214755 User submitted reviews online!!
Route 66 RV Park was rated 5 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (505) 281-0893
CGID6521

Route 66 RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   9   8   7   4   6   4   2   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2014
$30
This is a convenient little RV park located in a remote part of New Mexico. Overall there's nothing terribly wrong about it, but it's nothing special either... thus my mediocre rating. Typical of many RV parks in New Mexico, both the sites and interior roads are all dirt (not gravel). We had the unfortunate timing of pulling in just as a much needed rain shower let loose and the dirt around our site turned into a sticky goo making a mess of our shoes, RV, and tow vehicle. There's evidence of improvements being done to the park, so in time it may turn into a nicer place. It'd certainly look a lot better if someone would pick up the trash and clutter we noticed laying around here and there. The nightly rate seemed a little high to us for basically getting only a place to park with hookups but no amenities. We've paid a lot less at nicer RV parks for a lot more. But then there's really no competition for this RV park in the neighborhood, so they're charging what the market will bear. AT&T cell service was weak and unusable forcing us to fall back to Verizon which had LTE data. All that said, we'd stay here again if needed... UNLESS it's raining! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
This is our third stay at this park, for being located in the rural southwest it's come a long way over the last few years. The maintenance workers are always working hard on something to upgrade the park. They are always willing to lend a hand and answer any questions we had. Managers were helpful, also. Our kids rode their bikes and played in the grass. It's easy in and easy out - look forward to visiting next time through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
We saw the billboard and were very tired from our travels. We did exit and go to this park. We were looking for a 50amp site to discover the few they have were taken. Nevertheless the hostess met us very late in the dark and guided us in. She offered us her adapter to get us through the night. The park only takes cash for now. We did not hear the freeway noise even being so close to the interstate. Looks like park is under construction yet well lit at night and plenty of room. You will not find friendlier managers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This was not where we wanted to be but due a breakdown on the road, we ended up here. It was just a few gravel sites on a hillside with no laundry, restrooms, or showers, but the manager was very nice even though cash was the accepted form of payment. Thankfully we had some that day. The site we had was fairly level and the WiFi worked very well even in storms. We had no issues with anything here even if it was not our first choice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Pretty much just scratched out of a rocky hill side. No trees, no shade, no grass-- just all gravel, no shower/restroom facilities (I'm self contained, but it's still nice to have, especially for $30). Noise from I-40 was present, but I can sleep through anything. On the plus side, utilities worked well, manager was friendly enough, and I got a few TV channels on the antenna. Okay I guess if just passing through and needed a spot ,but there are much nicer looking parks (though didn't use) west about 10 miles. Think I'd try one of those next time through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
We stayed here despite the negative reviews. I'm glad we did; the older gentleman checking us in was very friendly to us. In fact he came over and visited us briefly twice. Yes, you have to come with cash but we'd read that in the reviews and so were prepared. What people need to understand is that this is a park under construction and they are doing a lot of work to upgrade this formerly abandoned park and I'm sure it will be very nice some day. Currently the sites are pretty rough and not level. But there is a heck of a view to the north. I look forward to going back some day and seeing the progress that's being made here. I wish them all the best! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
This may someday be a nice campground, but not yet. They are indeed doing a lot of work so right now you can only expect dirt sites that are mostly not very level. The only staff encountered was the guy collecting money. He walked up to the site, said that will be $30 cash, got his money and walked away. I guess not everybody is friendly. As far as 50 amp service, I couldn't find any. I walked around and checked several sites, could only find 30 amp. For an overnight stay, close to I-40, this will do. Nothing more, nothing less. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
This park is under construction and renovation. When it gets completed, it will be nice to have a park between Santa Rosa and Albuquerque. It has potential. We had full hook-ups for the one night that we stayed. We would possibly stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
This park is now called Route 66 RV Park (formerly Red Arrow Campground). It is fairly clean. Located between I-40 and Route 66, there is some traffic noise. Sites are not especially level, have no shade, and are mostly dirt with a little gravel. Roads are wide, mostly dirt, and have ruts from large trucks. Staff are friendly, but can be hard to find. Verizon data service works well. Payment is cash only; no discounts are offered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Okay so after reading the reviews on this place, I did NOT want to stop here. However, we were super tired from driving all day, and as far as my husband was concerned is was a place to rest our heads. So we get here and OMG, the lady that came out to show us where to park was so NICE. She got up out of bed at 12:00am to show us what spaces were available. That is something that had not happen before. All of the places we called did not answer because it was "AFTER HOURS." But not the Red Arrow: they were super great to us and we will come back. Also this park is under a new owner, and they are really cleaning up the place. A great stay for $20.00. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
What a dump! This is basically a few gravel sites carved out of a hillside where most of the occupants appear to be semi-permanent. Lots of old cars, junk, and clutter around the various aging trailers. No one was at the office; a phone call to the number posted on the wall brought the owner around later to collect his fee, cash only. If there are any amenities such as restrooms, we couldn't find them. Since it is right beside the highway and in the area we wanted to visit, we stayed one night while hunting something which would feel more secure. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Definitely a one-nighter. This place is really run down. The sites are not too level, there is trash everywhere, and the permanent residents have plenty of junk piled around their trailers. The little town of Edgewood has a Wal-Mart and fuel. Noise from Historic Route 66 on one side of the park and I-40 on the other could be a problem for some. Stay here when you're desperate, then move on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Park is being used mainly by some "pipe line crews" that are working in the area. Park also has some long term residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com