219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Crystal Isles Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 49 user reviews. Phone: (352) 795-3774
CGID658

Crystal Isles Resort

Camp Information
Sites
254
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   8   3   8   9   4   8   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2014
$11
This was more of a campground for locals to set up semi-permanent RVs for fishing than a resort type CG. July is scallop season so it was crowded. We would not go back and wish we had read reviews before purchasing a week from Encore Resorts sales folks at an FMCA event. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$45
Loved this RV Resort! Stayed here for two months with my husband's job and fell in love with the park and the people in it. Made many good friends and plan to go back when we're able. Office clerks were wonderful, helpful and friendly. Grounds are well kept along with laundromat and restrooms. Great park with lots to do! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$38
The girls at the office were very nice and helpful. The park was not very full at the time so we were given a nice site that was paved. It rained in the evening, so many of the sites in our area were flooded. Be prepared for the no-seeums! We received a list of the rules and guidelines, but they are not followed or enforced at all. The site next to us was occupied by a permanent resident who was obviously a hoarder. There was trash all over the site--at least 30 plants in pots, many empty pots, 4 large plastic bins sitting all over, picnic table piled high with stuff and lots more behind the camper. The pets were not kept on leashes. This was not the only site like this. The trash dumpster smelled so bad of dead fish or animals that you could smell it for 2 blocks. This could be a nice park, but many things are badly in need of repair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$30
We stayed here through Coast to Coast. Sites are large, some need work, some are great. Ours had lots of room, with pond in rear and space on each side. This is an older park but the restrooms are well kept and quite clean. I would stay here again as the amenities are nice and the area is very interesting. Nice pool, one tennis court in good shape, hot tub not working. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$18
Very friendly staff, helpful. Tight back ins, but full service, including good free cable. Wi-Fi is cheap, $3 for 2 users for 24 hours. We played tennis and swam in a nice pool. We here before the large group of snowbirds are coming through, so we had lots of space. We kayaked with Manatees nearby, so bring your boats/kayaks, lots of water around. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
This is a low lying campground, so when it rains, for any duration, you are going to have mud and soft ground. They do not have adequate drainage, and this is evident with all of the stagnant water. We experienced A/C problems, turning on/off and not staying on. We found that there was just an inadequate amount of power at the 50 amp sites to accommodate all of us. We did report this to management. Laundry was clean. Store was very small and had essentials only. The grounds have lots of amenities; unfortunately, they do not appear to be maintained. Canal Elite Plus sites are recommended due to high ground, paving, and waterfront. They are $30/night more. The pool has a lot of potential but has been let go for too long. The kiddie pool was filled. The hot tub was not working. The big pool had some crumbling walls. Roads are narrow but paved. The cabins, 1-10, are across from sites 201-217 and do not have sufficient parking. It is under a new manager, and they were working to raise the lots for campers, etc. However, they have a lot of work ahead of them. Staff appeared to be overworked, and this reflected on their personality when greeting arrivals. Note that the wi-fi is an additional fee for daily, weekly, monthly, or annually. It doesn't appear to be limited either. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
This is an attractive park with lots of amenities. Staff is friendly and helpful. Conveniently located to tour the area and see its main draw: Manatees. The Homosassa Springs State Wildlife Park is a must see. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
We stayed here 2 nights and were pleased by the roominess and natural surroundings. Even though it is a large park, there were enough trees and open spaces where it almost felt like a state or national park campground but with great amenities. The activities director is great - you could tell she tried to have things for everyone. We joined a bus trip to the Hard Rock Casino. The pool and hot tub were clean and nice, also. For our dog, there were plenty of spaces and "doggy stations" with bags, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2012
$25
Large park with paved roads and a mix of hard surface and gravel sites. They have WiFi available for $3 day. Verizon and MiFi work great. The pool and club house are nice and the showers were clean and had plenty of hot water. It's close to manatee habitat and right on a canal with their own boat ramp if you are into fishing. Generally a pretty quiet place. The space we got into was a bit tight to get into but the long time residents here had kind of expanded to take over the sites on either side of us with some stuff so we weren't right on top of one another. All and all an OK place that I'd stay at again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Rate reflects Passport America. Nice RV park - lots of space, most sites are backin. Sites range from waterfront to wooded; and full cement pads to just plain ground. Waterfront sites seemed to be all taken for year rounders, but there's a decent boat ramp and storage for RVers with boats. We were advised that the grounds around our rig might flood if there were heavy rains, (we grabbed a full cement pad to avoid any potential problem). Laundry seemed nice, bathrooms were standard, but not convenient to tent sites. Pool, hot tub, and kiddie pool were nice. They provide a buffet breakfast for a fee on weekends. Our biggest complaint is not something the campground can generally do something about - but the biting insects were severe - no-see-ums and chiggers love new blood (me more-so than spouse's). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$50
