220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Lockhart State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (512) 398-3479
CGID6558

Lockhart State Park

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   9   9   9   9   9   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
What a jewel! Sweet 9-hole golf course, very well kept. Sites 4-7 offer fairway views. Nice pool for hot Texas afternoons. Most sites have shade trees. Nice hiking trail along the creek. Within 5 miles of really great Texas BBQ joints...yum! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This is an OK park. The campsites are nice, treed and well may maintained. The "stream view" is not much. Barely a stream - not enough for swimming or kayaking. Saw some people fishing. The toilets were good, but the showers were terrible. It's a good park for bicycling. Really, the best part about this park is its close proximity to Lockhart and the BBQ it is famous for. Be sure to go to Smitty's while you are there. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
We stayed here with another family. We had sites 11 and 12 which gave us a large space along the creek. It was dried up so there wasn't any fishing, etc available. The kids did enjoy exploring the riverbed. I would certainly stay here again. The pool is a nice size. The park is close to town and the barbeque places that Lockhart is well known for. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$21
Great state park. Golf course right across the access road. Each site had a covered picnic table and plenty of room. The river sites are not for big rigs as the trees have low branches and are extremely un level. The golf course circle sites are all long and level. Nice state park with full hookups. You do have to add the state park entrance fee to your site costs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$22
A gem of a state park. Located on a 9 hole golf course. Very scenic and quiet. Close to town. Lots to do in the area. Utilities all worked well. Clean, well maintained park. Small and intimate. Made many friends among the other campers. We were here for 4 nights and hated to leave. May come back as a host someday. Wonderful place if you want quiet and calm. Great trails through out the park. Great BBQ restaurants nearby in the historic town. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
We were going to stay one night at this charming little state park and ended up begging for two more nights. Yes, it is one of only two parks in Texas with an actual 9 hole golf course in the park. The head ranger and staff were all incredibly friendly and accommodating to our needs. Golf is inexpensive and great for what it was, and there are plenty of areas to walk the dogs. The RV parking is divided into two areas, an older area for 10 tents and smaller rigs (not much grass), and a grassy "circle" area with pavement pads for backing in 10 large rigs, which haas full hook-ups and is much nicer. Some have views of the golf course, but all face out so have views other than each other. I did reservations on line with Texas Parks and I am sure this is a popular park. Will stay here again. Golf all day and BBQ at night, and located only about two miles from downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
For the strangest of all reasons: we camped here for four nights and three of those nights we were the ONLY folks in sites 1-10. How totally bizarre. This RV park is in the middle of a nice 9 hole golf course. Even if you don't play golf, you can rent a golf cart for $11 for almost all day, to explore the golf course and part of the park. (They tell you to stay off the park roads, but no one really enforced that.) Check in was a breeze and they had some of the nicest girls in the world working the front desk. There is NO Wi-Fi and virtually NO cell signal. I had Verizon and my hotspot was really, really slow. I had one bar the entire time here, but the moment I left the park it went to four bars. My wife has T-Mobile and her hotspot only worked a couple of times. Sites 1-10 are full hookups with sewer: they are large sites. Sites 11-20 are electric and water only and next to a stream. You really need to have a small trailer to maneuver around the trees and stuff to get to the sites. There is a nice pool: it's about 3 feet to 11 feet deep. At one time there were 3 life guards and 6 of us swimmers. There is also a kiddie pool with a water spray fountain inside. Lockhart has the best BBQ in the world: it's only about 5 minutes from the park to this fantastic BBQ. Park has good water pressure. There are some nice trails, but they are sort of grown over so wear long pants if you go hiking. You can pick up about 16 local Austin and San Antonio channels over the air: 8 of them are in Spanish. Sites 1-10 are back in sites but are extremely wide, and very level. I had no problem backing in at all. Each site has a nice BBQ grill, fire pit, and a good covered picnic table. There is a good playground for the kids if you have smaller kids. The county prisoners ( easy to see as they are wearing the old fashioned, striped uniforms) clean the park and restrooms, and they repair things around the park. I was told that they have never had any issues with them at all. I would camp here again in a heartbeat We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$24
It was a rainy weekend but still a very nice experience. Sites 1 to 10 are large, paved, well separated, and easy to back into. Nice covered tables. Great family park with large open areas, pool, playground. 9 hole golf course for $11. Excellent over the air (no cable) TV. Smaller tent sites were well shaded and nicely located along creek. 7" rain last month caused wide spread creek flooding and blocked road, but 1" we had was not even noticed. Texas needs the rain! Great barbeque in town. $18 camping + $3 each daily admission. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Small park, clean, quiet, level asphalt site, small gravel areas, no dirt or dust, located on golf course, excellent park hosts/rangers. No Verizon data signal in the area. Blacks BBQ is the best! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Rate reflects the $6 day use fee. Very nice RV sites right on the 2nd fairway of the golf course. Sites are nicely spaced with very good electrical power and water pressure. Grass in the center of the loop is a little sparse since this area has not had very much rain this year. Golf course is in fair shape. Didn't get to meet the hosts as they never came around to say howdy. (We host in state parks and always try to greet new campers when they arrive at the park.) Great place to get away and relax. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$31
