217671 User submitted reviews online!!
Richardson Grove State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (707) 247-3318
CGID6561

Richardson Grove State Park

Camp Information
Sites
99
Date of Stay
March 2010
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   5   8   4   10   6   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2010
$26
A nice park with very nice managers. Our site was great and very quiet. We were entertained by the stellar jays and woodpeckers. Wonderful redwoods all around the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$20
It appears that all but two of the reviews below pertain to the Richardson Grove Campground and RV Park - NOT Richardson Grove State Park. They have been incorrectly posted. Therefore you may disregard the comments about the store, pool, etc. because there aren't any. Richardson Grove State Park offers a lovely camping experience in the woods. Typical for the vast majority of California state parks, there are no hookups, and there is no dump station. (You can pay to use the one at Richardson Grove Campground and RV Park.) However, there is a very nice swimming hole on the Eel River, although the beach is somewhat rocky. Just deal with it. There is plenty to do for people who actually like to be outside when they're camping. Walking among the redwood trees is an awesome experience. They have ranger programs and lectures. It gets very dark and quiet at night. We go back to this state park whenever we get the opportunity. I gave it a 9 because the sites are tight. Not tightly spaced, but tight maneuvering through the trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$12
Nice quiet campground. Not many people there while were camped. Friendly staff. Lots of trees and spacious. Can have mosquitoes at night near the bathrooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$23
Nice folks in the office. Campground is a hodge podge. The pool is nice but the roads are all dirt and very dusty. Lots of mosquitos. It's hot here in the summer even in under the trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
This was a nice park. Quiet, easy to get in and out of. There was not a dog walk that we saw and the playground was something to be desired, but the kids liked riding their bikes on the dirt roads. It was mostly empty when we were there, so didn't have disturbances except the construction that was going on. Nice location to Redwoods and Avenue of the Giants. It was nice there. There was a laundry too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$23
Older park with gravel sites. Some noise from barking dogs and idling diesels early in the morning. Adequate as an inexpensive home base while exploring redwoods. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2007
$16
This was our second stay at this park, and we were glad that we decided to come back! This park is a great find located in the heart of the Redwoods. The staff go out of their way to make you feel at home. there is a nice little store, and clean showers. We look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2007
$10
Fairly old park in the process of being upgraded with a new meeting hall. Newest section close to the highway. Older sections in the back had trees and were quiet. The WIFI connection is fee for service and worked okay. Park has an on-site store and nearby are a gas station, bakery, and souvenir shops. Our nightly rate is Passport America rate in the winter season. The park is good value for the money and I would stay again for overnight. 39 RV sites and 60 tent sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
One section is pull through for large motor homes and the rest is in the trees, mixed pull though and back in. Park is old, but clean and all systems worked OK. The people running it are very nice and accommodating. Cleanest dump station I have ever seen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$12
I've been camping here for the last 35 years (either in a tent and now a class A) and love it. It's in the redwoods and there's about 9 miles of nature trails and areas along the Eel River to fish. The sites are all paved and they say the Max. RV length is 30' but we're 35' and had no problems finding a spot. It's beautiful here and you don't get as much traffic noise. In the summer you appreciate being so deep in the trees, it really keeps the temperatures down. They have wifi here, but you need to be no more than 150 - 200 ft. from the Ranger Station. I've used it before and didn't have any problems. This is a great State Park!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com