Nights Stayed – 2 Park Overall – We arrived late our 1st night, so we were only there one full day. There are canal and lake sites as well as off water sites. The park has well maintained paved roads. All sites are cement with cement patios. Many park residents were there long term or permanent. The sites are close but ample. There is a coin laundry. RV Type Used - 5th Wheel 28 Ft, one slide. My Site (54) – Is on the canal, if you have a boat you could tie it to the provided dock, The RV parking area and the patio are cement and 1st class. The site is level. Bath house is a 1 minute walk. Small but adequate side. Restroom –Very clean, heated, hand soap and towels. Bath – Very clean, heated Cell Service - Verizon worked, 3+ bars - 3G at lease Internet Access – NA – We connected via Verizon Hotspot on our phone. Satellite TV – Did not connect DTV. The parks’ cable is adequate for a 66 year old. Basic Shopping – Town is about 4 miles away, everything you need. Would I Return – Yes, I like the park and the area looks interesting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$01
We stayed here for two nights through our TT membership as a waystop to our actual destination. We were pleasantly surprised at the beauty and quality of the grounds and the friendliness of the staff. Very pleasant RV spots surrounded by trees, green grass and ponds/canal. Residents are a combination of short-stay and long-stay RVers who were all very friendly. We intend to come back for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2011
$37
This is a nice park. They have improved the cable TV. We have never experienced any problems. However the no see-ums will carry you away if you don't use bug spray. Also they allow fire pits for those who like to have a fire. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$60
Without electricity since 07/16/11 sat a.m. Horrendous flooding problems on west side of park and no real concern by regional management. Offers no refund and must move to another resort tomorrow because no electric in site and mud hole around management home. Would not recommend this park or any Encore Resort that has no concern for clients. No site cleanup by staff, palm fronds and sticks and leaf litter contribute to plugged storm drains resulting in flooding. I've been here since April and planned on another year, not now, moving tomorrow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
Excellent park! We had a canal site. Nice paved site. Canal access with a dock right on the site. Tennis courts, shuffle board courts, breakfast at the rec-room on weekends for $5. Ice cream shop, my favorite. This is definitely the best park we have stayed at, and we will be back. Only downer was the county imposed a burn ban, so no campfire. WiFi $$$. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
March 2011
$45
We were first time RVers with a new Class C Motorhome and came over from Orlando to try it out. Had read pretty good reviews about this place but we didn't find much "good" about it. They stuck us in a site near the sewer line and it was difficult to sit outside because of smell. Cable TV barely worked with a lot of snowy channels. Had to pay for Wi-Fi - and it was very slow, and non-existent one day. We were here only three nights and it was apparent that the office staff could care less about short-timers. We did request a fire-ring which was installed in a few hours. Office staff not friendly and almost sarcastic when we asked questions. We spoke with several long term-er who said they were happy here, but we didn't get the same feeling at all. They were having some type of Mardi Gras dinner thing in the clubhouse and we asked a staff member if it was too late to buy a ticket ($6.00) and we were told bluntly "yes". I felt like if they wanted us to be welcome, we should have been given the opportunity to partake in the dinner. We won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2010
$38
By-pass this one. Everything about it is suspect. 4 hours of internet; cable TV only has 2 or 3 stations that are not full of snow and unwatchable; the tacked on a "resort fee" that they didn't quote over the phone. Our first site had no cable TV, no Wi-Fi reception, but there was a tiny picnic table that was falling apart. By the time we found out we had to move, the office staff was gone for the night, at 4 PM!!! We moved to a second site without help from the park staff, that was next to the Wi-Fi modem and still had limited cable and internet. Both sites were not level even though they were concrete. They seem to cater to long termer and really don't get many one nighters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2010
$80
We camped at this campground on our way home back to Texas for 2 nights. It had very low water pressure and was hard to even wash dishes. The cable TV did not work either. You have only 4 hours of free internet then you have to pay of it. They charged us $80.00 for the first night which was a Monday night (go figure) and $40.00 for the following night. The camp site was not clean . Even though people were suppose to pick up after their pet, I saw know sign of this. Dog waste everywhere, I was afraid to walk in what little grass there was. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$42
We stayed here for a month. The park was clean, restrooms and clubhouse nicely furnished and clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. There were renovations going on that caused power outages and water shutoffs for several days. The manager was very accommodating and comped us for the aggravation. The only complaint I have (if one) is their activities are geared for seniors and we were traveling with kids so they were bored when the weather was bad. But that was a minor thing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
I have camped for 2 weeks with a group of 9 other rigs at this campground for the past 4 years. I paid for my site a year ago. This year I was moved to a site that I could not get into without wading through a foot of water. The restrooms and showers were closed for renovations. I asked for a site I could get in or for a refund. They said I could come back next summer. I parked on the road and left the next day for a nearby campground on the water that was not flooded. All of our group left. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
