206673 User submitted reviews online!!
McFarland Park Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (256) 760-6414
CGID6557

McFarland Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   9   9   9   9   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
This is a nice campground and excellent value for all visiting in the Florence/Sheffield/Tuscumbia area. Sites are relatively level, good spacing, long enough for big rigs, and have everything except cable and Wi-Fi. Antenna TV was quite limited. Sites are available in trees, backed in to a bayou area or backed into sites along the Tennessee river. The latter are perhaps 100 feet from the river with a small park road between the sites and the river. We will return! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$18
If you are in the Tuscumbia area, this is the place to stay. Drive north of town, cross the bridge and here you are in Florence at McFarland park. Had a nice quiet site along the water beneath tall shade trees. Sites are on grass or dirt. Restrooms were of an older design but well cared for. Very nice lady at the check-in. You will be a lot happier here than the three places available in Tuscumbia. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
This campground is owned by the City of Florence. It has 3 rows of sites. One row has a view of the Tennessee River, one runs down the middle and one is next to the Tennessee River backwaters. The tent sites are right along the river. Half of the campground has tall pines for shade while the other half does not. Some of the sites along the backwater are sloped down to the water between the pads, so the ground may not be flat between you and the next site. Picnic tables are concrete and the pads are asphalt. There are no fire rings so you have to bring your own. Our antenna picked up no television channels at all and they do not have cable. The marina has a restaurant with a bar. Some sites may require 2 sections of sewer hose. It is best to plan your route so that you do not have to drive through downtown Florence, because of a right curve to Rt. 20 that is not well labeled just before the bridge over the Tennessee River. The park is right off of AL SR20 (Coffee Road). The park has a fishing pier and disc golf. Downtown Florence is very nice with restaurants and upscale shops. The home of Helen Keller is in nearby Tuscumbia, Alabama and has "The Miracle Worker" outdoor drama in June & July. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
For the money $18 per night you cannot get a better deal. No pool, hot tub, Internet or other amenities, that is why I did not give it a 10 On top of that people are friendly, Sue in the office made a reservation for us over the telephone $3 additional charge., We arrived on a weekend and office were closed, camp ground host meets us and assigned us a site, very helpful and friendly did not get his name. CG is right on the river, it is quite and nice, full 50 amp services up to date utility's WS&E. The sites are very large or I should say some of them are. We are in a 43 foot motor home and we are located in the "open section" Approximately 10 sites or so very large sites, large enough for the largest of Motor homes, open as in no trees and level , 40 feet between sites paved roads and sites and patio with table is on concrete. Many of the sites are in a treed area, I am not sure if 43 foot RV could fit on them, surly not on all of them perhaps some, be sure to inquire. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$13
The only reason we could not give this park a 10 is they don't have WIFI or cable. Great park host, neat & clean. Making reservations with Sue is so easy, she is such an asset! We love the park and would certainly go back when we are in the area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$15
This is a beautiful spot on the Tennessee River; paved roads/trails along river for biking or walking. This is a popular 'fish camp' for locals; motorhomes and tents all together, and LOTS of kids, but we loved it and will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$18
Excellent park and value. Great vista of the Tennessee River in the center of a metropolitan area. One thing to note the local police use the roads in this park as an income source for the city. Every day we were there a local policeman in a marked pickup was making traffic stops in the park in the 20MPH zone, could the 5MPH campground zone be exempt? Beware. Senior Rate at 62 is $15/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$18
Agree with prior reviews, this is one nice park and a bargain to boot! We stayed here for a week and wished it could have been longer. The park does not offer cable or Wi-Fi or we would have scored it a 10. We will stay here again if we are ever back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Best value for the money in 22,000 mi. of travel. Beautiful location on Tenn. River. Spacious, level sites, nice playground for kids. Would have rated a 10 if there had been Wi-Fi. Rate reflects Sr. discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
Rate reflects the discount for campers over age 62. Beautiful, peaceful surroundings and friendly, knowledgeable hosts made this a 10 star park! Spaces are under tall trees, wide and parking is on pavement. Each site has a concrete picnic table. No park Wi-Fi, but area has a strong Verizon signal. Do not try to camp here over the 7/4 weekend, that weekend sells out in January. We will definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$18
We liked this place. The lady that takes the reservations was extremely helpful. She made us feel at home. The sites are spaced well and nicely kept. Lots of security. Lots of trees. Beautiful scenery. For the price-you can't beat it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
