5?) overall but with some conditions. First if you are a “big rig” of any sort there are clearance issues top, bottom, and side, in most of the sites. Narrow roads, tight turns and untrimmed branches are the rule. A prior review would lead you to believe that the place is ugly which is not the case. Still the brush is a visual and operational detriment. Count on being led to your site by a cheerful, enthusiastic teen who may or may not have a clue about bus or trailer steering geometry. The good news is that once situated the sites are fairly private and separated from the neighbor. Given the amount of time and money they evidently spend on flower plantings I can’t understand the lack of tree trimming. Level is hit or miss and again very site dependent. If your bunking in a behemoth and value your paint job I’d advise a pre-entry golf cart ride to the proposed site to check your probability of getting in, They have good internet, a very well stocked store with a snack bar/soda fountain and of course the water park to engage the young. It’s suitable for sliding and splashing but not swimming. The 20+ miles of improved bike trails along the Missouri River are second to none in the US and reason enough to visit GF. The Lewis and Clark Interpretive Center is a gem. Free live music is offered for two hours in the evening. No cable-which at $50 a night is a little on the cheap side. We took a ride by the other RV facility listed for Great Falls and would pretty much agree with the reviews written about it. Given another trip to Montana we would return to GF KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
An old KOA with tight turns and narrow spaces. The roads were in need of resurfacing. The showers and washrooms were very good. Friendly staff who moved us to an alternative site after a problem with the space required for the slide out and awning. We are unlikely to stop here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$60
This park is overpriced unless your kids are under 10 so they can enjoy the small waterpark for the day. With two teenagers in tow, they wanted nothing to do with it. Other than that the rest of the park was typical KOA. The site was adequate with the stated features but nothing out of the ordinary. Even though we were close to the office we could only get the WiFi to work maybe 30% of the time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
If you value your RV, want water, cleanliness, or for that matter any kind of service at all, stay away from this dump. I should have just turned around and gone elsewhere when I saw that even the entry drive had not been properly maintained for big rigs with branches hanging down everywhere. The next clue should have been when we pulled up to our "site" and the branches were dead and hung down to about the 8' level. The roads and sites are grotesquely narrow for anything other than popups and short trailers. After the staff came and cleared out the overhead we pulled in. We were given assurances that we could pull through and out. This turned out to be blatant lies which we discovered once we had wedged ourselves into this inadequate site. While I had asked for an satellite friendly site, this was anything but. So I looked around the park and discovered unoccupied sites that were not so overgrown. I went to the office and they allowed me to change. That was when the fun began. It was impossible to pull out of this site! There was so much overgrown, dead, stiff vegetation that it was impossible. Added to this were stupid rocks and large stone planters used at the apexes of the sites for "decoration". After struggling for 45 minutes we were finally able to back out, but not without scratches all over the side of our motorhome. We then relocated to the other site with the hope that our troubles were over. Guess again. The water stopped working, the Wi-Fi stopped working, the pool area and hot tubs were filthy, and the evening "entertainment" was a pair of locals who shouldn't be allowed in front of mike. The vegetation on this campground is all dead with only green secondary growth. The old, hard dead wood sticks out everywhere to snag anything larger than a popup. They even treat the tent campers poorly. The tent campsites are all at the lower edge of the park so when it rains, they get drowned. Then, to really stick it to them, they water the tent sites for 12 hours even after a 2" overnight rain! When you add the fact that this park has not been re-paved (gravelled) for years, what you get is a sea of mud. To add insult to injury, this was the most expensive KOA we have ever stayed at. I have decided that KOA stands for KRAPGROUND of America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$45
We couldn't have been more disappointed with this KOA campground. When we checked in, we found they had assigned us a 37' pull-through site for our 38' motorhome towing a car. They appeared dumbfounded at my question as to what we were to do without the extra footage available. A young woman stepped forward and did manage to find us a longer site, but we barely fit. The site was extremely narrow with dead bushes and tree limbs that really needed pruning. Their web site said that they won an award in 2008, but we don't know what the criteria was to qualify. We will never stay there again or recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$44
The park is too big if you ask me. It is very busy. When you get there it is a tight squeeze to park by the office. The front of the office can only accommodate one or 2 check-ins. They have a nice water park but my son wanted to play in a pool and not get splashed by a bunch of wild kids. NO POOL :-( . I give a good rating because it is all that KOA is about and the reason we go in the first place. They might want to watch who they rent sites to though. When we were there, some punks were renting a cabin and they kept tearing up and down the roads the wrong way in a beat up Honda Accord. The punk driving the car had a face that was just begging to be punched! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$48