Good: sewer hook-up on-site, quiet campers even in an overcrowded park, ice cream available on site until 10 p.m. Bad: shower facility closed (not temporarily) leaving one shower for 250 sites. Our site was far away from the only one available and it was raining with too many puddles to walk there. No way possible to drive there due to incredible overcrowding. So many vehicles, boats, golf carts, etc that someone had to move their truck for us to even get into our spot. Bigger rigs than ours (21 foot) should stay away. The overcrowding is a real safety issue. We would not return unless there was no other choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
We stayed for a long weekend and really enjoyed our stay. Grounds are clean and well kept. Pool is large and was not crowded. Staff was friendly and allowed us a late check out because we did not want to leave! Beach 4 miles west. Boat rental 4 miles east. Be sure to request a shady site if you want one. We will definitely return for another stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$35
This RV park is situated about 4 1/2 miles from town and 4 1/2 miles from the gulf. Sites need to have cement pads (very few have them). Biting bugs and alligators so no swimming in river but the pool is very nice. There's an ice cream stand on site so you can get that hot fudge sundae. The roads are narrow. There are lots of trees. It is great for walking and riding your bike. There is no daily trash pickup at site and no escort to your site. We stayed here for a week. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$17
We found this park to be more favorable than the reviews suggest. The pool was great, we had a lake Front site and great views. The roads are narrow and need repaving. Passport America accepted and staff were quite helpful when we were there. Will stay there again and take our boat. Good boat ramp for smaller boats on Canal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2008
$20
This is a campground not a resort. They have a pool, basketball, horseshoes, tennis courts and many other amenities. Several sites did flood when it rained. The main thing this park lacks is customer service. Some staff members are flat out rude. The roads need repair, trees need to be trimmed, and other misc. repair. It is not a new park. It is an older park that has added a few spaces in an attempt to accommodate larger rigs. We made our reservations online for our 39' 5th wheel. Upon arrival we were assigned to a space that was not large enough but they were able to move us to a more appropriate space for our rig. I would not stay here again. There is a new Elite park right down the road with helpful staff and better facilities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2008
$59
Do NOT camp here! The management and some staff are very unpleasant. Very hostile & difficult to deal with. The campground is in great disrepair. Narrow roads, broken concrete pads, trees are great (except when they scrape the roof and sides of your RV, or you can't get your slides open) swampy sites, lots of bugs. It does not accommodate the bigger RVs that are on the road today. Having experienced numerous RV parks as we full time, we are left shocked at what we just experienced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$40
The park was very clean and the staff were very helpful. You can check-in after they close and pay in the morning. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
December 2007
$46
Older park, not kept up. They let yearly folks totally junk up their sites. Noisy in spots . Its OK when passing through but not a Resort at all. Would choose elsewhere next trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$40
This park is great. All the staff are very helpful. We have two children aged nine and seven and they love this park. There is so much for them to do. We would highly recommend this resort to families. We are returning next week for the Easter weekend as we enjoyed the Halloween weekend so much. The site is very well managed and clean. The on-site store is a bit sparse but it does carry the essentials. Overall a great home away from home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$46
Most of the staff was very friendly: especially one lady. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
This park has signs of "deferred maintenance" however there were repairmen present during our stay. None of the problems with late night partying that we noticed. It is true that the manager travels back and forth between here and Daytona. He and his wife have the reputation of fixing "problem" parks and considering the progress they have made at the Encore Ormond Beach facility, we feel that they will do a good job here. They do go out of their way to make people feel welcome. We will most likely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$38
This park is poorly maintained. Roads are in disrepair. Activities were great for kids on halloween weekend. The only plus. Security was non existent. When I asked who was security for night, I was shocked at what I saw. Party went on with "security" in charge. Air horns at 4 am so "security" could have fun. For an Encore, this was a big dissapointment. This park really is a joke. For the price, go down south to some great rv resorts. On other respects, the wi-fi was good at our site, bathrooms were clean, but backed up overnight and were not unplugged until morning. I was told "security" knew, but did nothing. Added plus was breakfast on Saturday. Left early Sunday for a real rv resort. We won't be back. I was told by a resident the manager leaves each weekend for Daytona. Cops every weekend. Can't blame him, this place is a zoo. This is my last stay at any Encore park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
Stayed 4 nights at the Passport American rate. It was a bargain. Full price might not be such a good deal ($38). Everyone was friendly. The Saturday/Sunday breakfast in the rec room was nice. The roads could use some re-work, but the sites were very large and deep. My 40ft motorhome fit nicely and had room to park my full sized truck at the side. I had no problems levelling even though the site was grass. Good location if you are a fisher person. Other parks might be better if you are not a member of Passport America. Wi-Fi worked well, but is a pay service. Cable TV was OK, but we supplemented with Satellite TV. We would/will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$21