Great State Park. Very family friendly. Our dogs loved the dog park. A little hard to get into full utility sites. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$13
Price paid reflects using the Texas State Parks annual pass with one 50% off coupon. Very nice park. Roomy, well-space sites and full hookups, including sewer (rare for Texas State Parks). Park is on a golf course. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Clean little state park just outside of Lockhart and convenient to San Marcos and Austin. Only has about 20 campsites total, so it's very quiet. The full hookup loop is adjacent to the golf course for those who like to play. It's important to note that while the park has pull-through sites, these ARE NOT full-hookup sites. The full-hookups are back ins as described by previous reviewers. We got a nice, shady little site on the Fairway View loop and stayed for a week. I enjoyed the beautiful, star-filled skies at night and viewing all the structures within the park built by the CCC in the 30s. While you are in town, be sure to have some BBQ. It's practically a local ordinance that you do! The downside: no Wi-Fi and the park is just outside of 3G range. If you rely on your Internet, be prepared to GO SLOW! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2010
$18
Sites 1-10 are in a "wagon wheel" arrangement, and they have full hookup. A few short trees in the area, not many. Fire pits are located all towards the center of the "wheel" so if you're looking for semi-privacy here, you just won't get it. The "wheel" is set up for a driver-side backup, so putting your rig in your slot is easy. Also, every spot has a tropical shelter over it (i.e. a roof with no walls) so there is a way to stay out of the sun/rain. That's a nice feature you don't see very often. The pull through sites are the "U off the side of the road" types. As is typical of older Texas state parks, the U is short and has a steep entry/exit angle. I think there's only about 2-3 spots where I could fit my rig. It is nicely situated off the side of the stream though, and looks like it would be a great spot to camp -- if you can get in. These sites are water/electric only. Not a bad park, but I doubt we'd make it a destination. Would be great as a stopover park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
My family is all about the State Parks of Texas. We already have park passes, so the per person fee didn't effect us. None of the pull-thrus have sewer yet, but the park is currently working on upgrading all sites to sewer and 50 amps. Currently, only 1-10 have sewer. These sites are not on the creek. Half of them face the golf course. Even if you didn't need sewer, you need to be careful on the pull-thrus. They are an older, half-moon shaped pull-thru with trees all over. I don't believe my 32ft 5th wheel could make it into these sites. The full hookup sites are level enough that nobody seemed to need levelers. The hookups are to the side of the RV sites, so I had to be careful of the slide-out, but hose lengths weren't a problem. The small stream allowed for a few good fishing spots (you never need a fishing license of any kind when fishing inside a Texas state park, but it is catch-and-release only). The park was nice. There was a newer plastic playscape with slides and climbing gear. The swingset was another matter. It was an old, 4 swing set, but only one of the swings were on it and it wasn't a baby swing (which we needed). We solved that problem at the Walmart (just 5-10 minutes down the road)by purchasing a cheap baby swing. The pools don't open until May 23rd, so we didn't swim. There was a basketball court, but we didn't play on it. There are plenty of areas with trees, but also a lot of areas with no trees which provided good locations for flying kites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2009
$18
Rate shown is for full hookups (water & electric is $16), rate does not reflect $2 per person, per day park fee. (Buy a TX Parks Pass!) Friendly personnel in this clean, quiet, CCC constructed park with a golf course. The park is close to town and shopping. Sites 1-10 are back-in, full hookup and are arranged in a circular formation, 11-20 are water & electric only, and are 3 back-ins and 5 crescent shaped PT's. Suggest you look at the park's website and download the park map for more details. Slightly bumpy asphalt roads, level sites, W/S/E hookups are near front for easy access. Good over-the-air HDTV, 1 bar Alltel cell, and good weather radio reception. (NOTE - 4 bar cell reception is possible if you go to the Rec Hall at the top of the hill within the park). A few hiking trails. The park is small and unless you golf, there isn't much to do. I STRONGLY suggest you call ahead as the park fills for the weekend and since there is a pool, I assume the summer is busy. I also recommend you pay the extra $2 per night and get a full hook-up site - these sites will accommodate any rig whereas the PTs are different sizes and the connections are placed in the wrong places. I am a big fan of TX state parks and while I like the quiet this park offers, I will stop again only for a few nights at the most if I am passing by; I will not make this park a destination. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$18
The rate is for full hookup site. Water & Electric sites are less. In addition, $2 per person is charged. If a couple spends more than 15 days, in Texas parks, you should get an annual pass ($60) that's good for the daily per-person entry fee for all people in a single vehicle. (See the Texas State Park web site for details.) You can buy the pass when you check-in. Lockhart State Park is a small and very quiet park that features a 9-hole golf course, hiking trails, and a swimming pool (seasonal). A lovely creek runs through the park. The 10 full hook-up, back-in sites are easy for a big rig to get into we had no trouble with our 43' rig. The sites are located near the golf course fairway, with about half offering a view of the course. These sites offer 50 Amps. The 10 Water & Electric (20 or 30 Amp only) sites running along the creek can accommodate smaller rigs, but only one or two of them could take a rig over 30-35 feet. Verizon cell service is very spotty. Other cell phones worked OK. This is the third time we've stayed here and we'll likely visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$18
The park is small (10 sites with electric and 10 sites with full hookups). Nice clean quiet park with great people running the park. In spite of recent floods, the park and golf course is in good condition. The golf course (9 hole) adjoins the park and is in good shape. Will stay here again, hopefully next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com