This is a large beautiful RV park in a beautiful area. It is nicely landscaped with trees or bushes between every campsite. Firewood is provided for free. Freshly baked cookies are provided for free in the office. Wireless internet is free (with a code from the office), but some of their hotspots seemed to be having problems during my visit, so I experienced some difficulties accessing it from my site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
The Great falls KOA is one of the nicest KOAs I've ever stayed in. It's a little pricey, but the experience was wonderful. Lots of shade, a water park, fruit trees and vegetable gardens (pick what you want), daily pancake breakfast with locally made chokecherry syrups, free firewood delivered to our site. If you stay be sure and catch the free nightly Bluegrass performance. We were there over the Fourth of July and the owners put on a huge fireworks display. Bravo! An excellent experience. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$45
Kids waterpark was a hit. Sites are short but managable. Best bathrooms we had in a 16 day trip by far - hotel quality. Give them a try when in Great Falls - Nice Folks! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$71
The kids enjoyed the pool and waterpark except that there were lots of sticks, bees and bugs floating in it. The free cookies were a big hit and were delicious! The bathrooms and laundry were clean. The laundry was a bit pricey. The sites were private and separated by hedges so you weren't on top of your neighbor. The firewood was free which was a nice treat. The staff were all friendly, polite and helpful. The pancake breakfast was also a nice treat but a little expensive if you wanted anything other than pancakes. I found 4 dead birds in and around our site but once they were reported to the office someone came and took them away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Very tight sites. Your neighbor can look into your rig and their campfire pit is 6ft away from the slideout. We only stayed here one night. Most staff was friendly, the assistant manager was rude, bossy and was nasty! Be certain you have an extension cord and an extra hose handy, the hookups are at the end of the drives far away. Vegetation was way overgrown and scraped the sides of the trailer getting into the site. Can't unroll awning, not enough room. Very dusty ! One of the lower-end KOA's out there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
Very nice. Lots of vegetation that could be cut back a little. Extremely friendly staff and well stocked store. Stayed in a 38' MH, and turns were a little tight and hard to avoid bushes. Site was level and park was well maintained. Although pricy, would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$60
We stayed in what I would consider one of the nicer sites very close to the office. Very well treed in our spot though I would agree with others that they need to trim the bushes back somewhat and was fairly dusty. Firepits situated far too close to the trailer. Fairly difficult time leveling the trailer compared to most we've been to. Very nice waterpark/pool area for kids though water was far too cold to enjoy for long. Campground store was well stocked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$45
They took our reservation for a 40 foot 5th wheel. They showed us two sites that were absolutely unacceptable. We drove into one site and were lucky to get out. They showed us another that we wouldn't have fit into either. If you have a big rig, I would recommend going elsewhere, which is what we needed to do. We normally like KOA but this one couldn't accommodate us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$48
Park was very nice, really well kept, flowers in bloom, restrooms and showers were spotless, free firewood, free pool and hot tub, a little pricey but a very nice place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$47
We just camped here one night and it was okay, but very dusty. Our site was level but saw a lot of campers/motorhomes who really seemed to have problems leveling. We camped here in a truck/camper and probably would not stay here again, even though Staff friendly and helpful. A water park is available for people with children so that could be a plus for a family who need something to entertain the little ones. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$48
While this is a great RV park if you need activities for kids (they do have a small water park), it's way over priced if you're not using these amenities when compared to other RV parks in this general area. It has a very nice woodsy / campground feel, but unfortunately the vegetation is overgrown to the point of being a problem for larger rigs. Many of the pull-through sites are difficult to get into or out of due to the narrow roadways, tight row spacing, and overgrown vegetation. When pulling our 43' long travel trailer - tow vehicle combination out of our site, heavy branches from the overhanging trees left heavy scratches down the side of our 25' travel trailer. Our pull-through site was also very unlevel in two different directions, requiring leveling blocks, etc. The upside to this park is that lots of staff were present, are efficient, and very friendly. And while I won't recommend you avoid this park (unless you have a large rig), I doubt we'll stay here again mainly due to the price and tight spaces. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$50
Private oasis on outskirts of town. Beautiful flowers and landscaping, level sites. Kids played in water park and loved it. Friendly staff and great pancake breakfast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com