We stayed here before but this time was not a good experience. Regular price $40.-- I don't think so. Passport price is more like it. I needed 4" of lumber under one side of the camper to level up. I had about 4 ft. to the back corner of a motor home in the rear. If the adjoining site had been rented they may have hit my awning. The ice cream stand is always a pleasure and the staff very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
Good location, and the sites, are pretty good size. Excellent if your bring a boat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2007
$30
Had a nice time. It was different being near the water. Just watch out for bugs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
Nice location, but be aware that the no see'ums are a real problem. Wi fi was ok, but is not included in price. Restrooms and shower rooms could really use some re-working. Area has lots of things to do and we stayed busy during our stay. Bugs would not let you enjoy just setting around outside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$30
The previous reviews are pretty accurate. I would have rated this park higher if the rest rooms would have been clean, and if the recreational activities posted at the park had taken place as advertised. We did get a first night $10 discount for being first time visitors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2006
$3
Nice spacious sites with table. We toured a lot of the area. Didn't spend much time in the park itself. Would return as we had internet and TV from our satellite. If interested in shade, that is available too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$35
We have stayed here a couple of times and love the river sites. They are open, have small concrete pads, fire pits and back onto the river each with it's own dock. The staff have been really friendly when we were there and very efficient. We purchased a bundle of firewood and within 10 minutes it was delivered to our site. The only downside is that Wi-Fi is not free. The entire park is well maintained and even though the roads are narrow we could easily negotiate them with our 40 foot rig. I do know that some of the back sites under the big trees could be more of a challenge to get in and out of. We loved the ice cream stand. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$13
Despite earlier reports on this forum, we found the office staff and the management extremely helpful and easy to please. The wifi doesn't work in all parts of the park, but the game room has 2 modem hookups. The pool area was spotless and well maintained. The "new" manager was out and about and introduced himself to campers. He was very receptive to constructive comments from us. The seasonal campers were cordial and very welcoming to us. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$33
This campground is adequate but suited mostly for seasonal campers who stay a month or more. It is very crowded during high season (winter). We were given a site that had oak trees overhead and along the side, and it was extremely difficult to maneuver our 40-foot motor home into the site. It was also difficult to get out of the site and out of the campground along the narrow, crowded roads. For obvious reasons (economic) the better sites are reserved for the seasonal campers. It would be great if they set aside some sites for the weekend campers at the front of the camprground near the highway, and improved those sites, making it easier for the 2 to 4 day guests to get in and out. The campground is very clean, and the staff are reasonably helpful, though not overly friendly. If you stay there, take a drive past the campground to the beach at the mouth of Crystal River, which is a beautiful place to watch a sunset. Note: there is a charge for WI-FI, and there are only 18 cable channels. Many sites are shaded, so satellite is difficult to obtain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2005
$38
Friendly Campground. Good access to boating on Crystal River and Gulf of Mexico. Dockage available at RV site. We camp here several times a year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$22
We stayed with our rv club and found the park to be very nice and well kept. The sites are very nice and the pool and club house were also very nice. The park is a little out of the way and the sites have little green burrs but that was the only bad things we found. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2005
$27
We went down for a long weekend in January to swim with the manatees and do some other stuff. This was a very good location for doing everything. We were the only popups (us and another couple) but we felt welcome. The grounds are nice, bathrooms clean and staff helpful. We were also on the younger side of the clientelle there, but again, no problem. Everyone was nice. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2005
$29
Good variety of sites to meet different preferences. Waterfront sites with boat docks are great for boaters. Employees were very friendly and helpful. Moderate drive (5 miles) to other activities in area. WiFi not available in all areas of campground. Limited phone hookups in building for modem access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2004
$15
Very very nice. Short drive to the Gulf or to town. Accepts Passport America. Well maintained even after the hurricane. Stayed October of 2004. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$35
Employees were friendly. Most sites were spacious and well-kept. There were lots of rigs there for the winter season, but everyone was friendly and welcoming. There were activities galore--even free golf lessons from a PGA Professional. Heated pool was open 24 hours. Hot tub was outside and open 24 hours, too. Bathrooms were usually spotless. Food service was available a couple of times a week. There were pontoon boat and kayak rentals available. Every night RVers get together in the clubhouse and play games and welcome newcomers. There are computer modem lines available in the clubhouse and in the laundry--which, by the way, is very nice and clean. We talked to many campers who said they would return as will we. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$32
Good for those with boats. Great access to river with your own dock at your campsite. Clean pool and nice staff. Have some full time run down sites but overall one of the nicer places in Fla. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com