We came to this campground based on review on RVParkReviews.com, and because it was convenient to the "Miracle Worker" play in Tuscumbia. For all the great ratings prior to this one, we expected more from it. We left with a so-so attitude for this campground. The sites are not necessarily side-by-side, but they were compact. The sites by the water (a stagnant green/brown slough, not the Tennessee River) were steep-sided, and there was little level ground for chairs. Many sites had no shade (on the western end of the campground). Camp host was all business. Picnic tables were needing repair. There is a park roadway cruised by the public between the campground at the Tennessee River. Restrooms were okay, and I would not shower in the bathouse (a bleaching was needed). AT&T phone service was excellent. DTV service was poor, at best, with only PBS and an independent being received. Florence Police swept through the park after 10 PM to clear all who may still be in the park, except for the campers. Overall, it was a trailer park experience without the long-termers. We would not camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
This is an excellent park for the money. The sites are very wide, level, and a mix of shade and sun. It is located next to the TN River. The sewer hookups are very far away, so difficult to use if you don't have a long hose. This is a large public park so there is traffic through the campground until it closes at 11 pm. We saw several police cars patrolling the park. Sites are first come, first served for location, but reservations can be made to hold a site. The city allows stays up to 45 days between Memorial Day and Labor Day, and indefinite stays during the rest of the open season. There is a marina with boat ramps, a fishing pier, playground, disc golf, etc. Downtown is close enough to bike ride to, as is the Rosenbaum House which is a Frank Lloyd Wright House you can tour. We would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
Beautiful setting along the river. You can see barges go by. Limited restroom facilities. Nice level sites, some a little tight. Located in a city park with a marina and lots of places to hike, fish, and bike ride. Near local museums and other attractions. I'd go back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
Beautiful view of the river. Really enjoyed that. Sewer too far away from camper. Had to move camper and dump as we left. Not crowded on this early weekend in March. Very nice host. Park was quiet and close to city conveniences without the noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
We have stayed here several times and love it. There is a nice playground for the grand kids to play on. We stayed in a fifth wheel and it was easy to park. The view of the river was great. The camp host was very nice and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
Great river views with some interesting barge traffic! There are shady and sunny spots. We received good Verizon and satellite signals. There were some folks that just were not into common courtesies, like leaving peanut shells, dog droppings, etc., and grossly violating the posted speed limit. We had the breaker trip on our 50 amp for no apparent reason once. And, as mentioned before, the sewer hook ups are not conveniently located. Overall a beautiful and quiet location and a great deal for the price. We would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$15
This is an excellent facility with a super view of the river. We use this park to visit friends on our Northern journey. It is one of the finest city campground facilities in the nation. The engineers made a major error when the park was renovated. The sewer locations are high and are not near the pads. Some sites are worse than others, but it is almost impossible to connect without 2 sections of hose. We will definitely use this wonderful park in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2008
$15
Nice city park with great location on the Tennessee river. Quiet. Easy in and out. Nice folks. Often used by locals. No shade in area for big rigs so would be hot in summer without your own canopy. Table, grill but no fire ring. Great view of water traffic and you can take an hour and 1/2 tour with lunch on a paddlewheeler down the river for $20.00. Will stay again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Park was better than expected. Sites were level, clean and spacious. Park is right on the Tennessee river. It was quiet and comfortable. Access was easy. We enjoyed both the views and other campers. Everybody was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$15
We live in Florence but didn't want to travel far from home to camp one weekend so we decided to go to McFarland. What a pleasant surprise, and right in our own backyard! The recent renovations provided sewer and what a pleasant surprise that was! It is a small campground and the sites are pretty close together, but a lot of them are very shaded. The kids rode bikes around the campground and then up to the marina and to the big playground. They have "Funland" next door which is a water slide park and goofy golf. It isn't by any means a big water park, but is does have one water slide and one water flume. The goofy golf is very outdated so we don't play it, but the kids like the water slide. There is a restaurant at the marina, but you are very close to "downtown Florence" and Trowbridges is the oldest restaurant around and they serve wonderful ice cream and brownies, chicken salad sandwiches and chili dogs. It will only take you 5 minutes from the campground, so check it out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$18
We stayed on the back side of the campground along the slough, where there are plenty of shade trees. Most of the campsites used to be shaded by tall pine trees until it was hit by a tornado 3 years ago and several hundred trees were lost. In spite of this, it is still a very nice campground, just 5 minutes from downtown. The bathhouse is well-maintained & there is a washer and dryer. The sites are big enough but not overly roomy. There is a safe, friendly atmosphere. My husband enjoyed fishing off the nearby pier. Many local residents camp here regularly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
This was a pleasant surprise. The facility has new pavement on the roads and sites. The sewer, water, and electric are also recently renovated. The park is located on the Tennessee River. We were able to watch barges moving on the river. The park also has tent spaces without utilities. A golf course, marina, picnic areas, baseball, and other facilities are in the park. We were very pleased with this park. They do take reservations and are open 365 days. The recent directory does not reflect this correct information. Our rate reflects the "spring special" rate and senior citizen rate. $8.00 for full hookups is a bargain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com